Rent Burnout Paradise for PS3
view large frontback

Burnout Paradise

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.4

6876 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Crashy Smashy

posted by hippos (BURR RIDGE, IL) Aug 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game all in all is very fun and it is really easy to get started. If you liked other burnout games you love this. This is like burnout 4 times 20! The game is setup so you can drive as long as you want and all you have to do to start an event is pull up to a stoplight, spin your tires, and your in the event. You can even jump on to the railroad and ride the rails.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Crazy08er (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an awesome game, great racing, and perfect driving, only one problem, i sent the game back about 2 weeks agao, and gamefly still hasnt recieved it.
A MUST RENT GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet

posted by MrRussell6 (CARROLL, IA) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game totally rocks well worth buying. The crashes are totally awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BURNOUT PAIR O' DICE!!!

posted by aaustinite (HIGHLAND, IL) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

LOVE THIS GAME CAN'T FIGURE WHY IT HAS SUCH A LOW RATING ON GF. MAYBE YOU PEOPLE DON'T LIKE GOOD GAMES!! THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THIS GAME. ONLINE IS SEAMLESS 60 FPS. SO WHAT DON'T YOU GUYS LIKE ABOUT IT?? IT IS THE BEST XB360 PORT TO DATE. I CAN'T REALLY FIND ANY FLAWS, I DID BUY IT BY THE WAY. DIDN'T EVEN RENT IT. I DOWNLOADED THE DEMO IN DEC' 07 AND GOT IT RIGHT AWAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun for Everyone

posted by Osted59 (FORESTVILLE, WI) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love a good racing game, but I can't say its my focus. I rented this game because of previous experience with the Burnout series. Graphics are for sure a 10 all the way. That combined with anyone being able to drive in free roam.... makes it great for everyone. Have Uncle Bill over and let him try driving in Paradise! Haha makes for some great laughs, let me tell you. Even my non gamer friends were able to pick it up and really enjoy it, which says something to me.
Game play is still solid, just be patient. I find myself doing random challenges because it is fun just driving around smashing into stuff and enjoying the crash cam.
I'd say rent it if you want to enjoy just 'driving' in a racing game, how many racing games let you just enjoy the experience before and after the challenge/race grind?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best Burnout yet

posted by Lordiego (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are fan of the Burnout series, this is their best one yet.

The open map takes a bit to get used to, but once you do its a great addition. Everything else is refined classic Burnout gameplay.

The music is alright, but I wish I had a way to turn off certain songs, because some are just attrocious. You will also realize that EA paid a lot of money for their theme song, because you will get sick of listening to it.

The graphics are great, and the crashes look fantastic and realistic.

I would not buy this game, because I find the Burnout formula a little too repetitive, but I will certainly keep it for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's awesome, I'd SO buy this if...

posted by Wonderbred (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's awesome, I'd SO buy this if Devil May Cry 4 wasn't coming out in 1 week.

This Game truly is perfect. Even my girlfriend was getting into it as she was yelling at me "No No turn left!(CRASH) "

The graphics look awesome. With no noticeable lag what so ever. The soundtracks got everything a music junky like myself could ever ask for. The internet play makes it brain dead simple to enter an online game while seamlessly leaving your engine running.

The only downside I can find was that there is no 2 player options or modes... But seriously How much fun is it Squinting at your half of the split screen to see maybe 1 block ahead while traveling over 300+ MPH?

Seriously buy this game... Unless your having up for DMC4 like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Drive!

posted by Scrpp3rk (CHESTERFIELD, VA) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Greatest city driving game to date for PS3. Graphics rock! Customization rocks! Crashing rocks! Challenges rock! Online rocks x2! I cannot find anything at all wrong with this game. Get yourself the free motorcycle add on and the game gets even better! You will not be disapointed with this Burnout title in any way, if you are a fan of driving games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Burned out in my pants!

posted by Spideyman2 (EASTLAKE WEIR, FL) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is Officially The BEST Racing game ever. There is so much stuff to do. Plenty of events, things to smash, timed races to beat. Also the online is really fun to. There are allot of cars to play as. Some are slow but heavy armored, then you got some that fly by you! Getting the PS3 trophies weren't that hard either. My only gripe is that you crash ALLOT! when your going fast because i can barely see 10 feet in front of you because theres so much stuff that your passing. So when you rent this game prepare to pretty much kill the guy thats driving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by Gameflyer3 (YUKON, OK) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game great graphics nice crashes and a free-roam style gameplay I didn't see anything wrong except for soundtrack could have been better overall I liked it and reccomend it for any race game lovers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EXCELLENT!

posted by jayrocko21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game! It was very action packed, the races are ridiculous, and it is just pure madness! I would totally recommend buying this game for anyone who loves racing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Favorite Game of 2008

posted by moonshiner (MIDLAND, TX) Feb 1, 2009

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just loved Burnout: Paradise. Great racing game with tons to keep you busy. Graphics are tight and the soundtrack dead on for a racing game. It excels both at the challenges that are available and the extras to search for. There is so much to do that it can keep you occupied for hours and coming back again and again! Definitely worth checking out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Burnout Paradise a awesome game that i have playd

posted by djshadow (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by Constble (ELIOT, ME) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Burnout Paradise is a great game for all racing fans and people who like big bang, crashes and booms. Burnout Paradise™ is better for the Playstation®3 then it is for the Xbox 360™. If you buy Burnout Paradise™ remember to get the hd cords for your television (if you have hi-def) it makes the game so much better. So remember to get Burnout Paradise™ for the Playstation®3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great freedom with 2ton flying cars!!

posted by distroyer (MILL CREEK, WA) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

with movie like graphics ull feel like ur acually in the game however the fact that it dsent tell u where to turn in the races have a good and bad outcome fist it gives u great freedom second its more chalanging to win

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAMEPLAY WITH FEW FLAWS

posted by RFOMaddict (ALLENTOWN, PA) Feb 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME COULD HAVE BEEN THE YEARS BEST RACING GAME BUT A FEW MISTAKES SUCH AS NO SPLIT SCREEN TWO PLAYER,NAVIGATION DIRECTS TOO LATE AND YOU END UP CRASHING.I WISH CRASH MODE AND SIGNATURE TAKE TOWNS WERE PRESENT IN THE GAME.BUT OVERALL THE GAME IS WORTH BUYIN ESPECIALLY CUZ THE REPLAY VALUE IS HIGH.U CAN GO ONLINE AND RACE WITH OTHER PEOPLE BUT THIS GAME AINT FOR EVERYONE EVEN IF U ARE A BURNOUT FAN.I LIKE THE TRAFFIC LIGHT IDEA.I LIKE THE SPORTS CAR BUT I END UP NOT USING THEM BCUZ THEY CRASH TOO MUCH SO IM STUCK WITH DRIVIN THE PICK UP TRUCK CUZ I WIN MORE WITH IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The only game I have ever given a 10...

posted by invincible (MONROVIA, IN) May 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This is purely THE BEST racing game in the market.

High speed racing, high speed wrecks, and high speed jumps. High speed everything!

You will still be popping this game in 5 years from now.

This is simply one of those must have games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Burnout Paradise rules!

posted by RenoIV (PORT ORCHARD, WA) May 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Excellent game. When I played Burnout 2 through Revenge, THIS is what I imagined what a perfect Burnout game would look like. It's like they stole the idead right out of my head while I was sleeping! I will admit, after the Burnout before this, I had lost hope...but all faith has been restored!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Combination of Pure Carnage and Freedom

posted by wrdwithin (MC HENRY, MD) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

29 out of 38 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Everything about this game is outstanding from the awesome movie quality graphics to the superb soundtrack to the out of this world gameplay. The gameplay includes stunt races which are fun as ever and never get old. Burning Routes which have you race against another opponent from one side of the map to the other in any way you please. Showtime events which let you crash as many cars through the whole of Paradise City, and let you keep going on as long as you keep up the momentum. Online Mode is a real treat seeing as you can compete against seven other players in Paradise city at the same time. The stunts get very important when there is seven people roaming the streets, as you might be fighting over area rights to obtain the best scores. Freeburn online is great in that you can be driving leisurely in game mode and just press the right arrow key over to seamlessly enter into online mode. No hiccups whatsoever on that transition, or just very little notice! The crashes are always satisfying and so surreal in this game. Run straight into a wall at immense speeds and watch the car's front crimple and be obliterated. Get rammed around a pole when you do a drift in the wrong direction. It's all great fun, and nobody gets hurt!

I liked the air control effect in that when you hit a ramp or barrel roller, you must position your car to where it lands on it's tires. If you perform a stunt and don't land correctly, you won't get the credit or points of doing so. I spent hours just hitting the stunt area. Their that addicting and fun!

I also like how if you leave your car sitting for a while the engine will shut off and you will have to restart the ignition to get it running up again. Very easy to do so don't worry about it. It just adds to the realism of the game. And the DJ is fun to listen to at times.

If you truly take the time to sit down and explore the sprawling City before you, your going to have fun with Burnout Paradise whether it be in-game or online!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's burnout, with a few annoying features

posted by kentk94 (GREEN BAY, WI) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I own most of the other Burnout games and have loved the series for a while. This game is good, but could have been so much more. The graphics are good, the soundtrack isn't aweful, but could still use a little work, and the crash scenes are pretty decent. The biggest thing killing this game for me is the openness of it all. It's great to see a game trying something like this but without the ability to restart a race or go back to points on the map the game gets frustrating quickly.

Most of my races took me into the mountains and there are very few races in that area, so that always meant turning around to head back into the city to start or re-start another race. After wasting 10-15 minutes of driving time just to initiate another race, you find yourself getting bored quickly. I haven't tried online and can't even imagine how much of a pain this would be if people are strewn all over the map.

The other con I have with it is going to start a race only to find I don't have the correct vehicle for the race and the next junkyard is miles away. This gets annoying as well. Granted there are some things you can do in the Map Menu to help you find out exactly where all those game types for your car are, but it would still be nice to just hit any old intersection and hit the pedal.

It's not a bad game but the cons are more than enough to keep me from buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bought It...Like It

posted by notthatguy (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I had been waiting for this game to come out before I even owned a PS3! I was not disappointed! Yeah, it's not perfect, but it's DEFINITELY not lame either. Everyone complains that you have to drive all the way back to the beginning of the race to restart it.....like you can't have fun on your way back! And don't be upset if this game isn't like your previously favorite copy of Burnout....people would then complain that it was too much like it. Bottom line...I would have paid more for this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it

posted by Landy316 (SCRANTON, PA) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

i love this game,it so owns PSN=DblBassDruMer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Burnout Paradise

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Aug 15, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is the best racing game in history of all racing games!!!! Graphics are absulotely perfect, crashes are super cool and realistic, cars are awesome and all drive so realistic, events are so fun, crashing other cars adds a lot of to it as well. The only flaw in this whole game, is that some events, even though they're cool, can get really, really hard. Besides that this whole game is pure gold and I recommend it sooooo much to anyone who likes racing games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Racing Game up to date

posted by MugenSeiRy (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is the first racing game I had ever played before on my PS3 and WOWOWOW It's all you can say when you start your engine on the game the crashing and high speed racing man I went so fast that everything was blurry you have to get this game I had school in the morning and went to bed at 4:02 in the morning you can see how bad %#! this game is

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Take Me Down To Paradise City

posted by Selerdor (RIDGELAND, MS) Jan 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Okay, let me start by saying I have been a fan of the Burnout series since the first one came out. I have played and owned them all and have yet to be disappointed. This game is excellent, but it isn't perfect. So lets get to the review...first, the good: The Graphics are top-notch, especially the wrecks, which are the best so far. The sound is also excellent as well as the game play. I think the manufacturers did a great job of reinventing the series for the next-gen consoles. If you're like me and you just like to ride around and see how much damage you can cause...then this game is for you. The drive thru Body Shop, Boost Refill, and Paint Jobs are a nice touch. All in all, an excellent game.
Now the bad: I have just one gripe, which is why I gave it an eight instead of a ten. There isn't an off line(split-screen)multipl- ayer option. Part of the reason the burnout series was so fun was being able to defeat you're friends in multiplayer. Why they decided to leave that option out is beyond me. Hopefully they won't leave it out of the next one. The game is awesome despite that one setback and if you're a Burnout fan or a racing fan in general...buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse