Rent Burnout Revenge for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Burnout Revenge

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox
GF Rating
7.7

4606 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hard-to-classify but very fun!

posted by Danica (CINCINNATI, OH) Nov 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Burnout Revenge is a game that came as a demo on my XBox 360. We then played the demo about twenty times, relishing in the crashes, loving the speed and the smashings. For the unititiated, Burnout: Revenge is a racing game with a dedicated fervor on crashing (yourself and others), and... that's pretty much it. For the initiated, try Burnout: Revenge before Burnout: Paradise, since Revenge is better in many ways. Still try Paradise if you like Revenge, because Paradise is still fun.

TL,DR: If you need to be desensitised to crashes or think that Need for Speed would improve with the ability to viscerally crash your opponents, then check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by RaceAce (VICTORVILLE, CA) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like Need for Speed games, driving fast, etc. but sometimes wish you could just run right through the traffic, this game is for you. It has lots of variety, excellent challenges, lots of crashing and jumping tricks, plenty of NOS, and it's win, win, win with trophies, applause, ratings from OK to PERFECT! Even after you beat it, you get a chance to turn every event to Gold. The best way to describe this game is FUN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game that is totally enjoying and challenging

posted by Shereespad (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game keeps your blood circulating and it is totally challenging the further you get into the game. Never boring to say the least especially if you go for the PERFECT status on every area. Wish I could of bought it through here but couldn't dang it all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Race or Smash, Race n Smash

posted by Flymustang (GARLAND, TX) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like driving a car at very fast speeds, this is the game for you. The race is on city streets and not on a track. The other cars are obstacles to test your reflexes or weapons to be used against your enemies.

The smash component of the game is unique. Challenges in the game allow the player to do as much property damage as possible with spectacular crshes and explosions. In addition, driving and smashing cars is fun too.

It contains a number of unlockable cars that can be almost any color for customization. The choices available should suit any taste.

The soundtrack is top notch. Rock n roll tunes appropriate for the game.

A must rent at the least for any who enjoy race games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BURNout

posted by EderPaz (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this on the original Xbox and played this for the heck of it.

There's nothing really here that has changed from Burnout 3.

Either way, it still is a decent game.

The graphical upgrades are noticeable and this game is still visually appealing, and for what it's worth, no other game offers what Burnout does.

I hardly found any glitches and it gets pretty tough around the end.

OH!! And if you're going to play online... BE PREPARED!! I was booted several times just trying to play, which means people online are not very open to people trying to enjoy this game online.

Can't wait for Burnout Paradise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great (Destructive) Fun!

posted by Statyck (BELMONT, MA) Sep 30, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay, the Burnout title may be getting a little old and maybe feeling like it is at it's maximum capacity of fun. I would call Revenge the last of it's kind as E3's Burnout Paradise will not be the same but none the less great. There are events - as there are in all Burnout games - in which you unlock as you progress through the game. Races are, surprisingly enough, not the main aspect of the game. All the modes are spread out to generate an all in one feeling. The best mode in this game is Road Rage, you have to smash out all the enemy cars before time runs out and is a blast to play. Crash mode is fun for some but if you are a Burnout on the elite rank like me, you are trying to perfect everything. Whenever, in crash mode, you time something wrong you must restart it. I have done this so many times, it is unbelievable. It may be frustrating for a few trying to perfect all events. In races if you crash at the end right before you are going to win and come in sixth place this may result in a scream to the television. The controls are solid and responsive and aftertouch is very handy =) Online mutliplayer is brutal and addictive to get your world rank to the top. Burnout has that feature that is spreading throughout video games wich is clips. You can record any moment in an event and share it with your friends! The intensity is what it boils down to with this game. I highly recommend this Burnout title for recreational players who don't need to have a perfect score on every event they play. This one may be a fun, but frustrating experience for hardcore players but overall, I recommend it for anyone. This leads to my score of 8.8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Racer Just Keeps Getting Better

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Sep 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a bit annoyed that so many of the titles seem to be lazy ports from other platforms.

This game changed my mind on that. It is clearly a port, but they seemed to actually put some care into it and have managed to keep this as one of the most fun, pure adrenaline driving games on the market.

It is absolutely gorgeous. It is lightning-fast. It runs magnificently. It is the greatest arcade racing game I've ever played. The crash mode might be the most fun you can have in a racing game. Traffic check is outstanding. I loved the XBox version --- and this is a real step up from that one. I cannot find a single negative thing to say about the game, save that it is a port and not COMPLETELY different than the XBox or PS2 versions.

If you have a 360 and don't have this, then shame on you. We have a few more month until the next one arrives so give this one another whirl and re-experience the greatness of this franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Burnout Game Yet. A great 360 title.

posted by baltimore1 (HILLSBORO, OR) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like Burnout games (specifically the more recent ones) you're going to like this one. Whether or not you pay full price for it is up to you. I was hesitant because of the lack of change in gameplay from the previous Burnouts. I understand that a fun and unique formula like Burnout's should never be completely changed but some more extras in the game would have been appreciated. Don't get me wrong though this game has more cars, better crashes, and better levels than any Burnout game that has come out. The graphics on the 360 are beautiful and you'll cringe as you see the different pieces of you car fly away behind you as you ram someone into a cement pillar at 150mph. Each game of this series has had more intense gameplay than the last and I found myself often needing a break to take a breather from gripping my controller so hard, so I would recommend it to only those with racing game (especially Burnout) experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

burnout Revenge rating

posted by gamer59 (LEWISVILLE, TX) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Burnout Revenge is one of the best games i have ever played. Also its setup is one of the coolest that has ever been plced in a game like this. I would recomend that more people play this game than any other games like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hhmm... Did anyone say crash?

posted by Rogelio (CHULA VISTA, CA) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has good graphics but not the type that would make you jump up and down. What is gonna want to jump up and down are the crashes. WOW! thats all i can say, it just so realistic the way you crash, and for once, revenge is sweet. VERY SWEET! Online is the place to be, the online play just keeps you on your toes all the time and they cars are amazing! But what i didnt like about it is that i feel like I'm spending more time on the loading page than playing the actual game. And the career is cool the first couple races, but after a while you get really bored of doing the same things over and over again. I dont recommend this game for people who doesnt have Xbox Live. But for those that do, this is a must rent game(not a must have, waste of money)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome with only a few complaints

posted by Darksnake (OVERLAND PARK, KS) May 7, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Alright i am going to flat out say that i freaking love the burnout series and the awesome crashes and revenge only adds SO much more to it. being able to have rivals online and off just adds to the excitement and then trying to get revenge. The only main complaint i have is the EXTREMLY long load times, even when trying to retry something it is huge load time. But the online play adds to the excitement. If you want this game then look at these three questions: Do you own an HD TV, have missed the current gen version, and do you love online racing. If you have answered yes to at least two of these questions then you should go and at least rent the game and then buy it. Trust me it is worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Same game, who cares?

posted by c335harp (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game is nearly identical to it's XBOX brethren that was released earlier in the year. Surprisingly, this fact doesn't really matter in the end and the game became one of my favorite 360 games. The game is simple to play and offers ton of replayability through it's single player game and the online achievements. Game has average graphics for the 360, but gets a little better score for maintaining a solid frame rate most of the time. If I had to choose one game other than Oblivion, it would be Burnout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Racing Game for the None Car Game Type!

posted by Kryton (PLANO, TX) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well first thing is that I can not stand car games for the most part. With the last two burnout games anyone can get hooked. Revenge is so much better on the 360 and makes no difference is you played the xbox 1 version. Causing crashing in races or crash events are the best. In the 360 it just looks feels so much better. Get it guys!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great racing game

posted by champion (SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game it was better than the one on the original Xbox the crashes are better with more detail the AI is much smarter but the only problem I had with the game was the online play because mostly everyone and even me was complaining because when your friend sends you a invite to his game and you try to get in it says you can't connect and it does the same thing if you try to enter another persons game. The game is great buy it but if you just want it for the online play then rent it and then you will know what I am talking about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Getting even never gets old . . .

posted by Ninja20XX (CHERRY TREE, PA) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Burnout Revenge for the Xbox 360 doesn't differ too greatly from the earlier PS2 / Xbox version - you get better graphics, sure - but the real meat and potatoes comes from Xbox Live.

Download cool new cars for free, and prove you're a Burnout master by scoring Perfect ratings in single-player races and crash events to unlock Achievements and bump up your Gamerscore: you thought Burnout was addictive before? Get ready to stay up late for weeks on end trying just "one more time" . . .

Most of all, make new friends and enemies with the 360 Revenge's new Rival system that tracks how many times you've tangled with an individual player online - take down other gamers without being taken out yourself to increase your world ranking and keep an eye out for a chance to get payback against players who drew first blood.

Online play is silky smooth for up to six players with no lag: if you're into burning online, the 360 version of Revenge is absolutely the one to have.

New to Revenge on the 360 is a killer replay system that lets you watch your own automotive carnage after the fact, and you can even save thirty-second clips and post them on Xbox Live for others to watch and download.

Ten all new crash junctions add to the mayhem online and off, and with increased graphics horsepower of the Xbox 360, you'll really love watching the massive freeway pile-ups and explosions.

Everyone likes to drive fast and crash hard, and even if you've played Burnout Revenge on the Xbox, you'll want to take the 360 version for a test drive and kick the tires . . . but watch out, these tires kick back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Burnout is CRASHOUT

posted by Gretzky (CANOGA PARK, CA) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lets admit it. The only reason people play the burnout series now is for the crash mode. Why not; the crash mode is the most addicting side game any race game has given us, (Flatout rates a close second with their side game). It will send you into frenzy of laughter as you and your friends plunge your cars into multitudes of oncoming vehicles. The explosions are beautiful, and staplers are cool. So if you like cars or staplers, this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Burnout takes revenge on 360

posted by segagamer1 (WALLINGFORD, CT) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The burnout series takes its gritty, non-stop crashfest to the next generation console. This time is in Lovely, gorgeous HI-DEFINITION. The graphics are terrific, you'll be hard pressed to find a better looking crash-em-up on any console.
If you have played the PS2 or xbox version of revenge... there is little change here except for the BEAUTIFUL graphics, all the same levels and modes, as well as cars are all here. This game is a great racer for those who like crashes, and outrageous speeds, if you a simulation racing fan, then this might not be your cup of tea. Overall the game is a great mix of good controls, great graphics, and even better sound... I rate this an 8 because the game is good, fun and enjoyable, if you don't take it online, then the game is limited in its replay ability, but online unlocks a whole new dimension to this game with great and fun modes of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Revenge is best yet on 360 console

posted by TheGameGuy (STOCKTON, CA) Jul 7, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

26 out of 30 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Burnout has many positives and few minor issues. First off this game can be addictive; you may find yourself sitting in front of the TV for 2-3 hours at a time. The level design is great, tracks are created to be played forward and backwards, with only 8 tracks EA did a good job of keeping all 160+ events in the game interesting. The little details of Burnout Revenge are what set this title far and away from other racers. The online tracking of revenge rivals (basically keeps a running tally of takedowns) keeps the online experience interesting. The achievements keep you coming back for more to perfect every level in every rank. Once you reach the last two to three ranks (all in all 10 total) the game really challenges you to take your racing skills to the next level.

The few flaws I did find were in the online play, the crash party mode in particular can take upwards of a minute to load one crash course, which can really put a damper on your need for destruction. Lastly the single player mode can be quite difficult to complete and at the later stages down write frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

if you haven't played it before, rent it

posted by Cloakedgod (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its a great game and i was addicted to the online play for quite a while. the single player mode lacks a story line entirely, its just race, get new cars, race again, upgrade, race etc. however the online play is a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a Rental

posted by SavingJunk (HUNTINGTOWN, MD) May 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Burnout Revenge is a fun game. It's kind of like Full Auto in the sense that you love it the first 30 minutes of play and then comes the boring repetitive nature that it and Full Auto share. You do the same thing over and over again, "crash into this car", "nearly avoid this car". So yeah, rent it. See the nice explosions and well done collision detection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mixed Reactions

posted by KimboSlice (EDWARDSVILLE, IL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Other than the greatly improved graphics. Burnout really hasn't changed much in its transition to the 360. You will still have a great time with the game and you'll see some jaw-dropping visuals. But the game just hasnt changed. There is still no camera control in a crashbreaker, and there is no change in gameplay.
Burnout's sound on 360 is amazing though. You will hear cars whizzing by you at 200mph and it makes for a great experience if you have a good surround setup.
I would suggest renting this game if you have already played countless hours of burnout and are starting to get tired of the series, like myself. But this is still one of the best racers on 360 and it is a next generation game.
I want to give it a low score but I can't. PGR is a better game IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome, but not much better than other versions.

posted by TheHouse (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

16 out of 22 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I love the Burnout series. There is something so satisfying about taking down your opponents. Revenge is the best of the series.

Here are a few notes on the 360 version:
+ The graphics and sound are awesome, especially in HD!
- The load times are longer! I don't know why, but I feel like I am spending a long time waiting for stuff to load, especially when playing Crash Party online or trying to retry a race.
+ The online modes, especially having rivals is great.
- I spent the whole weekend trying to log online, but EA's servers were having huge problems. They were eventually fixed, so hopefully this will not happen again.

Overall, if you love XBox live and have HD, this is an awesome game. Just beware of the longer load times and the potential problems with EA's servers. I can't wait for the next version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow this game is tight i hope your up for a race

posted by burner (BOISE, ID) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

if you like racing + destruction then burnout is a game for you. Crash cars through about 90 different levels
with many cars for the pick. There are 10 ratings. Can you beat them all???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Burnout Revenge...as hot as ever!!!

posted by Rainhaven (BEATRICE, NE) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

360 gamers should definitely not pass on Revenge even if they have played the Xbox version to death. While some may boast that it is little more than a polished re-hash of the previous generation, I would have to disagree. Sure the graphics are improved - but they add depth to the game in a way that wasn't possible on Xbox. For example, now the real-time lighting casts shadows that make dark areas...well dark. I mean really dark to the point that it makes it hard to see as you are blazing through an area and you pass from bright sunlight into a dark recess of the track, your eyes almost can't adjust. Now some might say that is cheap, but have you ever driven in real life and went from light to dark? Same thing happens. I call that next-gen. Also included are new cars, such as the Xbox 360 racer, which Criterion thankfully let's you do a preview race with early on in the game...so sweet! There may not be real cars in the game, but I think some of the Criterion folks should be designing real cars - GM, Ford, Dodge listen up. Another aspect that makes Burnout 360 shine over it's predecessor is the inclusion of the Achievements on Live. Sure they're basically the same as the achievements on the Xbox version, but now the whole world will know about it when you get 5 vertical takedowns in one race! Pure Awesomeness. Last but not least Criterion has removed the tedious and annoying "boost meter" on the Crash Junction sections. These areas are much more gratifying now and they've also added some new ones. Do yourself a favor and click the "Rent It" button, then when you receive the game click the "Keep It" button. You'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty, but same-ol-same-ol

posted by RingWraith (HOBART, IN) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of the Burnout series and was looking forward to playing the 360 version since I played the heck out of the X-box version. Other than the prettier graphics, there is not nothing really new enough to spend $60 on the same game. The only way it would be justified is if you have yet to play the game, then it is worth the cash. However, if you already played the previous-gen version, make the 360 Burnout a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse