Rent Bust-A-Move Bash! for Wii
view large frontback

Bust-A-Move Bash!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.5

779 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Stop, Turn around, Rent something else

posted by t10phoenix (COLLEGE PARK, MD) May 31, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Unless you're a big bust-a-move fan (and I mean BIG) this game is not even worth a rental. The old single player mechanic is intact and plays fine, but there's nothing fresh here. The multi-player, however, is the biggest disappointment. There's no head-to-head. Are you joking?! The only thing really close is a one board frenzy that leaves all players confused and not even the winner satisfied. Take my advice and pass this one up all together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Mutiplayer mode is terrible in this version

posted by DigitalAdr (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan of Bust-a-Move and Bubble Bobble on the arcade and other console versions. But this version is terrible in terms of multiplayer. They don't allow you to battle against another player like other versions do where you go head to head. Instead, the multiplayer involves all player (up to 8) to randomly shoot at the same huge level, which is confusing and doesn't require skill to win (you can button mash your way to 1st place). Also that this game is not colorblind friendly. I guess they didn't care to test it just like RockStar's Ping Pong game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Worthy Bust-A-Move Addition

posted by coverguy (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So my introduction to Bust-A-Move was 10 years ago in an arcade. There has been a Bust-A-Move on just about every platform there is and I've purchase a few, so I can say that the game really hasn't changed too much.

The graphics are bright and colorful, as you might imagine a game with multi-colored bubbles everywhere.

The gameplay is much the same, with special bubbles that can either punch through without hesitation, or eliminates all bubbles of a single color.

Where the Wii version shines is the multi-player co-operative aspect. With 8 players, the game is hectic and intense, and actually provides the first truly unique experience I've had with the game since I first played it in the arcade. Combos would reveal and disappear quickly as other players took advantage of them. Rather than making combos to "attack" another player, you fight for combos and win by having the highest score.

For fans of the series, this alone makes it a worthy play through.

This game will also appeal to casual players also looking for new multi-player party fair. With 8 players, no one will be left waiting for their turn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bust-a-Move Bash! has busted my dreams

posted by domshen (BEAVERTON, OR) May 31, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I was growing up I was a huge bust-a-move fan, I always thought that the games where pretty easy but not until I tried Bash was I so disappointed that I vowed never to play bust-a-move again. I received it in the mail, played it for all of 30 min and then walked back out to the mailbox and popped it in.

Bottom line, if you are an old bust-a-move fan please be cautioned. If you are not an old bust-a-move fan be cautioned. If you are a gamers girlfriend and do not like video games much but want to give a video game a shot......this may be the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's not really a bash!

posted by stealthsid (CENTREVILLE, VA) May 9, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The name of this game brings to mind games like the Mario Party series, what with "Bash" being a synonym for "Party". This game is anything but a bash. There are basically two "games" with a few modes of play, and that's it. If you're looking for a party game to entertain you and your friends, this just isn't it.

If you want to play "Bust a Move" on a Wii, then you're all set. But don't expect anything new at all, and get ready to be frustrated with the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok game if you dont love the original

posted by Penelope (MAPLE VALLEY, WA) May 3, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the original versions of this game. This game is ok if you dont like or haven't played the originals. It only has the puzzle version of the old games. There is no versus the computer. You can play a weird and different versus a friend which is ok, but not the versus challenge I was looking for. They have free play and new shooting game that isn't that fun. Overall a game I rent, but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointing Multiplayer

posted by bjtdevera (Las Vegas, NV) May 8, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Good:
- Single player mode is still fun and features new power up items and the ability to store one bubble for use later.
- The controls are good only if set to its easiest setting. The other control options are frustrating.

The Bad:
- Multiplayer has little strategy. All players share the same bunch of bubbles, and fire aimlessly to earn points. Trying to pull off combos isn't even worth the time. It would have been great if they put in the classic split screen multiplayer mode.

Conclusion: People buy bust-a-move so that they can beat their friends in it. Since the multiplayer mode is so weak, it's not worth buying. Just play the older versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What - A - Waste Trash

posted by mattzett (LEVITTOWN, PA) May 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to say this was the worst Wii game I have ever played. I honestly did not give it much play time mainly because it failed to explain how to play the games. Basically it did not live up to its name - not even worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Multiplayer sucks, One player rocks!

posted by Paradise23 (OXNARD, CA) Apr 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I opened this game the night it came out, never played bust-a-move in my life. At first i thought it was stupid and pointless, and i had no clue why or what was going on. But i decided to give it a chance, 45 min later i am still playing! This game is addictive! And i really like the shooting mode. The controls aren't great but they work.

Now for multiplayer, yesterday i had my wii over at a birthday party and i was able to get 6 people to play Bust-a-move bash. And for 5 min it felt like pointless button mashing, everyone was excited when the game ended! My girlfriend was winning and she had no clue what she was doing she was just pressing buttons. I tell you it looks like fun but it is so boring. Why didn't they make shooting mode multiplayer??? The reason I gave this game a seven is because it is worth playing one player for. I bought this game unfortunately because it looked promising but i think i am going to return it for Mario Party 8 when that comes out. I don't know yet. Bottom line this game is addictive and fun, multiplayer is no fun. anybody can win because it requires like no strategy or skill. I plan on beating one player before i return it which may take a while.

rent it and play single player, multiplayer might be fun with two people, any more and it is like... bubbles are going away and nobody knows why, people are winning and they don't know why. I think this game could have been much better, but oh well i will just have to wait for Tetris to come out for the wii whenever that happens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sucks

posted by dakota185 (DENVER, CO) Apr 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

what a waste of money to make this game it is a piece of junk dont buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This would not play

posted by Latanya (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I couldn't play this game because it wouldn't play at all how sad!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bust-A-Move Bash!

posted by cjgaines (RAPID CITY, SD) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I was so excited to get this game because I used to play Bust-A-Move 2 on my original Playstation. My excitement quickly turned to disappointment.

One of my favorite aspects of Bust-A-Move 2 was player against the computer, this game doesn't have that. It has the puzzle rounds like Bust-A-Move 2, but in my opinion those get boring after awhile (once you play 80 rounds without losing it just doesn't feel fun anymore). The competition of the playing against the computer is what made it excited and fun (in my humble opinion).
Unfortunately, this game doesn't have that feature.

I will be returning this game right away as it has not captured my competitive attention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bust-A-Move Bash

posted by anthonyssr (MORGANTOWN, WV) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

was ok not the best but ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the average

posted by StaticHovy (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

Ok, so maybe I'm an old school gamer with a spot in my heart for early/mid 90s puzzle games - but this game is better than the average review score. It's not going to break any new ground nor is it going to win any awards, but it excels at one thing very few Wii games do - utilizing the wii remote to make the game control BETTER than its predecesor. I've been playing Bust a Move since the arcades and still dust off my copy of Bust a Move 2 (PSX) occasionally. The control option to point at the screen (and light hint line) gives you a solid idea of where your shot is going without it being too much of a gimmie - especially with bank shots. There's a ton of levels and plenty of variety in this package as well. I would have loved to see online options, but I'm a realist and this is the Wii, so that isn't going to happen.

If you enjoy old school puzzle games, this game is definitely worth a day or two of your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What's the point?

posted by GylWind (ROUND ROCK, TX) May 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

BOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRIIIIIIII- INNNNNNNNG! The pretty much sums it up. You get to pick from 12 characters! Woop-Dee-Doo! You get to unlock levels and other characters after you get through the first 100+ levels. Yipp-A-Dee-Doo-Dah! Even my 4 year old got bored of doing the same thing over and over and over and over and over again. I think you're getting my point. Unless you're truly into mindless, one-track games, avoid this at all costs. I rented it because you can play with more than 4 friends.... It's too hectic and it got to a point in which it was just blasting away because you couldn't tell what was going.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bust it Old School!

posted by whatwhat (DUBLIN, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

Nothing fancy, nothing to write home to Mom about. But if you loved the game back in the day, you'll love it even now. Very addicting game and lots of fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not even good as a party game

posted by dmorin (NORTH ANDOVER, MA) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

At the simplest, this is a puzzle game we've all seen - shoot the colored balls, try to form groups of the same color. Hardly the sort of thing you bought a Wii for, it's the sort of puzzle you'd play on your cell phone. The gimmick is the multiplayer, going as high as 12 people using a creative combination of remotes and nunchucks.

The problem is that once you put 4 or more players on the screen, there's so much going on that you simply have no idea what you're doing. Just whip the controller around and hold down the button until the action stops, and try to figure out who won. Seriously. My kids played it once and then at the end asked who won, because they couldn't tell. I can only imagine the pure chaos with 12 players.

My kids refused to admit they hated it, I think because they didn't want me to feel bad for having bothered to rent it. But after asking "Is that all you do? Shoot the bubbles and make colors?" they didn't want to play twice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

yeah, thanks for boring me.

posted by evilclone (COLUMBUS, OH) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

the multi-player was "weak".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun For the Family

posted by terrific (CHATSWORTH, CA) Mar 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

This was a fun game for the family, Simple and easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing New..Best features not included

posted by wrpdhumr (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

I am a big bust a move fan and have to agree with other reviews. The single player mode is the same as other versions but it seems a bit too repetitive. The multiplayer is a huge disappointment, no battles, you just work co-op on the levels. Pick something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

way to easy

posted by dmodereger (EL CAJON, CA) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

game is for kids 12 and under

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sad

posted by theb1rd (MORAGA, CA) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2002

As a fan of the series and having played numerous iterations of it on many platforms over the years, I'm sorry to report that not only is this the weakest Bust-A-Move game I've ever played, it's one of the worst productions of any video game I've seen in many years. The number of game modes is severely limited, and what is there has been implemented very poorly.

For example, the single-player mode consists of a tiresome march of 50 stages per "area", during which you have no ability to save your progress and return to it later--you'll have to finish all 50 stages in one sitting. Since the stages themselves are ridiculously easy, this becomes a very boring and repetitive grind, with no payoff other than the satisfaction of having "checked off" an area of the map.

That's the extent of the single-player game: one extremely dull play mode. Unfortunately, the multiplayer side of things is no better, being limited to one mode which is somehow, miraculously, even less fun than the single player game.

This game appears to be a classic example of "cashing in" on a popular series, turning a quick buck at the expense of a loyal fan base. If this were my first experience with the series, it would be my last.

Sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good for a classic

posted by BlkDog (GREENBELT, MD) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

I enjoy this game very much. It's a lot like the classic versions of Bust a Move, but now that you get to control your aim with the Wiimote, it means more precision when lining up your shots. That was always the complaint that I had in the past, was that it was harder to line up your shots based on just the controller alone.

I'm also a puzzle fanatic, so games like this are very appealing to me, and this one is likely a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Got nothing better to do but push the "A" button

posted by dabends (PASADENA, CA) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Previous versions of bust-a-move by taito mesmerized me with a flashback to high school geometry class. And thus was the thrill and excitement of this game. How am I going to jam this ball up into the corner when on my next move the ceiling was going to drop? Unfortunately this version is with is multitude of power-ups and ball color switching (which has become popular in game like zuma, luxor) has taken all the challenge from this game. No, better example can be seen as in 2 player challenge mode where you can just press the A button as fast as possible and win.

Overall this is a very disappointing remake. I would recommend going back and dusting off your PS or Saturn and playing the original version if you need your bust-a-move fix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Huh

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 7, 2008

Member since May 2007

Pros:
The same familiar game-play with some new variations. Multi-play is an understatement with 8 person capable play, don't have to use the Wii-mote.

Cons:
The same familiar game-play including the graphics. Not much advancement here even at 480. On my LCD some colors were hard to make out (gold and yellow). With all the sparkling and glittering colors, it's easily distracting. Again, this may be only me and on my tv.

There's not much here and it gets pretty old pretty fast if you are familiar with the game-play, + multi-play, + different game types.

If you are new to this game, don't fret it's extremely easy to learn and play. My younger brother enjoyed playing an older version on the PC, but didn't show much enthusiasm when I got it for the Wii. Guess the freshness of this series has run out. It's not very addicting anymore. But, multi-play does add a new touch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse