Rent Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway for PS3
view large frontback

Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.5

3285 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Under Rated?

posted by BigGuy516 (TORREY, UT) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yes, this game is more than under rated. People need to calm down and just play the game. Everyone is all butt hurt because it's nothing like Call of Duty, well if you wanna play Call of Duty then don't rent a game called Brothers in Arms... Brothers in Arms can be frustrating, but thats because it's realistic. All of these people that play the Call of Duty are used to the unrealistic feel of the weopons and the perfect accuracy the game delivers to give the player an easy and enjoyable experience. But Brothers and Arms is about tactics and always has been, not just running around "runnin' and gunnin'''. And I read in a low rated review that the circles above the enemy are health meters for the bad guys... well he's an idiot, they have nothing to do with the enemeis health, it simply just shows how suppressed the enemy is by your gun fire. And the graphics are fine, it's just the style people can't stand. This game is a work of art and requires patients and smarts to play. If you're a fan of the old Brothers and Arms you'll love it, but if you've never played them then rent it and give it a shot, it could grab you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WW2 at its Best

posted by husker (GARDEN CITY, KS) Oct 11, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

If you have been watching the game play videos for this game or played other Brothers in arms games. You know how this game will handle. The main story is continued and definitely delivers. On the videos you see German body parts falling off right and left, this is in no way a representation of the real game. I found that it was a lot harder to do, and that, not every grenade or rocket will cause this phenomenon to happen. Also the destructible cover is almost no where to be found or when it is there it's almost never the best strategic point. Thankfully the squad AI has been improved by leaps and bounds I remember many times in the first game if I moved up but moved around a machine gun or 88 canon, so as not to expose myself to fire. Then called my squad over they would not ever follow the same path but just run out in the middle of the battlefield and get shot. This happens sometimes but for the most part your squads always keeps there heads down and try there hardest to stay alive, I found they almost did a better job of this than myself. There are also many solo parts, and for a game that concentrates on squad based combat, they seemed out of place and also teach the player that there squad mates are meaningless and they can do everything on there own. The graphics are passable, but don't really WOW. And the game does have multiplayer, its not deep or great, but its there. The story was very good though and it definitely keep me killing the Germans to the end. If you love the Brothers in Arms games, or WWII you will in no way be disappointed in the game and it is a great way to spend a weekend. If your looking for the next COD4 early, sorry to say this game just doesn't stand up. Never forget that it does have its own unique story that really make you care for the soldiers your commanding and fighting with.
Not very many games do that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than WWII COD

posted by Bburn69 (VANDERGRIFT, PA) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is definitely underrated on Gamefly. I'd give it an 8. The controls can feel clunky or foreign to those used to COD or BC, and this can be frustrating. Just as zooming in and firing and "hitting" your target without him actually being hit can be frustrating. That must be a bug.

You must remember that this is a TACTICAL SHOOTER. It is not the run and gun style of COD. That being said, this game totally blows away any WWII COD game, not to mentiion Rainbow Six as tactical. Better story, and characters and is much, much more realistic. I never played the first two Brothers in Arms and, so to me this is like a blend of COD and Full Spectrum Warrior, which is good.

I have a feeling that the Call of Duty fanboys negatively reviewed this to the point to where it stands at a 6.5 on the PS3. That is BS. If you like tactical shooters and FPS, then this is well worth the rent. Don't believe the hate!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brothers In Arms: Hel1's Highway By Gearbox

posted by popeye065 (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sorry Or Not This Is The Review In Nutshell.

This Game Is For Gamers Looking For A Different Kind Of Shooter, Sorry COD & MOH Fans. The Game Is More Strategy Base Than A Straight Up Shooter Like The Other Billion & One WW2 Shooters. Your A Sergeant & You Tell Your Soldiers Where To Go & What Squads To Suppress, Just Looking & Holding The L1 Or Whatever You Please. What Shocker There Is Actually A Story Besides Killing Nazis, Nope! Sorry Not Possible That Would Actually Mean Some Game Comps. Give A $h.!T About Gamers Entertainment. Yes, Baker(You) Is Being Haunted By His Old Friend, You Now Cassper Obviously, No Wait! Oh No It's Leggett, A Soldier That Baker Put In Charge Of A Squad With Close Men To Everyone. Then They Die Under Leggets Watch, He Tells Baker. After He Hears What Happened Baker Said Never Tell Anyone About What Really Happened. Keeping Secrets Wasn't Leggetts Specialty As He Went Insane When Him, Baker & Other Soldiers Are Fighting Off Germans Trying To Break Through Hill 30. While Bakers Was Hit & Laying On The Floor Legget Could Not Get A Respond Through The Radio & A Few Moments Later Jumps Up The Ditch Yelling,"TAKE ME!". Like I Wrote Baker Is Haunted By Leggett, In Multiple Parts He Appears, He Is One Of The Best Easter Eggs I've Seen This Gen, You Will Not Understand Till You Play This Game How Good The Feeling Of Being Haunted. Ok, Back Leggett In His Final Moments When He Was Exposed To Enemies He Was Holding Bakers Pistol. The Pistol Is Believe By Soldiers To Be Curse As Everyone Besides Baker Die Who've Hold It. Small Part Of The Story But A Good Part To Be In The Story.
This Game Is Rated 10 Because Of The Amazing Story & Great Game Play. I Did Not Include To Rate This Game Lower Because Of The Non-Entertaining Multi. The Multi Is Not A Reason At All To Play This Game Single Will Player Will Be Certainly Entertain Much Longer.

Note The Mispelling Of H.E.L.L & Cas.per Was Bc Gamefly said It Was Innapropriate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great WWII eperience!

posted by Zeee13 (FAIRVIEW, OR) Aug 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i was really shocked when the game got such a low rating ! its actually really fun and intresting...
---((graphics))--- are not the best ,but they are defenetly next gen grafix
---((controles))--- are not as smooth ..but u will get used to them..
---((story))--- its based on real events so like it or not thats what really happened !
---((gameplay))--- its really good ,ok I'm gonna remind u of an war old game we played on ps2 were u control your team its called CONFLICT:Desert Storm..yay good old school tactics..well this one is the same u have an assault team and a bazooka team and u control wich one attacks what part ..
if u like shooters and u are waiting for a good game to come out this is a good game to play while waiting...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

"A standout if I've ever seen one."

posted by Thechubby1 (SNOW CAMP, NC) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This new Brothers in Arms has become one of the top WWII shooters in my book. I'd rank it up there with Call of Duty 2.

The series third installment pits Sgt. Matt Baker with opening the Highway, a supply line crucial to the daring but doomed Operation Market Garden. Along the way he struggles with his leadership decisions and is haunted by old memories.

Gameplay - 8/10 - The combat has been upgraded with a simple cover system that works very well. Add in a few new squad types and you've got a recipe for strategizing.
Graphics - 8/10 - Brothers in Arms never looked so good! The facial animations are amazing and the characters move with life-like motions.
Story - 7/10 - Basically a retelling of the Market Garden operation but the story within it stands out. Baker's internal conflicts draw you close to the squad, and was tugging on my heart strings in the game's final cutscene.
Overall - 8/10 - A standout in the ridiculously overdone WWII genre, and deserves a rental, at the very least. Gearbox and Ubisoft have created yet another great Brothers in Arms game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

QA dept didn't do their job, but game still ok

posted by mindsaber (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

It's tough to review FPSs these days. Everyone is a "connoisseur" of FPSs now, and so it's tough to communicate to people whether a game is 'good' or not. Overall though, if you're jonesin for a FPS fix, this game is worth a rental.

The graphics are pretty good for a port. Don't expect COD4 or anything though. However the colors are vibrant, the environments have plenty of detail. The framerate is mostly solid too.

The gameplay is a mixed bag. The game heavily emphasizes cover and strategic positioning of your various squads to move through levels. The difficulty level is definitely above average here- this is not some "hey lookit me I'm Rambo" FPS. There's a certain realism here- you die quickly if staying in the open.

Now you're wondering about the title of my review- well there are some minor bugs with the cover system. Once you take cover, your character can move, but the way they have it set up- it can be troublesome to move while in cover-mode- ESPECIALLY if the barrier curves. I found myself time and time again struggling to simply get my character to properly move around while in cover. It's tough to describe- you'll see what I mean.

The other major flaw with the game, are your squaddies. The guy holding the bazooka, well quite frankly he sucks at his job. Even if positioned perfectly, he can't aim to save his life. The other annoying thing is the bazooka team will only fire once (which like I said he'll miss). So you have to constantly re-tell him to fire on a target.

Which brings me to the next criticism: the controls. The controls are not customizable. How devs rationalize not making controls customizable I'll never know. Trying to move a squad to a certain location can be a hassle- you'll see what I mean.

The story is a bit over dramatic. I get what they were trying to do here, but this ain't Spielberg & Saving Private Ryan. It comes off as sappy and faux-profound. Worse yet you can't skip the cutscenes.

Overall: decent FPS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game

posted by phoompapa (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 30, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is so amazing. I can't believe the average rating is 7. This game is a 9-10. The story is compelling, exciting, and very well written. The levels are beautiful and well constructed. I have never seen fire so accurately displayed in a video game. I literally had my mouth agape for half of these missions. I'm sure with all the games coming out in the next few months, this game might get overlooked, but trust me.....you want this game next.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Disappointing

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

22 out of 36 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

I just finished playing Brother's in Arms, and if only I hadn't allowed myself to have high expectations, I may have enjoyed it more. I expected a bit more from this game, because they advertised it as hyper realism and realistic combat system etc. Well, the combat system is about the only thing it has going for itself. It's equivalent to the combat system found on most of your older Ghost Recon and Rainbow Six games, but the significant difference is that the concept works alot better for this game.

The graphics are weak and I would barely call it a true next gen game. The draw distance is so bad that grass literally grows before my eyes as I walk. The environment doesn't take any real damage from grenades or gun fire. The adult themes are PG-13 at best and the story line must have been put together by Homer Simpson's dad.

Pros: A decent working squad command system.

Cons: Poor graphics, poor environments, and a poorly told story.

Overall, this game is about two years late for release. I would recommend renting it to pass the time until Far Cry 2, Fallout 3, and Call of Duty release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Get in the bunker

posted by MrWillz (CLAYSBURG, PA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ww2 epic storyline grabbed me right away. Very realistic game.

Downside online play is very limited and i played online 2 and never went back,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Draven26 (HERMON, ME) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. I was a big fan of the previous games in the series and this is just as good if not better. The graphics are hit are miss, bight colorful scenery gives way to 2d grass in spots and there are a few small bugs I noticed but everything else is great! The combat system is great and much more realistic than most FPS. You are forced to take cover or die...very basic concept. The goal is to take your squads and position them to supress and flank the enemy targets. The story starts off where the previous games left off. It has a touch of sensitivity towards war that is lacking in most war based games. It brings it down to earth and see that war is indeed torture for the mind and soul. One of the best games i have played in a while!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NOT CALL OF DUTY

posted by bozo192 (STUDIO CITY, CA) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

7 out of 17 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS WAY MORE REASLISTIC THAN COD4, ur not supposed to rush the ememy guns blazing! what u think that people wage wars like that in reality. u need to use tactics and ur brain

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Didn't Like It

posted by sturgill90 (PENNINGTON GAP, VA) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I just don't like war games were I have to lead other characters and direct their every move. It gets confusing and I start worrying too much about telling everyone else to go and not enough about killing the bad guys. This game is not bad, but just not my thing. Plus, when you pick up an enemy's weapon, you can't choose which one of your own weapons that you want to replace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No judge too fast!

posted by Gwizzy (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I almost judged it too fast.. the controls felt odd.. and if you like to just run in guns blazing.. don't try. But when I came back to it.. I realized the story & suppress/flank with your team movement was a welcome change. Now it may not we without it's problems, controls, camera movement, etc.... but all can be gotten used to once you wrap yourself into the story & gameplay tactics. Don't be to quick to rent it and send it back... it's worth the effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

weak

posted by ccook9 (LANCASTER, CA) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

with all the other choices out there tis one falls short. The squad controls have way to many flaws and its basically just the same thing over and over. Enough WW2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just a SP

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It feels like the mP graphics are a complete downgrade from the single player graphics.Now I also I find the frame rates are very unsteady and the AI to be unresponsive at times.I love the story and the realistic hit detection system but thats about it,mabey a patch to completely fix the MP graphics lag,plus add better maps and game modes mabey then it would still have hope So if anyone is looking to this game for some online excitement Dont bother this is just an average SP game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by GamerLikeU (WEST RICHLAND, WA) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 21 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

I've been playing call of duty 4 and i was hoping this would at least be half as good and at first the terribly graphic video seemed like it might be a kinda interesting story despite it being another WWII game nobody misses, but once that 10 min video ends all the he!1 talked about in the title reveals itself the graphic got even worse it actually looked like a ps2 game(not even a new one either)and you learn the guns look like cans of chili with unneeded stocks on the ends of them, the aiming is ridiculous the enemies have like a time limit clock looking health bar that has to complete a full rotation before they die and it moves about as fast as a clock on the wall. they also expect you to know all of the controls right away without them, telling you what they are. I'm not trying to make this all official like the last guy on here i seen with a review I'm just trying to worn you this is a horrible game and i wouldn't recommend it to my enemies let alone fellow gamefly members. I sent this back as soon as i could (Monday because i got it Saturday) my only regret was that i couldn't send it back sooner maybe flag down the mail man ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

controls

posted by duk774 (EAGLE POINT, OR) Sep 27, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

I just found the controls lacking. Not like most shooters. I got frustrated and let it go at that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is ok not great

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

I don't really like this game it's ok but not great the controller is awful even take cover it's pretty bad I try to set the other controller setting it's pretty bad I don't even like blind fire it was awful too and you control your team mate but he do does the work sometime when you shoot the enemy you dont hit the enemy and when you take cover and stuff they hit you don't even notice it and you dont know who hit you at times don't get this game it's not worth renting or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Story yeah! Gameplay unbearble

posted by playstationfan0 (BRADFORD, AR) May 24, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

Has a great story but the gameplay is awful and to add on it has no trophy support so yeah i'll play a different WWII classic this one is a miss sadly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game better than call of doody

posted by buccshot (PORTAGE, MI) Feb 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Brothers In Arms is terribly underrated, these games are fun and challenging. It has some quirks but over all it is well worth the time to play it. Earned in blood was one of my favorite games on the PS2 and I still own it to this day. If you like FPS but don't want to be a one man wrecking crew like COD then check this game out. Just don't forget to use your squads, if you try to kill everyone yourself you will fail more than you think. This is strategy not mindless action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by NickBauer (FLORENCE, OR) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

A solid game but I never finished because once you've played through amazing games like Uncharted, it's hard to play lesser quality games because you've spoiled yourself with the best of the best already. This is still worth a rent though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

i give this game an 8 its a very good game and its long to so thats a good thang.to its kind of bad that you have to do most of the work your self so that it wont take for ever to beat the missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST WWII PS3 game to date

posted by SCANDER (MUSKEGON, MI) May 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

I saw the preview for this game on T.V. The commerical was one of the best I've seen for a Video game ever! The woman talking her saying in a chilling voice "itll be the last thing you'll ever see" was just about as powerful/moving as the eminem superbowl commerical. But anyway, I have played COD 3, World at War and Black-OPS (black-ops being the best in the series in my opinion as far as game play and story line" and I've played medal of honor airborne and frontline but none of them have the realistic action as well as historical accuracy as B.I.A Hells highway does. I never played the previous brothers in arms games for the PS2 but I wish I had (Not sure if my 120GB slim model is backwards compatible?) but this one beats all other WWII shooters without a doubt in every aspect except maybe some game play graphics but thats a close one with Airbourne. COD 3 graphics were so so and the story line was nothing like Hells Highway. If you watched te "Band of Brothers" mini series on HBO you know charaicters like "Colonel Sink" and others from the 101st airborne were real people and the actor from Band of Brothers must have done the voice for hells highway for sink cuz its dead on. I agree with the other person who said you get to know and care about the soilders your commanding. The story line is excelllent and the gameplay is perfect once you get the hang of it. I was looking into when the next one is coming out and got a bunch of different answers and all I could find was that they released a new one for the GD IPHONE? Whats up with that!? I want a new one for PS3 like tomorrow! They need to finish the story till the end of the war! This game is more then a game its a educational supmersive experince that helps you understand what emotions and pain our boys went through in Europe well fighting the Nazis. My grandpa did in Italy 10th Mountain division and this game helps me understand what he went through and this is why I love WWII games so much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i tried playing this game

posted by djpshizzle (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

This Game Crashed On My PS3 And Could Not Play It Again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse