Rent Bully: Scholarship Edition for Wii
view large frontback

Bully: Scholarship Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.4

2381 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by wetwilli (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Jun 9, 2008

Member since May 2008

30 out of 30 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very fun game. It has many funny parts and the missions are alot of fun. This is definitely a must have. It also make excellent use of the wii's motion-sensing capabilities. I could not stop playing it. One of the only flaws i could see is that it has a very steep learning curve. They just throw you in the game and teach you the basics, but there are alot of things you need to find out that they don't teach you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game In The World In My Life.

posted by diqdraws321 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the best game I ever had in my whole entire life. I love the front and back cover, the moves they do, and the missions they make. I just love the game. This game is awesome. I do not care about that language, I care about the game! Thank you rockstar games. Please make more bully... Please!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GTA in school!

posted by bigdaddy02 (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a great find. My cousin suggested we play it for PS2, it was awesome. I spent the rest of the time playing it. If you don't wanna get addicted to vidoe games, stay away from this game. The thing about it that makes it so fun? Welll... it never ends! Still it's got some things that a child under 10 that might be a bit... yeah. But, it's a great game if you hate those games where you can do nothing but the story mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

bully wii

posted by pieman127 (LUMMI ISLAND, WA) Aug 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is a fun game i really liket it the game is not to hard and not to easy thats the best kind of game i recamend it to eveybody i give it a 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Thumbs Up

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) May 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A fun, addictive, free-roaming game with lots to do and lots of replay value. It makes me wish that Rockstar's "Red Dead Redemption" was coming to the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GTA...the high school years...

posted by Lairdo (MARION, OH) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a fan of the "Grand Theft Auto" series, I had high expectations for this game. If you have played any of the GTA games, then the screen layout, HUD, and the basic overall set-up of this game will be very familiar to you. It's almost as if Rockstar took the GTA game engine and plugged in a high school setting (with less lethal weapons of course). There are plenty of things to do in the game. Missions, of course, mini-games, and side missions. Not to mention the "secret" items that need to be collected and so forth. To me, it really is just a re-worked version of any GTA game...just a different story with different surroundings.

I've only completed about 4% of the game and I'm already thinking about returning it to Gamefly...and here's why. First off, and maybe most importantly, I rented this for my Wii...and the gameplay just doesn't seem to work well on this console. I think this (for me anyway) is because I'm so used to playing GTA on my PS2. The controls often confused me and I had to really think about what I was trying to do and then, remember what button to push. If I played this same game on my PS2 I'd probably be much happier. Also, controlling the camera takes a lot of work between the nunchuck and the remote...just a hassle. Secondly, like I said before, there is A LOT to do in this game and I honestly don't know if I want to put in the time to get 100% completion.

I gave this game a ranking of 7 mainly because it's not a "bad" game... it just doesn't really seem to suit me playing it on the Wii. Overall, it's worth renting and trying out IF you have a lot of time on your hands to work through the control and camera issues...but, maybe it's just me. I would recommend playing this game on a system with "standard" type controllers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, Original, but still not Great

posted by bart4hire (CONCORD, NH) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was good. It took a great ps2 game and used the Wii controls very creatively. The story is great, the voice acting is hilarious, and the freedom you have to do whatever you want is awesome. However this game does have its flaws. One is that the way you have to save the game is very inconvenient. And the graphics arent that good even for the Wii. Its feels like you playing an old playstation game. But still to no suprise, Rockstar has put together a ver fun and addictive game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game for the wii.

posted by l4dmaster (COSTA MESA, CA) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

so fun!!! this is definitly the best game for wii. the missions are very fun, so is just runing around and doing all kinds of stuff. I love this game because you can do so many things. the only thing is that this game has many glitches, but who cares. I bought this game and beat it and it NEVER GETS OLD!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME ROCKSSSSSS

posted by BibisNPesk (Brooklyn, NY) May 19, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, i rented this from blockbuster for my girlfriend, thinking it was going t be super lame a few weeks ago. turns out, it was the reason we even got gamefly, and we got this game, played it so much,we bought it. its s must have

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by jballa19 (NORTH TONAWANDA, NY) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

sweet game for wii, definatly reminds you of gta but a little less invloved. the fighting is good with the remote and nunchuck, and the aiming is cool with the slingshot and spud gun. buttons are a little tricky at first, but arent all wii games tricky at first. worth checking out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing For A Wii Game

posted by espnfan13 (MONMOUTH, OR) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bully is an awesome game for the wii. The wii hasn't really made any violent entertaining games, but this game is cool and violent. It is the best video game out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bully Revised.

posted by jgrdaniel (CONCORD, CA) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You take the role of "Jimmy" Hopkins, a 15 year old reject who ends up in Bullworth High, an independent boarding school in New England, being basically dropped by his mother and new stepfather, while they enjoy a one year honey moon cruise.

At the start of the game, you realize that this school is full of Bullies, and you are, for the moment, one of their main targets. The school is divided by groups covering all High school stereotypes: The Bullies, led by the not too bright-enormous big headed "Russell" (One of my favorite characters), the Preppies, or the rich kids, who all seem to be jerks, the Greasers who seem to be stuck in the 50's and roam the Auto Shop, The nerds, perhaps the most amicable fellas in school, though deeply under appreciated, the Jocks, from the football team, not very bright but certainly above Russell hilarious mental state.
In the beginning you are greeted by Pete Smith, who is best described as a sociopath, unfortunately not the funny kind, but one capable of dangerous treacheries.
Of course classes are important, and four new classes are added, which basically consist of completing a series of "mini-games", some of them effective and entertaining, other not so. One always get the sense (as with many other Rockstars games) that the team missed "Gameplay 101" class, and so many of the gameplay mechanics feel unpolished. Some of the classes are surprisingly entertaining and educational (like Geography) and others just feel like second thoughts-experiments (like Chemistry). It seems that the adding of the four new classes damaged the game balance, as you only have one chance to try out the class' minigames, and you can only attend two classes per day. One example of this breaking of balance was that I attended a Photograph class at the beginning of the game (which I failed miserably), and the game offered another chance to attend the class after finishing the game, having passed most classes in its multiples levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game. Must Buy/Rent

posted by Kyle89 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is sooo freaking amazing!!! i love this game i play it all the time because it does not get boring.. i love how the seasons change as you are at bullworth.. Great Game!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SOOO FUN

posted by daniese1 (NORTH MIAMI, FL) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS SO GREAT, I NEVER THOUGHT IT WOULD BE THAT GOOD, I GUESS LOOKS CAN BE DECIEVING. THIS IS THE BEST GAME I PLAYED BY FAR, IF YOU DONT LIKE IT, YOU SERIOUSLY HAVE PROBLEMS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Bad But Slow

posted by galamaga (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is genuine, unique but has very slow load times for animation and scene switches. For certain tasks, the controller doesn't seem to work very well. A fair game but I gave up on it after a few hours of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME

posted by Naes845 (TAMPA, FL) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was fun and funny. 3 cheers for Rock star!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very amazing game!!!!!!!!

posted by colinkurt (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wanted to try this game I did not know what it would be like. I got this game in the mail popped it into my Nintendo Wii and was amazed how fun it was. You get to go to classes (if you choose to not skip them.) I always go to classes because there are only 2 classes in a day so after you do them you have the whole rest of the day, and you get character upgrades if you go to them. The game gets better as you go on, because you can access the town, get jobs and transportation devices such as skateboards and bikes. You also do missions to complete the game. You can not skip a mission. You also get rerawds for thoughs such as money. You can interact with anybody, do stuff like through stick bombs, slingshot bullies, and through firecrackers in the toilets to name a few. You dont want to be violent to students just bullies. Your are not really a bully. You fight bullies to help people. You can ame with the pointer and lock on to your opponents. You can do anything such as stay up really late, sneak into the girls dorm, and really just do anything. This game is so good rent then buy. Also if yd not want to cause trouble you do not have to. It is awesome!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rockstar Does It Again

posted by Doakley (CAMERON, NC) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had a blast playing this game, I wasn't sure what to expect from this game. It's basically Grand Theft Auto in High School and its fun to play you can spend countless hours doing the missions, side missions, paper route or mowing grass, and the races. I beat it in 16 hours but I didn't come near to doing everything I got like 65% complete, I didn't do all the races or pick up all the rubber bands, I completed the main missions. It's easily worth a rental, and I'm tempted to even buy it in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

School has never been this much fun

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Mar 26, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rockstar has a way with games. While so many imitators miss the mark in the GTA-style adventure category, Rockstar consistently produces great titles. Bully takes many of the qualities that made Grand Theft Auto great, but takes on a different setting and some nice creative touches to create a truly rich and satisfying game. You play Jimmy Hopkins, a kid with a chip on his shoulder who's been thrown into a second rate academy by his absentee mother. As soon as he gets there, everyone and their imaginary friend are out to get you. Your job, it turns out, is to rise above and take over the school. For a bully, Jimmy has a virtuous, albeit tough, nature. He insists on beating up those who truly deserve it and defending those who don't. Of course, the choices you make in the big wide world of Bully are yours alone. The pacing f this game is great. For the duration of the game, you always feel like you have a bunch of things to do. The internal clock keeps you on a schedule, which really makes you think about your tasks. Get a quick kiss for a health boost, get to morning class, run a quick errand, get to afternoon class, mow a lawn, do a couple missions. Actually, Bully makes taking classes fun. Each of the ten classes work as mini-games, utilizing the functionality of the Wiimote. Completing these give you bonuses for the game. Your weaponry is fitting and fun. Fire crackers, potato gun, slingshot, stink bombs, etc. are great, but mapped to a single scroll along with your camera and skateboard. I can't think of a better way to do it, but it's still a minor issue. You also get bikes and later an awesome go-kart. The characters and story are classic Rockstar, which is to say fun and lengthy. Mini-games and collection missions are great fun. I wish that there were more bikes, clothing, etc. to purchase and, while good overall, the Wii controls could have been better. This is the kind of game the Wii desperately needed. Do yourself a favor and go back to school with Bully.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just Plain Fun

posted by DoctorMP (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I have had this game for a few days now and absolutely love it! I can't put it down. It definitely has that Grand Theft Auto feel to it as well. This game makes great use of the Wii controls and is overall fairly easy.

You can beat up anyone whenever you want, throw stink bombs, firecrackers, kiss girls to gain health, beat up authority figures, fight jocks, nerds, preps and go to classes like biology, art, and chemistry.

I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone under the age of 10 but teenagers would absolutely love this game. One of the best games of the year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by tropical (MC ARTHUR, OH) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Just got this game and I love it. Good story to it and game play is awesome. I have not played the multilayer mode yet, so hopeful it will be as good. You basically go around doing goals and jobs and go to school.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Wii Game Yet

posted by andrew1233 (EUREKA, CA) May 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Best game for the WII so far, is the best simulation game by rockstar, and the game play is awesome. Comedy, real life skills, and brains are needed to immerse ur self in the world of bulls worth

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Too Cool For School

posted by lightsaber (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

15 out of 24 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Rockstar has put more effort in releasing this port of a ps2 game on the wii than most other third parties put into there own original wii properties. It's great to see another third party other than capcom putting a little effort into designing a good game experience both in terms of graphical presentation ( though it looks surprisingly a lot like the ps2 ver with added content) and in terms of providing a great playing experience too. This game is great for people new to the Bully universe and veterans of the ps2 version as well. The additional content (including new missions,classes,mini games and even new outfits to obtain) shows Rockstar actually cares about giving wii owners something to brag about. The mini games are really the best part about the wii version as the motion controls offer a different way to play Bully than the 360 offering of the same name. In closing I would like to say that while it's encouraging to see more third party developers taking wii more seriously this port of a two year old game still isn't enough. Wii owners want there own original franchise that really shows us what you can do with the wii. Until then this is a quality port of a great ps2 game but if these third party developers don't take some risk and invest in creating good original titles for the wii soon I'm afraid the wii will go the way of any fad that has had it's time extinguished far too soon (mullets anyone?). Please take note Rockstar, the wii is capable of more than just ports of games from other systems. You know it and I know it. So lets see something new Rockstar....Please!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Constructive Criticism

posted by Newmanat0r (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Bully attempts to be constructive by offering a view of teenage life through the lens of a GTA-style dog-eat-dog world, and while I applaud that concept, there’s so much lacking in execution that it’s hard to defend the game outright.

The opportunity is ripe to create a bustling system of alliances and betrayals, where each action causes a ripple effect of consequences throughout the system. Bully takes you partway there, offering a “respect” system similar to GTA: San Andreas (help a nerd and the jocks will be more likely to attack you on sight), but it doesn’t get any deeper than superficial aggression.

This failure is further compounded by the game’s physical world. There’s a school, and beyond its borders is a town, but rather than treat life outside Bullworth like a forbidden hideaway, you’re basically thrown out there to find new adventures the minute you get situated.

All of this comes at the expense of fleshing out the academy itself. There’s no organized recess and no lunchtime to fool around in. You have a schedule — two classes a day and bedtime before 1 a.m. — but there are no long-term consequences for refusing to follow it. You can court females, but unlike real life, the rest of the student body doesn’t seem to take interest. Instead of keeping the game concentrated on the microcosms of the schoolyard, the developers watered it down.

The result is a game that plays more like Grand Theft Auto, for worse. In GTA, the world is static; your actions have limited weight on the world at large, but that’s OK, because like any big city, most people don’t matter. In school, everything happens under a microscope.

Because Bully seems so fixated on mapping itself onto GTA’s existing construct, I can’t help but think the developers phoned this one in. It appears that Rockstar took whatever they built with the GTA series and tried to apply it as best they could to a high school drama. It should have been the other way around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't get attached to the grand scheme of things..

posted by hexmedia (BELLINGHAM, WA) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I am a lover of simulation games and role playing games; often avoiding first person games along the lines of Bully. But I was interested in the concept, and having never got a chance to play it on Playstation, thought I'd try it out on the Wii.

As there seems to be no real POINT to the game - it has the same ending no matter waht you do - I see it more of a matter of becoming obsessed with little things in the game you love to do. I have become attached to making it to classes on time and passing. The missions serve more as just a way to MAKE you progress in the game to unlock more mini stuff to do. I see myself getting bored soon of ths game, because all of the missions you help nerds, which makes it so you get chased constantly by bullies everywhere you go.

Don't play it with the assumption that I did at first - that there is some grand idea or moral crisis you have to resolve. Nope. Just trash stuff and stay alive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse