Rent Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2010 for PS3
view large frontback

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2010

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
5.7

1149 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

big game hunter 2010

posted by johnfowler (FORT WHITE, FL) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the best hunting game ever my dad bonded with me there the game. we need more games like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Clean Animal Killing Fun

posted by rainfall (ANNAPOLIS, MD) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Having never played a modern hunting game, I was not quite sure what to expect when I picked this game up. I was pleasantly surprised when I popped this game in and started hunting. The graphics are pretty good, but probably should have been better considering the simplicity of the game. The different guns and trophy system is fun and keeps you in the game. The story line is pretty terrible but, what how much story can you really expect from a hunting game? Overall I really enjoyed this game. It is a lot easier and frankly probably a lot more exciting than actual hunting. The terrain varies from level to level which is nice but the basic gameplay can get a little repetitive. Walk….Hide….Shoot….Next Animal…Walk…Hide…Shoot…continue until satisfied is this games basic strategy. A fun game for sure, probably not for the hunter extraordinaire, but a good casual animal slaying game. In my mind the only thing this game lacked was a trophy room. A place where you could examine and get the details on all your personal bests for each kind of animal. Rent this one for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

You have to be a hunting fan

posted by 3Djunkie84 (ERIE, PA) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Since the name of the game starts with Cabela's, obviously it has a specific target audience, and I am not it. This game gets boring very fast if you dont have the patience for it.

The way the game goes is:

Take a shot
Walk for 10 minutes
Take a shot
Walk for 10 minutes
and it recycles the same steps over and over.

However, for a licened game it had a decent presentation, and the gun models look pretty good. I was suprised by that. Another good thing is that you can rack up some Playstation Network trophies quickly. I played the game for 1 hour and I unlocked 13 trophies. So have at it trophy fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

3 stars

posted by osok95 (KINGSTON, PA) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

im a hunter myself but this game is pretty boring. Its the same thing over and over again: Follow your "hunter sense" till you find the animal, shoot it, claim it and do it over again. The one thing i did like though was the shooting gallery. Duck, geese, rabbits and there's no bag limits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by troyspecia (MEDWAY, MA) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a good game but too short. maybe should've been a two player game option.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2010

posted by surfer7 (LAIE, HI) Oct 29, 2009

Member since May 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be far less tedious than prior Game Hunter games in that I did not always have to worry if I was downwind, I did not have to keep an eye out for wind direction, I did not have to make animal calls or spray a certain chemical on myself to attract the animal. The hunts were not mind numbingly long and boring either. Graphics were very smooth, lighting was excellent. I could not seem to be able to hunt the predators though. When I came within distance of a predator no matter how stealthy I was the predator attacked front on. I recommend playing this game. A little patience is rewarded.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cabelas what???

posted by kyfan10 (EVARTS, KY) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game should have had an open world hunting adventure allowing you to go different places in the world and hunt what you want and use calls/decoys/tree-stands etc. Instead, it has missions that at first is pretty fun and then it just seems to repeat itself. Is it worth renting Yes! Buying NOOOO! It had good potential but potential dont get high ratings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

what happened?

posted by Psychosis1 (PLOVER, WI) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well i have played many cabelas games, but the last BGH, i have played was on ps2 back about 5 years ago, whatever happened to the snowmobile, fourwheeler and truck? and what happened to the scents, calls and decoys? so far of 2010 the best cabelas i have played is outdoor adventures, i hope the outdoor adventures stay the way it is if not add more to it, rentable but not ownable in my opinion for bgh 2010, anyway, happy hunting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good, great for a weekend

posted by TLC579 (LOCUST GROVE, GA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I like the game, the main complaint I have about it as with all PS3 games like this kind... no GUN controller. If only they could come up with a scoped gun controller. Still, it was fun enough, some of the things you need to complete are not obvious to some, but it doesn't take too many brain cells to figure it out. Graphics are good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stop making stupid hunting games.

posted by dcdime (SUNSET, LA) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 23 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

This is a terrible huntng game. Activision should stop butching these games. They should go back to the way they were made before. Hunting games should be open world not mission driven. They should have stuck with the open level gameplay, not this stupid stuff they have now. ALL THIS GAME IS WORTH IS TROPHYS. IF YOU CAN TAKE IT YOU WILL GET A PLATINUM TROPHY EASY. ALL IT IS WORTH PLAYING FOR IS THE TROPHYS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

THIS IS SWEET

posted by crypt1 (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS PRETTY COOL GOTTA LOVE HUNTING.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nice

posted by erebrasil (Philadelphia, PA) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 21 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

great game, a great graphics I recommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GLAD I RENTED< BUT WILL NOT BUY

posted by lantzalots (PINCKNEY, MI) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

needs to be more missions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

interesting

posted by killer188 (NORTH PORT, FL) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

as a common player of the ps3 the game cabelas big game hunter shares mixture of exciting first person shooter action and every day dangers as a hunter this game puts you at the edge of your seats hoping to get your first kill at some simple pronghorn of the more dangerous preaditors such as mountain lions of the mean and vicious north american grizzly bears with multiple firearms to show your true accuracy in my personal opinion this game is one of a kind im a simple 13 year old who loves action and hunting somthing cabelas big game hunter 2010 can satisfy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cabelas 2010

posted by 1800 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

do not get waste of time but north american adventures is awsum

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Game But ok For trophys

posted by gothguy (FAIRMONT, WV) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

this game bored me but the nice thing about it is the fact that you can score a big load of trophys for very little work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2010

posted by jmoore4388 (STATESBORO, GA) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2010 puts players in the shoes of a hunter aspiring to be adopted into the Order, an elite hunting fraternity. Yet all the game truly does is put the player in the shoes of a poorly executed game that never lives up to any real expectations.

Firstly, the mechanics of the game are atrocious. Simply walking from location to location can be a test of patience let alone attempting to aim down the sight which is arduous at best. The reticule never stays put for all of the character's heavy breathing; it sways like a swing in a hurricane making heart and lung shots unnecessarily difficult. Moreover, there is no hotkey function, requiring the player to constantly cycle through their weapon inventory.

Secondly, the graphics simply have more in common with the Playstation 2 than the Playstation 3. Jagged, pixelated environments and animal models, over exaggerated shadows and poor lighting contrast make some hunts unbearably long and tedious. Yet some environmental palettes are beautifully and vibrantly colored: the Rockies and Savanna are definitely easy on the eyes, well, aside from all the pixelation.

Thirdly, and lastly, the story is simply ridiculous and boring. Albeit, hunting games aren't known for their story just as fighting and racing games are not. Hunting games are about hunting. But the developers could have made the story slightly more conceivable: The Order feels strangely like the Masons or Knights Templar just without all the pomp, circumstance and relevancy.

Overall, Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2010 is definitely not the worst game out there, but something hardcore FPS fans should shy away from. But if you're big into hunting or just interested in trying to get a few trophies, it's definitely worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is a joke!!!!

posted by Mdot1988 (TRENTON, NJ) May 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Hey gamers, I'm gone be straight and to the point, this game sucks on so many levels, boring mini games, and the aiming sucks as well, not worth the rent or buy. I sent this game back the day after I received it. Enough said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

excellent

posted by erickgarza (PHARR, TX) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Pretty good game, easy trophies, and average graphics.Game play was good and minigames were a little repetitive, but its a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2010

posted by Ritter11 (YORKVILLE, IL) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I just received this game in the mail...played it for 10 minutes and put it back in the mail. This game really needs a lot more work or to come out with a new one in 11. There was no home cabin, ATV's, target practice, food supply for energy, ammo, clothing, hunting accesories etc for purchase.

There is also no online play options and the actual gameplay is very unrealistic. You do not hunt in the traditional sense...you walk around and just shoot certain wild game.

I have seen much better hunting/fishing games than this and would not recoomend getting this game. Go with any older Cabela's game...they're better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

big game hunter 2010

posted by cartoscell (ORLAND, CA) Jan 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I would recamend this game to anybody you cant just go outinto the wild and hunt they put you right next to the animals and then u sneak up on them and shoot them from a vary close range u cant take long distance shot or use blinds calls or even change what u are wearing i dont recomend this game vary poor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sweet

posted by Thrasher20 (LYNWOOD, CA) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game is pretty fun. Very linear but fun. There isn't much to do other than shoot at game and win medals. The main point of this game is to test your reflexes basically. Trophies and achievements are very simple if you are a trophy or achievement hunter. Anyway get it if you like short-linear-fun-quick-shooting games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Big Game Hunter Cabellas 2010

posted by whitetail1 (KALISPELL, MT) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

A good enough game except it was too easy and over too quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good

posted by griffin535 (UKIAH, CA) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

eh... it was OK.
certainly not the best game I've played, but it was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Hunting Game

posted by hihlandr75 (WEST MILFORD, NJ) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This is finally one of the best hunting games out their. Everything is great except for the small game mini-games but its graphics beat past games. Sometimes it could be tricky stalking the game but when u finally get the shot u wont wanna stop playin. Great game u should play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse