Rent Brutal Legend for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Brutal Legend

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

11887 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

unique and worth it!

posted by aleksi (HIDDEN VALLEY LAKE, CA) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

when i first saw the cover of this game, i thought it was ugly. so i assumed that the game must be stupid. big mistake! not only is brutal legend pure fun, but it's also a beautiful, unique and very involved game as well! glad i gave it chance too, because now i own it! so, if u r in that kind of mood, give this game a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Brutal Victory of a Game

posted by ShadowHunter74 (BEND, OR) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

It's a bit on the short side, but it can be forgiven by its awesome story, gameplay, music, EVERYTHING! This game is definitely one of my all-time favorites.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RAD !!!

posted by zerohour850 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

AN AWESOME,RAD AND FUN GAME!!!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!

posted by Emweekins8807 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I absolutely love the storyline and gameplay,this game is seriously fun! I'd change the sensitivity on driving though it's rather difficult :/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Rock/METAL game since Guitar Hero

posted by iSpartan926 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Its like Guitar Hero/Grand Theft Auto/All the greatest Metal songs had a baby .... period .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Almost Too Much "Awesome!!!"

posted by Kriminator (CROSBY, ND) May 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

So much awesomeness in this game, that my brain went into awesome overload. Had to put the controler down after awhile.

If your around 35-40 ish and grew up listening to the likes of Ozzy. This is worth your time.

Note: unlock a bunch of stuff before you start the first Tour of destruction, get all leveled up with unlockables in the northern part of the map, then you should be fine in real battles. Do it Not! and perrish in the wake cryptic characters that look like "Beatle Juice"3... Dont actually say beatle juice 3 time tho... LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brutally AWESOME!

posted by happythug (VANCOUVER, WA) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I would just like to say, that I can’t really think of a SINGLE THING that bothered me about this game and I’m a pretty hypercritical guy. So here is a list of its awesomness.

Graphics: Detailed, stylized, UNIQUE, varied and awe inspiring environments that I actually stopped to look at several times. Who thought a metal-themed-world could look so fascinating and beautiful.

Gameplay: Brutal Legend mixes elements from strategy, racing, action, open-world and RPGs flawlessly. Each form of gameplay is fun. Combat is always entertaining and fun to look at, and the game keeps giving you enough upgrades to keep things interesting. Avid explorers will be well-rewarded, as finding collectables is key to earning certain useful upgrades. Even fetching collectables is fun because you don't simply walk up to the floating-spinning-obtainable like in most games. Collectables are usually obtained by playing a short-song at a place or object where a tell-tale sign of goodies alerts you to the presence of something useful. Maybe it's the red-thorn flowers around an old monument, or maybe a dragon statue bound in chains. They are always easily identifiable, and not simply collected, but unleashed. Idols raise from the ground with sparks and lights. Dragon Statues scream fire and break their chains. Just driving around the countryside looking for things is fun in this game.

Story/Setting: Characters are humorous, unique and well acted. So many bazaar concepts are well imagined and brought to life by Brutal Legend. It took me totally off guard because I was really expecting some dank, dark and offensive metal-setting, and what I got was a colorful and beautiful fantasy/metal world. The story does a good job at motivating you to keep moving forward producing an adequate amount of “care” for its characters and events.

That's all the room I have for this review, but I encourage even the most skeptic of gamers to give this game a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An Underrated Super Star! Brutal Legend.

posted by empeethree (OCALA, FL) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Brutal Legend is The most underrated game of 2009. It got high regard from the major gaming mags. IGN, GI, ect. yet no one seems to be playing it. This game is a must for any fan of heavy metal, amazing animation, major epicness, and/or Jack Black.

The game is a free-roaming action game at it's core. i.e. Grand Theft Auto. It also has some strategy tower defense elements. There are primary and secondary missions. Primary missions are the main story, while the secondary missions are scattered around the world. The game play is really easy and unique. I beat it on the hardest difficulty the first play through with no trouble.

Achievement hounds will also love this game as to get most of the achievements all you have to do is finish the game with 100% completion. That is not a hard task with this title. There are a few achievements in multiplayer.

I cannot comment on multiplayer as I have not spent much time with it.

If you're looking for a hilarious adventure into the realms of heavy metal or you just want Ozzy to pimp your ride, this is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brutal Legend Reveiw

posted by metalboy13 (LEWISTON, ME) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Brutal Legend is for metal loving rock singing people who love well metal it's fun if you enjoy concerts with a very bloody and kind of badass twist to it. You play as Eddie Riggs I had alot of fun playing as him with his sarcastic humor. Drive around in a cool car and fight a bunch of metal posers in a all out war to try to save the world of metal and rock. I give this game a 9.8 because you'll have fun doing side missions and upgrading your sweet ride with guns and other paint jobs! Have fun!!!! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FREAKIN AWSOME!!! with few problems

posted by EPhillips (MELROSE, MA) Aug 22, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This is one of my all time favorite games. I'm a person who doesn't really like the cut scene the cut scenes, I find them SUPER annoying when they drag on and pressing A won't skip it, but the dialog in this game is HILARIOUS. I've never laughed so hard at a video game, not even some movies. Even the in game dialog, just the comments of the characters. speaking of witch this had one of the best voice cast of any game. Now the complaints, I know you've heard this before but the game is SOOO short, i mean you get enthralled by this awesome game and then its over and all your left with is these sucky mini games. Also, the escort mission is incredible repetitive. but, all in all it's great with an epic score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Musical greatness

posted by opsGamer (CARBONDALE, PA) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

A really Good Game combo of music and fighting game is beast not a waste of time rent it Now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brutal Entertainment

posted by Slickery (CINCINNATI, OH) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game is just an absolute blast to play. Brilliant and hilarious storyline and graphics, lots of side missions, and a great looking game world. It's fun just to hop in The Deuce and drive around, looking at stuff, engaging in little skrimishes, and trying to find landmarks, bound serpents, legends, etc. I'll admit the RTS battles were a little annoying at first, but once I got used to the way they worked I actually enjoyed the last few. I only played the single player so I can't comment on multiplayer mode. And let's not forget the music. It definitely helps if you lilke or sort of like metal - or at least some of it (give me early and big hair 80's metal any day). It just makes the game feel better and fits right in with the visuals. Seriously, this game kicks major butt. I was bummed when the storyline was over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by xVaultBoyx (TECUMSEH, MI) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was over-hyped in some minds, and to some people... there wasn't enough potential. I am gonna simplify this into one word... AWESOME! The controls were responsive and easy to learn. The concept of Heavy Metal combined with the action-adventure genre blew my mind. All of the gameplay elements came together and boiled down to one simple concept... STAGE BATTLES! You get to build a stage and create units to fight other factions (like an RTS-style game) This is one of my favorite genres and I have played these since early-childhood (birth-5 yr old) These genre will never die. The graphics are cutting-edge and beautiful. Sometimes, I feel like I am in the game due to the fact that any metal is awesome in my mind. The metal-montage of creatures and enviroments that would be on a CD cover is in here in all of it's current-gen glory. The replay value is moderate for me. I could play this a couple of times to see how the game plays out with gore on/language on, gore off/language on, and gore off/language off. This game has a freaking option IN GAME that lets you turn gore and harsh language on or off (so if there are certain individuals that come and go alot, you can do this fast and easily) It censors face melting, gibs, and even people CUT IN HALF, censors all swearing, and even covers all middle-finger scenes. This game is easily one of my favorite RTS-Adventure games of all time (yeah, it basically broke through RTS-style and created its own genre, RTS-Adventure! The (sometimes dark) humor will keep you from NOT bursting out laughing. This game is definitely a must-have for any fans of Metal/RTS-genre. It is basically a montage of some of the greatest metal by all-star bands COMBINED with awesome RTS-style gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games I have ever played

posted by sobemon (CONCORD, NH) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

If you like rock, killing demonic forces, commanding troops, and open worlds this is the game for you. There are races, hunting, great soundtrack, good story, and tons of stuff to find. A lot of the characters are real people.(Jack Black, Ozzy Osbourne, Kyle Gass, and lots more)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

about Brutal Legend

posted by johny5 (CANTON, OH) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

great game but haves way to many items to collect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game I've played in Years

posted by Corky675 (PIKEVILLE, KY) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been waiting for a game like this for a very long time, and honestly, i wasn't dissapointed.

THE GOOD:
-This game combines a racer, real time strategy, and a hack n slash game int one. And this is done beautifully.
-The soundtrack to this game is all classic metal, which ties in with the story.
-The humor and cameos are not overdone, and are done greatly.
- The story is fantastic and progresses at a the perfect pace.
-The upgrade system is excellent.

THE BAD:
- The side missions are fun, but repetitive.
-The gore is not very realistic.

This game is nearly perfect, but is not for everyone.
Personally, I would definitely recommend this game and I pray for a sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brutal Legend

posted by madagrim (CARVER, MA) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a RTS sandbox brawler game. Its very fun and the sound track is exellent. If your at all thinking about playing this game then you should.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!!!!

posted by gregwoody (ASHEVILLE, NC) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

this game was simply fun!!!!! The music was great and surprisingly the storyline made it hard to put my controller down. The live version was pretty fun as well. I've never written a game review but this was actually worth writing for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 stars

posted by jordan420 (ORANGEVALE, CA) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

the best game ever rock on brothers!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Review

posted by terlmann (TIPTON, MO) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

It's like this game was made for me. Eddie looks just like me and Ophelia represents my ideal woman. There is lots of bonus content, and the open environment really doesn't make you feel trapped. The storyline is riddled with humorous dialog. What can I say, this game is a one-hit wonder, lasts about as long as a game should last( a good player can complete it in about 8 hours), and only has one showstopper bug : never ever ever ever pause your game in the middle of a video, it will effectively end the video and return your game to the (next)player dialog or action scene that would have come after the video, when you unpause.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Have For Any Fan of Metal

posted by Tank916 (FOLSOM, CA) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was worried the game would feel limited with game play. I thought it would just be a few classic no-name metal bands playing in the back ground while I ran around a field and destroyed adolescent dragons. I was violently surprised.

The game starts off with the most executed cut scene I've seen in quite some time. Instead of having to run around a huge map for days on end you build a car that looks to have more of a thunderous devil heart more then a engine.

The voice cast of the game is what pushed it from a strong 8 to solid 10. Jack Black recorded enough audio to cover 3 movies. And just when you think how did they get him? Multiple metal legends jump into the game to aid you.

But that is only the start. The soundtrack alone with this game gave me chills. With multiple types of metal from the classic heavy metal of Black Sabbath to newer types of comedy metal like Deth Klok. The music is also so well placed in the game that you can't help but throw up devil horns of your own.

The game play is great. With a ton of upgradable and customizable weapons you wont get board very quickly. There are multiple environments all of which invoke a clean metal feel. There are many different battle systems keeping the game fresh threw to the end. All around they pushed the original concept of the game to new heights.

I would recommend this game for anyone over 13 with the swearing turned off mostly due to the metal culture. I feel that between this game and a few VH1 documentary's you have a good start into the world of metal.

Side Note: With Xbox live there is now multiplayer downloadable content and even more upgrades and player costumes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by iPoder (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Finally something original and entertaining!
The music, the art work, the gameplay, and the story, awesome.
And come on, it's Jack freakin' Black!
ya cant go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hilarious game

posted by masterB88 (NEW BALTIMORE, MI) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

one of the most interestngly funny game i ever play great game top 10 best!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Metal Gods Smile On Us

posted by DeCoyote (SEQUIM, WA) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game is everything metal and totally worth the money it can be a bit short and somewhat annoying with all the collectables however the smooth gameplay and sweet concepts are totally worth it as you become emerced in this totally metal world. Vast landscapes and and incredible sondtrack i couldnt say enough but ill let you see it foryourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

brutal legends

posted by thizmarley (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

this demo was awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse