Rent Cabela's Alaskan Adventures for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Cabela's Alaskan Adventures

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
4.1

1614 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's ok but looong...

posted by NexT2099 (RALEIGH, NC) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rated it a 5.

It's a ok game. There are wierd quirks in it that will frustrate the living h e double l out of you but if you have patience it's not oo bad. I got 975 achievement points in about 20 hours. I didnt get the last 25 because the postman was here and I wanted to get my next game in que. I really enjoyed blasting Beavers away with a .50 cal 6 shooter hand gun. :) One thing that really frustrated me is the horrible way the vehicles handled. It's not necessary to use them and after driving one you probably wont, ever. The strongest animal in the game that you will hunt is a squirell. I put 8 arrows into 1 before it finally keeled over. I couldn't believe it. This game is worth playing and entertaining for what it is. If your going for easy achievement points then pass this game up. Every point you earn in this game is well deserved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Expect a realistic hunting game

posted by BowserUSC (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 18, 2006

Member since May 2005

24 out of 27 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

If you've played Cabela's before, and enjoyed it, this game lives up to the name. It is a hunting game though, not to be confused with a FPS. It is ONLY for someone who wants to enjoy a hunting game. Again, I'm trying to stress this a lot, if you're looking for a fps because you've played the rest, this is NOT the game to get.

The upgraded graphics in this game are the most notable feature. The game play is still very similar to other Cabela games. You'll be tasked with going into the wilderness, and hunting specific animals with certain qualifications. This could be as easy as kill a wolverine, to as difficult as kill a 3 rabbits and a lynx with a shotgun at less than 10 feet.

Fishing has been added to the game, as opposed to Dangerous hunts, and unfortunately it is necessary to fish. Fishing seems like a tedious process of setting lines and waiting for the fish to bite, much like other fishing mini games, so it adds little to the game.

An enjoyable game for the hunter or Cabela enthusiast, but most people will not enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game

posted by Applbee1 (PUYALLUP, WA) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

If you've played Dangerous Hunts, I believe this game lives up to it. It's not just about hunting though which throws alot of people off. The fishing part was great and the dog sledding was excellent. The hunting could've been a little better with very hard to kill Rabbits and trying to figure out the gender of some of the animals, but all and all a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A good rent, not a good buy

posted by GriffinG (POST FALLS, ID) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There were some things I loved about this game, and things I definitely hated. More bad than good sadly.
First here's what I thought they did a good job on. The actual structure of the game can be somewhat addictive. It's designed like a traditional RPG in that you get goals or quests to achieve 1 at a time and if you complete them you get money to go buy better gear. I like this idea of giving you challenges to complete rather than just sending you out in the woods to hunt random animals.
I also really enjoyed that they incorporated all the other events like dog sledding, fishing, and bird hunting. It was nice to rotate these while playing so that you didn't get to bored with one event.
NOW FOR THE BAD. First of all, I thought the graphics for this game were horrendous. On the XBOX 360 this game has by far some of the worst graphics. Some of the animals are even laughable, like the ox or whatever that looks like a box that just hovers around on the ground and gets stuck on everything. These graphics were just cheesy!
Secondly the controls were horrendous. They threw out the traditional way of controlling guns and made the controller mapping confusing and not user-friendly. It was not an intuitive flow of buttons to push to set up on an animal for the kill. The menu system was horrible as well.
The worst part of this game however was the wildlife AI. Animals just randomly sprinted around at incredibly high speeds, running around like their running was just randomized. It was hard to do anything in this game because there were just animals running sporadically everywhere and if they came across your path they automatically attacked.
Stealth and using lures, baits, camo, decoys, whistles, all that is useless in this game because non of it works right. This is a game where you just run around until you corner and kill it, it is impractical for you to really hunt by like setting up a decoy and waiting for an animal to come to it, the AI is so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

As In Real Life, It's Better Hunting With a Guide

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Sep 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I actually started this game back in December 2006. I got a little way into it and got totally frustrated with the game and sent it back to the rental company. I recently decided I would try it again, but this time I would take advantage of using a guide for help on the tricky parts.

As in real life, it's so much better to hunt with a guide than going it alone. With the help of a guide, I actually started to have fun with the game. The challenges didn't seem quite so difficult when you knew a bit more about the general area of where to find the fish and game. The really fun starts when you start pushing to see how far away you can be and still nail that trophy animal.

One word of caution for anyone that might think this game is in any way, shape, or form close to reality. You will not be able to drop a bear or moose with just one shot from a .22 magnum pistol. That's just a bit too far fetched.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Avg

posted by Shelby71 (BISMARCK, ND) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is ok but got it for my girlfriend since she is a big hunter. Nothing on here is impossible and does take time to get use too. I have a HD tv and the graphics are not the best i have seen in a game atleast not for 360 anyway. the shooting part is easy point and shoot cake right, wrong!!!! After everytime u get a new gun and put scope on u have to take it to target range and set it in which takes about 2 to 3 mins to get good enough to hit something or target at 150 yards. the animals are hard to tell what is male and female and the attacks on your life suck. There isnt an animal in the world that wouldnt run when they see a human or hear a gun shot. I got killed by bison for god sakes. Ice fishing is easy the boat fishing thats a different story all together. Realistic is one thing and boarding is other. Spend 25 mins looking to get a fish and got 2 bites. If u want easy acheiment point go for it but if your looking for a fun time dont get your hopes up. Only if u like hunting animals and have to be one good shot or your empting the gun into them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gamefly could sells these as coasters

posted by Stiller (MESA, AZ) May 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is annoying in that the sense that they don't make hunting look fun but really boring. They could make this game fun by making a hunting game a GAME and not a chore list that you repeat 20 times over. None of this game was fun. Couldn't bear to play it after about 10 hrs. Got it on Sat and sent it in on Sun. I just don't understand how little they do to this game to make this one of the worst Xbox 360 games ever. Fuzion Frenzy which sucked was more fun than this. ANd by the way, theres no hunting in this game, just running to one side of the map and then cornering every animal you have to kill. There's no sense of realism to this game because if the guy in the game was for real he probably would have turned the gun on himself a long time ago. I mean you can't simulate a real hunting experience so just make it FUN. SOmewhere these guys said screw fun, lets just make some quick money on some achievement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

One of the worst 360 games that I've ever rented

posted by WillCA (FRESNO, CA) Apr 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In one word: Broken.

This was probably one of the most frustrating rentals I have ever gotten. I genuinely pity the poor souls that were suckered into buying this one at full retail, even if that was only $30. What you get is something that wouldn't even be scored highly on PS2 or Xbox, let alone a 'next-gen' system.

--- Running Out of Breath ---
You get winded very easily in this game, simply from walking. If you choose to 'sprint' (which truthfully is more like a morning jog) you will exhaust yourself even sooner, slowing down the pace of a mediocre game.

--- Dog sledding ---
There's only two events that involve dog sledding, and they both run on the same track. Your sled becomes damaged and the dogs will fatigue and require rest.

--- Timed fowling ---
There are some events that require you to hunt birds, and get a certain score within a five second interval. The problem? The camera fades in from black for three of those five seconds, so seeing the early shot is extremely difficult.

--- Damage modelling ---
Why can I shoot a Mountain goat with five rounds of a 30-06 and not kill it, but two shots of a .22 Magnum in the foot of a Kodiak bear will bring it down? The way that the damage is set up in this game is as ridiculous as the inaccurate aiming of the various firearms you can use.

--- Graphics ---
The best part of the entire game is the lens flare you get off of looking at or into the sun. One of the best moments I had with this game is shooting a Musk Ox at pointblank range and watching it's stiff body do pathetic cartwheels down a slope. While this game never claims to be anything more than a bargain bin tripe, you still probably came into it with higher expectations than will be delivered on here. Textures, environments, and especially the animals all look like they belong on a different system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STOP! DON"T RENT THIS GAME

posted by KingWill3 (PLYMOUTH, MA) Jan 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awful. I think Atari would have made a better Cabela's game. The gameplay is so lame, that it's like playing a Regular XBOX game. Dog sledding is a joke, and ice fishing gets boring fast. I shot a moose and was attacked by a wolverine, and I am an avid outdoorsman, so I think it was lame. Don't waste your time with this Cabela's catalog platform.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Calebas Alaskan Adventures

posted by penigizer6 (HOPKINSVILLE, KY) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is horrible because when you hunt for a lynx and coyote, they attack you. Come on! Get it real. Make a real game experience; were they run away, and you have to track them. Also, when does a Dahl Sheep charge you? Huh yeah right. Don't buy this game its horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It had a lot of potential

posted by caspian21 (BISMARCK, ND) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Alaskan Adventures is actually a pretty decent hunting game at its core. However, a few glaring gameplay problems and a lack of polish overshadow what could have been a terrific opportunity to bring Cabela's hunting series to next generation systems.

First the positive. The graphics are decent enough, the ground cover and draw distance are downright impressive. There is a good variety of hunting locations and they all immerse you in the hunt. Sound is also acceptable, birds and animal sounds utilize all surround speakers well. Their are plenty of weapons and items to acquire.

The downside is more extensive. First off, the menus are a hassle and difficult to navigate. Also, if you buy an item or weapon, you must equip it, and you can only equip it in the lodge. That might not seem like a problem except it leads to another glaring problem - loading times are long, very long. Every time you enter or exit the lodge (which is simply a menu, not a place to wander around in)be prepared for a 15-20 second wait. You'll know what I mean when you simply need to buy a few more bullets and must waste 1-2 minutes which could have been spent hunting.

Another disappointing part of the game are the vehicles, which are such a pain to drive (since they are impossible to control and you can't even really see over the dashboard to avoid trees) that I gave up and started walking.

Since the vehicles are unusable, the real deal breaker with the game is the fact that you run out of breath if you try moving quickly for even 10-15 seconds. This causes your character to stop and catch his breath which takes another 30 seconds for the endurance bar to fill up. I find myself frequently switching back and forth between hunting and watching television just to let my character recover.

I had high hopes for this game, all the basics are there for a really good hunt but the load times, vehicle handling, and short endurance meter need to be fixed to attract new gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

improved

posted by venom71 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 25, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

37 out of 46 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this game has improved over the years and has made a big step up by the graphics are amazing and you can see the hair on the animals, and the sweat on your guys face and game play rocks, by there is a wide variety on what to hunt i definetly suggest this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I was excited about this game but not anymore

posted by Jethro1964 (MANSFIELD, TX) Oct 3, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

17 out of 25 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I rented from gamefly and thank goodness im a gameflyer. I was expecting much much more from this game but if fell way short of my expectations. Nothing at all on the download content so forget that nicety the developers could have used. The game started well but when trying to buy things at the general store its made much more difficult than need be to equip the items and if you dont equip what your told you cannot leave the store..lol..Ive been hunting many many times but in all those times ive never had a pack of wolves sneak up and attack me from behind and kill me...come on so unrealistic. I was walking to a hunting site and was charged by several buffalo which i had to kill but was warned for killing them which ended my hunt.

I do like the range shooting aspect and the animals seem to move realistically but watch your back. The fishing is ok but way to unrealistic to even have fun in the game.

Rent it you may like it or just parts of it like me but dont waste your money to buy the game unless you get a very good deal like the cost of a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING

posted by brno32 (NORTHPORT, AL) Jan 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I really could care less about buying tags and stuff. I just wanna shoot stuff. Its true when you actually get to finally shoot something it is incredibly fun. But your character is slow and it takes forever to finally get something so the games simply boring. Plus there is almost no character customization.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cabela's Alaskan Adventure

posted by SledDaUP (GWINN, MI) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the worst games I have played to date. The graphics are alright. The guide voice is horrible, repeating the same quotes time after time. In one section of the game the gun sighting is so far off you can hardly hit the animals. In the same section of the game, the animals can jump and attack you from distances of 30 to 40 feet. Without completing this section of the game you will NOT get 25 of the achievement points. If you like completing a game 100% and getting all of the achievement points this is a game to avoid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing

posted by Fry220 (CAMPBELL, CA) Oct 4, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

20 out of 31 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Being a fan of hunting/fishing games, I know the good ones are usually few and far between. I was expecting a lot from this next-gen title, but disappointed around every corner.

Graphics were simple and blocky.

Gameplay lags when you are trying to aim at your target, and when hitting "invisible walls" (which there shouldnt be, cmon I played Oblivion it can be done!)

There are vehicles, but I just don't see the point, other than saving you time of dreadful walking speeds.

The dog sledding feature is embarrassing.

Ice fishing sounded cool on the back of the box, but turns out to be more boring than my girlfriends roommate.

To sum up, I just cant believe that a newly released console already has such a cra ppy game.

So glad I only rented it. Hope this helps you in your decision to rent. Not worth your time. I'm telling you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

the games okay but theres some bad spots

posted by vroomvroom (GRETNA, LA) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the game is great upon the animals that you can hunt.but one thing i don't like is having to buy hunting tags ,and running out of bullets and wind upgetting mauled by a wolf lookin thing.so for future players of this game here is some advice have extra health packs and bullets and always have a revolver or shotgun equiped for defense

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

pretty weak for a game that was 18th on my QUE!

posted by ldfarquar (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i didn't really want this game to begin with. It was last on my Que, but Gamefly sent it to me anyways.. I've gotten three games from them so far, and none of them I liked (FEAR, and Battle Stations Midway, the other two) but all three were near the end of my Que.. their delivery is slow.. I noticed that they received a game I returned on monday and didn't ship out the next one till Wednesday.. and the game they shipped out was this one, last on my Que. What is the point of a Que if they don't abide by it? Compared to N3tfl1x, gamefly REALLY SUCKS.. seriously, if a game is at the bottom of my Que, it generally means I'm not that interested in it and I don't expect it to be that good.. and this game was pretty weak all around. I didn't feel like I was playing a 360 game... more like Nintendo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game crazy, but not for this

posted by gamequeen (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Mar 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Before I rented this game I read several reviews, I felt I should give the game a chance and see for myself. I agree with most of the reviews I read. I love games and this game dissapointed me. It is hard to figure out what you are suppose to accomplish. You have to pass hunting challenges before you can enter any hunting realm. So it is not like other games where if you get frusterated with game play you can just go do something for fun. The hunting is hard to master and takes too long to complete. The fishing is fun, but once again its timed and you are rushed. The graphics, sounds, and weather elements are realistic and good quality. However, I feel this game was not worth the mail time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Would have been really impressive 5 years ago

posted by llganjall (BOSTON, MA) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When i first saw that this game was coming out i was excited. I'm an avid fisherman/outdoors type, and nothing appeals to me more than outdoors themed games.While the Cabelas logo, and content of the game kept me interested for a few hours, the graphics immediately left a bad taste in my mouth.The graphics are Xbox at best, and so far off from what anyone would envision as the next gen standard that i almost feel ashamed that i actually purchased this game. Definitely rent it just so you can unlock some easy achievements, but i guarentee that this game will fall far short of all your expectations..

p.s. Have fun trying to cast a fly rod. It's almost impossible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Should be a simple game...

posted by chowda (RICHMOND, ME) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Bad menus... Hard to follow what it is they want you to do next... I hope you understand lures, guns and all the other equipment you'll need to buy, because this game wont be explaining it to you. They could have made this game a 4 or a 5 by simply creating a logical menu system and providing a clearer path through the game and perhaps a little more explanation of equipment and so-forth. If you're looking for the "Deer Hunter" experience, you wont find it here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Zzzzz

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Oct 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I usually get into my reviews and make them pretty detailed about how feel about a game.

However, even writing about this game makes me tired. It boring gaming to the max. Granted its better than the previous installment in the Cabela's series, but that doesn't mean its a good thing.

Unless you are a hardcore hunter and a gamer (most likely doesn't exist) you wont like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

badgers wolves and cougars o my!!!!

posted by mathmetal (BARNEGAT, NJ) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

any hunting game where u are attacked by a cougar as
often as this is f'in ridiculous.the game can't even handle more than two animals on the screen at the same time without the framerate droppin.its amazing that they let them release this game.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cabela's Alaskan Adventures

posted by oldtimer63 (LEWISTON, ID) Oct 3, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

8 out of 19 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

You would think that when a game stinks the company would make it better , improve after the one ok game(dangerous hunts) and after the lackluster unimproved (DH 2). Apparently none of the people that worked on this has ever hunted in their entire life!! My 12ga doesn't arc at 30ft! I've never been attacked by a wolf in 30 plus years of hunting. I wont even talk about the vehicles.....morons. There are so many things wrong with this game.....I just cant continue.
If they had a negative rating for this game it would have been -10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Cool

posted by XNCSaafend (GAYLORD, MI) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was loving the idea of this game and have been a fan of the series and hunting/fishing games in general. But to be honest with this being a next gen game i expected more. First off the bat it feels really nice. Good options on styles of hunting and i was certainly looking forward to a few steady days play. But then the realization set in that this game is almost completely linear. It tries to appear free form but eventually fails. Even in the non adventure sets you have specific goals like catching 4 fish in 5 minutes in ice fishing. yeah that is some realism there.
Same with the hunting. it tells you what to get and with what. Mind boggling that what in essence is the ultimate zen/at one with nature past-time should convert so badly to a linear and numbing online experience.
Add to that the fact there is nothing except DL content (Nope not even online leaderboards) to utilize this powerful machine. I am glad i have gamefly as it will be sent back in a few days. Don't get me completely wrong. I like the game to some extent and will be a value rental. But make good use of GF and don't buy this game.
Biggest shame was i was so hoping at some stage the wonderful Cabela's would put their name to a game like pro fishing challenge and make it online MP. Oh how i miss playing that game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse