Rent Brothers in Arms DS for DS
view large frontback

Brothers in Arms DS

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

351 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great action game!!!!

posted by smalowman (ACTON, MA) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

To start off Brothers in Arms DS looks great on the DS. The character models look good, the vehicles and other objects look very nice but some have a few texture problems but nothing very obvious. What surprised me the most is the explosion effects. Weather its a building blowing up or a tanks top exploding off after you planted a grenade inside it, the explosion effects are great! Unfortunately I had a problem with the camera at times, sometimes you would throw a grenade and the view would zoom out but if your in a building all you would see is the roof of the building as the camera zoomed out and not where your grenade will land. There are other minor camera flaws but by changing the angle you can deal with it but they do get in the way sometimes. Whats also great about BiA is the voice acting. For example: On the screen, text will show up that says "Move tawords the German base." While someone will say, "Get to the base on the double!" This made the game alot more fun during game play but during cut scenes mostly text is shown. There is really no deep story in BiA infact there are no character names or anything and sometimes wish there was some kind of story so that the characters seemed alot more real. There are alot of weapons in this game. The main one is the thompson but there is a sniper, a rocket launcher, grenades, and rifles. As for vehicles there are tanks (Which move oddly fast.) and army jeeps. Finally comes the controls and they work absolutely perfect! Move your soldier or vehicle with the d-pad. Aim with the stylus and throw grenades by dragging the stylus over a meter to adjust the distance and let go to throw it. All these controls work great and i have not experienced any problems yet. The game contains alot of missions in normandy all the way to africa so there is alot of time to play. I recommend this game to anyone who needs an action game on there DS. It's easy to pick up and play but rent it before you buy it to see if it's right for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprised

posted by ashkabob (ALLSTON, MA) Jul 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I went into Walmart the other day to buy Sim City DS, but they were out of it. I looked around and saw this game. I love WWII games so I asked if I could take a look at it. The controls seemed intriguing and the graphics looked pretty dang good. After playing the game, the graphics still look pretty dang good! The campaign is fun and sometimes challenging and the multiplayer is a plus. I like how they implemented the touch screen, however using the sylus to aim and look around can get annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

brotheres in arms ds

posted by nickliam (QUINCY, MA) Aug 12, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Brothers in Arms is probably the best shooter there will ever be. Its use of the touch screen and regular buttons makes for fun gameplay, also zoom and vehicles make the game alot easier. Besides there being somewhat n64 grapichs they are good for the ds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

eh. i dint like it

posted by Nevets01 (MADISON, TN) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was really hard to control. the graphics arent great, but there ok. i couldnt get used to the view. i think its because i was expecting a firt person shooter, not over the shoulder or whatever the veiw is called. im sure most people like it, but if you like first person shooters, i dont suggest it. but you know, thats just me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

brothers in arms DS

posted by shooterwiz (SOUR LAKE, TX) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

brothers in arms is a little sucky. and controls are hard and make the game boring. graphics are confusing and not good. MY advice, use it to pass time only if your desperate

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice

posted by gamer300 (PLEASANTVILLE, NJ) Aug 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game gets fun with the graphics gameplay and slick controls but after you beat it {which Takes About 8 hours} theres nothing else to do or unlock. but i had a lot of fun playing it i would recommend renting this game instead of buying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

REALLY GREAT GAME!

posted by HILEALY (COCONUT CREEK, FL) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

I love it! Its different than Call Of Duty but in a good way! Its totally new gaming experience for me and its super fun! Im a HUGE WWII buff and this game worked for me! I recomend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game and was very surprised

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

what can i say? great game. when i first rented it i thought back to all the old shooter games for ds that all sucked but this one. wow. great storyline, surprisingly good graphics and the action was great. defintely a game worth renting and maybe buying. it defintely beat the Call of Duty games for DS, those sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another Good Chapter in BIA.

posted by Dane43090 (MC DERMOTT, OH) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I rented this game because I'm a big fan of the original 3 Brothers In Arms. I liked this game a lot because it's one of the first war shooters I've played on any hand-held device that was actually a lot of fun. Kind of hard to get use the the controlls - walking with the D-pad and turning with the stylis - but overall a great game. Props to Gearbox and Ubisoft for staking a claim!

-dn

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ok game

posted by buck98 (KENNESAW, GA) Aug 27, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS GAME. THE GRAPHICS ARE OK, BUT IT IS A PRETTY SHORT GAME. THE GAME IS VERY HARD AT SOMEPOINTS. TO ME, IT'S PRETTY BORING.PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON IT. AGAIN I SAY IT IS A HORRIBLE GAME. MY ADVICE IS DON'T RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A good Handheld war game

posted by Ledgic (MASON CITY, IA) Jul 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

Brothers in Arms DS is a fairly good game that is frankly one of the best shooters I've played on the Ds. That being said, there are still some serious flaws to it. First off, the aiming is sketchy and the controls are a little off. Secondly, it's pretty difficult, what with no difficulty settings to choose from to get newcomers practice.

There are good points that this game has: great graphics, cool WW2 gameplay, and the handheld quality, but nothing that really makes it stand out or feel special.

War game lovers are recommended. As for the rest of us, try something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I've EVER tried to play.

posted by SgtDan (MONTROSE, CO) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Since I can't say anything abusive, offensive or inappropriate I can't say ANYTHING about how I really feel about this game. The controls are horrible. The game tells you that you have to do something and then after you do it it tells you that you didn't do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game

posted by andrew117 (Madison, FL) Aug 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I only gave it a 6 because it seems as if they tried to put more in the game than the DS can handle. I think the controls were a little tough to learn. Granted this is only the 2nd DS game I have played so I am not comfortable using the stylus pen yet. The touch screen is a big part of playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An excellent game that's highly re playable

posted by jman64 (SLINGERLANDS, NY) Aug 13, 2007

Member since May 2006

With incredible graphics (for the DS) and great controls that definitely take advantage of the touch screen, this is one of the best DS games I have ever played. Athough the game is short, it is still very fun to replay on a higher difficulty with the new guns you obtain. The multtyplayer is also very addictive and fun and after you beat the story line on elite, the multyplayer almost never gets boring. Im giving this game a nine out of ten because it is excellent but, there are some major glitches like getting stuck on vehicles, and other minor things. Also with the lack of wi-fi and download play, the multyplayer is nowhere as good as it could be. Hope fully a sequel will be able to fix these problems but for now I highly recommend BROTHERS IN ARMS DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What a Surprise!

posted by somahead (WEST COVINA, CA) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

For a game packed into such a small card, BiA sure has an amazing presentation. The graphics are pretty remarkable, the sound is adequate for a DS title, and the feeling the game gives you running from one objective to the next is quite engaging. There are some moments when your character will get stuck behind a vehicle or enemy, but overall the control scheme works surprisingly well. You will find yourself nailing head shots in no time.

Of course, there are some drawbacks. The game is relatively easy which plays into the very short campaign time. You can easily finish the game in one or two days. I never tried the multiplayer so my guess is that the replayability is helped in that regard.

In all, BiA is a very well crafted game hurt only by its minimal difficulty and length, as is to be expected in a DS first person shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game

posted by Edlover1 (FORT MILL, SC) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

I had my doubts when i rented this game. I thought it would have sloppy graphics, horrible control, etc, so i expected the worst. I was surprised after I played it, this game is amazing! Awesome graphics, great gameplay, nice campaign mode and multiplayer, though lacking in Wi-Fi and Download Play, is excellent! It took me about 2 days to complete, so it isn't very long, but it's defiantly worth the rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

excellent game

posted by millertv (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

i had kind of low expectations for this title but it really impressed me. i've been really addicted to it since i got it. i would love to see other shooters use the BIA model for success. great game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome shooter for the DS

posted by Biscutbob (GRAND FORKS AFB, ND) Jun 25, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

BiA DS is funn
real fun
you pretty much do every thing with the touch screen and its easy just pick up and play
everything from throwing grenades and enteracting with Mounted Guns an taking cover
definitly a good rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »