Rent Buzz: Quiz World for PS3
view large frontback

Buzz: Quiz World

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

190 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

No controllers...whoops

posted by josheee (BELLEVUE, WA) Aug 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I didn't read the review beforehand, so I didn't notice that this game requires the buzz controllers to play. I just added it as one of the games that was recommended for me, instead of clicking into the main page, where I would have learned that you can't play this with a standard Playstation controller. They should really highlight that fact everywhere you can rent this game, so people don't make the same mistake I did.

Hopefully you don't make the same mistake that I did. This game is a waste of a rental if you don't have the special controller (game won't even boot).

While we're on the subject, I have no idea why they'd make a trivia game you can only play with the special controller. Scene It works without those big button controllers, why not this one? What, I couldn't press "X" when I know the answer?

Lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont get it

posted by disasterj (SEATAC, WA) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

they send u this game. and u cant play it.. in order to play it u have to have the hand held buzzers made for the game., dont waist ur time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

well...

posted by theduder (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

i was very excited to rent this new edition to buzz trivia. since i bought the original version and got the controllers then, it was great to have a new bunch of questions and a fresh new look with some new features. also, it says right on the rent screen that you need the controllers...so all in all its great for anyone who loves trivia and is already a fan of buzz trivia. otherwise dont bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If You Like Buzz, you'll like this game

posted by johnnywebb (YELM, WA) Jul 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Despite the harsh reviews there are some irrefutable facts.

The game requires buzz controllers. If you don't know that, now you know. Don't rent unless you have them.

This game was meant for more than one player. You can play single player, but most modes require either playing online or with more than two local players.

The major graphics change makes sense if you think about it. One major gripe about Buzz 1 was that Buzz would announce every round the same way each time, because there were prerendered animations. Now they use the ingame engine for Buzz's dialog. This means that while the speech animations don't match up as well, at least Buzz doesn't say the same thing over and over ad nauseum.

Here's the bottom line. If you've never played a Buzz game, play or buy this one instead of part one. If you liked part one, you'll like this one better, probably. I did. If you didn't like part one, this isn't going to change your mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why require special controllers?

posted by northforty (ATASCADERO, CA) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 24 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I rated this game 1 out of 10 because I couldn't play it without the buzzers. Why can't I use the four buttons that come on my PS3 controller instead of the four buttons the special controller has? ooohhh I know why! Because they want to nickel and dime an extra $20 out of you....

Fail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Controllers Not Included: Decent Trivia is.

posted by XBLRadio (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This is more a response to a few upset renters. They are wondering why gamefly would rent this without the controllers. The answer is simple.

Gamefly rents the media, and you supply the medium. Think about it: if you rent a PSP game, should they ship a PSP for you? Howver since you dont have a PSP, should they not allow others, who do own a psp, to rent it?

Perhaps Gamefly should place stickers on games that require accessories. (likea camera, flightstick, or buzzer) But ultimately it is not their fault to keep the renter educated on what the game requires to play.

As for the game: More of the same. If you played the last Buzz then this is more of an upgrade question pack. I will say that is is better than the recent "Scene It" release. Due to a better variety of gameplay. But I agree with most who think this could have been an upgrade rather than an overhaul.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DOES NOT WORK-- game requires custom controller

posted by jfriedlan (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Mar 27, 2010

Member since May 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

After going through the install process, the game displays a screen forcing the user to plug in one of the special Buzz World buzzers. Having only rented this game, I had no such controller and could not play it.

Renting this game without warning is bad of Gamefly. But the fault also lies on the developers because from what I understand, the custom controller is a 1 button pad which is dwarfed in functionality by the standard dual shock controllers.

Their requiring the custom controller seems entirely a money-making gimmick.

Do not rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT THIS GAME!

posted by dnourie (OCALA, FL) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Unless you somehow already have the Buzzers, which ARE NOT SOLD OR RENTED SEPERATELY, you will not be able to play this game! Only peope WHO OWN the previous version of this game will be able to play it.

THERE IS NO WARNING FROM GAMEFLY THAT YOU NEED SPECIAL CONTROLLERS TO PLAY THIS GAME, and that is why this is Gamefly's fault.

What a waste time this has turned out to be!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

PS2 Buzzers work on PS3

posted by MKmaster (BATON ROUGE, LA) May 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

After choosing this game I saw that it was on the way to my house through the mail. next I looked @ some reviews on gamefly. I was really scared, because all of them pretty much said the same thing. "can't play this game,because it won't work without the controllers that are bought with purchase of the game." I am a big fan of the Buzz games, so I own a set of the "Buzzers" for my PS2. We plugged them in to my PS3 console and.....they worked! Love the game!!! lots of fun @ parties. try playing teams. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BUZZ KILL!

posted by goflyers (BUTLER, PA) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This game requires more attachments in order to play so please be aware before renting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Buzzer

posted by Bereal (SLIDELL, LA) Oct 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is a rental but gamefly does not include the buzzer?and they are not sold sep , only with the game as a bundle ... sigh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Such an Awesome game :(

posted by bstaff1986 (WICHITA, KS) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Was suggested for me by Gamefly, Did not read into that it is required to have buzz trivia controllers, and since they have pretty much stopped making them it makes it next to impossible to cheaply acquire the controllers, who makes a game that only is playable with a select subset of crapily made controllers o ya Sony America, anyways thanks Gamefly for the solid recommendation, Ill have to remember to ignore them in the future. And when are you sending something good . . .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Had to send it back!

posted by cottton (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

Thx game fly for not saying that you need the buzz controlers for this game to play thx for the time it took so long to get to my house and then i find that out and had to send it back to you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

read the profiles first

posted by jedav1978 (ATLANTA, GA) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Could not play this game. I knew this game used a special control but I didn't know that if you don't have them you can't even start the game. Didn't have the controls. Remember to read each profile in detail to get the most out of your rentals. Kinda sucks that I wasted my free trial on a game I could not play. I'm sure it would have been a good game the other reviewers seemed to think so. Oh well lesson learned!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Buzz :Quiz World

posted by Pittgreg (FORKED RIVER, NJ) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Very good game...already owned controllers so was not unprepared . Game has alot of questions and categories that made it fun too play without repeating questiopns...7 outta 10 !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A rushed, sloppy disappointment

posted by IceNiner (MILL CREEK, WA) Dec 1, 2009

Member since May 2008

I am a big fan of the original Buzz! TV and I got the new Buzz! Quiz World a couple of days ago.

They ought to feel ashamed for releasing this title in it's present form. The questions are way, way dumbed down. The backgrounds of the game show stage are different from Buzz tv, but they lack detail and look thrown together on the cheap.
The entire game looks sloppy. Buzz, the host, is not animated well at all. His voice does not match his mouth movements, he looks grainy and a lot more stiff and puppet-like, plus it sounds like there is someone else doing his voice now and it sounds like a 2nd rate imitation of Buzz's appearance in the first title.
The new variations in multiplayer are not really anything to write home about. There are a few new skins that are ok, but again, they seem thrown together and are not animated very well. I received this game as a gift so fortunately I did not spend money on it or else I would feel even more disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »