Rent Brunswick Pro Bowling for Wii
view large frontback

Brunswick Pro Bowling

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.5

2231 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Looks like you're not in control BUT... YOU ARE

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 13, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

53 out of 60 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

First to address the major gripe that everyone seems to have - the bowler does not follow your swing of the Wii remote:-
The animation follows a pros slow take back and swing pretty much regardless of how you move BUT DON"T BE FOOLED - the game IS recording the speed and straightness of your swing and the timing of ball release. So swing it straight and even and time the realease to coincide with the player graphic being at the bottom of the swing - a little fooling around will show you that the speed etc does make a difference. Granted it's not intuitive until you figure it out but once you do then it starts to be very like real bowling as the lane does change over time.
It then becomes a game of figuring out where the sweet spot is on each lane and what your best ball/speed combination is.
Add in the different oil patterns that come up in tournaments which require totally different play and you have a very realistic game which can be just as frustrating as a real lane which is what will put many people off.
Want a big hook - go down the side of the lane where there is less oil.
Want it straighter - use less speed and go down the center.
You will need something better than the House Ball to really start playing tho and that measn you pretty much have to win a tourney with the house ball which is tricky - not really a way around this frustration.
This is a game that needs more than a few hours play to really get past the initial stuff and get into playing the subtleties.
If you like bowling and you are prepared to deal with all the variables that affect your throws in this game then persevere and you will enjoy it a lot - everyone who doesn't fit into that, stay well away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Multiplayer/Control Issues (Wii)

posted by Wacko007 (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Aug 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

22 out of 26 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I gave this game 30 minutes of my life, Here's why:

- You can only create a bowler in career mode. Playing a quick game with your friends means that you will have to enter single player career mode to create bowlers. (The interface for creating a bowler is terrible.)

- There is skill attributes for each bowler created and the only way to raise them, or upgrade equipment, or unlock content is to play single player. SKILL ATTRIBUTES? I'm throwing the ball!

- I throw a right handed, right hook sometimes in real bowling. This move is not translated in this game. It is in Wii Sports.

I'm sure the career mode has something to offer, but here is the bottom line: This game does not feel natural. You are releasing the button long before it actually starts down the lane. Also, bowlers should have no attributes on the Wii because YOU are the bowler. I have to raise my skill so I can throw my normal ball. I believe this game was just ported from the playstation. The bowler skill attributes are evidence of that.

Argh...now I gave it 40 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing

posted by frozach (SUNNYVALE, CA) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I rented this title hoping to find a game as easy to pick up and play as Wii sports. What I found instead was a game with unintuitive controls, a lousy interface and a much slower gaming experience. Sure there are lots of customization options, but who cares when the game plays like molasses?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Totally disagree with other reviewers - love this!

posted by COMBSIE (GROVE CITY, OH) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Very Good title would rate it at 8.5. Can't quite give it the excellent rating as there are a few things that could have made this very good game - great - or even excellent. But husband and I both enjoy this game very much and advise you to give it a try.

I am shocked at the bad reviews this game is receiving because we both really love it! I would recommend if you like Wii Sports bowling a lot like we did - go ahead and purchase this one!

Make no mistake this is NOT Wii Sports Bowling (WSB). You won't pick up the remote and throw strikes and spares instantaneously like you may have on WSB. WSB is simple and easy to pick up as in a 4 year old or 80 year old both could play and yes a 30 year old could still enjoy. But Brunswick Pro Bowling is the real deal - not bumper bowling, but professional bowling.

You might be curious then what would have made this very good game - great or excellent? More developed Quick Play/multi-player. Yes there are only several bowlers to choose from and only a few unlocked lanes to choose from. We did purchase this title more for multi-player than for Career Mode aspects - so it would have been nice to have more flexibility and options here!! Also, career mode you start out as a pretty bad bowler - like back when you were 10 years old, but luckily you face off against similar competition and work your way up.
Also, soundtrack is pretty decent and sound effects are nice! Graphics are fine - not great, but of course way better than WSB!

It may take you a while to pick up the motion and the feel for this game, but once you do you will enjoy hitting the lanes in your living room - I promise. be patient, give it a little time and don't expect it to be the same as WSB.

Bottom line: Despite the pitiful rank on this one - I highly recommend it, I personally think it is a title to own and not just rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great start for bowling

posted by Pasero (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 26, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I've been playing this game for a few days and find it to be very fun.
The mechanics are similar to Wii Sports but pick up where they left off. Spin and hooks are closer to real bowling. The oil pattern is a nice addition and stays accurate throughout play. The pins seem to stick a bit at times your sure it would knock everything down.

A tutorial would have been nice but you learn all you need to in career mode.
The career mode has many options which keep the game entertaining. The Pro shop has a lot of stuff to buy but the prices are way to high for the amount of money you earn. Character creation is a bit weak, reminds me of early Tiger Woods games.

The one big thing i have noticed is that the power meter shown on the previews seems to be gone. You really don't need it or the Wii anyway but it would have been nice.

For the first real bowling game on the Wii it's a great start. I look forward to the followup of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Generous "5"

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Sep 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

It's not Wii Sports, but it's a bowling game, and that's a good thing. Just not so sure bout those controls. You have no control over ball release...which is something that I was looking forward to having. What is the sense otherwise? The game is more realistic, but the developers should have spent time on the actual gameplay itself before making it pretty...and it's not that pretty, trust me. Gameplay is too slow paced and slightly boring. Looks like I will be going back to the Wii Sports until AMF Pinbusters comes out...hopefully that will be an improvement over this title.
Sorry, but, Game-Off!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

a big disapointment

posted by goatwomen (HUDSON, NY) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i had been waiting since june to play this game, with high hopes of it putting wii bowling into early retirement. boy, was i wrong. the major problem i had was that you are not synced with your bowler, there is a signifacant delay, which makes hook and trick shots hard.

if you have to get this game , get it for the ps2. as for the wii , like other users have stated " avoid at all costs" you'll be glad you did.

final thoughts: if they had just added more bowling alleys and let you play with characters that dont look like mii's , but kept the play mechanics of wii bowling this game would have been a 10+ in my game library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Because you can't give it a 0 on this site

posted by RyleMoon (FAIRFIELD, CA) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Simple. Bowling Game. Is it possible to mess this up? Oh yeah you can. Leave it to Crave to ruin what little there is to make a bowling game. The only important part about bowling for the Wii is that you act like your throwing a bowling ball with the wiimote. And that is done soooo horribly, it's offensive. The character does not match what you do in any way possible. And thats it. Thats the game. I played for a whole 5 minutes, because I wanted to gouge my eye out with the controller if forced to play any longer. Total Rent time: 10:00 minutes. Kinda sad. My suggestion? Just stick with Wii Bowling. All this game had to do was make an interactive bowling game that was fun and ONLINE ( nice to know Nintendo is still anti-internet). Aparantly, this is impossible on a grand scale.

All said and done, avoid this game like it has the plague.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible, simply horrible

posted by raynes (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Sep 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Every developer should get the following message: "The Wii does not produce people that look real, so don't try!". Every Wii game that has a cartoon look or comic look comes out great. Add in real looking people and it looks horrible.

Honestly when I played this I got the feeling the following was a discussion at the developer:

"So we want to make a bowling game. Well Wii Sports Bowling is good, so lets screw everything good about it up, and sell it!".

If you liked Wii Sports Bowling, don't get this. If you like Bowling in real life, don't get this. If you like pain and frustration, then get this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

If you have never bowled, you could enjoy this

posted by Rathina (RIVERSIDE, CA) Aug 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you have never bowled, you could enjoy this. That includes either real bowling, or WiiSports bowling. If you have played one or the other or both, then chances are you will not enjoy this game.

Two modes: Career play and Multiplayer. Career play you make your own bowler, and you start out with newbie gear, and the house ball. You have to beat your opponents to unlock balls (and then earn money to purchase those balls. It takes a lot of time to even unlock the most basic ball at $1400. The first person you bowl against is on their way to being a professional bowler. They don't get strikes, but they at least get to knock pins down and get spares. I spent an hour trying to figure out the house ball, which is a pretty junky ball, while my opponent plays with a professional ball.

Multiplayer: You can't even use the bowler you created to play multiplayer. You get to choose from 6 or so people, who are all pretty embarrassing when it comes to skills or gear. The 3 of us all picked the same bowler, what fun is in that?

For the record, I bowl professionally, and I have played bowling on the Wii Sports. Playing pitiful games makes me so glad I have a Gamefly account instead of wasting $50

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME

posted by poindextr (ENCINO, CA) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Like everyone else, I too wanted a more comprehensive version of Wii Bowling, and THIS ISN'T IT. Wii Sports offers a very simple experience with incredibly intuitive controls. The only problem - it doesn't reach the next level. I want to customize characters, improve my ability over time, set up leagues, etc. Brunswick bowling does all of these things. The problem is that THE GAMEPLAY IS AWFUL. Wii Sports is at least real-time: As you walk forward, so does the character. If you throw slowly , the ball rolls slowly. If you curve your wrist, the ball curves, and so on. This version of Bowling has none of those abilities. You basically use one throwing motion, there's a computer delay, and then the characters throws. It didn't read my speed, my hook, or anything.

I took this game out after five minutes and played Wii Sports Bowling for another hour. It may be simple, but it still beats this awful game.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME RENTING THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Defininetly a letdown, mildly entertaining

posted by Bergshot (KENT, WA) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After the success of wii bowling, everyone was excited for this title. Unfortunately, it's pretty terrible. The unsynced motion controls aren't quite as bad as most people make it out to be, but it definetly makes you ask the question "why?"

The real problem with this game is the awful gameplay and career mode. The game drudges on and you are painfully forced to watch every move your oppornent makes. What could be done in 10 seconds feels like an eternity as the opponent lines up their shot and rolls the ball slowly down the lane.

To make things worse, you are forced to play through one-on-one "league nights" where you make no money and waste endless amounts of time. In order to purchase your first ball, you need to win a tournament. You must first play through 6 "league nights" (about 20 min each) and then battle your way through the tournament. Don't choke, or you'll have to spend another hour or two of one-on-one bowling before you get a chance again. So much for the wii being for casual gamers...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

if you like bowling don't get this game

posted by Wiigrl11 (STOUGHTON, MA) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this really isn't a bowling game that is typical of the Wii. you don't actually bowl, you just set up the direction and flick your controller.. not any fun at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wii Sports Bowling is much better

posted by willis00 (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You can only use your created character in career mode. It would have been nice if my character would be able to play other ones we create. You have some control, but not much (I do better bowling IRL). The price to upgrade equipment is ridiculous. I am holding out to see if AMF bowling is better. This is one of the worst games we've played. We were close to sending it back same day, but kept it through the weekend to "give it a chance". It still miserably failed our expectation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Brunswick Bowling

posted by jamesw10 (BETHANY, OK) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is by far the worst game I ever ever seen. I would rather be tied to a chair and have toothpicks shoved under my nails then to play this game ever again. this game is below a 1 it should have a rating of -100000

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A bowling game for bowlers....

posted by devious1 (GLENDALE, CA) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game takes Wii sports bowling to the next level. This game is a much more in-depth take on bowling. If you aren't someone who bowls regularly, you more than likely won't see the point in the game and will wonder why anyone would rather pay money to play this over the free version found on the Wii Sports disk. The users giving this game a poor rating are likely not into bowling games but thought it would be cool because Wii bowling is so much fun. This is hands down the best bowling game available and definitely designed for bowlers, by bowlers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

why dis this game

posted by twitch (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i liked this bowling game because there is not alot of them out there and i accualy get to really bowl. there is a delay in the swing and bowler witch can get annoing. When you play the carrer mode the first 20 games you dont get money thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An accurate representation of bowling

posted by Toxie8 (GLENDALE, AZ) Aug 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This is not a game for gamers who want Wii Sports with a tournament mode.

This game focuses on the one thing that any good bowler must have to be successful. (Timing) In addition, it does an excellent job of taking advantage of speed changes and wrist turn to give you more or less of a hook.

I just got this game. I have been able to put a tremendous hook on the house ball that you start with. I simply do this my manipulating the speed of the ball and how much I twist my wrist.

One thing that I do not like about the game, is how you start.

Most games you start as a Professional, and who would want to play in PeeWee leagues. So I am not sure why Crave put in the regular bowling leagues to start out.

Knowledge of the sport, will help you in this game. So if you want a realistic bowling game, this is the game for you. However, if you want a game that is easy to pick up and play, stay with Wii Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by justin08 (ALEXANDRIA, MN) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is the real deal. Wii Sports is classic but this is a harder but more real bowling game. Once you learn this game you will love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stick with WII Sports

posted by JNKS81 (WILMINGTON, DE) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 22 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Avoid this game at all costs!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Why would you get this?

posted by Josh233 (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Aug 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 41 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

First of all if your planning on renting this I suggest that you take a moment to remember you already have bowling from when you bought the wii why go and pay 50$ when you have it and why rent it and wait when you have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Control

posted by Srisaacs (ELKTON, MD) Feb 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

After calibrating the remote and trying everything possible the bowler would not bowl. I can aim the ball but no bowling.
This game does not take on the conventional bowling methods that Wii Sports has.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Everything about this game is ugly

posted by DrBlackNTan (ELKLAND, PA) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

The chanllenge in this game is to find any enjoyment. The deal breaker for me in this game is when you try to play with someone else, half way through the game one remote will take control of both people. If you actually try to play seriously, there is no consistency between throws. Besides the fact that the bowler doesn't follow your movement, it doesn't matter how you move the remote they will still throw the ball. You can hold the remote, tap it with your other hand and it will count(that's also how you can throw a strike every time). I've seen better graphics on sega dreamcast. Watching the the pins when you hit them is nothing short of pathetic. The best thing about this game is the fun facts they show on the loading screens. Get this game if you are looking for some self abuse. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game Sucks

posted by Brad_031984 (EVANSVILLE, IN) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is a horrible game. Game play is really bad. Wii has some really stupid games. This being one of them. The characters action's don't even happen as your moving your arm to swing. What is the point of Wii if your character isn't doing the actions the same time as you are. Really Stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I LOVE IT

posted by JCBear (ANDERSON, SC) May 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

Being an actual bowler in real life, this game is pretty darn close to being on the lanes...I just wish I could bowl in real life the way I bowl on this game [have 8 300 games on this game, never thrown one in real life]..doesnt hurt that I also bowl left-handed :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse