Rent Brutal Legend for PS3
view large frontback

Brutal Legend

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

4913 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The game rocks, but not rock solid

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Oct 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

35 out of 44 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I wanted to really love "Brutal Legend". I really did. After all, what's not to love? It's got an awesome heavy metal soundtrack, bright and imaginative graphics, a good story, and solid voice acting by the likes of Jack Black, Ozzy Osbourne, Lemmy Kilmeister, and Rob Halford, among others. So what may be the problem, you ask? Sadly, it's the gameplay. While for the most part fun, unfortunately the controls are a bit inconsistent in their responsiveness. When they work, they work wonderfully. When they don't, things can be a bit frustrating, and result in failure. While not so bad that they doom the game, the controls are problematic enough for me to say rent this one first. Also, the main campaign is a bit on the short side, though there are plenty of secondary missions to tackle once the main story is done, and the world is of decent size to wander about and explore. There is a lot to like, with varying game styles, but the controls just aren't solid enough to make this an absolute must have. Still, it is fun in parts, as well as funny overall, so I do recommend playing it. With any luck Tim Schaffer and Jack Black will be back for a sequel, and they'll get the problems in this game ironed out. The game is unique, and it should have been so much more. But give it a try. If you can get past the control issues, you'll have a rocking good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rock On!!!

posted by Warpug (FROSTBURG, MD) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

What can i say this game is Brutally awesome...while this isnt gonna stack up for any game of the year awards or anything its still fun and addictive to play.Jack Black is funny as always and the music is possibly the best out there(im a rocl fan if you couldnt tell!)i really like open world atmosphere the game has as it allows you to pretty much customize everything to your liking. However, the "stage" battles you have to complete are quite tiresome and can get very annoying... it is definitly the BIG drawback to the game but all in all i would definitly recoment this game to try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Brutal Legend

posted by Homeslice9 (LEBEC, CA) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The first half of Brutal Legend was awesome. It was hilarious and had great gameplay and was some of the greatest slice of game pie I've had in a while. I went in knowing that it wasn't a straight hack 'n' slash and has some RTS stage battles, but after the third battle I just wanted it to end. The humor cranked down from 11 to 1 in a heartbeat and

SPOILER ALERT
I don't know about you but every time there is a time gap of any kind like, I don't know the 3 month time gap in Brutal Legend. I feel like I get disconnected from everything, taken out of the game and have to get readjusted before I can start going again.
End of Spoiler

If you go in thinking it's slicing demon's this and decapitating emo kids that then you will be dissapointed, but they did the RTS controls for a console very well and it is kind of fun the first few times. Then it is just tedious and I found myself sighing every time I saw my stage go up. The heavy metal soundtrack was great and the open and expansive world was beautiful and great to explore.

The big reveal in the end was really cliqued and kind of obvious but the delivery was pretty darn good. I beat this in a day (no life or friends) and I will give it this, it kept me playing until the end, but I didn't get the satisfaction I was hoping for when I started playing. It's worth renting but the humor factory is shut down to build a deep intriguing story tunnel that leads to nowhere that interesting. Just be aware that this isn't a hilarious mindless beat em' up all the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Couldn't Finish

posted by jaboobie (MOUNT HOLLY SPRINGS, PA) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm not good giving reviews. Basically there are games that I feel compelled to finish and others in which I just don't care. I just didn't care about Brutal Legend. Plus I hate games where you have to watch the cut scene every time you die. That gets old quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It gets a 10 because it's my favorite game EVER...

posted by Bierbauer (LEXINGTON, KY) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is my favorite video game ever. Technically, it may not be the best game I've ever played, but I don't care because this is my favorite video game EVER.

The heavy metal fantasy world of Brutal Legend is the most carefully created game environment that's ever been programmed. Not, it's not cutting edge graphics or gameplay, but there is nothing here, and I mean NOTHING, that has just been added-on, dropped in or half-heartedly executed, and that's where the appeal of this game comes from. The perfectly executed heavy-metal references and influences are seemlessly integrated with a tone-perfect story, flawless art direction and character design that result in an open-ended environment that feels like someone crawled inside your head, went through all your memories that had anything to do with heavy-metal/hard rock music, and created a virtual world from them. I'm not kidding – it's that good.

The gameplay itself is rock-solid, although I admit that it's pretty basic and not over the top on challenging hard core gamers, although I've not gotten at all bored with it. The biggest issue for me is the clunky timing between scenes and mission starts and stops, which I think really detracts from the experience. But the focus here is on the art, the design and the acting. You feel like you fell into your favorite heavy metal album cover and are living out another life there. It is that good.

I didn't give it a ten because it's the best gameplay, or the most challenging, or the most technically advanced. I gave it a ten because Brutal Legend pulls off a perfectly designed environment in which no details were overlooked or just phoned in, and it pulls you into that world like no other game I've played. I gave it a ten because it's my favorite game ever. It's that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Wonderful title and I'm glad to be a part of it

posted by Marilyn (WINCHESTER, CA) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

18 out of 33 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Brutal Legend is the story of the ultimate roadie, Eddie brigs (Voiced by Jack Black.) He begins, getting his guitar swiped by a whiny metal teen. After some epic scene play, where your asked whether or not you want to turn off gore and swearing, Eddie wakes up in a world of Rock. This world can only be described as off of a Metal album. You quickly pick up your melee weapon, which is an axe, and then your ranged weapon, which is an axe (Lolz) Guitar. The battle is nothing to special, typical attack combos and such. After defeating your first enemies, is where the game picks up. You meet ophelia, your first teammate. You and her can team up to perform a "Team move," which is stronger then normal moves. A bit later you witness eddie's roadie skills in action when he builds the deuce, his car. The car controls, pretty much how you'd expect, including nitro. What really impressed me is the graphics on the first boss. I'm not going to ruin it by describing it but, awesome.
The game isn't only a rpg, it has a strategy part. Part of the game works like a rts (real time strategy) Basically you control a stage. You set up merch booths to get fans (Resources) and then buy more troops, rinse, repeat. The online mode is this, but you get to pick from three sides, Ophelia's Eddie's and The evil person's (I forget.)
The game stars all kinds of rock icons, like Ozzie, Kyle glass, and more. It's definetly a game to pick up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

and then, THERE WAS ROCK!!

posted by Paladin76 (MALAKOFF, TX) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Lets get the obvious out of the way first.

Jack Black is awesome, his voice work and dialog is top notch, some of the best I have seen in all my years of gaming. There are many of laugh out loud moments.

The graphics fit the story and game setting very well. Sure it's no Uncharted, but it just wouldn't fit if it was. The style fits the game perfectly.

THE MUSIC!! This is by far the best feature of this game. You got songs that range from Iron Maiden to Def Leapord and they all freaking rock!! Being able to change what song you are rocking to with a click of the button is also a very nice feature.

This game has somewhat of an open world design. You have your main missions and your side missions to do, yet at the same time you can jump in the Druid Plow and just drive on a rocking course of destruction.

Which brings me to combat and controls. Combat is fun and fluid at first, but as the game progresses and the enemies grow in numbers you begin to see just how much the controls are lacking. The driving controls are FLAT OUT terrible. It can be extremely hard at times to drive in a straight line in order to hit the mark you are looking for. Combat becomes non-responsive in large battles and feels very odd and clunky when you are fighting large amounts of enemies.

The RTS part of this game is rather odd as well. It's a very good idea, they just failed to deliver it properly. Think Overlord with a splash of Age of Empires thrown in. You are able to build stages, and merchandise stands, and from those you call your fans and road crew to help rule the world and battle for you. Great concept but you end up having very limited control of your followers. This is by far the weakest part of the game.

There is plenty to do though and plenty to unlock. All throughout the world you will find upgrades and bonuses such as art work and back story. This really makes you want to explore every last inch of the map.

This is a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Played it for a few hours, sent it back

posted by cancrdancr (FORT COLLINS, CO) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The intro of the game doesn't reveal the true nature of the game. It does a lot of different things, but doesn't do any of them really all that well. Pretty bland.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Couldn't keep me interested

posted by temak82 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Like a lot of others, I found the game's soundtrack to be spot on and some of the dialogue was pretty funny. But that's where my pros for the game end.

The thing I hated the most was the need to drive around to different points in that vehicle. It got way too repetitive very, very quickly. The graphics are also very subpar in my opinion. If it was a straight up hack/slash with minimal driving around and rts, this game would have been much better in my opinion.

The bottom line is, if you have played all the other games, perhaps finish this one off. In my opinion, there are just way too many good games out right now to be spending time on something as mediocre as Brutal Legend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh...

posted by 666Lildemo (NORTH VERNON, IN) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I rented this expecting something awesome, as a metal head I loved the soundtrack, and as a gamer, i was sorely disappointed with the game itself.

The audio is great, if you like metal and rock, you'll love the audio of the game, plan and simple. They choose some great songs by some badass bands. Unfortunatly, thats about where the greatness stopped at for me.

The Battle as it started off was alright, get a guitar, get an axe, and chop people up, learning a few skilsl along the way...then they introduced the bad rts controls, and the inability to control the members of your army as singles...and it went straight Downhill from there. The "rts" of the game is essentially "quick, zerg those guys, now zerg those guys, now zerg...." you get the point. there really is no strategy to the combat in single player.

One of the features i thought was cool aat first was the vehicle you can summon, however after about 5 minutes after getting the combat upgrades and playing with it, you realize how clunky and unresponsive the controls are, and you will likely get very angry at how bad they are when you have to use the vehicle for storyline missions.

On the bright side of things if you enjoy a decent laugh here and there, and wonder what it would be like if you could enter the world on an amazing album cover, this would pretty much cover that.

Overall i give the audio a 10, the visuals a 8, the gameplay a 4, and the replayability a 4....a fairly bad game with a good soundtrack and okay visuals. Not really worth the rent...just go buy some metal cds and wait for something better to come along game wise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it`s worth renting

posted by bdyman (SCHERERVILLE, IN) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

even though i have a non-hd tv, graphicly great game, but i t does have a bit of frame rate freeze`s up game play bogs down at times, and it gets choppy, i have seen and played on a samsung lcd too and it still did this

overall not a bad game, the highboy he has is awesome, the music kicks butt, the story line is great, it kept me playing until the end, which is pretty cool btw, if part 2 comes out i hope they can get the glitches worked out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ROCK ON BRUTAL LEGEND ROCK ON

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 13, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2009

11 out of 26 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

this game is fun gameplay not all i would thought it would be though. this game is great for people who want comedy and hack n slash demons for a living. not a bad game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Platinum trophy Hard to get

posted by FascistPig (SEBASTIAN, FL) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

All the trophies are easy to get for the single player game. But the problem is that half the trophies deal with multiplayer. You need to win 50 matches which is impossible since I cant seem to find a single match. So if your looking for a platinum pass it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Brutal legend review

posted by pogue2012 (COSTA MESA, CA) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Great acting...Jack Black is awesome. The story is solid. The problem is the gameplay itself. The controls are kinda clunky and non-responsive. It is not a solid strategy game. This game had potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hannah Montana rocks more than this game

posted by Mahoney (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

That's right, I said it. This game was a complete disappointment.

Before I"ll log my complaints, I'll reveal the best thing about the game:

Pros
Because Jack Black did the voiceover for the game, he was too busy to make another crapfest movie.

cons
The control system seems like it was designed by a monkey.

The combat is about as enjoyable as getting kicked in the groins.

The driving stinks. I'd rather be stuck in real life traffic, then drive around in the game. It's all jerky and whacky.

The part where you have to put on concerts would probably work better if you could take groupies backstage and play a little slappy cakes with them.

They say the game is supposed have the look and feel of a Heavy Metal album cover, whoever said that is probably a country music can, cause they don't know what the BLEEP they're talking about.

So Basically, the game was a big bust. You might enjoy it, if you're into games wtih Jack Black, stupid control systems, cheesy dialogue and lame combat.

UPDATE

I just turned off all the sounds and played for a few minutes while listening ot an Iron Maiden CD. I thought that might help, but it didn't. The game still blew!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dumbed Down Smash-Em-Up

posted by ogma107 (NORTH HAVEN, CT) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

7 out of 22 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

As a lover of all things rock, I hoped that this game would make up for what it seemingly lacked in gameplay with entertainment value. Unfortunately, that was not the case. Mediocre graphics, substandard hidden gems and unlockables, and clunky, slow gameplay all led to this game being Brutally Disappointing.

Jack Black was especially grating and a few sweet cameos were not enough to save this game from the depths of suck. I should have known better when I saw everything from the commercial in the first 30-45 minutes of the game that things were going downhill quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hate It

posted by ggc111 (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game was boring. The only things you could do was side missions and main missions, and the main missions were boring. Also there was like no atacks that the character could do. The only thing you could do was use you guitar and axe. I really didn't like this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Story, Okay gameplay

posted by Tarquin (DANVILLE, VA) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Brutal Legend has an awesome premise. A game centered around heavy metal. The characters and cut scenes are exceptional. Jack Black helps brings the character of Eddie Riggs to life. And the fact that Ozzie Ozboune guest stars is a nice touch.
It is unfortunate that the gameplay is so... average. Brutal Legend is an RTS. Plain and simple. And it is not a very deep or original one. Perhaps, I am biased because I do not care for RTS games so much. Side missions add some much needed variety. I found myself actually looking forward to the cutscenes more than the gameplay. It is a shame considering the long development history and Tim Schafer's resume of great games.
The controls sometimes fail to work as they should. I found myself trying to execute a specific move when the on-screen help is telling I can do it, but nothing actually happened. I wonder what happened?
I suggest renting rather than buying this game. It is a shame Brutal Legend fails to live up the promise of the hype.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

OH YEAH!!!

posted by ninonino (ITASCA, TX) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

7 out of 39 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

This game rocks. The graphics, storyline, and gameplay.....this game has got it all that UNCHARTED 2 will never have. I prefer this game anytime and won't stop until I get a 100% completion in everything in it including trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

brutal legend is fun but frustrating

posted by josh01718 (GONZALES, TX) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

this game was cool at first i couldnt wait to get out of school an play it but then i actually did play it then a couple of minuthes ago i turned on my ps3 and the game said no chapters avliable or something like that i don,t blame the game for losing data but i do blame the game for the stupidness and capture the fortress type of battle game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not another 0 rated game

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Not that it's anything new, but here is another pointless, boring that no one could possibly want to play, an awful soundtrack recording that I wasn't even looking for in the first place alongside ever other element of the game being put together horribly. This game contradicts its mature rating like most mature rated titles and comes of aim at a 5 year with terrets syndrome.

Couldn't at least one game I played in like the last 6 month's be worth playing for even a couple of minutes, oh yeah, Siren and Space Invaders Extreme ROCK, but that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

grate

posted by aswqasxzcj (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Oct 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

i love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Brutal Legend

posted by blksabbath (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Dude, I haven't even got this game yet and i rated it a 10, just by watching demo videos, that's how awesome this game is. If you like funny, cool, bad-a%$ games starring Jack Black, GET BRUTAL LEGEND!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BRUTAL!!!

posted by GameBear64 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Feb 11, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game was awesome! There were a few thing that were annoying but I loved how everything was related to metal, and they picked amazing songs!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty eh...

posted by GrifftheSith (ROSWELL, NM) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game has a good concept but not very well thought out. The actors they got is impressive but it seems they made a cheesy game and rushed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse