Rent Burnout Revenge for Xbox
view large frontback

Burnout Revenge

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
8.5

2382 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best arcade racer on xbox

posted by richjr26 (GARDEN GROVE, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Really enjoyed this game. Makes all other burnout titles obsolete the first time you check traffic!!
Tons of unlockable cars, ratings, and such can keep you occupied for hours.
I would recommend this game to just about anyone, because even if you don't like racing games, it has enough to keep you entertained just by crashing.
Check out this gem, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweetness

posted by ColSanders (KIRKLAND, WA) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best driving game ever. It is so much fun to play. Keep in mind that it is not the ultra-realistic borefest like Project Gotham or Forza, but is more about smashing and crashing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game but.....

posted by shiva628 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is really fun, i don't usually like driving games, but this one is fast, simple and entertaining. The only problem i have with the game is that it kept locking up my X-box on the last level. At first i thought it was just that my X-box was old, but then i found that it happened to some friends of mine who just bought a brand new X-box. Overall, it's a great game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Too bad graphics can't make a game.

posted by starwars06 (LAHOMA, OK) Jun 19, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In Burnout Revenge, the graphics are amazing for even an XBox game. But, while the visual aspects are stunning, the gameplay just gets monotonous in this all-out racing game. It is not a bad game, and has some amazing features that I enjoyed, like the Crash mode, but the first levels are just like all the rest, and it runs out of originality quickly. I definitely recommend this game for a one week rent, but definitely not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BURNOUT REVENGE

posted by snotty1 (SEATTLE, WA) Jun 26, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

now i'm giving this game a 5, which is a little high for it, they took a great game series and made it boring, I like the first 3 of the series, bcuz u got 2 do more then just race;if I just wanted 2 race I could buy nascar, they blow this 1 away when they got rid of the playbacks, atlest in the first 3, the games were fun, it took me less then 24 hours 2 beat this 1, so mostly what the rating is for , is the music and the grafics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Come On

posted by RedEcho (CHARLESTON, SC) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game just did not hold my interest. I think if you are not going to use name-brand cars then make them look better. there are barely any of the best race mode ever(road rage). the graphics make the scenery look old and dirty. Burnout 3 is alot better rent that instead to get a better view of true burnout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best of the Best.

posted by TRE009 (ELK GROVE, CA) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game is the best one out of all of them! Hands down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I think burnout 3 is just a little better

posted by Destroy (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

Burnout 4 has some dumb consolitus menu problems (just a minor annoyance, it sometimes takes too long to wait for a retry).

As far as I know, this version is not supported on the 360, so you have to buy the 360 version.

The "hit the buttons at the top and bottom of the meter" thing in crash mode is extremely frustrating/arbitrary. Why can't I just "put my foot" on the gas like burnout 3?

Still a great game, but if you have a 360, you may have to get the 360 version instead. At least the graphics are better on that version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been much better

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Aug 21, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

Thisa could have been a really good game , unfourtunatly the programers got their Hands on it and it didnt even make it into a good game. And Yes I have a Problem with Programers, the problem being is that They must Not have any Brains or they wouldnt put things In games like, Cars that Appear out of No where right in front of Your car so you wreak,oh yes places that if your winning the race you crash for no reason like your driving along the road in the middle of it and all of a sudden you crash, you dont hit anything you just crash , and whats up with in some areas your car will go through the walls and be falling forever though space? I say if your going to make a game and put it out there for the Public to play you should Make sure it works/ Is that to much to ask?Obviously it is because the games havent seemed to get better over the Years All the Game companies care about is the All mighty Dollar forget about the people that pay forthe games only to find out they arent as fun as they could be because some programer decided to screw the game up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I really really like this game

posted by Timmytim (CHESTER, NY) Aug 14, 2007

Member since May 2004

I think this is best racer ever. Just one problem, the music FREAKING SUCKS!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

O MY GOD !!!!!!!!!!. this sucks!!!

posted by JONDEE (LEANDER, TX) Jul 25, 2007

Member since May 2005

this game is way hard dude. the crash mode and timed
road rage is right where lost it. the manual shift
in crash mode is awful, this is not a second part, this is a whole new game in a way, just
with the same name. Ive played the x360 version of it, way easy and way better grapics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

crash 'em, again

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

GAMEPLAY: 9
GRAPHICS: 9

More of the same, but better. It's THE best racing game you can buy/rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

burnout is the best racing game

posted by stickman (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

burnout is the best racing game me i dont like racing games but burnout has super good graphics and super good game play but its hard to on some parts

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classic driving with sweet new cars

posted by 007dude (HAHIRA, GA) Jan 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Has a lot things u ask for in a driving game, just problems here and there but will live up to your expectations

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Burnout Revenge

posted by agent48 (ORO VALLEY, AZ) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

First off, I'm going to say I'm not a racing fan at all, this game is helluva good. there is no real storyline to the game. the graphics are exelent. it has plenty of racing modes, from road rage, to just racing. the game is racing but with a twist, you can attack other vehicles. you can slam the other cars into the walls, you could ramp off and land on a vehicle, you could do a lot of havoc. i highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Amusing, but gets repetitive after awhile.

posted by amuro98 (SUNNYVALE, CA) Oct 26, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

If you ever played "Smashup" with your Matchbox cars, or watched CHiPs for the crashes, essentially, that's what this game lets you do. Only, you get to use more cars and have more spectacular explosions.

Your goal is to compete in a number of different racing type events to earn Stars, which help you unlock additional cars, destinations and events for you to compete in. Unlike other racing games, you're highly encouraged to aggressively smash into opposing cars, causing massive wrecks, explosions and general destruction. Road rage isn't just a good idea - it's required.

Your performance is measured by your agression as well as by what medal you earn in each event. Earning both a gold medal and a rating of 'Awesome' will earn you the maximum of 5 stars.

When your car gets smashed up, you can go into 'after touch' mode, which allows you to steer your wreck in the hopes of either taking out an opponent, or creating an even more damage to nearby traffic. In some cases, your car will be armed with a "crash breaker", which allows you to deonate your car, damaging nearby cars, and also allowing you to guide your now flaming wreckage around in after touch mode.

The game is pretty amusing for awhile as you learn how to knock hapless cars into oncoming traffic for additional points, or bump an opponent into a wall for a takedown. But there are only so many different events, and after awhile, the game gets to be rather repetitive.

In addition, the computer cars can't use crash breakers or after touch mode, which gives you a huge advantage in single-player mode. The game also seems a little easy. I'm horrible when it comes to racing games (which may be why I do so well with this one?) but I managed to unlock about 60% of the game's content over the course of just a few evenings before I grew tired of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

burn out revenge birdboy review

posted by birdboy (EL SOBRANTE, CA) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

this game is one of the best games i've ever played. you get to kill other cars, just so you can win. also, the artificial intelligence in this game is amazing. the graphics are great. and, there is an ability called crash breaker. you get to blow up your car, so the other cars can die. there is many one player mishons, such as burning laps, eliminator, and more. i give this game a 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

After the third one, this is getting tired.

posted by OnBake (VALLEY CENTER, CA) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

I loved all the previous burnouts, but now with this game, it seems boring right off the bat. The graphics are great and all that, but it just doesn't feel magical anymore. It's probably because EA bought them out, with their stupid in game ads and bad music. That's really all I have to say about it.

3 was the best one IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it gets NO better

posted by goldone (LYNWOOD, CA) Aug 7, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

There is no better racer it has all a racing game needs it has intense speed with the ability to use traffic as a weapon it does it like no other racing game I mean this is a good one its not one of those true to life simulators and that is what makes it so great.its a game where u dont turn u drift.its a game where u dont use the brakes u use nitrous I love this game it is a definite must play(especially if u love games like need for speed most wanted or midnight club 3 dub edition

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was ok

posted by FireLover (VENTURA, CA) Aug 2, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

now ill admit this game was pretty sweet at first but after a couple of days it began to lose my attention. The Burnout series has alot of pros and cons for one thing the crashes are the best ive ever seen in any racing game, but a bad thing is unlike Need for Speed:Most Wanted (which i strongly suggest) you cant customize your car, and all the cars are made up none of them are real, another bad thing is that when you get a really fast car you start moving so fast you cant tell where your going and crash, so overall i wouldnt recomend buying it but its ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Take your revenge on the highway

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jul 23, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Burnout Revenge is a noteworthy addition to the Burnout series. While not as breath-taking as Burnout 3: Takedown, Revenge does a good job at living up to it's pedigree. The graphics are lush, the action is unwavering, the speed is incredible and the soundtrack keeps you company as you roll down that endless stretch of highway. You'll roll around the world in this game, from countryside to freeway to city, racking up enough points to achieve the next rank, thus unlocking even more challenges. Competition is tough and the new rival system gives you extra credit for taking down those that wronged you. Now a big difference this time around is that, instead of avoiding all those cars on the road, the game actually encourages you to smash into most of the traffic on the highway. This makes the game seem a little less of an edge-of-your-seat thrill ride, but gives players a great outlet for road rage in it's place. Smash mode is still great, but the absence of power-ups makes it harder to figure out where to crash that pick-up for maximum carnage. It's not particularly long, but there are tons of cars and challenges to unlock. All things considered, it's still a quality arcade racer with plenty of speed to thrill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great but not perfect

posted by Rob911 (NEW GLOUCESTER, ME) May 10, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

I got burnout revenge expecting a fast pace arcade-ish racing game with some decent online play, and that's exactly what i got from this game, with that said let me break the game down into pros and cons.

pros: very fast paced and adrenaline filled, rock solid online play, great offline multiplayer, many many different events to choose from, the controls feel almost exactly the way they should feel in a racing game, probably the most fun i've had in a racing game was on this game..

cons: well now here's where we get dirty, i bet by now your thinking...well what could possibly be wrong with this game?, i shall tell you...the new feature they boasted about called "traffic checking" and the new new traffic attack mode i think personally are a downgrade. i mean the whole fun in burnout 3 was having to dodge and weave through traffic feeling like a god and re-living gone in 60 seconds. unfortunately with traffic checking it makes everything seem alot alot less realistic, like i mean incredibly...the cars just fly off into the distance when you hit them at lets say 200 mph, another problem i had was the fact that all the cars look similar (i understand they didn't get licensed vehicles).

overall: the game is great, its worth the buy...even with the traffic checking and similar looking cars this game is still the greatest racing game you will find out there that's fun and exciting. once you get passed the first impressions (traffic checking...wtf?) this game is well worth whatever your willing to put into it...its a highly addictive racing game and that's why it receives a 9 from me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Burnout Revenge

posted by walshshane (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

This game is so adictive! I couldn't stop playing it. Crashing into other cars is about the best idea for a game, it let's you take out all your road rage in your own home. Brilliant. Only reason it's not a perfect score is that they took out the game from previous releases where you can go in slow motion and crash into as many cars as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best car games I have ever played.

posted by homerun (NASHUA, NH) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

The game has very good graphics for the xbox system and has a plentiful amount of cars, even though the cars are made up. The only negative I have, is that the game should have real cars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Burnout Revenge

posted by Evilempire (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

This game is crazy!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse