Rent Bully for PS2
view large frontback

Bully

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

6001 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A punch from an angel

posted by monkeys8me (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

35 out of 35 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game play was perfect.
The worst thing may have been the graphics, otherwise a nice experience.
The game had an awesome storyline and plot. Even when you go to class it's fun to play because going to class is just a bunch of mini games that give you some sort of boost.
This game is kind of like GTA meets highshool since you can steel bikes and go around and punch people in the face. Of course you also get weapons like a slingshot or firecrackers. But their are punishments that you can get from the prefects or police. Even getting a detention is fun since mini games are involved.
I also love the music they play in the game.
I highly recommend renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grand Theft Auto......in High School!

posted by Joshua23 (BRONX, NY) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of the gta series then you will love Bully. Almost all the elements from the series are in the game with a few minor changes. Controls are smooth and gameplay is pretty much perfect. The missions are endless and the mini games are also fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bully or not to Bully, There's no comparison

posted by Ftsok1167 (ASHEBORO, NC) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

34 out of 38 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

From Start to Finish this game has a solid story line. The classes you can choose to attend are worth the trouble. Need some odds and ends? Pick open lockers to find "free" goodies. By the time chapter two opens up parts of the town, skipping class is worth it. Work the odd jobs and earn some cash, you'll need it to upgrade you wardrobe and buy off some bullies for protection. Take a day off from class and visit the carnival. Ride the rides and earn as many tickets as possible, you'll find them handy at the prize shop. Yes you have to earn access to some places, but once you get in, explore as much as possible and find out every secret. Collecting the rubber bands is so worth it. Feel the freedom of going back to school without all the trouble of being there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enormous world and fun, simple gameplay

posted by Greydawg (GREENVILLE, SC) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

37 out of 45 gamers (82%) found this review helpful


First things first, everyone wants to comare this game to Grand Theft Auto. If you're wondering if this game is better or at least as good as the latest heap of Grand Theft Auto games, the simple answer is "yes".

Yes, it's very similar to the Grand Theft Auto formula in that you can run around an enormous (and I do mean ENORMOUS) game world and do seemingly random tasks at your own free will without affecting the story itself.

Sound boring? Then you probably don't like the Grand Theft Auto games either.

Let's put it this way, if you liked the Grand Theft Auto games enough to buy two or more of them, my advice is to buy or rent this game----the formula may be similar, but the world itself is much more immersive and engaging. The random tasks in some of the Grand Theft Auto games (San Andreas in particular) seemed REALLY random and almost pointless, even if they were kinda fun.

But that's where Bully moves forward-------the tasks in the game, no matter how seemingly random, are also connected to some sort of goal that seems so legitimate to your character and his experiences in the game world.

If you're like me though, the GTA series was starting to feel old, worn-out (even if they are/were fun). So I was aprehensive about Bully, and even a little pessimistic perhaps? It takes a lot to surprise me, but I can't deny how much fun I've had with this game. I've played nearly 25 hours already, which says a lot to its addictiveness and size, especially for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rockstar does it again

posted by sora199362 (BIG BEAR CITY, CA) Oct 18, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

89 out of 111 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun when you begin you begin in your step fathers car on your way to bullsworth academy. This game has great graphics, has great mechanics like combos and controls, it has clothes custimization and you can color your own clothes. You get girlfriends that give you health when you kiss them. You can get busted just like grand theft auto and you can pass out just like getting wasted in grand theft auto. You can pick lck other kids lockers for new clothes but if you get caught you have to run to a secluded place and hide in a trashcan near by. You get classes like gym art chemistry and they have different mini games for eah class this game is very very good plz rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BULLY!!!!!!!

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 12, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

35 out of 44 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If I can describe Bully,her it is. It's just like GTA only the younger ones can actually play without the parents having to worry about hearing CJ on San Andreas and his fowl mouth.The area is wide and open,but not SO open that you'll get lost and not know what to do next.

The story is good too,you know new kid comes to a new school,gets a trouble maker for a friend,gets in trouble already with school,finds out his "friend" is really trying to take over the school for himself.So you try to take over for yourself.

The classes are mini games so you actually have something fun to do while in class.You can get girlfriends,run arrons,enter races,and almost anything else that you can do in a GTA game.The only bad thing is that it's too short,and easy.But other than that it's probably the best game on the PS2 since Final Fantasy 12.No the graphics aren't the best but with all the other stuff to do who needs graphics!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME THUMBS UP!!!

posted by taylorbrac (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 17, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

26 out of 36 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

When I first heard about bully (exactly one year ago) I was so excited. The game got delayed so much from April to June to July I had lost interest in it. When I recently received the game I was very excited. Some of the great things in bully were:

1. NO TWO PEOPLE ARE THE SAME. Every single person is their own individual.

2. FARMILIAR FIGHTING. For those of you who have played the Warriors you will remember the simple fun controls.

3. GREAT STORY. The story is great but sometimes lacks variety.

These are some of the things I think ROCKSTAR should have done better on.

1. THE CAMERA CONTROL SUCKS. It is very difficult to try and move your player while messing around to get the right angle.

2. BETTER WEPONS GUYS. The weapons are not that fun and break easily. My least favorite would be the slingshot

CONCLUSION: Fun story, and very funny themes gives this great game a good rating

9.1 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!..... At first.

posted by Thorvault (SANTA ROSA, CA) Oct 25, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

15 out of 22 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

When you first start off in beautiful Bullworth Academy, you are Immersed in the improved visuals and game play beyond that of the GTA series.

Rockstar Vancouver did a great job with the AI and Game mechanics. With customization of your characters Hair, clothes, and even Tattoos. You sure not to be disappointed by that.

The Game also makes great use of Its fighting controls. Learning and Earning combos is fun and Worth it. And the ability to use weapons ranging from a baseball bat to a Bottle Rocket launcher definitely adds to the fun.

Now for the Negatives! At first Il admit that I was hooked on this game. With its good graphics and controls, and even better storyline, I thought I was in for a gaming experience. But sadly the Game kinda of loses its "pazazz" and starts to decline. Right around the End of the 4th chapter I really didn't really seem to care what Happened to Jimmy any more. The fighting gets really repetitious and the boss battles can all seem to be won by running away and waiting till the enemy was tired, then shooting him in the dome.

Even with its short story line and redundant game play. Its still a good Game. In my opinion, a good Rent, not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bully

posted by Grimsta (CLEVELAND, OH) Nov 12, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Wow real impressive game with good gameplay good story mode and fun things to do you just cant get tired of those stinkbombs, and music kicks in while you are playing and makes you play even more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Amusing title from Rockstar

posted by Meekus (ROCKLIN, CA) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Bully is a silly, entertaining little game. It looks like and plays similarly to Grand Theft Auto, but has a sort of innocence to it. The school classes (mini-games) are amusing, and the fighting/bullying system are fun and funny. The language in the game may be a little harsh for a Teen rated game, but as an adult, I use far harsher language (and did back when I was 15). As with GTA, expect a lack-luster ending. Most of the game is incredible easy, with only a couple frustrating missions. All in all, Bully is worth a rental, but lacks the depth and replay value to be an owner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So much more than a toned-down version of GTA

posted by Kashabo (MIDLAND, MI) Oct 26, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Sure, the comparisons between Bully and other Rockstar games will abound. And rightly so. All the mischief and authority-dodging mayhem of the GTA games is here. The highly original story arcs, seemingly infinite variety of side missions and mini-games, ginormous open-ended world, humorous dialogue and incredible voice acting that are the signature of the R-Star crew are all here. Heck, the interaction of the various cliques in and around Bullworth Academy becomes an all-too appropriate allusion to gang warfare. In essence this is Teen-rated Grand Theft Auto, and in no way is that a reason to avoid it.

In lieu of carjacking, rocket launchers, prostitutes, and decapitation, Bully offers skateboarding, slingshots, make-out sessions and humiliation. And good golly is it ever fun. The day I got this game in the mail, the whole rest of the day was completely gone. It's that addicting. And to think I was a good kid in high school!

There's only one reason you should not rent this game: You're a concerned parent and your young child shows hints of becoming like the "hero" of this game. By all means keep this game from your kid's hands and give him a hug for crying out loud. Then rent it anyway and play it yourself. You will have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is very good!

posted by sambino (Rogers, AR) Oct 24, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

i have scarface and bully right now, and i really dont know which one i will send back first.. bully is very fun, my wife even watched me play for 5 or 10 min. and said it was cute, so she doesnt mind me playing it. but the gameplay is very fun, and the minigames for going to class is fun. i enjoy being a bully to the bullies, and being a ladies man. overall just a great game, i think i would buy this one before i buy scarface, and im a hardcore fan of scarface, so that says alot about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE PERFECT GAME TO HOLD YOU OVER UNTILL GTA4!

posted by SRTTORRED (HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL) Oct 23, 2006

Member since Feb 2003

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

First of all i know alot of people are wondering is what the deal with everything around bully? Well all the people that call this gta in a school have no idea what they are talking about. you play as Jimmy Hopkins and your mom drops you off at BullWorth school so she can go to her 5th honeymoon. The game has a really funny over the top stero types. your goal is to rule a ll the groups. the groups are the preppies, the nerds, the greasers and the jock and jimmy has to interact with all of these groups tp rule Bullworth what i really enjoy are the classes
and the cool thing there is acually a reason to go
there are 5 levels to each class after you complete one you get a special bonus for example shop as you go through the diffrent shop classes you unlock new and better bikes. the classes are button mashing minigames. the world is HUGE there are four basic area the school the old town new town and industrail park that you must unlock over the course of the game. In these area are mini mission and errends that people ask you to run for them. as you complete these challenges you unlock new save houses money and costume that jimmy can wear. not only is there alot of towns but the season change the game stars in the fall but by the end it is summer. There are alot of cool things about bully so if you are a gta fan you must own or rent this game it is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just like real High School... but much worse

posted by DeusUmbra (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Bully is the next shocking Rockstar release. This is actually highly equatable with the grand theft auto series, just scaled down.

Your character, Jimmy, or boy as most adults refer to him, is left to his own devices after his newly remarried mother departs on her year long honeymoon. Jimmy is looking to just pass through unnoticed until fate forces his hand.

This game has minimal swearing and name calling, so that front isn't offensive, but the violence is just that, violent, but there is no gore. The game reinforces positive decisions with rewards and usually punishes poor decisions, though in the end it is up to you. The weapons feel a little needless, as you can get through most of the game without them, and it does feel a little short.

All in all, Bully is an great title worth looking into, and is a good alternative to the prostitute-slaying antics of the GTA crews. Well worth a rental, if not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant

posted by MaddenMan1 (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Oct 17, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This is great it changes season u can get jobs different holidays. GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by sk8erpunk (SOUTHGATE, MI) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Once I got this game I did not put it down. Bully is just the best game in the history of the world. It rocks. The first parts are easy, but the rest- You'll figure it out once you rent it. I actually like Jimmy's clothes in the beginning of the game. I can't think of anything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grand Theft Auto in High School!

posted by hopkins (SOUTH ORANGE, NJ) May 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Those of you who have never played a Grand Theft Auto game because your parents say "It's Not Appropriate!" Should really check out this game. It's a sand box game taking place in a High School called Bullworth Academy.
You Play as 15 year old Jimmy Hopkins Who has been Expelled from his previous 5 schools, so when Jimmy's Mom is on her Honeymoon with Jimmy's new step Father they dump him at Bullworth. The point of the game is to stop the bullies from bullying nerds and eventually you start to take over the entire school. The graphics are great and the environment is just big enough to be a good open world area.
As I said previously about how if your not old enough for GTA then you should play this I wasn't saying it's actually good for little kids. There are a good number of curses and sexual themes for this to be a not good for little kids but okay for kids like 11 and up. There is also some alcohol and drug references. This game is very addictive too. It was literally the only thing I played for the first week I bought it.
The game isn't that popular so it might be a little hard finding it in stores so the best way to get it is to order it online. Also for people who own Nintendo Wiis and X-Box 360s that want this game are in luck. The game Bully: Scholarship addition has recently been released for the Wii and X-box 360. this game is the same plot line as Bully but with more items, minigames, and more.
I hope you found this review helpful and are now willing to buy Bully. It's like Grand Theft Auto in High School!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bully

posted by killerbee (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome i like it how you can dunk kids heads in toilets, throw them in trash cans, and all the weapons are great plus all clothes are cool, also you can take classes to improve your skills. I say if you want a high school grand deft auto rent but also get it for the xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Fantastic!

posted by bac1551 (TEMECULA, CA) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Love it love it love it!
One of the best games, I must say, for the ps2!
It keeps you having fun thruout the whole thing!!
Wonderful storyline, and awesome gameplay!
THis game is a definite rent and buy!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cool game

posted by jeane000 (MONROE, MI) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Bully, is a wonderful game it has good graphics and there is alot of missions and fun stuff to do and its not to hard of a game it was pretty easy for me you should defiantly rent this game 2 thumbs up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Over Hyped

posted by slapshot21 (HERMANTOWN, MN) Nov 11, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

The game wasn't bad. After a while, I found the game play to be a little boring. The controls seemed a little glitchy and it got very annoying when trying to run from a situation, I was looking behind me because of the R3 look-behind feature. The controls seemed a little too sensitive. I was very happy to see that Rockstar continued to inject it's own special flavoring into the mix, the game stayed true to Rock star's usual humorous and slightly edgy characters and dialog. The game was fun, but not exciting. It got rather dull rather fast. If you are planning on renting this game, DO NOT compare it to any of the GTA's. You will be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great features, but boring...

posted by smc120 (MILFORD, OH) Oct 29, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game has all the features to make a great game, such as player customization (you can change your hair color and get tattoos, as well as change clothes.), fighting moves, and player interaction (You can talk, hit and insult people).

But the one thing it fails to do is to make you get into the story like other Rockstar games. The storyline is slow moving and just boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bully, one of the best RockStar games

posted by SoraMaster (LIBERTY, MO) Oct 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I put this game in and got interested in it so much I've actually wanted to give it a 9.7 out of 10. When I saw the commercials of this game, I thought it would actually be a Mature (M) Rated game. That was because of all the criminal acts and violations in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ahhh Alright...

posted by sumac85413 (LOCUST GROVE, VA) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This was an alright game. I was really excited to get this game and enjoyed playing it for the first few days. I found that the missions seemed to be very similar, there are only so many ways to go around causing violence and beating people up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was like playing a "Teen Movie"

posted by mongoslade (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is actually a cool game. The graphics alone should get a "9". The game was just a little young for me. It's a good game for teens, though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse