Rent Brutal Legend for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Brutal Legend

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

11868 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

VERY BRUTAL!!!

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

First off, I just wanna say how awesome of an idea this was, ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. Brutal Legend has an amazing storyline, killer graphics that remind you ohh soo much of Psychonauts, never boring gameplay, and of course who could forget the reason this game exists...METAL!!! The campaign took me about 8 hours on the normal difficulty and thats with no distractions, just do the mission, move onto the next and so forth. I didn't explore the land until I finished the game and wow is it big. It's not Oblivion or Fallout big, but there is a good bit to do, free 120 serpents, find 12 legends, find 12 guitar tablatures, tons of side missions and so forth. I honestly can not put this game down, it's very engulfing if you are a big fan of heavy metal music, which the soundtrack does impress ranging from Cradle of Filth, Judas Priest, Dimmu Borgir, Anvil, Anthrax, Iced Earth, Dethklok, Rob Zombie and other such metal melodies. There is 107 songs in the game, but you have to unlock some and find the rest which are spread throughout the land. The powers you get are pretty cool too ranging from simple axe swings, electrifying guitar solos, solos that cause destruction, minions that kill and such. There is a lot of random stuff to have any metal head picking Brutal Legend up to play for hours upon end. If you are a metal head or a fan of heavy metal, this is a game for you, it's chuck full of all kinds of musical references. You will not be BRUTALLY disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lets Rock

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

8 out of 20 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this is one crazy game. Jack Black is funny and hilarious. gameplay is not that innovative but is fun and tried to be created. but this is a 9/10 beacause the game was great looking before but when i finally got it it was fun. this game does not suck but just didnt live up to the hype. thanks tim schaffer for trying though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

great game, until...

posted by quietim (ALAMEDA, CA) Oct 20, 2009

Member since May 2006

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was really getting into this game. All of the rock gods, the button mashing, the driving, the music...and then it tried to be a RTS game. And I stopped playing. I've played a few on the console, Halo Wars, Battle for middle earth and the controls were ok, no where near the control on a pc game, but still playable. Not so with this title. The flying was cool but you could never get high enough to see the whole field so controlling everything was nearly impossible. My rating went from a 9 to a 4 simply because of this aspect. I've never gone so quickly from enjoying myself to quitting the game entirely. They should have just been happy with a button masher, driving, rocking game and left it at that. Jack Black is hilarious, all of the rockers making an appearance blew me away. But then the bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good Start Terrible Middle Worse End

posted by Aemonking (ANAHEIM, CA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I have to say the first half of this game is pretty awesome. Cleaving enemies, hearing great old school heavy Metal. Then it turns into a pretyt poorly designed RTS and what you do in combat is pretty lame. 95% of the game after the 50% mark is RTS and it lost it's fun. I beat it, at about 90% completion and it was a real dental job at the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brutal Legend

posted by blazedaz (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

12 out of 36 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

funny stuff. gameplay lacks a bit but to those of you who want a great game to roll through, this is it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

about Brutal Legend

posted by johny5 (MASSILLON, OH) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

great game but haves way to many items to collect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great METAL adventure / Terrible RTS

posted by Ulvirfaust (ALSIP, IL) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I consider myself a true 100% METALHEAD so, I was very excited to play this game. (Being into metal & a gamer, it's not very often that the two mix so purposefully.) The game starts off impresively enough and you're treated to some killer tracks & hot chicks while dolling out gruesome violence via your two "axes", not to mention you get a badassed metal hotrod to ride to battle in. However, once you've gotten passed the awe-inspiring meeting with the likes of Ozzy, Lemmy & the self-proclaimed "god of metal" himself, Rob Halford, the game starts to slide towards a seemingly inescapable downward spiral. The further you get in the game, while being rewarded with more killer tunes and upgrades, the clumsy RTS element (which is pretty much the entire multiplayer part too) becomes much more previlent. The game gets harder and harder not so much because of the difficulty but because of the clumsy, ilconcieved RTS controls. It's enough to make you loose interest in the game altogether. Brutal Legend, despite its obvious seductive charms for even the most diehard metalhead like myself, lacks that certain cohesion of elements that make a game great. To use an analogy inspired by the game itself: unlike a great, energy-filled Iron Maiden concert that keeps the fans wanting more throughout the encore, this game seems to have lost its energy, and thus the audience, halfway through the show.
That being said, the game IS worth experiencing, if not for the music and metal themes alone, the comedic acting of Jack Black is worthy of the subject matter and the game DOES have it's moments, this is definately a RENTAL title.
I wish I could have given Brutal Legend more praise, believe me, I really wanted to LOVE this game, but choosing to put so much focus on the lackluster RTS portions of the game was a huge mistake and let down.
However, in closing, I'd just like to say....
METAL RULEZ!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

9.0? Yeah right.

posted by jsilves (LOWELL, MA) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

The first 15 minutes of this game, including the main menu, had me laughing to myself and appreciating the cartoony, yet over-the-top graphics and presentation. I was pretty convinced this would be a game I would be able to enjoy and finish.

Now maybe I'm spoiled for just having finished Uncharted 2 and ODST, but now I'm just not so sure I want to bother playing this game. After those initial introductory missions, you get down to the core gameplay, which, sadly, is very reminiscent of a 32-bit-era adventure game, except it's far worse; instead of slashing faces with axes, the game slowly turns into a RTS (real-time strategy) game. The biggest problem with this RTS is that you control a player on the field (Eddy) and if Eddy dies it's over. You end up wasting units on personal protection and running from battles to save your own skin, leaving your units to do whatever they please and usually die while you hide behind a rock somewhere. This makes battles incredibly frustrating, boring, and needlessly long.

And between battles, they expect you to drive around looking for collectibles of various sorts and side missions.

The humor, even including clever one-liners, pretty much dries up and becomes non-existant after those first 15 minutes. Soon you'll be wondering what is going on while killing spiders and other "metal" things in a way entirely contradictory to the main character's love for all things metal with little-to-no-dialog and a lot of filler story that doesn't make much sense.

Then there's the multiplayer, which is just the RTS game in versus mode, but worse, since the stages (starting points) are always in the same locations.

I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone over 17, which is ironic in that the game's rating is M. It's apparent that either they're making and marketing this M-rated game towards kids, or they think adults have nothing better to do other then run around a game world looking for collectibles of no real importance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not what i had hoped for

posted by brutalgame (WARREN, OH) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

i tried the demo out on xbox live i thought it was pretty cool but when i rented the game i was in for a dissapointment. at first it seems pretty fun good story ang good for some laughs. but the you have to do battle. thats when the game play starts to suck.
it doesnt even feel right . they should have just kept it a hack and slash game and left out the (RTS) i must tell you i do not like real time stratagey (rts) games or rps games at all.
it did not show any of those features or game play in the demo version. if it had i would not have even rented it. kind of think they left that out of the demo on porpouse. the (rts )just seems to slow the flow of them game/bum you out. it just dosent feel right in this game.
forgive me when i say it makes the game feel stupid.

but if you can get by those problems it does have a funny story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay game, way overhyped

posted by Dooper (GALENA, IL) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Other reviews state that 'If you love metal, you need to get this game'. I'm no metal head, but I appreciate the soundtrack -- It's excellent. It's too bad the game play itself is not up to par with the music. The game play is fun, but it gets seriously repetative. The powers you receive initially make the action feel dynamic, but soon enough you'll be mashing the same buttons endlessly.

The much over-hyped multiplayer is a relatively poorly done RTS implementation with balancing issues being the primary problem. The real problem becomes that this does not occur in just multiplayer, but also during the single player story missions. They're ruthlessly boring, forced, and difficult due to the poor RTS implementation, and there's LOTS of it.

So, if you love metal, buy the soundtrack, or rent the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

...Not that great

posted by SpasmFists (GLENDALE, AZ) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 21 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

Im half-way through the game, and im disappointed. I was excited for the game, and it let me down. Now i know the fans of the game are going to mark down my review, whatever do it, the game isnt like people say it is.
It is a really funny game, I caught myself laughing out loud sometimes, but that doesnt make a great game. Fighting is really annoying, locking-on is frusterating...you have to stand perfectly still to do it. And when you have to fight armies you switch to RTS mode which is unfunctional. Not a functional RTS gameplay at all. And as you free roam through the open land you constantly listen to Heavy Metal which gets annoying. If you want to unclock bonus content, be ready to search every square inch of the land.
Multiplayer is doing the broken RTS matches against people...not that great.
So the game was a let down...I advise you not to rent it, unless if your obsessed with Metal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Brutal is right

posted by Sparhelm (EATON RAPIDS, MI) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The only thing brutal about this game is the gameplay. This is by far one of the worst games I have ever played, pc or console. Pure junk and nonsense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Brutal Legend...ehh brutal? yes, legend? noooo

posted by RighteousK (STRATFORD, CT) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I gotta start off with saying that the game was ok, but I am disappointed with the way it turned out. First off, I have to give it some points because some of the dialogue is just hysterical and Jack Black never fails to entertain. Unfortunately, I believe if it wasn't for Jack Black and the humor they put behind this game, it would just be a poorly designed RTS/Metal Button Smasher.

A positive point would be that the music is awesome (If you're into metal). If you cant stand the music, you can turn it down, but it just wont be the same experience. I also think the whole concept of performing solos as attacks is awesome, even though they tend to be executed rather slowly and you often take damage while performing them.

Now for the main battles, they are stage battles which ar SUPPOSED to play as a real time strategy, but unfortunately the developers failed miserably at doing so. Take my advice, if you play like a RTS, you will lose. Just created guys when you have enough fans and go down there and button mash until you win.

Gameplay wise, it's short, very short. I played it on Brutal(hardest difficulty) and beat it within 6-9 hrs. This included doing a few side missions which are optional and only go towards percentage complete and achievements. When you do beat the story you can do side missions, but let me tell you, they are extremely boring and repetitive and it takes a long time to drive around the map.

If you are a gamer who is just looking to get achievements under your belt, this is not the game for you. You can probably pick up a pretty easy 350 or so, but dedicate boring time to getting the rest, it is simply just not that fun.

Overall, you're gonna have a great time for the first 2 hrs and then you'll soon realize that it really just is not that fun. Again, thank you Jack Black for helping me actually make it through this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I feel lied to

posted by Tiddles (GOLDEN, CO) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I feel lied to because I rented this game solely based on the reviews here. What I got was a game that bored me to death until I turned it off. There is so many cut-scenes it's like watching a movie where every now and then you get to hit a few buttons. When I did actually get to play I either didn't understand what I was supposed to be doing or it was like playing Rock Band. I hated the fact I couldn't jump. The controls are mind numbing annoying. The three hours I spent playing this were definitely not enjoyable so I rushed to my post office to get this back. Unless you absolutely love Jack Black or Rock Band type of games stay far away from this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cool game ruined by horrible controls

posted by James95023 (HOLLISTER, CA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2003

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Liked the opening, and the Jack Black does an excellent job of adding his personal touch to the game, but the controls are just horrible, especially in the car scenes, instantly turned me off, and made me so mad, that I put it back in the envelope to mail back, glad I rented, probably the worst control scheme I have ever seen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but not Great

posted by PewPewPew (LEWISTON, NY) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

PROS
-Short story that ends before it gives you a chance to get bored
-Very interesting story with famous cameos done in a comedical fashion
-An interesting combination of action, RTS, and racing
-Has multiplayer
-Single player upgrades keep the game interesting

CONS
-Side quests are seemingly pointless
-Nobody plays multiplayer anymore :(
-Inability to jump
-achievements are structured very weirdly

Verdict: Rent it. Brutal legend is a good game. It keeps your attention with a funny and interesting storyline. The multiplayer, however, is not active, so there is no point in keeping it after you have beat the single player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

brutal ledgend

posted by Dankest (SAINT PAUL, MN) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

jack black is awesome. but nothing about this game is metal. posers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

An almost good game is still a bad game...

posted by VonGlumm (NEW CASTLE, PA) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Where to begin? My wife and myself were greatly looking forward to this game for some time, played the demo on XBL and it seemed at face value a solid entry destined for my collection. Received it, popped it in and was really enjoying it until the first boss/stage battle....RTS really?!? I mean I like RTS games and I like Action/Adventures games.....but someone got something brown in my peanut butter and upon closer inspection it is not chocolate. The controls were clunky and the whole affair, while novel, seemed out of place. But hey, I could get past that, the metal could overcome a single flaw right! Then I stumbled into the ever dreadful first escort mission, really Tim Schaffer! Really! I've played a lot of games Tim was involved in and really respect his creativity and knack for game design, until now. Not only do you get the oh so original escort missions thrown in the game, but they throw you into the seat of a hot rod that handles like a pine wood derby racer. Was this game play tested at all? This coupled with the now all too common mistake of adding two million collectibles(it like totally expands the game play for hours of fun right?) unfortunately overshadowed the enjoyment of an amusing story, excellent voice acting, and what could have been another great addition to schaffer's resume. I also really question if latter parts of the game could be found on any metal album cover. Emo band covers or a Tim Burton film maybe, but it isn't metal.

I understand that games these days need to have an online element, and online multiplayer greatly adds to replayability and in the the end overall sales, but to shoe horn this RTS system into the game just so you could justify it as an online component is a disservice to us all. Boo you Mister Schaffer....Boo!

Oh yeah, just two Tenacious D songs in the game....This game isn't as metal as the hype machine would have you believe...I would categorize it as more of an alloy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not so great

posted by PsychWrite (BATON ROUGE, LA) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i really didnt like this game because the story is horrible, the RTS levels are fun at first but are mostly boring and repeating.
The online is no better, if anything its worse.
I do believe that you should not get this game even for rent, i wasted my time on it and i would even say that this is one of the worst games ive ever played.
The problem with Online is that it is the same as most of the Single player and there is only one type of game, Skirmish, and only six maps.
With some Dlc it might be better but until then it is not worth getting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I really wanted to like it but couldn’t.

posted by 2shoes (RIVERHEAD, NY) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like it but couldn’t. I loved the music and the graphics, but honestly the story and the controls just were so bad it made it no fun to play. I just kept playing in order to see the characters that were ozzy, lita ford, and lemmy. It was a great concept but perhaps if the game play was a lot better it would have be enjoyable to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOMELY AMAZING

posted by guitarman3 (SALEM, OR) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is AWESOME!!!From ozzy osbourne as-(lets keep that on a secret)to Lars the leader,this game is to die over i give it a 10 out of 10.I seriously recommend it to any new videogame fans who love heavy metal.DECAPITATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Brutal Legend = Epic Fail

posted by TwystedS7R (SANFORD, FL) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Less of a review, more of a personal dissapointment.

My wife and both fell in love with Tim Schafer and Double Fine through Psychonauts, so we were both sufficiently hyped about this game.

After coming back from 4 days of visiting her family I was looking forward to checking the mail and playing some Brutal Legend. The first free night before heading back to work I finally get to play and for several hours I am having a blast. Finished the first RTS battle(not to thrilled about that but still loving the game) and decided to call it a night.

The next morning, I go back to work and my wife, happily having some time to herself before her work shift decides to play this game she was so looking forward to.

I come home tonight and pop the disc back into the drive and what do I discover? My saved game is gone, completely, no way to recover it unless I load a chapter and erase my wife's progress. Every dragon I freed? Gone. Every upgrade I purchased? Gone.

One save game slot? Why? What year is this? Do I own a video game console or a calculator?

Countless households use ONE GAMER PROFILE and ours is one of them. There is no excuse for this game design choice, none. I am extremely dissapointed.

I was originally going to pre-order/purchase this game to support the developers but after pre-ordering to many games last month and having a out of state trip to pay for I decided to rent it first. Good thing I did.

I actually wish I could somehow unplay Psychonauts, so my disgust with Tim and Double Fine can be complete.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

barely Ok for the dialogue and the game is weak!!!

posted by Brikz3488 (ROCKVILLE, MD) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I don't even have any other games here, and i still returned it...

Maybe it gets better but i drove around for a while, ehh...finished one of the first missions, building my army...(ret.-arded) (can you believe they wouldn't let me write re..-tar-ded the right way) and found ozzy in the deuce garage, (mildly funny)....and turned off the music whenever i could.

I don't like heavy metal so maybe this was the wrong game for me, but the other reviewers made it seem like the rest of the game would make up for this. Nope, gameplay was silly and slow, and the dialogue ((which i heard was better than an Vince Vaughn Wild West Stand up special) was slightly worth a chuckle...so maybe just not my cup of tea here, but i thought it was a waste....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awesome Rock Ruined!

posted by Joshwah (POCA, WV) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Fantasic Music first off! Love how it kept all the awesome rock and roll music, and not that emo punk band, whinning bull!

Story Line was Ok, but Not really all the explainable about the new world he traveled too. There are alot of Daddy Issues and He said she said Bullsh in it.

The chicks are really sexy in it, and the game just takes forever from getting from one place to the other. The controlls are terrible and driving skills are Bad!

No Life Bar or score board, No info whatso ever on the backdrop of the screen, just the looks of the world and you, They should have put more work into this game then just pushing it!

PS: Jack Black just makes Eddy on the game, look and sound like a rocker wannabe, pansy, fat boy! Love how Ozzy is in the game as the dark underworld leader, but they should have got someone else to do the part for eddy and not that stupid Jack Black, I thought I was playing King Kong!

3/10 is my rating. just because the girls are hot and ozzy is in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Brutal Legend is BRUTAL

posted by lrf1964 (LONDONDERRY, NH) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

The game puts you through tasks just for the sake of putting you through a task. Just let me aim and shoot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse