Rent CSI: Dark Motives for DS
view large frontback

CSI: Dark Motives

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.5

437 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No help

posted by Xandra (DENMARK, WI) Dec 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love CSI, so I thought this would be an awesome game for me! I have been trying to play it for the last day or two and have gotten stuck. The help options are pretty much non-existent! I have been going round and round in circles! I would not recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Makes you think, made me laugh a bit and...

posted by xmonix (RENO, NV) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

made me want to pull my hair out a bit too.

I LOVED this game. Was addicted until I could solve all the cases.

It's definitly hard and makes you think a lot. You have to search the ENTIRE screen because if you miss something very small, you can't solve the case.

Something frustrating is that you do not have save spots you can go to. If you want to restart the case, you restart the whole case.

I do think this is for a much older audience that wants to not just play a game, but be challenged.

I admit i had to sneak a peek at the walkthroughs several times when I was really stuck.

There was one case where I did EVERYTHING and could not solve it. Then, I retried it by finding things in the order of the walkthrough and it worked. That could have been fixed.

Aside from minor (major at the time) frustrations, I really do recommend this game to others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Might be a game for older folks

posted by KludKLUD (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

While CSI: Dark Motives seems to get less than stellar reviews, it actually isn't quite bad. Gives me the same nostalgia as the Law & Order game for PCs. While it is slow paced, it's a type of sim game, and therefore doesn't hold the requirements for a quick pace. It is interesting, easy to navigate, and very laid back, which makes it an excellent pick for that last game for the night. I would recommend CSI: Dark Motives to anyone who likes to mysteries and solving them. My best guess is this might be a game for older gamers (eg CSI fans and persons above 20 years of age.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tedious and boring

posted by DMalice (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was mind numbingly slow paced and lacked anything to make it enjoyable. I have enjoyed other games in this genre, but not this one. You are made to go constantly back and forth to the same locations, over and over again. For me, it was like watching paint dry. I would not recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointed

posted by ehorn0629 (WATERTOWN, TN) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

While the graphics and idea of the game are great, I spent 5 days on the first case and never beat it. If you don't solve the case in a particular order, the game does not recognize that you have found the clues. I was very disappointed in the game, I had high expectation for it because I love the show but was let down. I would definitely not recommend buying this game. Only rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not all it is cracked up to be

posted by danisparkl (CINNAMINSON, NJ) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I found this game slightly difficult to play on the ds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No Decent CSI game yet

posted by drawers (ROME, NY) May 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Well, you don't really do anything in this game and its really short. All of the questions for suspects are scripted so you just ask all of the questions and you'll get to the end. You also have to find evidence so you just sweep the crime seen and pick up everything you can, then bring it back to the lab. Greg tells you what to do with it and if you visit Brass and don't get a warrant, you missed something. Go back to every location and sweep for more evidence. Bring it back to Greg at the lab and talk to Brass again. Wash, rinse, repeat until you can get a warrant. Pretty boring game, not even worth a rent in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

CSI: Dark Motives

posted by Clankrocks (STATE COLLEGE, PA) May 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

It isn't the best CSI game, but it is fun. The first case is sort of hard if you don't know what your doin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

CSI: Dark Motives

posted by mommygamer (READING, PA) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I had the game for the ds and it was pretty good as far as story lines. The graphics could have been better. It is not as easy as it seems on tv. I hated the fact that you had to complete one step in order to do something else. So I was constantly rechecking my evidence to make sure I did all the steps. Then even sometimes it did not register. Once I got the hang of it the game was not to bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Thinking required

posted by KDowney (WARRENSBURG, MO) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This is a game that is only boring if you can't find the clues. However, all it is, is a smaller version of the Xbox version of the game. If I had known that, I wouldn't have rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very Bad Game

posted by kasbill (TAHLEQUAH, OK) May 9, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game was horrible. I have played the computer version and loved it. I thought this would be pretty close to it. But I was wrong. I cant even come up with the words to explain how bad this game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

could've been MUCH better

posted by metalbtch (CATAWISSA, PA) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

this game just seemed like it was missing something from beginning to end. sure it has the characters from the show and cases somewhat inspired by the show, but it was just kind of boring. plus if you don't do things in exactly the right order, you can't move forward in the case and therefore in the game. i had to look up the walkthrough for the pc version just to figure out what i did wrong. also, i was kinda bummed at the fact that pretty much the only sound you get is some weird background music that i can only assume is supposed to be suspenseful. plus there are only 5 cases to work on so after the last one i couldn't help but feel like i was just cheated. I just really want the weekend i spent on this game back... a waste of my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Been there, done that

posted by Ingimarr (SHORELINE, WA) Dec 9, 2007

Member since May 2007

I enjoyed this game the first time, when I played it on my PC. There is nothing new or interesting for the people who have played the PC game already.

The game often requires you to make incongruous leaps of faith with pieces of evidence, as well as what location to visit at what time.

If you want to play this game, crank your DS brightness up so you can see things, click on EVERYTHING, try all the tools for each piece of evidence and good luck. It's basically a trial and error process. Sometimes the intuitive thing to do is not what the game wants you to do.

Overall, watching the show is more interesting than playing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »