Rent Brothers in Arms: Road to Hill 30 for Xbox
view large frontback

Brothers in Arms: Road to Hill 30

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.7

2287 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lota work lota fun

posted by dmingle (LIBERTY HILL, TX) Sep 25, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Although, this game was not very long it was an eye opener to play a game that was release so long age. Much more difficult than other new games being released today. It was hard on the easy level but a lot of fun. I especially like it when it allows you to re-heal yourself when you die often as I did. This game requires more care in the approach of the enemy than some other more recent games. Have Fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

brothers in arms road to hill 30

posted by gnutss (SOUTH GLASTONBURY, CT) May 13, 2006

Member since May 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WOw, this game is one of the best war games ever the AI is good the guns are just like the ones in ww2 some more effctive than others like the sniper rifle in the church tower in carentan( my favorite mission) u comand your own squad tell them what to do, get them killed for the fun of them jutling back on their backs or fly up in the air and get a leg blown off. the only down sides to the game is the main character whining inbetween chapters and not enough chapters. the first couple is basicly just learning how to play the game but when u want to beat on normal to diff to authentic it gets annoying to keep learning what u already know how to do perfectly, and also that the planes the crash that r on your side rnt effective as they were in really like(tank busters P51s) and they dont help u blow up troops or tanks cuz the shermans jsut plane suck againsted german tanks, but beamers were alaways good even as tanks. But th other parts of the game make up for it the swearing in parts of the game r funny (Lt.cole) and the intense fighting very intense I think this game is beter the earned in blood. this game is sick for an old war game, now all they developers need to do now is make one for our age with our new weapons (m16,m4,saw,etc) and as realistic as your breathin effecting ur accuracy as rise of a soldier but more intense fighting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game. Realistic and fun.

posted by kiru666 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 13, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the feel, the look and the gameplay. It had a great story line that took you right into the game and had you on the edge. The tactical play you had while commanding other squads was really cool. If you like first person shooters then this is a good one for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brothers In Arms: Road To Hill 30 Review

posted by Junior (WAUKEGAN, IL) May 15, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This WWII FPS is one of the best out there. It is a very authentic video game. The weapons look and feel very reel as well as the characters. If your getting shot at and nearly getting your head blown off they'll yell at you to get down or behind cover. As the game goes on in days you see how tired the solders are because they get purple bags and blood shot eyes. The AI is descent. If your charging straight at them with no suppressing fire they will mow u down with bullets. You need to use strategy to win this game. The only problem I can see in this game is the graphics. This isn't Half Life 2 or Final Fantasy. The characters look a little chunky and big. They're is a bit of lag in tight situations which gets frustrating. Brothers in Arms is one of the best FPS I have played. So rent it and then buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont waste your time

posted by AMJH136 (WATERTOWN, WI) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Does not work with Xbox360, don't waste you time on the game unless you have the original

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Brothers in Arms: Road to Hill 30

posted by gamerdaily (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Graphics- graphics are ok, but Character models need more variety

sounds- this game will sure leave you deaf

controls-impressive controls for an xbox game but how do you melee

visuals- impressive but not such an call of duty look alike

value- good game but not all that great

Overview

The focus on team command is emphasized by providing the player with a highly unstable firing capability. Instead of having almost perfect accuracy with weapons in games like Call of Duty, Brothers in Arms models weapons with erratic accuracy, and enemy fire can heavily interfere with a player's aim to simulate the effects of suppressive fire. The relative lack of accuracy is designed to simulate the difficulty in hitting targets in a combat situation as well as forcing the player to use team members to engage enemy units and provide better tactical opportunities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS

posted by prixman29 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game doesn't even work. Slow slow slow shipping. Not happy with GameFly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by dayton546 (TORRANCE, CA) Aug 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

People should take my advist and rent this game. It is the best ww2 game i have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same old

posted by FLOWDANGO (MORRISTOWN, NJ) Jun 30, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

you played the first you played this. Basically the same game with new features a continuing campaign with a stronger story. But the core gameplay has not changed much if at all to raise my review from the last. but still a worth while rental for fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WWII FPS not the same as the others!

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

GAMEPLAY: 9
GRAPHICS: 8

Not just another WWII game. This picks up the ball that Medal of Honor dropped. It has a wonderful story that keeps you involved and immersed. The graphics were decent. Fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Authentic and Strategic Shooter

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Mar 20, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

Brothers in Arms isn't like most other WWII games. This game involves a lot of strategy and cover. You can't go running around guns a blazing in this game, which I liked and disliked. The game really captured what it must have been like to fight a battle in WWII. You play as SGT. Matt Baker(hey thats a cool name, it almost sounds like mine, Matt Baucom)and you command up to two different squads at a time. In order to win on the battlefield you must pin down an enemy with suppressing fire and flank with another team. This is not always easy but most of the time you can figure it out. There is a built in overhead map called situational awareness view that lets you get a glimpse of the action and plan out your attack. The graphics were ok and enemy AI was good. But the friendly AI was mostly pretty dumb, running into the line of fire. In this game there are no health packs or regenerating health, but if you die too much then the game lets you heal all your people before starting at the last checkpoint again. The levels were a little hard for me because I'm not used to this style of game. But I still found it fun to play and figure out how to beat each level. The best part of this game is the story and story telling. It gives the characters a real sense of personality. Overall this game is a definite must play. I give it an 8, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good WWII shooter

posted by 007dude (HAHIRA, GA) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Had a great story and ending to show the second one plus was very realistic and tactical. Shows u our boys didn't win the war without earning it in blood

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stunning...

posted by PyroPred (MERIDEN, KS) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

This is one of the few World War II games that actually seems like it was made to be realistic. Most games have one man facing 300 of the Germans best soldiers and coming out the victor. Plus the fact that these maps are authentic helps out. The weapons are more realistic. Such as if you charge a heavy machine gun in this game you will be ripped apart. You must use your brain to find the best attack strategy. The weapons work best as they would in real life, through the iron sights when the stock is on your shoulder. Otherwise you might just be spraying rounds in all direction.

The multiplayer is amazing too. You can play great games with only two people, because you start out with 1 or 2 squads in all but one multiplayer level.

This is a great game. The only problem I had was with the small amount of weapons available for single player and the lack of MG turrets and maps on multiplayer. Other than that it is a solid game with a gripping story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by rfirish (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Aug 12, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

This game is cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best

posted by joelhart (OCALA, FL) Jul 3, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

The great AI (both enemy and ally) and realistic combat chaos makes this a great game. You don't always hit the target (in fact, most rounds don't) and you always have to worry about getting out-flanked, while you're trying to out-flank the enemy. I've played both Brothers in Arms games and love them both. I hope there are more to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »