Rent Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2008 for PS2
view large frontback

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
5.8

301 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

big game hunter 2008

posted by bumedout (GREENSBORO, NC) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

i rented big game hunter 2008 from game fly, and it came in about 3 days, i ran to my ps2 the minute i got it and put the game in. it took a little bit of time getting used to the camera angle and the controls but i got it down in about 10 minutes. i loved the fact that you can climb up rock walls and walk across logs to get to the other side of a ditch. but i finished the game in about 3 hours on easy with one 20 minute break. the next day i beat it on medium in 2 hours with no break. im kind of bummed that it was so short. but thats the only down side. other than that its a great game. the graphics are great, the sound is great. an all around great hunting game. i would recommend it to any one who likes to hunt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cabela's big game hunter 2008

posted by 902110 (PURCELLVILLE, VA) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

totally awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!! There is this one spot, where you have to shoot this cougar or something. It's sooooooooooooooooooo hard. I shot it with a revolver in the neck 19 times!!!!!!!!!!! still didn't kill it. Finnally i killed it with a muzzle loader. This game is so cool. if you like hunting, deer, elk, bear, geese, lynx, mule deer, turkey, or big horn sheep, this game is for you!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cabela's Game Hunter 2008

posted by leaannab1 (SAINT ALBANS, WV) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Animals move quickly so you have to keep up but graphics are good and it is a fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

should a 2005 game be better than a 2008????

posted by matthew10 (WOODLAND PARK, CO) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Yes its true I found more fun in cabelas big game hunter 05. what really kills this game is that its too easy and wont keep you playing it. your put in were they (the ranger guys or who ever they are) tell you were to go and were not to go. for example trees and brush that are real close to oneanother act as a barier. and thats it kill this kill that got talk to that guy kill this again and go back to the guy. sound is ok graphics could have been WAY better and gameplay i give it a -20 but it only went down to 1. so in all im telling you dont even bother with your rent time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good hunting game

posted by 768 (GLENDALE, AZ) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

really nice hunting thier are a lot of animals to hunt and really good graphics lots of guns really good missons and it is just a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Big game huter

posted by Awesome123456 (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game sucks mans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its a decent game

posted by Bensden (ORANGE, TX) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

It wasnt exactly what i thought or hoped it would be. I was hoping for a more free hunt game. The graphics are ok, and if your into hunting games where they tell you what to do and you have to do it, so like missions then its a game for you, if not then its not the game for you. All together i give the game a 5 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cabela's big game hunter 2008

posted by BabyDro35 (HIGHLAND, MI) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

If you like a game that tells you where to go and what to do then you'll love this game. It's different from the other hunting games that I've played, some ways good, some ways bad. In one way its bad, instead of being put in a specific state and having a set number of different type of game animals, and roaming around by yourself( My favorite kind of hunting game), you gotta find the rangers to tell you what to do, they dont even have a spot where you can buy your own stuff, you just aquire it along the game. You dont even get a scent cover through out the whole game, i mean what is that??? how can you have a hunting game and not be able to hide your smell? That was just a big down fall of Cabela's in this one. I did however find that i couldn't put the controller down... well atleast untill i beat it, and then hurried to put it back in the mailbox for gamefly. It was a good game to grab your attention, but it should've been longer, it wasnt a game that i would buy because it was only funn beating it on medium, i didnt even like beating it on hard, i mean it was the same thing, not even harder... I guess you could say im kinda torn between liking this game and disliking this game. I would say though unless you like a really quick, non realistic hunting game then this game would be perfect for you!!! But if not then dont waist the time renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad bad bad

posted by ps2junkie (WILLITS, CA) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

What is this game supposed to be about. bad bad bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

cabela's

posted by camjoy21 (INDIANA, PA) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

this game is good looking but very boring gameplay i have played hunting games before and loved them just didnt care for this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Stinks

posted by Rjgolfer19 (LOVELAND, OH) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Stinks. Its Boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cabelas big game hunter

posted by corbmaster (EUGENE, OR) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

SO LAME!! completely unrealistic and unchallenging/boring, idk if any of you are real hunters but elk/deer don't around in circles waiting for you to kill them and its pretty pathetic that a elk run right through you and you can walk up to them and kill em with a shotgun which takes 3 shots or so at close range for some reason.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game needs alot of improving

posted by sprtn117 (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

this was a good game for its time but falls behind with some things:
1. there are way too many invisible barriers
2. the game is not a real challenge because of the animals A.I., i was standing right next to an animal and it didnt move
3. all around a bad game but not the worst

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »