Rent Brutal Legend for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Brutal Legend

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

11887 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A VERY RACIST GAME

posted by ninjaman9143 (MARRERO, LA) Sep 24, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

THIS GAME IS VERY RACIST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

unique and worth it!

posted by aleksi (HIDDEN VALLEY LAKE, CA) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

when i first saw the cover of this game, i thought it was ugly. so i assumed that the game must be stupid. big mistake! not only is brutal legend pure fun, but it's also a beautiful, unique and very involved game as well! glad i gave it chance too, because now i own it! so, if u r in that kind of mood, give this game a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Brutal Victory of a Game

posted by ShadowHunter74 (BEND, OR) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

It's a bit on the short side, but it can be forgiven by its awesome story, gameplay, music, EVERYTHING! This game is definitely one of my all-time favorites.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brutal Legend

posted by FatPanda347 (BEAUMONT, TX) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Tish game is a great game the only problems is the combat is a little slow and the game it self is really easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A romp thru nostalgia-land

posted by TheSolly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jan 28, 2013

Member since May 2009

This game is just plain silly fun, regardless whether or not you get all the references being made to the 1980's heavy metal scene. Those that remember those days will fall in love with the sheer parody being leveled at their past.
Jack Black found his calling as a cartoon. His performance in BL is arguably better than anything he's done in films. Here Black gets to run wild with his love of that time in music that came off as hammy in School of Rock. He simply OWNS this role.
A parade of real life rock stars voice virtually every main character, often making jokes at their own expense. The melding of music and the fantasy world shows great creativity, such as bass strings made from metal spider webs. This game was nothing if not a labor of love for someone.
The game's world is large and varied, but a bit sparse on things to do in it. Repetitive mini-games and easter eggs provide a reason to tool around and take in the sights, but you essentially do the same half dozen things outside of the main storyline. None of it is required, but at least they tend to be pretty fun.
The game attempts a radical departure into the RTS tower-defense genre, but generally fails. It's a creative take on an RTS battle, being a concert setting. But it's the least engaging and fun element in the entire game. Luckily you're forced to do it a very few times. It has some potential but is largely forgettable.
This is a game that I was left wishing there was just MORE of. Everything in it was fun, quirky, and mixed challenge with simplicity really well, and made me smile constantly.
People unfamiliar with the time Black is both mocking and worshipping may find better examples of each individual game element somewhere else- but if you're iPod already had Angel Witch and Celtic Frost on it- then trust me when I say this is a game you'll at least throw a couple devil horns to before you're done.
A favorite that I play as much for it's soundtrack than it's action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RAD !!!

posted by zerohour850 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

AN AWESOME,RAD AND FUN GAME!!!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!

posted by Emweekins8807 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I absolutely love the storyline and gameplay,this game is seriously fun! I'd change the sensitivity on driving though it's rather difficult :/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun

posted by ShotgunShawn (FORT VALLEY, GA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Video games are supposed to be fun and that's what Brutal Legend is. I hate that the sequel was cancelled. The graphics are good and of course the soundtrack rocks. I have played better hack and slash games but what I really liked were the stage battles, as a big RTS fan this added a bit of substance to the actual gameplay. Cut scenes are funny and the backstory although kind of cheesy was pretty well thought out. From the stage battles, to the side quests or just hopping in the Deuce, cranking up the volume and cruising around shooting stuff, Brutal Legend Rocks!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

1 Of The Best games of all time

posted by TheTruth231 (MUSKEGON, MI) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This Game Is Funny Al Lot Of Action

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Silence ground walkers! Here is my review

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

Never have I played a game with so much awesomeness and epicness molded together ever. The story is short but that's ok bcos there is secondary missions and multiplayer to jump into. I would give this game a 10 if it wasn't for the inconsistency and flawed stage battle mode. It just is too slow paced and takes forever to finish. Attacking, defending, and spawning and moving your army over and over and over just gets too old too fast. The voice acting is cool with Jack Black as the main character Eddie and even the surprise appearence the gaurdien of metal, yep you guessed it, OZZIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This game also has a great song track of some of the greatest rock/metal songs ever. Kickstart my heart and Rock of Ages, and Through the fire and flames were my favorite. I'm a weiner, your a bun, so let's get together and buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehh

posted by elmattador (CIBOLO, TX) Feb 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Look, the world this game creates is incredibly unique and obviously was a labor of love for metal fans. That can't be denied.

The gameplay, however, is solidly average. RTS and action games don't blend well IMO. Imagine playing a generic Devil May Cry action scene(with about 5% of the combos and waaay slower), but while you're slashing demons to bits, you have to command troops and capture strategic positions with them. It doesn't work well, although at least they tried something new. It's also incredibly repetitive. "Stage Battles"(the RTS parts) are always the same-Capture points on the map, call troops, advance forward, all the while hacking and slashing. The sides missions are repeated over and over- ambush these guys, shoot those guys, beat this guy in a race.

Still, I kind of recommend you rent this just to experience the environment; it's unlike anything else I've played. Sadly, the gameplay just doesn't hold up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I had hope for this.....

posted by denzo45 (ASHTABULA, OH) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

Pros:
Awesome Soundtrack
Variety of Baddies

Cons:
Deuce (car) drives like a brick, terrible handling
Main character can't jump....
Constantly getting stuck on objects
No HUD or Health bar
No map on the screen, had to constantly hit pause to look at the map

I forced myself to finish this game and immediately put it back in the mail. I didn't know whether this was a hack/slash game, or car combat, or some kind of pseudo-RTS, but it was just too weird. The game is an open world, where you go driving around in your car, and go to contacts for missions, then on almost half of your missions you are commanding an army and building units to battle the enemy army (think Command and Conquer). I thought it would be fun but I think it was just too much going on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Funny

posted by mamajama72 (PLAINFIELD, IL) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

The game story line was hilarious and very entertaining. This was probably the only game I've played where I was not trying to skip the videos between missions. However, the game is very short and pretty easy. The gameplay was smooth but I wouldn't play the game for more than 4 hours before hanging it up for good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, but for a specific crowd

posted by AwwMang (TWO RIVERS, WI) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

I loved this game. The story, dialogue, and world/graphics were amazing and I really enjoyed the storyline. Missions or collecting things never got tedious for me either. If you aren't a fan of heavy metal or Tim Schafer games, then this might be a game to pass on however. I enjoyed the battle mode even if it had its flaws. The outcome of the match, if you are playing against other players, can be determined by who gets more geysers within the first 5 minutes which leaves those who are less skilled out of the loop. This problem is easy to overlook by the enjoyment I got from the campaign though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

First game I sent back in one day.

posted by bobthe23rd (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

there is a lot that is great about this game. The theme is well done. The thing is the gameplay between the interesting parts was very tedious and clunky. I know difficulty isn't the main thing to criticic a game on, but I got so bored and sleepy with the action parts of this game that I didn't even care about what else was awesome about it. This game is great cartoon tribute to metal but was so dull in the game play parts. Just my opinion and maybe the game picks up right after my last save. If you love metal there are so many things you'll be happy to see and so many guest stars that are awesome. Otherwise probably not worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Heavy Metal has a voice and this game is it.

posted by TorikoX (HOPE, AR) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Tim has done it again. This is a true Heavy Metal fans game. That all I can say because the rest is to awesome for words.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

GAME SUCKED!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

THE GAME SUCKED ALOT AND I REALLY HATED THE GAME SO THAT IS WHY I AM SENDING THE GAME BACK SO PLEASE SEND ME A AWESOME GAME SO I EITHER COULD THINK OF KEEPING IT OR JUST SENDIT BACK TO YOU GUYS IF I DON'T LIKE IT ALRIGHT WELL TALK TO YOU LATER GAMEFLY STAFF!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Rock/METAL game since Guitar Hero

posted by iSpartan926 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Its like Guitar Hero/Grand Theft Auto/All the greatest Metal songs had a baby .... period .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

epic and funny

posted by mte46460 (MENIFEE, CA) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

i think this game is funny and has a pretty good story line, its not to short, its not hard and really fun to play. the bad part is that it can get boring after the first or second time beating it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Story

posted by TweakerG (SHELLEY, ID) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

The gameplay was kind of boring, but the funny story made up for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Almost Too Much "Awesome!!!"

posted by Kriminator (CROSBY, ND) May 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

So much awesomeness in this game, that my brain went into awesome overload. Had to put the controler down after awhile.

If your around 35-40 ish and grew up listening to the likes of Ozzy. This is worth your time.

Note: unlock a bunch of stuff before you start the first Tour of destruction, get all leveled up with unlockables in the northern part of the map, then you should be fine in real battles. Do it Not! and perrish in the wake cryptic characters that look like "Beatle Juice"3... Dont actually say beatle juice 3 time tho... LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome, but frustrating.

posted by Trisphere (BRATTLEBORO, VT) Mar 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

If you're a Jack Black or Tenacious D fan, then you have to play this game! This game is a ludicrously over the top, epic tribute to the heavy metal genre. I'm talking about a "Metalocalypse" level of epic! It takes place in a world usually only depicted on heavy metal album covers, and your main weapons are a battle axe and an electric guitar.

I like the diversity of game play...at first it seems to be a hack n' slash type game, but then they throw in a car known as the "Druid Plow" which introduces elements of driving games. Then there are the "stage battles" which are basically real time strategy games where you produce and control various units such has "head-bangers" or "roadies" and attempt to take down the enemy's stage.

My main beef was that the game wasn't entirely consistent with the level of difficulty. A lot of it seemed far too easy, (though still very fun to play,) but once in a while there would be a part that seemed nearly impossible! I nearly stopped playing on the second to last battle because I got so frustrated. I don't mind a challenge, but the stage battles are kind of tedious at times, and it wasn't very fun having to go through it over and over again, only to fail each time. I was able to win the game, only with a bit of help from the internet.

I still recommend the game, though. Overall it was fun to play, and had plenty of laughs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brutally AWESOME!

posted by happythug (VANCOUVER, WA) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I would just like to say, that I can’t really think of a SINGLE THING that bothered me about this game and I’m a pretty hypercritical guy. So here is a list of its awesomness.

Graphics: Detailed, stylized, UNIQUE, varied and awe inspiring environments that I actually stopped to look at several times. Who thought a metal-themed-world could look so fascinating and beautiful.

Gameplay: Brutal Legend mixes elements from strategy, racing, action, open-world and RPGs flawlessly. Each form of gameplay is fun. Combat is always entertaining and fun to look at, and the game keeps giving you enough upgrades to keep things interesting. Avid explorers will be well-rewarded, as finding collectables is key to earning certain useful upgrades. Even fetching collectables is fun because you don't simply walk up to the floating-spinning-obtainable like in most games. Collectables are usually obtained by playing a short-song at a place or object where a tell-tale sign of goodies alerts you to the presence of something useful. Maybe it's the red-thorn flowers around an old monument, or maybe a dragon statue bound in chains. They are always easily identifiable, and not simply collected, but unleashed. Idols raise from the ground with sparks and lights. Dragon Statues scream fire and break their chains. Just driving around the countryside looking for things is fun in this game.

Story/Setting: Characters are humorous, unique and well acted. So many bazaar concepts are well imagined and brought to life by Brutal Legend. It took me totally off guard because I was really expecting some dank, dark and offensive metal-setting, and what I got was a colorful and beautiful fantasy/metal world. The story does a good job at motivating you to keep moving forward producing an adequate amount of “care” for its characters and events.

That's all the room I have for this review, but I encourage even the most skeptic of gamers to give this game a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

rock on

posted by HolyOwl (DULUTH, MN) Dec 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

this game was okay but their is one thing wrong with it when you beat the story line you lose all urge to play it. but overal the game had great story and characters plus great music. XD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Brutal Legend Review by Xenization

posted by Xenization (WEST LAFAYETTE, IN) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Alright so I recently got through playing this game which means ... 'horns blaring' it's time to write a little review. Now I'm going to preface everything with the general statement that I was extremely skeptical in getting this game as it was produced by EA. Anybody who has played any a number of sports games realizes that EA is one of the cheapest developers out there when it comes to satisfying the demands of the gaming population. That out of the way let's move on.

The game itself is actually really good. Graphically the game is well above the standard you would expect from a EA push out. The animations are flawlessly done, and the animators clearly had a fun time with this game. The demons look moderately grotesque to fit in perfectly with the incredibly disproportionate human characters. But all the character designs were done with a purpose so it never seems too difficult to imagine what each character is going to do for or against you. The major influence behind this game, Jack Black, is the main character, and you can see his style smashed all over the game. There are countless little jokes and innuendos set right into almost every cut scene. Overall the graphics and audio were better than expected in this game.

The storyline is EXTREMELY short. If this takes you more than a couple days to finish then you are failing the missions way too often. Personally I took the "Brutal" difficulty to town in around 2 days. FYI "Brutal" is not actually that brutal. My only wish is that they would have been able to stretch the story out a little bit and keep the comedy going. The ending (don't worry I won't spoil it) is well set up, but it's definitely one of those you can see from a mile away. If you've ever seen an M. Night Shyamalan (don't worry ... even I had to look up how to spell his name) movie this one will not phase you.

All in all this game is a solid rental, but not anything more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse