Rent Bully: Scholarship Edition for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Bully: Scholarship Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

14982 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Was Skeptical... Was,

posted by DialUp2335 (ELGIN, TX) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

102 out of 110 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Alright, so this is my first review I've ever written, but this game pretty much inspired me to write it.

First off, I got this game on accident, but well I guess that was a way of getting me to play it.

PROS.
-Very Well Built Storyline
keeps you entertained for mostly the entire playthrough

-Easier Achievements
the achievements aren't hard, plus you have all the time you need to get them

-Very Fun Gameplay
the game, simply put, is fun, nothing else really describes it

-Good Audio
not the best but it doesnt get repetitive

-Good Graphics
this game's graphics are pretty good, as the game IS old, the graphics were done right

Just a very good game in general, very original, and will keep you entertained

CONS.

The only con i can think of for this game is the achievements are a bit strange "kick 100 soccer balls", "walk 100,000 meters on foot", "receive 25 kisses from the gents"
but i mean it's no major flaw on the game.

The game overall is a very great game, awesome storyline, and fluid gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ENTERTAINING, yet annoying at the same time

posted by CNTRINSGNT (MANVILLE, NJ) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

184 out of 216 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

As usual MY reviews contain the Good and the Bad along with a final thought.

===========
THE GOOD
===========

Nice graphics, cant really complain in this department

VERY FUN, AND ADDICTING!
you will want to play this for hours and boy does the time fly fast!

Fun and amusing missions, very creative and captivating

Somewhat easy achievements , I would rate it a 6/10 on achievement difficulty

==========
THE BAD
==========

THIS IS THE WORST.... NO AUTO SAVE!!!!
In the year 2008 EVERY GAME and I mean every game!! should contain AUTO SAVE.
Not only is it disappointing to see no auto save, its a complete failure to the game overall!

You will need to play missions over and over due to no auto save and the extreme FREEZING issues this game has

You should save after every little thing you do because your game will freeze sooner or later, one time I lost 3 hours of play time because of no save and freeze issue

ROCKSTAR IS SLOW TO PATCH!
Its been known before the games release about ongoing issues with achievements and bugs, still no patch was ready, and no date is being released

Achievement glitches, MANY MANY people are doing what the achievements require only to have that achievement unlock 25 mins to 3 hours to 3 days later out of the blue... OR.... NOT AT ALL!

==================
FINAL THOUGHTS
==================

THIS is a very fun game, but also an annoying one due to the save and freeze issues and the glitches... HOWEVER its worth the rent and play because its so fun overall... I'd say give it a shot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great

posted by MagicNinja (THEODORE, AL) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sadly I gave my PS2 to someone less fortunate when it comes to game systems before Bully was Released. Thankfully it has been ported to the X-BOX 360 and I can finally play this great game.

Now, graphics wise is just a small step up from the PS2 version. I really wish the graphics were better but then the game would have taken a lot longer to release.

Now there are bugs in this game. A few times I had a black screen that said "Please Insert Game Disc" or something along those lines. Which is odd because a dashboard blade usually pops up on the right and says it can not read the disc. It's a problem but not a big one. I've had to do some missions over again because of this, but to me it's not a big deal.

Other bugs that I have recently found are very small. Sometimes the game will freeze (But that could just be my 360 but I doubt it), sometimes the humiliate icon is unresponsive, the triggers in music class are sometimes unresponsive, and etc...

The bugs are just little odds and ends. If you love Rockstar or GTA you'll love Bully. I was never a big fan of GTA but I still love this game. It's fun, addicting, and funny.

The Skateboard controls feel very clunky, IDK if it's just me but it seems like the skateboard is a big hassle when it comes to making small or large turns. The Bikes handle a lot better, but the skateboard just bothers me because it's my only means of transport this early in the game.

All in all I give this an 8/10... 1 point was taken off for the bugs and one was taken off for the lack of productivity when it came to updating the graphics.

It's still a great game. So if you've never played Bully Rent this one. Or if you got rid of your old PS2 then buy this to enjoy those gaming memories of 2006 again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but glitchy

posted by ElSancho (EVERETT, WA) Mar 9, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a fan of the original Bully. This one definitely has better graphics, but certain parts glitch out. Plus, my copy has frozen up on me twice. I was at a buddy's house and his copy froze up on him. I think Rockstar rushed this game out to keep people happy since there has been so many delays on GTA4. Its a great game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth checking out...

posted by Delirium (SOUTH MILWAUKEE, WI) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

...for several reasons. Bully is a somewhat refreshing blast of cool water to the face after seeing so many FPS games being released and hogging so much glory.

I definitely love this game for the GTA-type freedom at a much more kid-friendly theme. However, I should caution those that have older systems that there's a frame rate problem (those that have played Two Worlds should be familiar with the term) and there's no patched released so be aware of that.

Now, Bully has some pros and cons but the pros obviously hold the advantage. You start each day with the burden of heading off to class (two classes a day, easy to challenging mini-game). My only beef is that some ask too much or just get ridiculous. For geography class, you're given a map and some flags and asked to match countries to their flags and while some will think that's easy others might not be as educated to know where Normandy is.

After that you're good to do missions and whatnot until around 11PM where you can be caught for breaking curfew. But what's a game without some protagonist breaking rules for his benefit?

While I'm inclined to say I love Bully, the time system is really messed up. About 2 seconds counts for a minute so an hour runs by pretty fast as you can imagine. This runs especially hard because missions sucks up some time and you can only do 1-2 before you're breaking curfew and you have prefects/cops on your tail constantly.

All in all, pick up the game and it will be apparent if it is your style or not. My bet is, it will be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

First Time Player of Bully... Fun Ensues

posted by Patface (HAWTHORNE, CA) Mar 24, 2008

Member since May 2006

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Let me preface this review by saying that I did not play Bully on the PlayStation 2 when it first came out. I have read a number of reviews that say if you have played the original, this is not much of an add. Since I didn't play the original, I cannot comment.

I really didn't know what to think when I picked up Bully. On one hand I'd always been curious about the game, and have a great deal of faith on the quality that Rockstar Games is known for. On the other hand, I was never able to bring myself to pick it up on the PS2 and give it a shot. After getting into the 360 version of this game, I can tell you I'm greatly disappointed that I waited so long.

The graphics will not impress, and some of the vocal lines and characters can be repetitive depending on how you play this game, but I think the best word to describe this game is fun. This game is an absolute blast to play the first time through.

The control scheme is very easy to pick up, especially if you have played GTA-similar games before. The missions that you can do, both storyline based and side-quests, are creative and involved, and in true GTA style some quests are very easy while some will provide much more of a challenge.

While there are numerous quests and challenges to complete, one of the most entertaining parts of this game for me was "going to class". From biology to english, you must take main character Jimmy Hopkins through a number of mini-games to pass classes. At the same time, this is not mandatory, as you can play hookie, ditch class and head into the town, avoiding cops and prefects trying to throw you back into school.

The game also has quite deep character interaction, as you befriend and battle with greasers, preps, nerds, jocks, etc. You also try to get some tail from the females at the school, offering roses or chocolates (depending on the girth of your chica).

Overall, I would recommend this game for someone who has not played before - lots of fun to be had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST game EVER!!!

posted by 564900 (CLARKSVILLE, TX) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Bully: Scholarship Edition is one of my favorite games of all-time! You can do almost anything that you can do in real life on that game. You can put people in lockers and trashcans. You can knock out other students, drive go-karts, skateboards, bikes. The weapons are amazing! You can have firecrackers, stink bombs, itching powder, spud guns, bottle rockets, slingshots, rubber-band balls, fists, and you can use food and textbooks as weapons.
You can get caught by the prefects or the police for various reasons including violence, bullying, harassing the girls and more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this gets an A+!

posted by gamer56 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jul 21, 2009

Member since May 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

you know, i had my doubts about this game. all that changed when i started playing it.i don't get why the charecter runs in a circle sometimes, but whatever, it wasn't that often. this game is one of the definitions of awesome. the fighting is great, the classes are doable but don't hold your hand all the way,the missions range from the dreaded escort mission(which somehow wasn't as head-bangingly difficult as i thought) to smashing stuff, there are actually pretty good plot twists(who would have thought gary would turn out to be a twisted psycopath?),smashing enemies in the privates is satysfying when you hear their cries of pain and shout "that's not fair!", and it's just overall fun. hot tip: when low on health in a fight at school, go find a prefect. if you're trouble meter is down, hug close to him. when your foes catch up, they won't dare attack in fear of the prefect and leave you alone, and the fools that do will be chased by the prefect. that said, the new classes are kinda useless, except for geography. all they do is unlock clothes that you will never wear. if you do, you will violate dress code, and some clothes look idiotic. i found myself wearing the aquaberry vest, because it got kisses(which you WILL need), and the grey hoodie you get at the school store because it looked cool. but that doesn't stop this game from being great. give it a rent and see what you've missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Game

posted by RiseAgain (YUCAIPA, CA) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

23 out of 31 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

This game may not be one of the best but it gets the job done when it comes to T rated rockstar games, Bully already came out on the PS2 and everyone loved it, the 360 version of it is much better in many ways
1. Better Graphics not great but better
2. 4 new classes to attend
3. 4 new missions with new characters
4. A couple more jocks to hate you
Bully is enjoyable to everyone it has a great storyline a few good jokes here and there overall a fun game, though i do advise that you RENT IT first before you buy because there are a few people out there that are haters and tell you not to touch it, but like i said before if your looking to sit down and have fun, laugh a little and have a good time BULLY is the game for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is wow

posted by xmasterx (GARRISON, TX) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

WOW! this game awesome.better than i expected thats for sure. this is definetly in my top 10 favorite games ever made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Surprisingly good

posted by bluskyline (TACOMA, WA) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was very skeptical when I first played this game. When it came out some years ago, I wasn't interested at all. I decided 'why not?' Shockingly, I was hooked! If you enjoyed any of the GTA games, you should give it a try. It's a "T" rating so it is a lot tamer, but there's still a lot of trouble for you to get into.

Jimmy gets sent to a "boarding school" to get his act straight while his parents enjoy their year-long "honeymoon." Take classes, earn skills, pick fights and make a name for yourself around campus. Stand up for the nerds or fight with the greasers. If you're skipping class, keep a low profile, as the cops and prefects WILL send you back to class if you get caught ditching!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Like GTA but for a younger crowd.

posted by bogie223 (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Similar gameplay to GTA, but perhaps geared toward a younger crowd. Instead of stealing cars, you steal bikes. Instead of machine guns and rocket launchers, you have a slingshot, eggs, marbles, etc. It's an okay game. You'll like it better if you're 10 years old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A perfect game to start out then go into GTA

posted by Biokiller (CHANDLER, AZ) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is about a kid named Jimmy Hopkins who was expelled from every school and was sent to the worst school in the country. Bullworth. As you start out into the game, the graphics seem almost identical to the original Xbox and PS2 game systems. The only major difference to this game is that there are a few new missions that you do for a hobo and to earn achievements. The achievements are the best part since some start out small yet can blossom into 100G points later on. As I played this though, there was no individualism whatsoever from the originals, and not just from the graphics. It's just a game that has been dusted and set back up onto the shelf as a Rockstar classic. The dialouge is the same, missions are the same as well, and there are no DLCs for this game. Yet I found this game to be a good start for those who want to find out what GTA is all about since there is violence, vandalism, taunting, and random betting games as well as rocket propelled launchers. The story is still strong and fun as you deal with the most repulsive or snotty people at the school. Although this game had a few bumps, I enjoyed it as it is a start to something that may become a sequel later on if Rockstar can make it. I still prefer it to anyone who still try to find some sense of irony and sarcasm as they explore on how school might have been for all of us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bully

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game is ok, maybe if I still in high school or in Jr. High the game would appeal to me, I just don't feel or see the humor in Bully. Maybe if Rockstar made a Bully: college edition, now that would be sick. This game is for 12 or 17 year old kids who think everything is funny, but for the older crowd you'll get bored fast. I have other games that are rated T for teens that I love playing, but Bully didn't do it for me. I'm not anti-teen or anything, this game review is for the older guys and girls you know the 20 something people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THIS GAME IS A BLAST!

posted by Boowhatty (BANGOR, ME) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

21 out of 32 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

I loved EVERYTHING about this game. It's like a tricked out, more challenging, semmingly endless, pre-pubescent version of Grand Theft Auto(without guns and blood). I'd play this 24-7 if I was still young. This game has depth like no other and TONS of missions to keep you hooked. It's a little violent for kids but otherwise an absolute blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Am I missing something?

posted by mc69486 (VERNON ROCKVILLE, CT) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Im a big fan of rockstar games but this one just did not do it for me. I read the reviews, read what the game was about and it actually sounded like it could be a fun game. After playing the game for roughly four hours, I immediately sent it back. I really could not find anything good about this game.
1. Graphics are horrible
2. The missions are boring and rather immature ( escourt a dork to the bathroom before he wets his pants, put a stink bomb in the girls locker room, etc)
3. The game clock goes to fast and doesn’t give you enough time to explore ( if your out past your bed time you pass out)
4. The game froze on me twice and I had to replay the boring missions which got old quick….NO AUTO SAVE
5. to many control and moves to remember
6. the constant pausing for the load screens gets old
Maybe I did not give the game a chance to develop but to me a good game is suppose to keep your interest from the moment you turn it on and start playing for the first hour. I was bored out of my mind with this one after the first four. Bottom line this game in intended for the teenage audience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pure Joy

posted by shai23 (CANYON, TX) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Bully is the most fun and original game I've played since Okami. The ideas in this game are universal to most people's school days while over-the-top enough to be an obvious satire. Fulfill your darkest high school fantasies and have a generally great time with this games tight controls, terrific voice-acting, and flawless writing. Bully is a must-rent and a must-keep-it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!

posted by Kyaboy55 (DAMASCUS, MD) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I heard of this game before but never got around to play it. But when this new one came out on the 360 i got exited. I came home today and found this game in my mail box. That was around 3:00. it is 9:54 and i am still playing it. This game has a great game play and story plot. Plus the graphics are not bad at all. Its like GTA but on a campus. I recommend this game very highly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

is everyone having a BULLY time?

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Mar 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

44 out of 78 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

ha, pun definitly intended.

Rockstars favorite T rated PS2 game is now finally on our favorite consol...the 360. And trust me...you will have a bully time.

this game is completely fantastic. it mocks the subtle, and embraces the obsurd nature of school. everything from the classic stereotypical humor and the well written storyline put this game in a "class" of its own.

so why is bully good? well.....if u must know....
1.as mentioned this games story is well written, and the off beat humor will have u rolling on ur side laughing.
2.the gameplay is great, from skateboarding to biking to shooting to fighting, the button layout comes together quite nicely.
3.while not much different from the original title, the graphics are a little smoother and better looking.
4.this game awkwardly captures all of our favorite highschool stereotypes, from the meathead jocks to the OBVIOUSLY untouched nerds, to the....uh.....CONFUSED prep guy you know just puts up a front to cover his... latent homosxsuality.....!cough! ....

so this game is good, but you might ask...what are the bad points of the game? well, if you have to nitpick.
1. while the graphics ARE updated....there not exactly next gen.
2. some people may not like the game. thats realy all i could come up with for a #2 problem...i dont know the inner workings of ur mind, and i certainly cant tell you why u MAY not like it. idk, maybe u dont like good humor, or maybe high school was a dark time for u that u wish not to revisit. maybe u just dont like the thought of vandalizing a prison-like enviorment, or beating up someone who deserves it(virtual or otherwise). heck, if i knew everything, i guess i could write the perfect review for all you people who are stuck on examining the bad....HAVE I MADE MY POINT YET!!???

i apologize....just rent bully, i supose if u've already played it, there isnt much u dont know about it, and nothing really new.but if not, just RENT IT, BUY IT, just play it. its worth it.
9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Freezes, glitches, and more!

posted by HbgBrian27 (ELIZABETHTOWN, PA) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Those who have been fortunate enough to play through the game have good things to say about the gameplay, missions, humor, etc. However, due to the freezing glitch occurring so often, I couldn't even get the game to load past the first scene where you get dropped off at the school. My system froze every time by that point, probably about 15 attempts over the last week or so. I gave time between attempts, did all the recommended maintenance, but no dice. Since trying to play Bully, other games which had never had freeze issues started locking up, and tonight, my XBox rolled over and died, yep, Red Ring O Death! Needless to say, however good the gameplay is, it's not worth the potential mess the software can unleash on you. Hence, the 1 rating. It'd be a zero if I could enter that.

Yes, a patch should be out any day at this point, and I was holding out hope that it would fix the issues overall that have happened since first trying to play Bully last week, but the XBox didn't survive that long. Buyer/renter beware!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ULTIMATE SYSTEM CRASHER GAME !!!

posted by Webface (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To begin with this game was good while it was running but having it freeze every 4 to 6 minutes cause me to yearn for those hours in Detention! I can not prove this, but I had TWO game system CRASH with the 3 RED RINGS of DEATH while playing this game! I would strongly suggest that NO ONE RENT, BUY, BORROW, STEAL or REMOTELY DRIVE NEAR this game until ALL BUGS have been RESOLVED and relaeased.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just a short overview

posted by Mekanic (HUDSON, FL) Mar 9, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Lot of fun, great time waster, especially if you like sandbox games.

Story line is decent, and the voice acting is pretty good, although some of the characters get very repetitive.

Some of the classes are VERY hard imo, I've started skipping a lot of them and don't regret it, as it gives me a ton more time to progress the main story.

Graphics are... well lets just say it. It looks like a PS2 game, complete with the pop-in issues found in the older PS2 sandboxes. Its got quite a few lighting errors especially when it gets dark out (street lamps and headlights flash).

If you are one of the people who only play for graphics. Don't bother. I'm one of the few left that can enjoy a game no matter the graphic detail, so I can look through it, if you are one of those types, you will be able to enjoy the game.

So far I've had it lock up my console 5 times. Very annoying indeed as this game has no auto-save or quick-save feature, saves are done at books at specific locations (ala-resident evil typewriters).

With the game being semi-unstable this can be very frustrating when you play for an hour or 2, just diggin the story and forget to save.. then BAM! frozen. Makes me sad panda.

All in all worth a rent, multiplayer isn't online, just a 2 person party-game type thing. I've had it 2 days now and am 55% complete, so I wouldn't recommend it as a purchase, but if you like sandbox games, with some good humor and decent plot, its worth playing through it once.

(Sorry, I said it would be a short overview rofl)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FINALLY!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by darkdude77 (YONKERS, NY) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

i played it for PS2 and now its finally for 360 this game is amazing the story is intense and suspenseful and the game play is solid. this game will last a while with 60+ missions and 20+ side quests this game is worthy enough for u to buy i give it an 11

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

For sure a rent

posted by Xanatos (PALMDALE, CA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I just sent this game back today, this game offers very little replay value, not that you'll finish it quickly though. It takes FOREVER to finish all the missions, and they eventually get pretty repetitive, the achievements also are rather repetitive, and you'll probably just give the same people wedgies till you get skidmark, or make out with the same girl over and over till you get casanova, I honestly can't imagine even considering starting a new game after finishing it

Though I will say, this game is worth renting, just to play for at least a couple hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Broken Game!

posted by SirPhygeon (ROCKFORD, IL) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I'm sure this game might be fun as the few times I was able to play it for more than 10 minutes I was having some fun. Then the screen freezes, or goes black, or you finish a cut scene and unreadable disc error pops up. I know it's not the disc because my friend bought a copy to play multiplayer with me and he had the same problems. This game is garbage! I don't care if they patch it. I don't care if they lower the price. This game is trash and deserves to be put with the other trash! Unless you recycle. Then put it in the recycle bin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse