Rent Brutal Legend for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Brutal Legend

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

11879 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A VERY RACIST GAME

posted by ninjaman9143 (MARRERO, LA) Sep 24, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

THIS GAME IS VERY RACIST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont get it

posted by bobbyb (SAVANNAH, MO) Aug 28, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

DONT get this game, its not worth the time, its fun for about 1 hour and then it wears off, you will beat the game in five hours, and it isnt that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i was really excited to play it.

posted by bogartj (SENECA, MO) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

but i was disillusioned, it was absolutely miserable really. the fact that people like jack black, ozzy and lemmy lent their likenesses to this game is pretty sad, because it was bad from start to finish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Illusion42 (ARVADA, CO) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game SUCKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I didn't get it.

posted by lateshab (OAKVILLE, CT) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I didn't like this game at all. I couldn't understand exactly what to do or how to obtain weapons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

fail

posted by ObiRon42 (BEVERLY, MA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2004

After the third consecutive attempt to update Xbox live, this went right back into the envelope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

brutal legend

posted by 360pwnsPS3 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I got the game today and already beat it. It has a HORRIBLE story line and even worse gameplay, i played threw the whole game just to see if the game would end as bad as it was in the start. The best part of the game is the battle just before u defeat the final boss. If you have played this game i am sorry for how many braincells u lost paying attention to how pathetic the game really is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Brutal is right

posted by Sparhelm (EATON RAPIDS, MI) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The only thing brutal about this game is the gameplay. This is by far one of the worst games I have ever played, pc or console. Pure junk and nonsense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It's alright

posted by S1ay3R (AURORA, IL) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Well no doubt that the music on the game is phenominal but the point behind the story is lost after the third mission. Just play the game all the way thru and return it as fast as possible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just a quickie...

posted by Technojunk (EUGENE, OR) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game has a great intro, and the first hour of play is really great.
The story line and music are also great. Game play... Its like a 5 year old wrote the game. Its RTS mode is really basic and lame.
The only reason i would still say "Check it out" is cause its videos and humor is great. But i would say skip it, its gameplay will put you to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

GAME SUCKED!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

THE GAME SUCKED ALOT AND I REALLY HATED THE GAME SO THAT IS WHY I AM SENDING THE GAME BACK SO PLEASE SEND ME A AWESOME GAME SO I EITHER COULD THINK OF KEEPING IT OR JUST SENDIT BACK TO YOU GUYS IF I DON'T LIKE IT ALRIGHT WELL TALK TO YOU LATER GAMEFLY STAFF!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I Love Metal, But This Game Blows

posted by tfwcu09 (CONCORD, NC) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2007

I'm a huge metal fan, its practically all I listen to, and this game looked promising at first, but boy was I disappointed. Lets get the good out of the way, the levels, characters, and artwork are all very creative, and they look they were taken straight from metal characters. Some of the metal homages are cool, a lot of real metal stars are featured in this game in some way or another. Now the bad, this game started out decently, as a Devil May Cry style action game. This part was decent, and over time it started teaching you how to control different groups and units. These mechanics aren't terrible, but who in God's name thought this game should go from DMC style action to a strategy game? The full-blown strategy portions are pretty bad, the controls aren't that great and trying to control different units is a pain. Half the time I couldn't get my units to follow my orders, which is infuriating when the enemy is ripping your bases to pieces. The DMC style parts are decent, but the strategy sections are terrible and should have limited to just a little bit of unit management, not a full-blown strategy game as it so poorly done. Overall, the only reason metalheads should so much give this game the time of day is because of the world, characters, and homages to metal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I feel lied to

posted by Tiddles (GOLDEN, CO) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I feel lied to because I rented this game solely based on the reviews here. What I got was a game that bored me to death until I turned it off. There is so many cut-scenes it's like watching a movie where every now and then you get to hit a few buttons. When I did actually get to play I either didn't understand what I was supposed to be doing or it was like playing Rock Band. I hated the fact I couldn't jump. The controls are mind numbing annoying. The three hours I spent playing this were definitely not enjoyable so I rushed to my post office to get this back. Unless you absolutely love Jack Black or Rock Band type of games stay far away from this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Brutal Legend is BRUTAL

posted by lrf1964 (LONDONDERRY, NH) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

The game puts you through tasks just for the sake of putting you through a task. Just let me aim and shoot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

rock on

posted by HolyOwl (DULUTH, MN) Dec 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

this game was okay but their is one thing wrong with it when you beat the story line you lose all urge to play it. but overal the game had great story and characters plus great music. XD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Brutal Legend: Great writing, weak gameplay

posted by Lazarus22 (Point Pleasant, PA) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I wanted so badly to like and enjoy this game, but at every turn the glitches and weak controls hindered that enjoyment, to the point that by the final battle, I didn't care anymore about achievements or completion, I just wanted to be DONE and get rid of it. I was never able to finish the final battle because EVERY time I was almost done, it would lock up and I would have to start all over again.

The story was decent, good characters and some funny lines from Jack Black, but overall you would be better off watching highlights of the cutscenes on youtube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cool game ruined by horrible controls

posted by James95023 (HOLLISTER, CA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2003

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Liked the opening, and the Jack Black does an excellent job of adding his personal touch to the game, but the controls are just horrible, especially in the car scenes, instantly turned me off, and made me so mad, that I put it back in the envelope to mail back, glad I rented, probably the worst control scheme I have ever seen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good Start Terrible Middle Worse End

posted by Aemonking (ANAHEIM, CA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I have to say the first half of this game is pretty awesome. Cleaving enemies, hearing great old school heavy Metal. Then it turns into a pretyt poorly designed RTS and what you do in combat is pretty lame. 95% of the game after the 50% mark is RTS and it lost it's fun. I beat it, at about 90% completion and it was a real dental job at the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not so great

posted by PsychWrite (BATON ROUGE, LA) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i really didnt like this game because the story is horrible, the RTS levels are fun at first but are mostly boring and repeating.
The online is no better, if anything its worse.
I do believe that you should not get this game even for rent, i wasted my time on it and i would even say that this is one of the worst games ive ever played.
The problem with Online is that it is the same as most of the Single player and there is only one type of game, Skirmish, and only six maps.
With some Dlc it might be better but until then it is not worth getting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I really wanted to like it but couldn’t.

posted by 2shoes (RIVERHEAD, NY) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like it but couldn’t. I loved the music and the graphics, but honestly the story and the controls just were so bad it made it no fun to play. I just kept playing in order to see the characters that were ozzy, lita ford, and lemmy. It was a great concept but perhaps if the game play was a lot better it would have be enjoyable to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awesome Rock Ruined!

posted by Joshwah (POCA, WV) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Fantasic Music first off! Love how it kept all the awesome rock and roll music, and not that emo punk band, whinning bull!

Story Line was Ok, but Not really all the explainable about the new world he traveled too. There are alot of Daddy Issues and He said she said Bullsh in it.

The chicks are really sexy in it, and the game just takes forever from getting from one place to the other. The controlls are terrible and driving skills are Bad!

No Life Bar or score board, No info whatso ever on the backdrop of the screen, just the looks of the world and you, They should have put more work into this game then just pushing it!

PS: Jack Black just makes Eddy on the game, look and sound like a rocker wannabe, pansy, fat boy! Love how Ozzy is in the game as the dark underworld leader, but they should have got someone else to do the part for eddy and not that stupid Jack Black, I thought I was playing King Kong!

3/10 is my rating. just because the girls are hot and ozzy is in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

barely Ok for the dialogue and the game is weak!!!

posted by Brikz3488 (ROCKVILLE, MD) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I don't even have any other games here, and i still returned it...

Maybe it gets better but i drove around for a while, ehh...finished one of the first missions, building my army...(ret.-arded) (can you believe they wouldn't let me write re..-tar-ded the right way) and found ozzy in the deuce garage, (mildly funny)....and turned off the music whenever i could.

I don't like heavy metal so maybe this was the wrong game for me, but the other reviewers made it seem like the rest of the game would make up for this. Nope, gameplay was silly and slow, and the dialogue ((which i heard was better than an Vince Vaughn Wild West Stand up special) was slightly worth a chuckle...so maybe just not my cup of tea here, but i thought it was a waste....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Burtal No Legend

posted by TheKidKee (BAYONNE, NJ) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

= i brought the game it was okay at first then to me it got very deep into rock and roll from my point a view im not that into rock i like bands like kiss Green Day and Blink 182 {Travis Barker} But if you really like rock and roll this is for you .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Oh, Wasted Potential

posted by Chuxmix (SAN GABRIEL, CA) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Metal. Sabbath, Ozzy, Judas Priest, Motorhead, et al. This game has 'em all, and a lot of them. That's the best part of it.

Other than that, the game fell short in SO many ways. I'm personally burnt out on all the hack 'n slash titles myself, so perhaps I'm a bit jaded, but with such limited attacks, it becomes an exercise in repetition.

Don't even get me started on the so-called RTS element of this title. If you're expecting a full-on Starcraft or Command and Conquer-esque romp into battlefield tactics, this will just make you irritable. The RTS element feels completely forced, like some dude at a party who does nothing but kill the buzz.

The one element that may be slightly redeeming are the special songs you learn to perform various attacks or buffs in the vein of a mini-Guitar Hero game (like 5-10 button presses, depending on the song). My favorite one has to be the zeppelin, which I won't describe, but honestly, that one alone made the entire game worth renting for me personally.

I expected so much more from this game, and while the soundtrack and voice acting is fantastic, it still isn't enough to save it. Worth renting, but I'd never buy this, even at budget prices.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Needs work on controller response time

posted by ckoehler45 (LA MARQUE, TX) Apr 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

Might have been fun, but the lag time from the time you hit the buttons to to time it actually responds is horrible. The vehicle controller response is even worse. They should have worked on this a little longer before releasing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse