Rent Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2008 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS2
GF Rating
5.3

1640 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good graphics, poor gameplay

posted by orionrepla (LEXINGTON PARK, MD) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

39 out of 42 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying I like Cabela's games. I enjoy the hunting and the fishing. I enjoy both in real life too. When I first loaded up Big Game Hunter on my 360, I was very impressed with the graphics. Watching the virtual wildlife interact with the environment was like watching a video. I thought, "Wow...".

But then I started playing and stopped watching. The game is extremely lineal. You can't walk away from the trail leading you into woods. You can see other potential trails to follow, but are restricted to the path in front of you. Which consequently leads you to the next goal without delay. You don't get to explore.

As for the hunting, so far I am disappointed. For instance, I am not allowed to shoot an elk without a game "permit" because that is unsportsman-like. You get a warning not to shoot again. Fine. But then my next goal I receive is to shoot as quickly as I can 10 Geese or 4 Elk or 4 Moose. It doesn't add up. It's serious on one hand with warnings for shooting without a permit, but then an arcade game in the other trying to run and shoot as many animals as I can with a time limit.

I'm still playing the game, but I call it "weak". The graphics are outstanding. But the gameplay is questionable. Not being able to just walk in the woods and hunt confounds me. Why do I have to follow the path in front of me? 5 stars!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Each One Seems to Get Worse

posted by Woodchippr (GRANGEVILLE, ID) Dec 2, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

24 out of 29 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

It seems that every time Cabelas puts their name on a game, it gets worse than the last one that was put out. I have played almost every game that Cabelas has put on the market, and I would have to say the Xbox 360 titles are horrible. One thing about BGH 2008 that made me want to rip my hair out, was the fact that you have all these vast areas that area presented in front of you, but your course is predetermined. You keep running into these invisible "walls" that prevent you from walking to the top of a small hill, or if you want to try to sneak up on game from a different area. Secondly, the game animals also seems to have trouble running around as they too hit these walls and either keep running into the wall or they turn around and run right past you. Either way all you have to do is produce your pistol and shoot the animal as it runs past or gets stuck on the invisible barrier that plagues both of you. There were a lot of glitches in the game that made it really hard to shoot at your target sometimes. All my years deer hunting I have never seen a deer run through a boulder or run to the top of a tree and get stuck. Also the character seems to glitch and reset right in the middle of game play. Another complaint is, is the animals no matter how quiet you try to sneak up on them, always seem to know you are there and scatter making you have to shoot at a moving target. There are these "boss" fights, with like a panther, a wild boar, and a lion to name a few but they are all really easy. The "boss" animals appear to be on a track, because they 2 out of 3 times they end up in the same place charging you. And if you dodge out of the way, the animal seems stunned and stands there allowing you ample time to shoot it. One of the biggest pet peeves with the boss animals is, is I have never heard or a cougar getting shot with a .500 magnum pistol over 12 times and still be able to come at you, they must have some kind of super animal strength.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

the game you see walking out of wal-mart

posted by canadaguy (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Dec 19, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of the old cabela's game, dangerous hunts, for the original xbox. This is a pretty good game, but good graphics are not enough to save a franchise. You pretty much follow a path, see animals you can't shoot without getting a stupid warning from the equally stupid warden. And when you do get to a spot to shoot stuff, you sit in a tree, or hope to god the animal does not see ya. This game has an arcade feel to it, something you see while you are walking out of wal-mart. only waste ur time if you are a true cabela's fan (if there is such a thing).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

need help falling to sleep?

posted by manny7788 (PALM BAY, FL) Jan 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game will help anybody fall to sleep...all you do is run run run some more..its so easy to find the animal your hunting..really bad game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

easy 1000 gamer points

posted by kevinwpbfl (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

you want an easy 1000 points? this is your game.
should take between 4-8 hours to get all the achievements...
that is really about all this game is worth, good little quick rental just to get easy achievements.
graphics are bland, sound stinks(voice acting is horrible..and they stereotype the locals) controls fairly well once you figure out the layout scheme.
they try to introduce a story into the hunts and add suspense with "RIVAL HUNTS" where basically a predator(bear, boar, leopard etc)attack you and you have to dodge and shoot it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hunting at its best!

posted by Derekrules (WESTWOOD, NJ) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Cabela's hunting games always been fun to play when your bored but someway you don't get attached to them. This game has the potential to do that. Good Graphics,good game play, this game runs fairly smooth. Lots of NEW things you can do in this game, thats a big bonus to the game. Overall its and Above Average/Average game nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST Cabela's Game to Date....

posted by Equipgod (DORCHESTER, NJ) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The title says it all, this is the best Cabela's hunting game made to date, bar none.

If you do not enjoy the Cabela's games then you obviously will not enjoy this one.

I am writing this review more to let Cabela's fans know this is a solid title rather than writing a typical review where this game is going to be compared to BioShock, Halo 3 and other titles.

The only downside to this game in its payability is that the screen kinda jerks or studders when you attempt to climb too steep a hill or if you try to force your character off the path.

Some NICE and WELCOME changes are, NO MORE SPRINT METER (YAY !), each location has a "BOSS" of sorts and this makes the game alot of fun, NO MORE SIOGHT ADJUSTMENTS FOR YOUR WEAPONS (for those of you that are tired and frustrated of aligning your sights to a 100m target only to have every animal come within 40m of you while you're playing) and last but not least the finest graphics ever seen on a Cabela's title.

I especially enjoyed the "optional" hunts which included bird hunting of various types of birds and other tasks I will not mention as to not spoil the game for you.

One last note, if you recall alot of running after your prey through the woods trying to get a clean kill in past titles, those days are over. Using the inventory supplied, you can truly sneak up on and STALK your prey.

I believe this is a good game to purchase at the $20 - $25 mark if you can find it or a good rental for certain.

Reply value is quite high which is usual for a Cabela's title. I find myself going back to hunt animals I wasn't told to just for fun.

Compared to "other" Xbox 360 titles I give this game a 6/10, compared to past Cabela's games a 10/10.

I hope this review helps those of you on the fence about renting a Cabela's title after some weak appearances they have already had on the 360. ENJOY !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

O.K

posted by danny10 (HOLLISTER, CA) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was fun and easily one of the best hunting games out their. The game was very easy and the achievements was so easy. Hunting the Trophy legdens, easy. Easy easy easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible

posted by tombXstone (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game pretty much stinks in my opinion. The gameplay/storyline was horrible but the graphics were nice.

Only reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 1 is it is pretty easy achievement points and I continued playing it for that value alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Let me shoot

posted by Breweres25 (WAUKESHA, WI) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fun Game to play but very very slow paced. You cannot sprint at all, so moving from one place to the next takes a long time. I wish you could shoot any animal you want and not have a limit. This game is only for the die hard hunting fans who willl take 25 min. to hide and wait for the aminals to walk buy.

Over all not bad for the achievments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

what I think about Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2008

posted by dude032 (HAMPTON, NJ) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think that the instant hunt was terrible, but everything else was good, so I give Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2008 a 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

posted by H410 (WATAUGA, TX) Jan 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

This is awsome because i am a real hunter and i was supposed to go hunting this week end but i was sick so i play this game insted!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cabelas, never know what your gonna get.

posted by ChuckNorris897 (BYRAM TOWNSHIP, NJ) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

lately i've been playing the cabelas games because i was told the achievements are easy to get and they are. what i ve seen in the few i've played is that some of them are the worst games ever and that some are actually really fun. cabelas big game hunter is actually pretty good. i enjoyed playing this very much the only problem i had with this is the dangerous animal fights they were, in my opinion, really stupid. everything in between these fights is great. also for you guys who wish your girlfriend would play video games i caught my girlfriend playing this game when she thought i wasn't home so hey, maybe your girlfriend will play this too. makes me think what else she does when im not home.............. hmm. anyway the achievements are easy to get if your an achievements junkie. If you played cabelas african safari and you enjoyed that you will like this. the graphics are better too. i hope this post helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not a bad game

posted by BACON (NORTH FORT MYERS, FL) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game isnt bad and its a little easy when it comes to the career mode. If your lookin for an easy 1000G for xbox360, this is one of those games. The hardest part is fighing the few "bosses" which can be helped by google searching this game for a walkthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

decent boring for achievments

posted by wait4pop (DALLAS, TX) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

long and boring fun to kill animals i quess getting ready for gears of war 3 by shooting deer!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rating for achievement hunters only

posted by DJHepcat (ROCHESTER, NY) May 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

I've played worse just for points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by NBoss57 (TAMPA, FL) Apr 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

It took me longer to take this game out of the gamefly package than it took me to decide to put it back. I played for about 5 minutes before deciding this game sucks. I'm a fan of shooting games so I thought I'd give this one a shot. I regret it. I strongly suggest staying away from this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

xbox live

posted by grant28 (ZUNI, VA) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I diddnt like this game... i want to play xbox live with my friend but idk why it wont let me play xbox live

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

game

posted by johnyv4239 (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

this game was not as cool as i thought little guns and way to many rules to fallow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cabela's Achievement Hunter

posted by Dave88 (COLUMBUS, OH) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

This game is extremely short and easy. Great for those achievement hunters out there.

I got a 1000/1000 gamerscore in one sitting with this game, in about 4-5 hours.

Outside of that, this game is not worth playing in the least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent hunting game

posted by Tophat (TACOMA, WA) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I enjoyed it but i didn't really like being mauled by most of the animals i tried hunting. I found it hard to recover because the items are little to no help at all. If you like blasting virtual animals then yes, you'll have a good bit of fun i'm sure. Most of it is actually a good challenge but sometimes when an animal attacks you it tends to not even be next to you and manage land a hit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cabela's big game hunter 2008

posted by hunter1991 (CONCORD, NH) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

this game is the wost hunting game in history. it's not even hunting, you go on a path shoot deer that run in to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy 360 Achievements from a Cool Game

posted by cnkt1964 (BREINIGSVILLE, PA) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I thought the game was very good. It has great graphics and a good mixture of tasks so you don't get too bored too quickly.

I was able to nab all 1,000 points in about a total of 6 hours.
The rival hunt achievements with the lion and cougar are the toughest to get.

All in all definitely a cool game and easy way to boost your gamerscore in a few hours!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2008

posted by Wazzletoff (NEW CANAAN, CT) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

When it comes down to it, the game needs a tutorial to start off with. It is just so dang difficult finally getting up to a big quarry, and before you have time to pull up your firearm, the animal has scented you, and is running around it's spawn location like a dog that is excited to go out for a walk. really, there is room for tons of game play improvement. I did find the Hunter's Sense quite helpful. One of the only good things in title. It forces you to walk slowly, a problem in the regular view, and highlights animals, allowing you to find them, because the tracking function is so poorly explained, if you can call stumbling on some tracks explaining, that using Hunter's Sense is really your only hope for spotting game before it spots you. The graphics, on the other hand, are quite amazing. In that department I was very impressed. I think Cabela's should try revamping one of their older titles, like Cabela's Grand Slam. That would probably bring better attention and game play back to their video game titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth playing the first time

posted by smo1424 (Gowen, MI) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

For a hunting game the graphics a realistic gameplay impressed me. The Career mode is challenging on expert level and if your looking for a game to boost your gamerscore this would be a solid choice. replay value is minimal though I would never pick up this game a second time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse