Rent Brothers in Arms: Earned in Blood for PS2
view large frontback

Brothers in Arms: Earned in Blood

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.9

751 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak follow-up game from the strong momentum

posted by jynxx25 (FAIRFIELD, CA) Jul 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In all honesty, I just did not catch onto this game. I liked the first Brothers in Arms, I thought it was a good storyline, game play, and smoother control. I did not like in the beginning how the story of the soldier would cut into the middle of the game play, really distracting. I felt the control on this game was more of a hassle than the first game. I like WWII games, but I felt this game did not offer anything more to the Normandy invasion or any other battle. Honesty, how many Normandy invasions can you do before you start getting bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucky game

posted by Davedogg (SISSETON, SD) Aug 27, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

i hated this game, the graphics sucked, you cant see any thing, the game is skippy when you move, cant get the aim curser on the enemy, the recoil on the gun is messed up, a real gun does not shoot up that badly, you shoot a gun, the gun should just be barely off the target, not 10 ft above it, this is a not buy or rent game, cuz it sucks.

Thank You
Sincerly yours,

DAVEDOGG

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Brothers in Arms

posted by Etched (PASCOAG, RI) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I felt that the game really didn't change much. the two player mode was good but the missions just didn't hold the interest. I think ways to improve this game would be more missions and better controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Another Good Idea gone terriblly wrong

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Apr 25, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok while i love first person shooter games i do not like the kind of game this is Why? One because of the Aimming system excuse me but i think if the Ai hits you every time then when your pointed at their head and shoot they should get hit, and why do you think that someone holding a rifle cant keep the thing steady I know the aim will move but not as much as it does in the game , in the game it is like the Guy your playing is drun. And Excuse me but The Game is way off on how much the Muzzle will rise if they did in real life like they do in the game it is a wonder anyone ever got Killed in the war , barrel rise of two ft from one shot I think not. Now to the other Big Problem with the game, Why is my guy moving like he is in water and everyone else moves like they are in High speed, and theres no way to make your guy run? excuse me but in war you need to be able to run, but in this game you can barely walk at a Slow crawl. If you ask me the Problem with Games today is the Game Companies think that the Games have to be as realistic as Possible or so they think but if you ask me the Programmers have no idea what Realistic is, so they get everything wrong like in this game.Oh and just because a Controller has so many buttons doesnt mean they all have to be used Somethings in this game dont really need to be in the game, and what is up with the turning speed i mean sheeeeeeeesh you either have to turn the speed up so much that you cant aim at anything because the controller is to sensitive or you turn it down so you can control the movement and then it takes forever to turn around.Oh and Not being able to see what your shooting at even when it is five feet from you is just wrong I really doubt that Every German Uniform was exactly the same color as the background no matter what color it was. And finally is the big problem of having no way to heal then again if the AI soilders werent able to hit you everytime they shoot you wouldnt need a way to heal yourself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

what to like about this game

posted by carmine (STATEN ISLAND, NY) May 16, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

To answer my own question i did not find anything about this game i really liked, except the graphics and scenery were done nice and the over view shots were a nice touch. The command functions were hard to understand and use and before you can shoot anything you needed to do too many things for a shoot up game I was sadly disappointed. I think it needed to teach you the controls before putting you in the game right away was the big mistake at that point it is just too late. I gave this game a #1. I have played allot of war games but this was the worst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game.

posted by Taylor (SHELBYVILLE, IN) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The two-player option is what made me love this game. The skirmish mode made it. But, once you get sick of the missions, you're pretty much done, seeing as how there aren't very many of them. The gameplay is just about the same as the original, but if you love the original, you'll love this too just as long as you're not looking for something totally different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WW2 is great but some problems

posted by Epilogued (NORTH FREEDOM, WI) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

BiA: EiB is a good game, don't get all mad at me but I'm a fan of WW2 and plus i'm a gamer so it makes it great, going through normandy and experiencing the battles and commanding a squad all of that's great but when I was in battle i was going up behind two krauts and i shot with my thompson and i knew i hit them but the didn't die and then i died because they got me...kind a confusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) May 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

This game was so horrible I don't want to start... it all starts with horrible graphics. They were so lame i bet I could make better graphics! Lame storyline. Pointless objectives. Trying to mix FPS with strategy is not right. It's either a run and gun First Person Shooter or a strategy game. Not both. I wasted a spot on my gamefly list for this lousy game. DON'T RENT!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not the best game

posted by toyman (GOODRICH, MI) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

Im sorry to say that i dont care for this game its game play is not very good. its history is quite good but its game play and step by step is not very good (i did finish the game)its not very good i have played many games better then this sorry for the bad rateing but thats just mine i hope you enjoy if you rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fair to midland

posted by firemang (LEVITTOWN, PA) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

Not a bad game but just not a very good one. Too much information, too busy and there is a fine line between challenging and impossibly hard. This game crosses that line too many times to be fun. Ok to to burn a rental on, but I'm glad I never shelled out the duckets to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

THIS GAME IS NOT FOR GAMERS!!!

posted by Nickp777 (NASHVILLE, TN) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

If you are a hardcore, military, in your face action gamer; this game is not for you. The game has a good plot. And maybe even GREAT graphics, IF were in the year 2000. However, the gameplay is not one that you want to continue to play a decade from now. Exp- On most military games, the zoom function makes it much easier to take down an enemy. On this particular game the zoom function is horrible. In very few words, if you dont care for gameplay and suspense, this is for you. But, my opinion is that THIS GAME IS NOT FOR GAMERS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sucked

posted by eatdrums (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Jan 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

I expected big things from this game, but I agree with some others. The graphics were terrible, aiming was a complete pain in the rear, and ordering interface wasn't up to par with other squad games. Your squad is useless in fighting the enemy, and seeing where you are in relation to your enemy is almost impossible. Huge disappointment!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing

posted by duffchief (Box Elder, SD) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

I am a huge fan of WWII FPS's. I got about twenty minutes into this one and was so frustrated with the controls, I had to shut it off. There is no reticle to see where you are shooting, the squad control is difficult and awkward, and it does not have a smooth flow to the action. If you want a good WWII game, look at the Medal of Honor series. I was not happy, so pass this one by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

it was boring rent another game 0o=)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by letmakewar (MIAMI, FL) Nov 29, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

it was boring call of duty was ten times better this was a waste of my time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BROTHERS IN ARMS

posted by 1GAMER4LIF (VICTORVILLE, CA) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

WELL I LIKED THE GAME ITS KINDA LIKE ALL THE OTHER WAR GAMES BUT ITS NOT THE GREATEST BUT IT IS STILL GOOD I DIDNT PLAY THE FIRST ONE YET SO I DONT KNOW IF IT IS BETTER THAN THE FIRST ONE OR NOT BUT IT WAS GOOD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Expected the best, got the worst.

posted by lolWaffles (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 18, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Don't take my word for it, but this is just another WW2 shoot'em up. Oh, for kicks they tossed in a bit of tactical game play.

I mean, after Medal of Honor, I was just burned out on the whole "Run along straight path taking out faceless German people." concept. So yeah, expect more of the same only this time the storyline is presented to you from yet another soldier from an more dramatic point of view. Yawn.

So, now we get into game play. See where it says online? They forgot to add in the "lol, j/k". I was able to connect, make a nice little account and when I got to the server screen it showed me that both lobbies were empty. I don't know if it's like this all the time, and seeing how the game is I don't really care to know.

The game play itself is your average run and gunnery action game. You crouch, you jump, you strafe and shoot. Oh, with the added touch of of tactics. This is simply having your team shoot at the enemy while you flank them. Sounds nice, but doing this too often when you can just run down on the enemy is annoying.

Ok, so we hit the sounds. Your standard arrangement of dramatic hero music is playing, as if ubisoft and EA share the same WW2 audio library. You get all the authentic pops and pinks of the rifles and the cracks and fizzles of everything else.

Next are the graphics. Not bad, especially during the nice little cinematics. Theres gun smoke from your muzzle when you fire, stuff like that. Although it was annoying to actually stare down the barrel of my rifle when zooming in.

So that's -2 for the story. -2 for stale game play mechanics. -1 for the online being a bust, and -2 for the sound.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I love WW2 FPS

posted by WW2FPS (Panama City, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since May 2005

BIA2 held true to the original game and I mean from the graphic to the AI. However I did not hold my interest like it's original. I thought the battles were a bit more drawn out to fewer options per battle. Overall it was a great challenge and a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »