Rent Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2008 for Wii
view large frontback

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2008

Rent

Keep for: $8.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
5.5

1020 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Must have if you are a hunter

posted by dfwtxmn (KELLER, TX) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game is easy to pick-up and start playing. It is difficult to shoot accurately if you don't have the Wii Blaster. Keeping your hand steady with the Wii remote is tiring. The mini games are also fun. Being able to scope the intended target is as real as it gets other than actually being there. I played with a couple of my buddies who hunt and they liked it a lot. Overall this game is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Unrealistically Action Packed = Fun

posted by heatzeker (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

For anyone who has hunted in real life, this game is laughably action-packed. But that’s some of the appeal of this game. Deer come whizzing at you and running all over the place and you just blast away. Zoom in and shoot it right in the butt. Blast a swooping duck a mile away with a deer rifle and watch it go ker-plunk right into the lake. Good times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not much of a hunter myself...

posted by Yehezkel (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Dec 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

But we all play video games to get out of the real world anyway... so the little action sequences are a nice touch.... as far as not finding the right animal... try walking down the trail, a cut scene or even the rangers themselves give you the clues... Love the mini games... Duck hunt anyone? I actually use the Wii Zapper with this game and it works pretty good. I also based my rating on playing a horrible hunting game... anyone played Bass pro shops? This game is a breathe of fresh air... graphics are nice... boards look nice... If you are into hunting games... try this one out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An ok.....game

posted by frisdohne (READING, PA) Dec 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you don't have any other of the Cabela's games this is a fun game to get you into them. The only thing that makes this stand out from the others is the ability to use the wii zapper. Other wise its just like the other hunting games on PS2 and XBOX. Like I said, if it's your first Cabela game go for it, if you played any of the other ones, you play one you've played them all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big game hunter is big game disappointment

posted by brockly (MODESTO, CA) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

9 out of 27 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well I live in the city. Never been hunting. Out of my life live in the open lands 3 years of my life. Ok that’s where I'm coming from.

This is not the game for me. The controls are bad. You get this super power that call hunting sense that it like in the movies you can see heat off the bodies of the entire animal. And they put all the livening thing you can’t shoot out there. And the one thing you can shoot you can’t find. And you have a 100x100 yards world. if you try going pass 101 yards you hit the force field of the gods. Can’t hop over logs. so if you hit a 1 1/2 foot log you have to go around it (lame). cant walk on rocks no matter how small they are. And the hunter that try to be from the country talk street slang hehehe. "That’s my bad” I seen a shotgun case for the Wii. if you had that this game might get a point or 2 more but all in all.
This city boy dose not like this there game.
If you live in the country and you guy hunt for fun and food. Rent it!!!! If not try another game :) I hope I was some help :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cabela's a big disappointment

posted by datachick (HAMILTON, MT) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The first cabela games were great but now the graphics suck and the game play is just stupid. They should go back to their original games such as Dangerous Hunts. This game sucked, I have more fun playing golf and I hate golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the ultamite hunting game

posted by spirit611 (LAFAYETTE, IN) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

i love it! realistic strategies, my favorite shooter except star wars battlefront! graphic not all that good but i highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty good first timer Wii hunting game

posted by chevyman24 (Elizabethville, PA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This is a rather simple game to grasp, you can figure it out pretty quick. the controls are a little backwards since the "B" button is the trigger instead of the "Z" button especially if you have the blaster or another gun setup. Good game to rent but not to buy I beat the game in about 11 hours of play so not much play time involved yet that was only one difficulty level also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TRY IT OUT MAN

posted by TIMOTHY11 (MALONE, TX) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game was the funnest ever. You must be a serius hunter to love this. You get objectives to get to shot the biggest animal ever. This game is the funnest ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ummmmmm

posted by TheCROW74 (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I got Cabela's Big Game Hunter in the mail from GamfFly today June 11, 2009 and popped it in. After about 15 minutes I say ummm and put it back in the envelope to send back to Gamefly.

The controls are awkward. It tries to make a home on the Wii, but fails in the process. The graphics are decent, but just not my cup of tea. When you play games like Resident Evil UC, Ghost Squad, and House of the Dead this game even though a different type of game is still a shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by JPCCool (Shiloh, OH) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

it is so so so hard then it is boring i do not like this game at all!!!!!!!...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring and Repetitive

posted by LisaNYC (ALBANY, NY) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I had high hopes for this game despite other reviews. I've been hunting before so I knew what to expect. But it's totally unrealistic and repetitive. If you're reading this, I strongly recommend that you pick out a different hunting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW...just as boring as real hunting!

posted by AllThumbz (FISHERVILLE, KY) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

This is why I stopped hunting after my first time out. I realized afterward that I would never get those 6 hours back. At least this time I was smart enough to stop hunting after 30 minutes. I think my favorite part is when you spend 10 minutes wandering aimlessly trying to find something. Then, when you do find something to shoot and get all set and zoomed in, they all suddenly scatter and you find yourself just shooting randomly at trees, shrubs and other helpless fauna.
If you want a good shooter to use a wii blaster or other gun controller,may I suggest something fun like House of the Dead 2&3? Don't waste your time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by rbolinjr (RIVERSIDE, IA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Horrible don't waste your time. Nothing like real hunting. Nothing like the arcade game. Stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Can't imagine how bad real hunting is.

posted by coxwithane (MANKATO, MN) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I was WAY BORED with this game. The missions you get are interesting enough, but you spend A LOT of time just sort of tromping around, hoping to come across the animal you're supposed to be hunting. YAWN. Can't imagine how bad REAL hunting is. My husband seems to think it's okay, but I'm glad we didn't waste money buying this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring

posted by jpm1980 (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Understanding that this is a hunting game, you spend too much time wandering around the woods. I don't mind actually "hunting" in the game to find the animals to shoot, but there were times where this process took forever. Maybe I am not very good at hunting, which may be. I spent most of the game extremely bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cabela's Big Game Hunter

posted by fmarsolek (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Exploring the world hunting trophy animal. Being hunted by some of the worlds most dangerous animals and almost being killed by them. I mean who wouldn't like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a great addition to cabelas games

posted by taterscolt (PRESTONSBURG, KY) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

the best cabelas game i have ever played. however it still could be improved by making it a bit harder to find the animals

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Big game hunt

posted by brandonjil (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Jul 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game is pretty complicated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

cabella big game hunter

posted by mandyjoh (LIBERTY, WV) May 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Great idea. My ten year old is having trouble finding the animals in order to proceed to the next area, and is becoming bored with game as a result.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun but died fast

posted by CasuGamr (BUSHKILL, PA) Apr 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

It was fun the first day, the movement was cool, the shooting. But after awhile the game just gets very involved in hunting and kinda gets slow for the average person. This would be a GREAT game for someone who enjoys hunting. Not for us though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing like it used to be...

posted by szemlo (WAUKESHA, WI) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I used to own an XBOX and I had Cabela's Most Dangerous Hunts... That game was awesome! I was addicted to it. So I just got a Wii and thought I would enjoy the latest installment from Cabela. Well to say the least I wasn't even mildly impressed. The graphics were mediocre at best, the environments were restricted to small areas and trails, and the animals act like their on crystal meth running around in circles begging you to shoot them. Absolutely no challenge. The weapons were okay and the actual control of the game with the wiimote was pretty good, but everything else made the game lacking in the enjoyment department. I give it 5 out of 10 because it doesn't completely suck, and some people who have never played a good hunting game might find some fun in playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cabelas's big game hunter

posted by zachary54 (YORKTOWN, VA) Apr 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

the hunter game is really good so you shouldn't make fun of it until you try it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its an ok game

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 31, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

This game is different then i suspected when i rented it i thought it would be like the other hunting games like it in the arcade games, but you actually walk around and go in tree stands an things like that. However it was confusing because it doesnt tell you really where to go you kind of have to find it yourself so if you like hunting i would recommend it but i thought it wasnt very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not so great

posted by coleman (NEW HOPE, PA) Feb 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

i have played most of the other cabelas games and this one is probably the worst one that i have played the graphics are kind of weird and messed up in some parts

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse