Rent Brutal Legend for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Brutal Legend

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

11887 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth it

posted by Wolftaoist (SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I must admit I liked this game before I bought it.
Before I played the demo even, and in a rare stroke of luck it doesn't disappoint.

Everything in this game is functional at worst, which is far more than you can say about most other games. Some people may say the game is too short however, I got 11 hours out of my first play through and although I spent a lot of time doing side quests and exploration that’s one of the great rewards of a game like this. If you play nothing but the campaign start to finish you my only get 5 hours of game here. However you won’t see half the land your saving.

Story- excellent
Combat -functional
RTS - ... its a bit wierd to say this but the RTS elements in this game are probably the first to ever really work on a console. so... excellent
Replay -high
Soundtrack -awsome, however i think buying it might cost you as much as the game. Also why no Deathklok?

Overall -Excellent

Is it perfect, no, but I have no complaints.
Now i have 11 more dragons to find.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Brutal Legend

posted by Ramhound (WARNER ROBINS, GA) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This game was decent, it reminds of Prototype in that the story is very linear and the extra missions at least on the easier levels are really a waste of time.

I did not finish this particular game, for many reasons, one being I figured I can also request it again. I have not been a member for 2008 years....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not quite a legend.

posted by ScubaScuba (OAKLAND, NJ) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Brutal Legend was a game that I was greatly looking forward to and needless to say upon receiving the game in the mail, I was more than excited to start the game. Anyways, here's my breakdown.

Design:
The world of metal is a truly interesting and engaging place. While the graphics are no Gears of War, they are still stylish and inviting. Many of the places around the map are cleverly designed to incorporate metal related characteristics and are fun and creative. You may not, unfortunately, witness a lot of the world as you will most likely be constantly roaming around in your "Deuce" car. The title screen is downright awesome, and the menus and HUD deliver at pretty much what would you expect. Think guitar hero, but a lot more badass. My only real complaint is the guide marker. It doesn't really dictate the actual path to your destination but more points in a general direction, meaning you'll be checking your map pretty often.

Gameplay:
The gameplay is a rather mixed bag. The missions seem to stay rather fresh and interesting, pitting you to do various tasks throughout the "free roam" world of metal. Now, I say "free roam" because although you are free to go wherever, whenever, there really is no point. The game keeps you on a rather linear course, as do the secondary missions, leaving little to do except searching for collectibles. Secondary missions, however, get very repetitive and rather boring albeit an original few. The story is nothing to rave about, but it certainly kept me captivated.

Longetivity:
Realistically, Brutal Legend is less game than one would think for a "free roam" game. The missions are over sooner than one would like, and the secondary missions are all like short minigames, though number many. There are an absurd number of collectibles scattered throughout the game, that I did not feel the need to find 100% of. Multiplayer is well executed and very intelligently done, but be prepared for lag. I seldom found a match without it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid, but not perfect.

posted by Spartan50 (NORTH PROVIDENCE, RI) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

Brutal Legend is full of awesome character and great dialog. The story is good and the melee combat along with the HEAVY METAL soundtrack is really enjoyable. The 1 thing that was a major let down was the RTS(Real Time Strategy) element of the game, boy was it frustrating for me and really boring. Brutal Legend is a must rent for those looking for something fresh and different!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just Freakin Awesome

posted by kbddeem (WICHITA, KS) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This Game Literally rocks the single player is so much fun and the music really completes the games awesomeness. Too bad there wasn’t any coop mode It would be Rockin if you could have up to four buddies to jam out an Rock Brutal legend together. But the Multiplayer RTS is a lot of fun Thank You Double Fine

PS Hope there is more to come

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Savor the Story: DO THE SIDE MISSIONS

posted by Attakk (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

First off, like most everyone else, I must say this is a great game. It looks amazing, sounds amazing, the RTS element threw me off but ended up being pretty fun, great story, epic soundtrack, and so on and so forth.

It took me 2 days of casually playing to get through the story and that's where I made my mistake. Now I'm at 16/50 achievements with nothing but side missions, finding all of the hidden items, and buying all of the items left to do.

The side missions consist of "killing x ammount of a specific animal", "attacking enemy troops in a specific way (battle, stationary turret, calling mortar strikes)", and "race some dude". They can be amusing in their own way, but after doing about 5 of each, it becomes more of a chore than anything. The races were the only thing that I didn't find too boring, but they're not too exciting, especially once you've fully upgraded your car.

Definitely rent this, but take a word of advice. Between the main missions, throw in about 4 or 5 side missions. No matter how tempting it may be, don't blow through the story because you'll be done before you know it and left with hours of nothing to really look forward to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

funny, didn't no it was a RTS until....

posted by desturb3d (BOCA RATON, FL) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

this game is funny as jack black in school of rock, and a worthful...RENT, if u love button-mashing games, comedic-voiceovers throughout, and awesome songs!

the only flaws about it was the RTS mix, the Death Mount and a few side missions were the biggest wastes of development space on a clearly good video game. jack black is hilarious in this game, the depiction of heavy metal is gorgeous, along with the legends of ormagoden are sick! definitely worth a rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT!

posted by tomsawyer (WAVERLY, OH) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I JUST BOUGHT THIS GAME OUT OF CHANCE AND WAS NOT DISSAPOINTED.IM VERY PICKY WHEN IT COMES TO GAMES BUT THIS ONE BLEW MY MIND. HAS EVERYTHING YOU WANT IF YOU LIKE METAL.COOL WORLDS,AWESOME SONGS.DEFINETLY WORTH THE HYPE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brutal Legend

posted by RDOG15 (LUCERNE VALLEY, CA) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This is a awsome game, it is hard to compare it to other games, for it is own game. A awsome soundtrack, fun missions, and amasing story telling. The game is short, but you can still explore even after you beat the game, and the levels are truly inventive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!

posted by Bluevoodoo (TEMECULA, CA) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

If you love Heavy Metal, this game is for you. The gameplay is great, graphics great, Jack Black is great! This is a homerun! It is like Grand Theft Auto in a Heavy Metal World taken over by bad guys and you are THE Hero!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good Rent

posted by tprada19 (MILTON, MA) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This game is very good if you like metal. It has my personal favorite soundtrack out of any game. It has a really simple customization system that is a nice touch, and the multiplayer is a pretty unique experience. It's an overall great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by fredropro (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

Finally a game for us older metal heads!!!! Great game play and great humor!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow! Just... Wow!

posted by KHMDark (COVINGTON, GA) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I have to admit, I was expecting this game to be a button masher or have you press the same button over and over against an army of the same enemy over and over.

This is not the case!

Brutal Legend is a great game. The story line is actually very good (with twists I did not see coming, which is rare!), and makes you want to continue to see what happens next. And, the best part is, there are some pretty funny scenes in the game, and the voice actors did an amazing job.

Speaking of voice actors... there are quite a few Heavy Metal singers that voice as characters in this game (my personal favorite, Ozzy Osbourne himself as the Guardian of Metal. A fitting role and he does a great job as him). Including them, there are a total of 108 licensed songs from many bands. Kiss, DragonForce, and even some of Ozzy's songs are in here. The developers even made sure that the song playing would reflect the mood of the events happening in the game.

The gameplay is awesome. You can swing your customizable ax, and shock with your gutair for combos. You can even fly when you're in a battle zone.

And of these zones... there are times in the game where you need to make an army to defeat another army. This is what makes the game better! You need to use your head a bit as you choose from a list of troops. Sadly, there is a maximum of 40, which isn't a lot. But driving around in your car, running over a dozen enemy troops, is always fun!

Now, this game was actually first created as only a multiplayer game, where you can play one of three armies. The rules are the same.

Only bad things about this game is that there's only one save spot, and, even though you can choose chapters in the game, your data is erased, so no New Game +, which is annoying. One more thing, the game can be beat in one sitting... but it's still a good game!

I can't say much more without spoiling some important parts! I would say BUY this game! If not, then at least RENT it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game, Action Adventure/RTS Hybrid

posted by IndIka123 (HILLSBORO, OR) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I enjoyed this game, I really like how the devs branched out from the norm and morphed two genres together. I will always support game makers who want to try something different, because all too often they take the safe route and crank out a proven model that is a bit repetitive.

Graphics 8/10
dialogue 9/10
mechanics 8/10
story 8/10

This game wasnt really addictive like other games I've played, and at a few moments in the game I had to force myself to play through a certain spot, but generally the game was entertaining. I like the metal selection, about 100 songs or so, fit really well into the game world.

Give this game a rent, totally worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was ok

posted by studwookie (WENATCHEE, WA) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

I gave this game a 7 because it was very repetative but the cartoon graphics were pretty good and the idea of the game was good.
I would say a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great, but....

posted by Mikewarren (KAYSVILLE, UT) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

High expectations often make for disappointment. I felt the same sort of excitement for this game as I did for Fable II's coop until I played it. Brutal Legend needs to be played on Brutal difficulty or else it will be just too short for your taste. Try to find everything and enjoy the beautiful landscape and all its hidden goodies. But like listening to too much heavy metal, you'll start feeling angry and lonely. Then you'll try the multiplayer. Why can't we select individual units more simply than trying to highlight them with the Y button? Battles tend to be frustrating but enjoyable once completed. I would love for more games to include this awesome strategy element but hope that they will learn how to incorporate it into the gameplay as a whole rather than just as a mission that needs to be accomplished.

This will take you less than a week (14 hours) to brutalize.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Advance and Vanquish

posted by ganesheik (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Create an army of heavy metal warriors? In a world filled with heavy metal landscapes and monuments? What more do you need?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brutal Legend = EPIC

posted by BummerDude (SAYREVILLE, NJ) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

AWESOME GAME...

The Good:

1) One of the greatest soundtracks of all time it has everything from Three Inches of Blood to Motley Crew.
2) Not just a hack 'n' slash game its some-what of a RTS at the same time
3) Boss Battles are EPIC!
4) Storyline has plenty of twists that will keep you from getting bored.

The Bad:

1) Its somewhat short.
2) You can only listen to music while in or near your car

Overall: Worth renting wouldn't recommend buying it play it twice maybe three times but i wouldn't pay full price

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by Renegadex (NEPTUNE, NJ) Oct 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

I didn't expect much from this game but overall a wonderful Rent. I found the hardest mode ( Brutal ) to be a little on the Normal side. Other then that the game is amazing. The story line and overall game play is perfect. Not the mention the music makes the game much more fun to play.

I would highly recommend everyone to rent this game. However as of today 10/18/09 i doubt that the availability will change anytime soon because it's a great game with many hours of game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

brutal legend

posted by littletick (PARAGOULD, AR) Oct 18, 2009

Member since May 2007

i love this game the gamerock's my gamer tag is littletick335 add me all
we will play and have fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game!

posted by Laxatives (WADING RIVER, NY) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

When i first heard of this game and saw screenshots, i thought it was going to be stupid. When i seen actual gameplay, i thought it was going to be pretty good. When I took the time to play it, I was amazed! The story behind the game is extremely comical, but at the same time can be taken very seriously and it makes the cutscenes real fun to watch. Jack Black's wise-ness makes the commentary really funny. The guests that appear in the game are great, and the way that they make fun of Hair Bands & Goth bands are hilarious. Even if you are not a fan of rock music, this game will still appeal to you. My only complaints are that the side missions could be funner, and the game could be longer. The soundtrack just might be one of the best Game soundtracks in history. If they made a guitar hero with all the songs in this soundtrack, it would blow away every other guitar hero game. They have many forms of rock & metal so you can listen to bands like Def Leppard, to bands like Mastodon or In Flames. Great game, you'll most likely play it again after you beat it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brutal

posted by ANDREW (CLEVELAND, OH) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

this is one of thoes games you just cant stop playing until you beat it. i found my self emersed in a world i can only describe as godly i love this game the multilplayer is great. there is only a few glitches. there are so many plot twists i was in shock this game is just fun its exactly what any one who wants to have fun needs to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BRUTALLY EPIC!!

posted by itsucked (PATTISON, TX) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

its a great game! i saw someone saying that it is annoying with all the metal music when you are cruising around in the duece but if you had payed attention u can turn it off by hitting down on the dpad. so if u dont like metal dont worry because u dont have to listen to it constantly even though it makes the game have alot more excitement. but besides that i love this game it has near perfect voice acting, great graphics, awesome moves u can do with ur axe combos and cool super moves like melting peoples faces off and calling down a burning zeplin from the skies to obliterate your enemies. the rts mode is very good imo for not being a through and through rts. some things can be frustrating with it but it does not affect the awesomeness of the game. the storyline is very amazing and the fact that someone thought all of it up and played it the way they did is also very satisfying. also the monsters and enemies you fight throughout the story are very cool u can ride most of them and do cool moves with them. but all in all its a awesome game it was everything i thought it would be and more. a definite rent if not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Double Fine does it again!

posted by VeritasX (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

Brutal Legend sets a new precedent in what is possible in a 3rd person adventure game. It skillfully combines auto combat with melee fights and full blown battles which require the player to command his army almost like and RTS.
Double Fine has a legacy of excellence, such as their impeccable Psychonauts (worth playing if you haven’t). They even put in an ingame gore and profanity censor so as to help transition Psychonauts fans.
The game play is a lot of fun, but what truly shines in this title is both the humorous storyline and the tremendous voice acting by high caliber names like Jack Black, Ozzy Osborne, and many other giants of metal. It is definitely worth playing if not buying.
The one downside I experienced is that the squad controls can feel a little too loose sometimes, but it is most definately worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brutaly Awesome

posted by jayroboy12 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Brutal Legend is actually a very interesting game. I thought it would be good but not this good. You play as a roadie named Eddie Riggs, voiceacting by Jack Black, and he is the best there is. He can fix anything, build anything, and tune any guitar. He knows everything about Heavy Metal. One night during a show, he accidently gets blood in the mouth of his belt and suddenly he is transported to a world of Heavy Metal. The world is in chaos and while there Eddie weilds an axe and also finds that his guitar can shock things and blow things up. It is up to Eddie to help the resistence of this world and bring peace to it.
Eddie can use his guitar to shock his enemies and blow them up. He can also slice them up with his axe and even use combo moves with his guitar. There some side missions that you can do so you may get points and you can spend these points to upgrade Eddie's weapons and his car. This game is also a strategy game because sometimes you will have stage battles where you summon more allies to help you fight the enemy's stage.
There are special appearances from famous rockstars in the game such as Rob Halford, Lita Ford, Lemmy Killmister, and Ozzy Osbourne. They will help you throughout the game. One more thing, you can pretty much use any character, even animals, while fighting to help you win.
Give this game a try. It is really entertaining and I am already considering buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse