Rent Cabela's African Safari for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Cabela's African Safari

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
5.3

1820 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Hunting Game Ever!

posted by Alowe2007 (HIGHLAND HOME, AL) Apr 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

25 out of 26 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I've played many of hunting games, but this is the best. There's so much to do and plenty of animals to hunt. There is alot of weapons to use like bows, rifles, pistols, shotguns and crossbows. Some of the animals are massive and some are just wanting to kill you. I can't think of a better way to hunt. Hunt elephants, lions, zebras, rhinos, birds, many species of deer, and many more animals. If you like hunting games you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Game is Decent

posted by Pzaman (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

32 out of 37 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The game has decent graphics and a nice array of animals to hunt. The game is pretty short because i beat the safari mode in one night. A good game to rent not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for a sniper!

posted by NexT2099 (RALEIGH, NC) Feb 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a fan of the Cabela's series now. This is the best and funnest one I have played yet. I played Alaslan Adventures and it was tough and had alot of bug in it but this game has been cleaned up quite a bit. Although they could have spent more time on the graphics I truely enjoyed this game. If you love to snipe in FPS games like Call of Duty then you will enjoy this game. There's nothing like taking down a lion from 175+ yards with a scoped out rifle. One shot, one kill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game for starters

posted by CacadorAch (NEWARK, NJ) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hey guys... this is a good games to start with shooter games...
is easy, fast and good game...
My wife didn't like to much cause she feel sorry for that animals...
heheheh
but is a game and that's it.
got my vouches

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Run-and-gun hunting

posted by geophf (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It seems like Cabela takes a good deal of flack from the (review) community for producing subpar games, and this game, compared to top blockbuster titles, certainly suffers in the shadows, particularly because as it claims to be a "hunting" game, when held up to the light of reality, fails in every which way (perhaps the helpful porter always working on the always broken jeep is accurate, but nothing else is).

But I will use this review to point out the finer qualities of this game, which can be summarized thus: 1000 achievement points obtained in a fair and straightforward manner.

Certainly, this game continually urges you to sneak about, but in the extreme difficulties, you've got no time for that time-wasting foolishness -- run right up to the trophy, or run about to flush out your trophy, and then nail it with whatever powerful weapon you have right between the eyes -- do this seven times (once for each type of hunt), and you've won the game.

If you take that game as that, then it's a really good game. You get your achievements fairly and there's no stupid-hard ones to deal with, as in many, many other subpar games appealing to appear hardcore (PD0, Bomberman and GoW, I'm looking at you).

No, on a real hunt, when I'm going after an elephant, and a cheetah decides to make me lunch, I'm not going to play chicken with it, as this game requires -- no, I'm going to shoot it so many times that its cubs for 3 generations will leave me alone. Also, the game gets the player stuck so many times on tiny rocks (while dodging said cheetah), that one has to wonder at the dexterity of the player character. The laundry list of faults for this game could (and does?) go on for quite a while.

The short of it is this: it's an unpretentious game that's three hours of mild entertainment. It's hard to say that about most of the other offerings out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Achievement Unlocked = Easy 1000

posted by CrustyDirt (Beverly Shores, IN) May 16, 2008

Member since May 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

African Safari, like all other Cabella games is an easy 1000 GS (gamer score). I would highly recommend if your shooting for achievements that your rent this game.

Requirements for 1000 GS:

1. Play game on expert difficulty. (easier than it sounds, just doesn’t include your animal radar)
2. Defeat all trophy hunts on expert. (if you play on expert this will come naturally.)
3. DO NOT KILL ANY OTHER ANIMAL THAT IS NOT PART OF YOUR GAME OBJECTIVE, UNLESS ITS AN ANIMAL TRYING TO ATTACK YOU, THEN YOU CAN ONLY KILL IT WHILE USING ADRENALINE, OR YOULL GET A PENALTY, AND FORFIET THE 45 GS TOWARDS 1000. I would know I had to play the game twice. (once on expert and once on novice so I could get my 45 GS easily.
Also: If you happen to shoot an animal and get a penalty, don't worry just restart the map you are playing, and it will be erased.

Game Time Play Estimate for 1000 GS: < 6 hours

Xbox Live Gamer Tag: CrustyDirtDemon

Feel free to contact me for help...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty solid game with good graphics and game play

posted by saintmarc (Kenosha, WI) May 9, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

"Cabela's African Safari" offers diverse game play with solid graphics and many wildlife animals. The game could have included more audio sound effects of said wildlife. Especially for the purpose of locating certain wildlife. Some hunts become a nuisance to complete, as the load and save time takes longer than the hunt itself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

JUST A QUICK REMARK..........

posted by Cletus (CANTON, GA) Apr 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I wish that everyone would stop saying that you get penalized for killing animals that attack you. If you would take the time to learn the controls, you would know that pressing LB puts you into adrenaline mode, which allows you to kill dangerous animals without getting a penalty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Vast improvements over alaska adventures

posted by llganjall (BOSTON, MA) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you have ever played alaska adventures then you have probably been cursing cabelas name ever since. Honestly, the only reason i even gave this game a chance was because the temptation of shooting endangered animals was just too great. The graphics are up to next gen par for the most part, but i would have liked to have seen a little more detail and room to roam in the environments. The animations are much better than past cabelas games, but i still feel like something more grand should happen after i kill a rhino. While this game isn't perfect it shows us that cabelas can put out a decent game.I recomment turning the surround sound up all the way to make the gunshots sound more realistic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Repetitive

posted by SteveD (Clovis, CA) Feb 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2003

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Liked the game, but it is way to repetitive. Some hunts are too easy. Ok game, but it could be improved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Agree with last poster

posted by cashmere14 (Seattle, WA) Jan 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The game has decent graphics and a nice array of animals to hunt. The game is pretty short because i beat the safari mode in one night. A good game to rent not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Descent to rent, not buy

posted by clrd2lnd (KAILUA, HI) May 2, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is easy to beat and can be done in one sitting. It's so-so, nothing to brag about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love it

posted by xxghostyxx (PHENIX CITY, AL) Nov 29, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

15 out of 26 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

It has all you could want alot better than the other one you can really get into it i sat down and just beat it all 2 times and still love it and even tho its beat i still want to play it more a must have game:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER!!!!!

posted by Pizzaman (MECHANICSVILLE, VA) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is so sweet! Its got great graphics with minimal load times. Its got loads of animals to hunt in lots of different places too! Its also got some pretty sweet extra modes to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not To bad of a game...

posted by NICKGLI (NEWNAN, GA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think it is hard to say that this game was a great game but i wouldnt mine playing it with a friend.. has a bunch of cool features.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why is this called a "game"?

posted by Buster2 (WHEELING, IL) Apr 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Maybe the problem is that I don't hunt.
Maybe if I did, I would have thought this was the best thing ever.
But I don't hunt, which was part of the reason that curiosity got the best of me.
Now, I don't want to hunt.
Let me help you understand what this game is:
You start on a safari, in some part of Africa. You have to walk your character over to a guy who is always fixing a jeep and pick a hunt to go on.
Most of the hunting involves walking around, gun in hand, trying not to scare any critters. If you happen to scare an animal that might hurt you, you have to run away until it catches you and kills you, or break some sort of 'rule' and shoot it to death. Do that too many times? Hunt over, go home noob.
Let's say you manage to avoid all that. Let's pretend you don't mind wasting time creeping along the African landscape and actually find your prey. You carefully aim, then shoot. Oops! That didn't kill him! Chase the wounded animal around! Hooray!
Oh what fun it is to shoot a rhino from 100 yards away only to have a wounded Rhino charging you as you fire like an idiot, pumping round after round into the rhino. Hooray, he's dead!
What do I win?
Nothing.
The opportunity to hunt another animal.
I get it - hunting is for some.
But if this is what hunting is really like, then hunting is for dim witted yokels with too much time on their hands.
This is not a fun game to play. I got through the entire thing in one night, looked at my watch and realized - I've just wasted my night. Bored and angry at myself for renting this boring waste of time, I turned off my 360 and went to sleep.
This game stunk. Unless you are an avid hunter who 'gets it', don't bother.
Game play is slow and frustrating, the controls are annoying and awkward, and the content is devoid of enjoyment.
This game is a waste of a perfectly good game disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good Game!

posted by samb13 (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is one i bought before i rented it. You may have heard bad things about the graphics. On a scale of 1-10 I'd give the graphics a 6.5. The graphics remind me of solder of fortune gold edition except with a way better looking environment and the character looks the same as the bad guys on that game. (hope that helps).

On to the game play. It is an 8. The graphics aren't beautiful but the doesn't affect the rating. You use certain weapons with certain animals. If you kill a zebra while hunting a Hyena then you get points taken off instead of jail time. Points are earned and unlock better guns. Although you might feel that this would be boring you are wrong in my opinion. So my suggestion is: definitely rent. BUT you won't be sorry if you buy. Oh ya. The graphics are also like 'GUN' (360 version)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The worst...

posted by Notoriouz (MESA, AZ) Feb 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

of the two Cabelas games. Alaskan was way better more fun and had better missions to complete. A lot of times the animals were hard to determine which one was to be killed like the mission where you are on the jeep and must kill one of the wildrebeasts.

I would suggest staying away form this unless you are fantactic of killing savannah animals that are only horribly rendered pixels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time

posted by Masterater (WARWICK, RI) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Seriously, do not even bother with this. The graphics are garbage. The gameplay is weak and there is no story to speak of. Go buy a BB gun and shot cans. It is more fun then this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok...too easy

posted by Built4acuracy (PEORIA, IL) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game is too easy for my taste. never had a "dangerous animal" attack me even after missing the shot. Was fun but not up to my standards of a hunting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game for all of you achievement junkies!

posted by ChuckNorris897 (BYRAM TOWNSHIP, NJ) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

everyone has already posted the good and the bad parts of this game but, im just going to tell you about the achievements. this game has the easiest achievements to obtain. PLaying on expert is as easy as playing on easy the only difference is the map doesn't show you where the animals are. a very easy 955 achievements. there is only one achievement that you have to be patient with and thats not getting a penalty at all when you're playing safari hunt. hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad. like crazy bad.

posted by Trae617 (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

i dont even wanna waste my time writing about how awful this game is. idk why i even got this game so fast it's like 15 on my list in between two good games i figured i'd play this while i send a good one back and wait for the other good one to show up. guess gamefly just decided to send me this and get the painful stuff out of the way first cuz this game made me want to punch stuff like their commercial shows.



if you're a completionist gamer like me, dont even get this game you'll waste many hours of your life screaming at your tv asking what you should be doing to just get through the suck before you realize it's just not worth it to get that extra 50 gamerscore just for beating a game.



dont be like me. I rented this game thinking "surely it cant be as bad as everyone says". gotta give everything the benefit of the doubt, right? wrong. even for a game made in '08, this game sucks. just. dont. do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good not great

posted by PoppaDukes (SPRING LAKE, NJ) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Typical graphical quality of a game that came out in 2006. It is a fun game to run through on easy for the experience. Down right frustrating on expert. Mainly due to the fact that the hunts are timed. A very easy 650 gamerscore can be had out of this game in roughly 5-7 hours. The rest of the achievemets will take sometime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

African Safari

posted by Gamerthumb (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I have to tell you I REALLY love this game. Its filled with action and hunting expertise. I play shooters and i gotta say this is one of the most interesting. I give this game an 8 of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring, but some easy points.

posted by Absinthe36 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Snag some easy achievements, but don't expect to be entertained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse