Rent Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

9524 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Brothers in Arms: HE double hockey stick's Highway

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

PROS:

-Historically, it was a good time period of WWII to choose
-Good cover system
-Teammates respond very well
-Watching stuff blow up in slow motion is pretty entertaining

CONS:

-Voice-overs weren't the best, but could have been better
-Semi-short game, about 6-8 hours

FINAL THOUGHT:
This game is pretty good, it's definitely better than the previous Brothers in Arms entry Earned in Blood. This games does a lot of good things; Good cover system, teammates aren't stupid, enemies are very good at responding, weapons respond well, graphics were pretty decently good for next-gen, sound is well-done, and controls are nicely laid out. This game doesn't really have a lot of bad going for it, only what is listed above. Typical FPS properties still apply for this game, nothing spectacular, whatever you would expect from an FPS is here. Storyline is pretty obvious, just read up on Operation Market Garden from WWII and you will get the low down of the story. If you have played previous Brothers in Arms games such as; Road to Hill 30 or Earned in Blood, this game keeps the same premise, but for next-gen. Obviously you should rent before you buy, but it would be a good buy when it gets cheap, unless you are a BIA fanatic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

my thoughs on this highway...

posted by kmess17 (SAUGUS, MA) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

on a scale of 1 to 10 i give this game a 7, It's fairly good. You play as a squad leader in charge of anywhere from a machine gun team to a bazooka team, and you strategically place your men to attack and flank the enemy. Most of the time in the game is spent giving orders to your team and shooting from behind cover. So if your looking for a run & gun title like Call Of Duty your in the wrong place. My 3 biggest complaints about the game are the artificial intelligence, the controls, and the story line is sometimes hard to follow. Lets start off with the A.I., sometimes you may command your squad to position themselves behind a wall for example, and instead of taking cover behind the wall they jump over it, right in the line of fire. In the beginning the controls were hard to master, even after a few hours of game play the controls are still annoying. when your dug in, it's sometimes hard to come out of cover it's like your stuck whatever your hiding behind, and results in button mashing to get out. And last but not least, the story line. The way they place the events in the story could be confusing and have you wondering "what the heck?". Some things i like about the game are the action camera, it's nothing but gory awesomeness at its best. If your a military buff, you'll like the game, it's based on the 82nd airborne. The last thing i like is the destructive environment, if your hiding behind a wooden fence and it gets peppered with bullets it will start to come apart forcing you to take cover behind a solid object.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Groundbreaker

posted by SinMetal (SCRANTON, PA) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

32 out of 39 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This game shocked me. It recapped the preceding titles in the series, and put it all into a bundle of great first-person shooter game play and story. Unlike other FPS, where your character is a mindless and speechless drone, Brothers In Arms: HH gives you a refreshing experience with a character that you not only enjoy, but feel attached to. The story of Matt Baker and his squadron throughout Operation Market Garden was a wonderfully told juxtaposition of being in an actual war. The psychological and physical effects it takes on the mind and body. This title is in one way a conclusion to a story line, but the opening of a brand new one arises near the end. I would recommend this game to anyone nostalgic for a great WWII interpretation. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My impressions after passing BIA

posted by nightmare6 (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

23 out of 29 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

First of, let me just mention this, the game is good!!!. How good depends on you, but certainly a lot of fun and challenging. Its not hard, but you have to think, no rush and gun gameplay here.

Let me start with the controls. The controls take getting used to. It took me about 30 to 60 minutes to learn, a long time. You can change the controller's button layout, but they are all predetermined, and none are exactly what you want. A custom layout would have been welcomed. You can hardly turn when you run, but you get used to it.

The game has a LOT of glitches, from guys walking infinitely toward a wall, to you pressing the zoom button only to recognize two second later the game never registered that you are pressing the button, so he never zooms and you have to release the trigger and press it again. This still doesn't take away from the fun, which is amazing.

The game is simple and complicated at the same time. Lemme explain. Its simple in you move from one field to another and you find cover, and then flank them so you can shoot them yourself. Its complicated as the commands you issue aren't always followed (dam you bazooka team, always dying on me, when I tell you to move, MOVE!!!).

Multiplayer is HORRIBLE. I dont wish it on anyone. It is torture. It was just put in as a feature. Its the same mechanics as the single player, (so bad controls!!!), and basically there are two flags on the stage to capture. You are assigned to a squad and CANT change,so you are stuck with said squad's weapon loadout, not fun.

The story is well written and will keep you interested, but I had a hard time remembering who is who as the graphic are mostly Xbox 1 quality. Most memorable moments where setting up an ambush against incoming enemies in a warehouse in 10 seconds and watch as my team makes it to position just in time and slaughters them without any help. The tank segments are fun, and the areas are well planned and make you think everytime. Definitely a must play, rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best World War II adventure

posted by Bengals123 (WARE, MA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

49 out of 69 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The other reviewer thats here has clearly not played the game he has taken examples from the first two games and he read the latest review in OXM. The game has a pretty good story but at the beginning you need to recall who certain soldiers are but that gets shown in the opening scene. The different between other World War II shooters and this one is how this one actually has a storyline worth paying attention to. This game isnt like Call of Duty where u can go Rambo and win the game by yourself, you need to utilize your team members. The weapons have great historically accurate weapons. Authentic detail to uniforms and environments. Operation Market Garden has got to be the most unbelievable mission ever in a WWII game. There is so much going on around you artillery,tank shells. You feel like you dont even matter you feel like you are put there and you can easily be replaced. It gives you a feel of how WWII was. The great thing is that if you die and respawn artillery never hits the same spot twice. Downside to the game is checkpoint saving which can be really annoying. I didnt get to much into multiplayer but it seems decent its nothing like CoD4 or Gears of War but it is different than normal multiplayer games. Worth a rent, and if you love WWII worth a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

90/100 Great Game

posted by GameMast3r (ABILENE, TX) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Great Game.
All Except The Multiplayer.
The Amount Of Guns.
And The Amount Of Cars.
The Game Is Very Forward In The Story, But Its Great That The Game Lets You Take Cover, Unlike Most Games.
The Game Is Very Fun Except For The Shortage Of Squads.
So I Recommend This Game To Anyone Who Wants Gamerscore, Or You Just Like Killing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Single Player great, multiplayer dissaponting

posted by gamemonkey (CORONA, CA) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

13 out of 20 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

The story is great, i dont remember the other BIA games so the small recap reminds me of some parts, not servicable to tell the ENTIRE story so far but its okay.

The story is pretty much standard fare of WWII shooters, your a character going through hard times and every1 is dying around you etc. But the twist in the story is that the main character, Baker, is hallucinating and a bit insane, so it gives the story a creep factor unseen in a wwII shooter. Deaths from past games continue to haunt him with him hearing voices of the fallen and they confront him. A great story but the game ends with a dissapointing cliff hanger but not as bad as say Assassin's Creed or Halo 2.

The game mechanics is all about cover, squad leadership, suppresion and flanking. This is very fun to do and new scenarios emerge constantly, such as there is a flak in the area or a tank emerges. IMO the sound and animation is what makes this game great, the weapons sound just right and has that satisfaction to it when you shoot it and the controller rumbles, making it feel oh so right. The graphics were dissapointing especially when in first person, it looks like CoD1 in first person, but when in third person in cover, Baker animates well and looks good too so it balances out. One last thing, the authentic difficulty is not fair, with the crosshairs gone its very hard to aim with anything other than scoped rifle or machine gun. Your mostly in cover in the game, and when you aim out of cover its still third person, and w/o cross hairs you cant aim properly and you cant look down iron sights either.

Here comes the worst part of the game, the multiplayer. First of all, the multiplayer degrades the graphics, prob to relive the connection, but that leads to another problem. The connections terrible, it is unacceptable to play with that much lag in a console game even when the game reaches or is close to the cap of 20 player the lag picks up even if everyone has 3 green dots as a connection

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply.... Awesome....

posted by DevariouS (NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

So far in this series, I've now played every game. The game itself feels right on with the rest of the series, and nothing has been misplaced. The team behind the game goes in depth with their research to find out what really happened and then they transpire it into a game to make it an enjoyable one. The voice acting is perfect, the military jargon is right on, and most of all, its authentic to the core.

The story is /somewhat/ based off of the first Brothers In Arms game, titled "Road to Hill 30". If you've played the previous games, you'd enjoy this one.

The graphics are great, the storyline is superb, the destructible environments are simply cool (I mean, who WOULDNT want to launch a bazooka or a panzerfaust into a MG42 team and blow up the wall?!), and their new cover system is ALOT better than the previous installations. If you are a fan of Rainbow Six Vegas 1 & 2, the cover system is identical.

However, even though I rated it a perfect 10, I played about 2 hours of multiplayer. The multiplayer, from what I've played, isnt /that/ great, but all in all, its still gets a 10/10 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brother in arms review

posted by ragingtyra (OSKALOOSA, IA) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Lets start with the story... It was excellent along with the cinematics. The game play was also awesome, except for a few levels where is was just you (matt) baker alone going through a mental stage of the old brothers in arms. New to the game or old fan favorites, everyone will love this squad based shooter. Thats why i gave it a 8 out of 10. Brothers in arms should be the next game on your game Q...Tahnks ragingtyrant out. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great WWII game.

posted by Ligaberto (VERO BEACH, FL) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Wow, I really like this game. It's a must have now if you like WWII shooters. Excellent tactic shooter. Graphics are great including the slow motion when hitting a headshot or a granade. Historically very accurate with the recon areas giving historical information about the place you are fighting in.

It could have been a perfect game if it didn't have such a disappointing multiplayer. No co-op or different types or multiplayer games makes this game a finish and forget game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Really good single, Horrible multiplayer!!!!

posted by Mama1181 (MEDFORD, NY) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Let's start by talking about the singleplayer. the graphics and sound quality are amazing. the gameplay is awesome and the guns are pretty cool. the controls are also pretty good, but its going to take time to get used to the controls. the game is pretty short but its a lot of fun. this is definitly a game that you do not want to buy. this is a renter!!!!!

multiplayer is really bad. no matter how good of an internet connection you have you will still lag. the gun selection is horrible. you only get to choose from 3 guns. Guns vary depending on the group your in. the maps are confusing and the achievements are all 0.

so in the end it is a good single not so good multiplayer!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not a bad game

posted by MrRicci (LAUREL, DE) May 6, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty interesting. It takes place during world war II. The specific year I believe is 1944 and the game is a lot like the call of duty games except with worse graphics. It is fun but on the other hand rather short. I beat it in about 6 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game guys

posted by phillyking (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

15 out of 28 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

ok this is a good game nice gameplay and The game has great cinematics with the obligatory Band of Brothers/Saving Private Ryan cinematography, while the excellent tutorial mission eases you into the game's cover-based combat system. It's heavily based on the "find, fix, flank, finish" combat style actually employed during the war, which means you have to pin your enemy down and then attack from a different angle to finish him off. You can use your teammates in either the fixing or flanking role, but you need to fire at the enemy until the red circle above his head turns gray to indicate he's been pinned down.
e so give it a rent or buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

As Good As Any WWII Shooter

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Sep 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Even after all the WWII shooters that have gone before, this is still an enjoyable game with some new and fresh features. Beware the learning curve on the controls. I was sending nades flying every time I wanted to crouch, sprint, or change weapons. =) Also the squad control scheme takes a bit of learning as well, but you will work your way through it by the second chapter.

Very enjoyable so far on casual. I may have to step up the difficulty when I play this again tomorrow.

I read about this game in several of the mags before it arrived in the mail today. There seems to be some concerns about the checkpoints. I have not found them to be an issue at all so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BIA has does it again

posted by mett1982 (ROME, NY) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been a huge fan of the BIA serious since the first game and this one is no exception. It stays true to it's original game by being a video game that actually tells a heart filled, compelling story about the men of the 101st airborne division. It has some pretty cool new features like actually being able to "dig in" behind cover which the other games did not have. You get to command not only your original assault and fire team but adding on to your squad is your bazooka and MG team. The graphics are decent, much better than the other two. It's not like other war games like call of duty where basically you run all over the level and get out untouched. Here you have to use strategic planning to reach your objectives. All in all what this game has that no other game does is not only did they focus on the game play but they focused more on the characters in the game. They brought feeling to these characters which makes you want to know about them. If they get hurt or even survive. And how war changed these young men of 101st. And for that only I think this game is beyond a 10! Bravo to the people that made this awesome game. I can't wait for the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brothers In Arms: HH

posted by SgtSkull (MARTELL, NE) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game...wasn't the best thing there ever was. BIA:HH has a very good campaign explaining the story of Sgt. Baker. I personally thought the game was way better than COD3. The game could've been better graphically and multiplayer as well.

Ratings:
Graphics:9/10
Sound:10/10
Multiplayer:2/10
Campaign:10/10
Overall: 8/10

Note: Hopefully Gearbox will make the second game better and with an improved multiplayer, worth the rent, but not the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by lilleypadz (SUMMERFIELD, NC) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game's campaign is much better than the call of duty and halo ones, and its long enough to keep you playing for days, the controls are really easy and its story is amazing. The online could get boring after a while but this is definitely a game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty Good game

posted by Akilla21 (MANASSAS, VA) May 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First, let me say how I enjoy WWII shooters more than any other game genre around. And while Brothers In Arms has great detail, pretty good story line (Kind of Soaperish), nice shooting and pretty good control over the AI. I find the game somewhat basic... The SP game is pretty short but interesting, now the MP... What a disgrace to the 101st Airborne. The MP isn't a consideration to the way the game plays, there are so few players, that you might as well not play the MP.

However, the SP keeps your attention going for a few days if nothing else. I would not purchase the game, but a rental is fine. After 4 days of playing and completing the SP, I'm returning it to Gamefly to colloect dust while sitting on their shelves. GearBox, keep working on it. I would recommend release the map controls, allow a player to roam freely. Be more like Rockstar with the free roaming style of play. Allow a player to search building to building, encounter enemies at random. Give options for photo recon so that a player can further guage on the enemies location. Allow for a sniper solo mission without a foe taking one shot at you and you turning red. That has to be the worst part of the game. It seems they designed the game more for squad control than cover, fire and maneuver. I do hope Rockstar come out with a WWII game that has free control, surprise enemies and just an all out shooter. Storm the beaches of Omaha in and allow the AI to get hit instead of immediate shots towards you. The computer can't miss when you pop your head up.

Other than that, it is a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweeeet!

posted by Shirleyafi (ALVIN, TX) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

this game is real good, i just got in 30 min ago from my doorstep and im just sucked into it. the story line is great, it picks up from road to hill 30. so if u havent played that, no worries. it will tell u. i havent played online yet though, i will when i complete Campiagn. BUY THIS GAME
Graphics-9
Gameplay-10
Story-10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DO NOT BUY

posted by sacthomas2 (RIO LINDA, CA) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

What a disapointment.Horrible A.I.,dodgy controls,weak graphics,and an unplayable online componet.An all around WEAK title.Shame on you ubisoft!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hang in there it gets better.

posted by JoeVegas (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Hang in there it gets better, don't dispair, the beginning sucks, the controls are not so good and not intuitive, the graphics are not great and very glitchy, I was about to return it after 30 minutes of playing because it gets frustrating to learn all the controls, but after an hour I got good at it so I kept playing and it's ok, it's not great but it's worth a rental.
It's nowhere near as good as COD2 where the gameplay is easy and you can learn everything in 5 minutes, and the graphics and the guns are way better on COD2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ehh ok but not something i would buy

posted by zBaCkFiR3 (GREENVILLE, NC) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

campaign was fun except the cut scenes had the pop in thing where random stuff would appear and online is so laggy you cant even play it so that is why i gave it a 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SO-SO

posted by PolarBear (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

single player story is pretty good. had to finish it. annoyingly long cut scenes u cant skip. on line not great. once u play cod4 u cant go back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst WWII Game / Worst First Person Shooter

posted by JP3877 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 26 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

That pretty much sums it up the only good things about this game, are, well the graphics but to me thats any game worth playing today should have great graphics with the systems and tvs available to us today all games should have good graphics or just shouldn't be made. So, that being said, this one still shouldnt have been made, the guns appropriately suck as I am sure they did in wwII. The Grenade throwing is by far the worst i have ever seen. and the AI of the squads you control should as usual be called artificial stupidity instead of artificial intelligence. I recommend not renting this game, telling all your friends not to rent or buy this game and you write a letter to ubisoft asking them why they chose to make another wwii game when it is so overdone and played out, not to mention making one that is so completely not fun to play.
In summary THIS GAME SUCKS< RUN AWAY FROM IT NEVER LOOK AT IT AND MOST DEFFINATELY NEVER EVER EVER PLAY IT, it is just a waste of your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Monkey Controls

posted by gameguy96 (MESA, AZ) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I was excited to play BIA:HH and now I’ve played it and… This should have been a film. It feels more like a movie than a game. The cinematic sequences are the best part of BIA:HH. The controls are the worst part; no control with the exception of fire is intuitive. It’s like they handed a controller to a monkey and recorded what was pressed while the monkey held the controller. Had the controls been better would it have been a better gaming experience? No. While the graphics are gorgeous the game play gets insanely repetitive. Suppress, flank - rinse and repeat ad nauseam. Even the story, while looking like a movie, is told in fragments plucked from random points in time and then brought together into a very mediocre narrative.

There are a lot of characters in BIA:HH and now that I’ve finished it I don’t particularly like any of them, including Baker, the character you play. But beyond a name and a different shaped face none of them have any depth underneath their finely rendered scruffy man skin. It does have some great slow motion effects for things like head shots and grenade dismemberment.

BIA:HH is a nice rental for those who love cinematic sequences.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse