Rent Brothers in Arms: Double Time for Wii
view large frontback

Brothers in Arms: Double Time

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.7

389 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

its . . . . eh ... ok

posted by Diezeldog (CHESTER, VA) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked the graphics, I wasn't crazy about all the movie clips during game. would probably be better to play with a regular remote than the nunchuck combo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

"Double Time" An average WWI game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 26, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In this WWII game, you're fighting the Germans with a squad or two of soldiers or tanks.
In each mission, you and your men are basically out to shoot every German on the field using squad based tactics.
In fact, they should just tell you at the beginning of almost every mission to just "Shoot the Germans".
How do you achieve that goal? First, you find cover near the enemy, have your squad take the cover and keep the Germans occupied with fire, and you go in and shoot the Germans while they're busy fighting off your men.
Then you repeat it again - and again - and again.
Those looking for a run and gun game will want to look elsewhere; if you try that here, you'll get killed.
The game also lacks visual punch - even by Wii standards.
Another major problem with Double Time is the field can get crowded with so many units that the Wii system can't keep up.
The game will freeze up for about a second, and there will be jerky motions of all soldiers.
Still, if you can look past these flaws (and the long load times), and if you like strategic shooters, then you will like what's offered in this game. It's very satisfying to sneak up on the bad guys and shoot them with various guns.
Brothers In Arms: Double Time is a game to rent and try to see if it's one you want to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Here's the skinny.

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Since I'm reviewing a port of two games. I'm just going to get to the point. If you've played the games on the PC/PS2/XBOX, and are hoping for new material, just stop reading now and look elsewhere.

Pros:
Two games for the price of one.
Easy control setup, with effective gesture commands.
Bonus materials come already unlocked.
Great for FPS, and squad based strategy gamers alike.
Smooth IR aiming.
No game breaking bugs.

Cons:
No Multiplayer what so ever.
Aim Down sights has been replaced with a zoom-in feature.
No upgrades in graphics or performance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

brothers in arms

posted by irishjab (KINGS PARK, NY) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

great gaming! the extras are great-particularly the weapons explanations. The higher levels become very tactical so its not just mindless shooting at stuff. It seems that every action you take has a response- if you take a different tactic, the Germans respond differently so replays are not the same old thing.
very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game.... But already done.

posted by Predator12 (CONCORD, CA) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I own both Road to Hill 30, and Earned In Blood. They are some of my favorite games. It was cool to hear that BIA: Double Time was coming for the Wii! After renting it, I realized it was the same two game I had grow to love, now on the Wii! I was happy and sad at the same time. New name... Same two games... Great buy if you do not own the first two games already. If, you do. You won't need to buy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The definition of a port

posted by GoCubs (DPO, AE) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I owned the previous two games on the xbox, Road to Hill 30 and Earned in Blood. Both were awesome games and were one of my favorites. Double Time is both of these games in one package. This may sound incredible, but unfortunately manyy things in this game do not deliver. Like:

-Bad controls
-Wierd button mappings (ex: C is to crouch, Z is to look down the sights.. etc)
- No Multiplayer

This doesnt mean the game is bad though. It still is the games that made the series famous. It still is a legendary campaign. However, the controls nearly ruin the experience.
There is another control option called "classic" which basically is Goldeneye style which works surprisingly well.
There is also no bounding-box options, so basically the camera will only turn once you get to the very edge of the screen.

The reason I gave it 6 was because it is a great game that is flawed from controls. Occasionally, the pointer also doesnt line up to where the barrel of the gun is, which is annoying.
You also cant look down the sights, it simply zooms in instead.

So, if you loved the previous games, I would rent this. But if you are a controls fanatic and liked the controls of Metroid Prime 3 or Medal of Honor: Heroes 2, I wouldnt buy this game.

Bottomline: Its worth the rent, but not the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was ok

posted by Mocker (KINGWOOD, TX) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It had trouble like alot of wii shooter games at the time -IT WAS HARD TO TURN- The game wasent bad but with cod5 out now its really not worth renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not as expected

posted by mlbplayer (SHELBURNE, VT) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not even a good campaign. The graphics are like SNES and the controls are horrible, it takes ten minutes to turn ninety degrees! Just not good, Call of Duty 5 all the way!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

average game

posted by jaykilla (Aiea, HI) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It kinda sucks.you get killed eaisily but its cool 2 command peeps.

Pros:
can command
cool effects
good MGs
realistic

Cons:
you die easily
your people die easily
its so hard to kill people that i couldnt get past the third level

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Brothers in Arms

posted by flyboy21 (SIOUX CENTER, IA) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

This is a hard game to play for an adult or a child. My son and I played, he is the better gamer of the two of us but neither of us could get any farther than the other. And I am also a Christian Man so I will never understand why swearing in needed in this game. I have grown out these kind of games for the purpose of raising my kids right.
Flyboy21

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Brothers In Arms Double Time

posted by terminater (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

A good game but it is just the same as the others just with a different name. The graphics were ok but if you get to close their faces morph.
see you guys latter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

frustrating crosshair/field of view mechanics

posted by yoyoyoo (SANTA MONICA, CA) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

You can move the crosshair anywhere on the screen without having the field of view along with it. Bad idea. Because in order to look left or right or up or down, your crosshair first needs to move to the edge of the screen. Then, your field of view moves. Problem is that you get no peripheral vision, and you often overshoot where you want to look, then need to move the crosshair back to the other edge and overshoot again. You'll do this going back and forth a few times in order to look where you'd like just to repeat the messy process whenever you want to change your field of view. I could only stand about 5 minutes of this before I turned it off. Otherwise, the games seemed like it would've been fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wii developers need to do work.

posted by Noirling (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

This is a poor port I played on my PC 3 years ago! The controller does this game no justice and turning looks like I'm looking through a parascope. Throw in the squad-based tactics and this game becomes more of a farce than a joyful experience. Skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

brothers in arms double time

posted by what111 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

god what is wrong with this game? i looked online to see if it was coop and it was and i ordered it but it gave me some silly 2 old bia

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »