Rent Burger Island for Wii
view large frontback

Burger Island

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.2

155 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Burger Island

posted by Cangel76 (SOUTHINGTON, CT) May 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is a fun game but repetitive, even though they add new burgers, it gets to the point where you are like, "I have already done this." Not to mention my hand went numb after a while. It is fun but not something I would ever buy. Glad I got to try it out first. My son is eight and couldn't get past the 9th level and there are a ton. I forget how many exactly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I want off Burger Island

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

You're marooned on an island and the only way off is to sell burgers to the natives - which I found to be very troublesome.
Yes, this is a customer service game that will drive several people away from customer service jobs. In Burger Island, you prepare burgers, fries or shakes to serve your customers.
How? That depends on the items.
For Burgers, the first step is to fry the burger, then when it's ready, put it on the bun, then place the condoments in the right order, then the top bun to finish the dish.
For fries, you fry the prepared potatoes, and when its done, put them onto the dish and place the spices (or ketchup) in the right order.
For drinks, you place the milk, then other ingredients (like chocolate syrup, ice cream or peanut butter - yes, peanut butter) mix it up, and maybe put on whip cream before putting in the straw. Putting in the straw finishes the shake.
Once a burger, fries or shake is done, a guy picks it up and you get money. You have to make a certain amount of cash to get past the level.
But it's not that straightforward; you'll have to juggle up to four dishes at one time.
The controls work well - if I was given the time to actually make the food or drink that the customer wanted.
But Burger Island ratches up the difficulty by making the customer very, very impatient. The second half of the sixty levels gives very little time to make each of the dishes; when time runs out, you lose the dish and the chance to make the money. This happens so often that I'm thinking WHY CAN"T THEY JUST WAIT HALF A MINUTE?!
And for what? For more complicated recipies and more headaches?
If you're up for this sort of aggrivation, go for it. But you do realize that we have the option not to play the game at all.
In fact, it's an option I would like almost everyone to take: not playing Burger Island in the first place. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

LOW QUALITY SHOCKWAVE GAME

posted by rodfong591 (ESTES PARK, CO) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game is LITERALY a shockwave game. the computer one is fun but to transfer it to the wii is another story. Bad Grapics,Boring Story,Horrible Sound Effects,Stupid Backround Music. The list keeps on going.
DO NOT RENT.
SAVE YOUR MONEY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

LOVE

posted by usmc_wife0636 (FOREST CITY, NC) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Love this game! Easier to do on computer but really fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Alright Game!!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Sep 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game is okay...The reason why I sent it back is because I got sick of playing the one level over & over again but other than that I like the game okay.. Don't get me wrong or nothing I do like this game alot okay it's just that when you know how to play the game you would think that there would be a Burger Island 2 game cause I played that game on the computer and it was very fun so I wish at somepoint in time that you guys could make or put that on and we can rent that game cause that game is fun!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Burgers Burgers Burgers!!!

posted by MattHawkes (CELINA, TX) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

Makes my stolen wii worth every penny

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game

posted by MonkeyGir (ARLINGTON, WA) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

the game was easy it needs more then just burger shakes and fries and the waiter is kinda creepy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Burger Island

posted by jannifervt (COLCHESTER, VT) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I don't know why people say this game is hard. I finished the game in only a couple of days by myself. If you like easy to play games like Cake Mania then you will like this one. I like these kinds of games but once you've won there is no need to play again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Salmonella for the Wii

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jun 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

With a name like Burger Island, you'd think some aspects of cooking would be implemented with the Wii remote. Nope; it's all point and click. Now I'm sure there are people who'd prefer this method, especially after an hour or so of make-believe burger flipping, but not me. The game also feels... bland. I played for a few hours before I threw in the moist towelette and in that time, it didnt seem like there was much of a challenge. Plus, all the new recipes were locked until you reach a specific level then you have to buy them. Well, that'd be all well and good if the entire game was in one unified game.

The game is spaced out into three separate restaurants, each having its own recipes and menu. In order to unlock each chains' secret recipes, u have to reach a certain point in the game and then buy them. Well, what's the point of earning the money when you have to wait to spend it anyway? You earn plenty of cash each level, enough to buy the next available recipe no problem, so its like having to unlock the item twice.

Burger Island is garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

stacey white

posted by Dirtymo55 (MOORESVILLE, NC) May 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

this game is so fun but you really need more than one players but it is a challenge with one player please rent this game you will want to buy this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Way better on the computer

posted by tmar23 (NEWARK, DE) May 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

my husband and I often debate the wii game system. i must say this game only helped his argument. i previously rented cake mania on the wii and it was horrible. at that point my husband said thewii creators arent being creative enough and the games are poorly designed. well burger island which i am used to playing on the pc is just another example of poor design. i love this game on the pc and hated it on the wii. they should have taken the time to develop the game more. it was very boring, you only used one remote and the same functions over and over again. it made my wrist hurt not to mention the graphics were poor. if they werent going to do anything to improve this game and make it more interesting they should have left it on the pc. i played it and sent it back the same day. what a let down!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »