Rent Brunswick Pro Bowling for PS3
view large frontback

Brunswick Pro Bowling

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.0

552 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad as they say.......

posted by ridelead (OREGON CITY, OR) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game isn't as bad as the reviews say. Everyone says that the control is off well, my average bowl speed was 13 to 15.4 with a high of 18.6 which is a pritty good hit! The game is a little reputive but over all i think its about a 7.The speed comes from the accuracy of the throw....not the power of your swing. If you release at the right time....the throw will be successfull :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Brunswick Pro Bowling

posted by Noles2177 (PICKERINGTON, OH) Feb 6, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you're an avid bowler or even someone who seriously enjoys heading to the local Rock'n'Bowl, this game is for you. If you're neither of above, then you'll probably not like this very much

It took me a bit to get used to the controls. If you get it from Gamefly, the learning curve is a bit steep without the directions. I definitely recommend having a good couple of practice games before you start your career.

The controls themselves are pretty easy to figure out. Using the main button to progress through your motions, then the trigger and your arm swing to propel the ball. After that, you will be able to fiddle with the rotation to work your curves. You can get left and right spin pretty easily with a flick of the wrist.

Those are the easy part. The speed with which you throw the ball seemed to me to be pretty inconsistent with how quickly I moved my arm. And a warning... if you're like me and like to give it a GOOD swing, you WILL be sore for a few days after playing this one :)

As I said, it's a good game if you're the bowling type. Definitely don't recommend this if you're looking for a simple and quick pick up game. Might want to find Mario Bowling or some such on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

HORRIBLE

posted by djthaiboxe (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I'd suggest sticking with HIGH VELOCITY BOWLING as it is a very well put together game and has a lot of replay value. The new MOVE update/unlock for it is out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Brunswick bowling with Playstation Move

posted by ryazbeck (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pathetic, embarrassing, amateurish.

After trying desperately for about half an hour to roll a ball faster than about 9 mph and only achieving that maybe 3 times I decided to send this right back to Gamefly. The mechanics for this game are completely busted. This game does not even remotely appear to be suited for the PS3 Move. It is absolutely the most terrible excuse for a video game I have ever played. The graphics are terrible, the camera is a joke, the music, the options, everything is just down right despicable, I sure hope no one pays retail for this trash.

It is just short of impossible to play anything remotely resembling bowling. This game makes Wii bowling appear revolutionary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

?

posted by Sincere85 (ROSENBERG, TX) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would not recommend this game to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't go bowling here

posted by Vulcan (LONG BEACH, CA) Sep 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is terrible with the move controller. High Velocity Bowling is much better, the move controller actually works with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Better for a casual novice?

posted by MiniDragon (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 25, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

Let me preface this by saying that I am a bowler IRL and average 230 so when Brunswick stated how great and realistic this game was, I was excited regardless of the terrible reviews I had read.

The reviews were right. This game is clunky and responded terribly (although better with a six-axis than the move which was almost laughable). The rotation and hook amount on the ball seems nearly random, the speed is COMPLETELY random (especially with the move) and it makes for a video game experience that is far more frustrating than enjoyable.

Like I said in the title, however... If you are not a real life bowler and don't have all that much real basis for comparison, it's possible the game would be marginally more fun to get into, but I just could not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super DIFFICULT

posted by bilminjace (BOONE, NC) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game was no fun. It is too hard. The ball feels like a lead weight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fairly decent

posted by wolf98 (BOWLING GREEN, KY) Jun 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

it is not as good as the description and I would not play as a single player. You need at least 4 people to play the tour or career mode. Disappointed :-(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Eh, it was okay

posted by DemaChoLoVei (MORRISVILLE, VT) Jun 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

I was very disappointed with how poor the controller functionality was. I found that if I recalibrated every few frames I was able to maintain the consistency of what I was doing in the real world in relation to the game enviourment. All in all I have yet to come across a good bowling game on the PS3. Save yourself the frustration and skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great familt time game

posted by Rigamortis (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

my whole family n I enjoy these game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not no

posted by noochiepooh (BUFFALO, NY) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game is to slow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Brunswick pro bowling

posted by mich666 (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I thought the game itself had great graphics and the concept was good, but...I have degenrative disc disease and thought it was totally unfair that even using a regular controller the game had to be played just like if you were using the playstation move. I give the game a 1 only because 0 is not an option. Game developers need to take into account the fact that not everyone is in the physical shape to be able to enjoy the games when you have to try and make movements that their body does not allow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

we didnt like it

posted by tigger262710 (MATTOON, IL) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

this game a really bad game didnt like it it was really hard to control the ball confussing going through it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Only get it if you have the move set

posted by Cassidy2011 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Unfort. i have week hands and the way you have to hold the handle of the ps3 remote and swing i was afraid i would let go and hit my tv since i have other issues and can also not stand i was screwwed i believe they should let people know its only able to be used with the move because we believed you could use it with or without the move but if you have the move set and like bowling then i would say get it because it has awsome graphics and it goes which ever way you turn lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pain in the butt

posted by chopchop (ARVADA, CO) Sep 30, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

it was more of a pain to get the move controllers to work than it was worth. spent 30min trying to get it to work and then gave up. worked fine with regular controller but whats the fun in that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dumbest Bowling Game Ever!!!

posted by SHOE27 (HUNTINGTON, IN) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

This is by far the worst bowling game I have ever played. DO NOT RENT!!! It's a complete waste of time!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by Video108 (ELGIN, IL) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This was boring. It would not let us use the PS motion controllers. We could only use the regular controllers to play the game. Which completely took the fun out of the game. This game was a complete waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

THEY SHOULDVE MADE IT AS GOOD AS THE PS2 GAME

posted by Piggeh (TUCSON, AZ) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I Only Got This Game Because I Thought It Was Gunna Be The Same Game As The One On PS2, Which Was Pretty Farkin Awesome But This Game... Simple To Say That It Was The Worst Game That Ive Played On PS3 So Far...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

let down

posted by folknerk9 (MUNCIE, IN) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I should have known this game would let me down by the other reviews. In today's gaming I cannot believe they couldn't do a better job with a easy game like bowling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible mechanics and gameplay

posted by EffectiveRange (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game looks to be written by a group of 5 year olds. The game mechanics are boring and repetitive because you make your throw adjustments before you even throw the ball. So throwing the ball only dictates the speed and not direction LAME! It takes forever to load even though the game play is simplistic and the graphics aren't anything to write home about. I had problems calibrating 2 controllers to play with my girlfriend; so back in the sleeve it went. You can tell the Move controller was an after thought on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Poor Movement and precision

posted by Artavius (VANCOUVER, WA) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

I love bowling games on the consoles but I would have to say that I am disappointed with this one. Never seemed to be very accurate on the bowling with the motion controller. Even tried it on the kinect and it had its issues. May be okay with the controller, I never tried it with ours. Gave up after a few games and moved on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not a good game

posted by basicmed1 (ROCKFORD, MI) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Not a very good game......u really have to throw the move controller really hard to get any type of speed on the ball.....and the controls are not user friendly...I would not recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Needs improvement

posted by LanceNSandy0805 (VICTORVILLE, CA) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Like the game but while playing with the move it keeps losing connection with move controller

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst bowling game ever

posted by JaneLane1 (HASTINGS, MI) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

controls in this game were truly awful. I could barely get the ball down the alley throwing as hard as I could. Game kept saying that I only threw at a 3mph speed and then called it a gutterball when it didn't hit the pins quick enough. Also boring setup. I would recommend high velocity bowling if you want a move bowling game that works.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse