Rent Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars for Wii
view large frontback

Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.9

392 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Soild game

posted by Pezman37 (MESA, AZ) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you want a solid adventure game with a great plot, then look no further. It does suffer from a few technical problems from the Wii motion control puzzles making some puzzles hard to do, but that's more the fault of the Wii than the game itself. Those puzzle aren't so bad that you can't finish or anything that bad, just is a little jumpy. Over all I enjoy this game a lot as an adventure game fan. It's no 50 cent, but what is?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not "Broken", just boring

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

When there's a big time conspiracy brimming, chances are the Templars are smack in the middle of it.
In Broken Sword, Shadow of the Templars, you play as an American on vacation in Paris or a reporter working for a French paper.
The game starts off with the reporter summoned to interview a popular French guy. Almost right after she arrives, a man dressed as a mime shows up, kills the celebrity French guy and knocks out the reporter.
When she comes to, the reporter starts investigating the murder by picking up items and solving puzzles in many, many locations. The American tourist joins her a bit later.
This (of course) leads them off on a trip around France and to parts of Ireland, Europe and Africa to uncover a vast conspiracy to ... well I've got no idea whatsoever. The story is so convoluted that I didn't understand what is at stake here.
There are a few fun Wiimote themed puzzles, but most of the ones you find in this point and click adventure are the "find items and put items in certain locations" puzzles. I didn't find the reward for solving puzzles very interesting at all; it just pushes the confusing story to the next chapter.
And like most point and click adventures, it's too easy to overlook important items while mindlessly clicking on useless items.
Hindering the search is the inventory screen that pops up in the center of the screen. It is an eyesore and stops me from interacting with said objects on screen.
It's a good thing they placed the "hint" feature here, or I would've bailed out after a few hours.
Speaking of eyesores, there's the ugly graphics. Most of this game could run on the N64; it's that bad.
Broken Sword does have a lot of content (eight hours for me to get to the end), but this isn't anywhere near the class of Myst or King's Quest. And it's not worth $50, either. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice light fare

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Apr 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Hello - I enjoyed the game. Makes for a good rental as it's quite short. Interesting story, no combat & chock full of puzzles, some are a little annoying I must admit! But they do get you thinking which is missing from way too many games these days imo. Recommended! D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible UI for Wii

posted by ichiji (OAKLAND, CA) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game may be a good one, but who can tell? I gave up after about half an hour because the user interface with the Wii is confusing. Most of the gameplay seems to be about finding items to interact with in the scenes, and I couldn't even see most of the things I had to find -- when I could see them, I couldn't tell if the icons were for them or other things in the scene.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Worthy of the Wii

posted by alec9922 (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What can you say about a game that you had to quit because the controls made completing a puzzle impossible.

Even before the game infuriated me due to a clumsy puzzle mechanism, I had grown slightly bored. Its obvious this game was created for a system other than the Wii.

The story may have been great but a game must be playable for it to shine.

If you like point and click adventures maybe this game is for you. I just wanted to make sure you receive the warning that the problems with Broken Sword show up quickly and may ruin your experience.

I just believe the Wii has much more to offer than this revamp of a game from the last generation of technology.

You have been warned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Broken Sword

posted by jsoto433 (BELLEVILLE, NJ) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

At first I thought this game would be interesting but after only 5 minutes of playing this game I put it back in the mail... I was falling asleep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars

posted by LadyKnight (BUCKFIELD, ME) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

IT STINKs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game!

posted by SheilaC (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Good game, motion control not the best, plot, story were pretty good - puzzles were fun but not overly difficult with an exception here and there. A good solid game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Adventure Gamers Only

posted by quirkster (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

If you don't like point-n-click adventure games, then you won't like this--don't bother.

If you do like that style of adventure game, then here's what you need to know:
- The story is extremely linear, often getting you stuck in Hotel California (you can't leave a particular area until you complete everything).
- The graphics are a mixed bag: some of the 2D cell shading is nice, some looks like animated pixels.
- The voice acting is interesting and brings out the writing. There are a few parts where the recording mix is inconsistent, but it's good overall.
- The dialogue writing is spotty--some parts are hilarious, some parts are boring, and it bounces around in style (noir to naive) within the same conversation.
- Be prepared for "hunt the magic pixel" gameplay. It can be hard to spot two items close to each other.
- As for the Wii controls in the mini-games: some people will find them harder than others. Once I figured out what they were looking for, I didn't find the controls too bad, but definitely not stellar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars

posted by texasjj (POINT COMFORT, TX) Jul 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game was useless. The combination was too hard to solve. I knew which direction to turn it but manuevering the hand was hard. No matter how I turned the cylinder it would not open. I worked until my wrist hurt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Glitch

posted by Fourbanger (CARMEL, CA) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

After playing the game very far in the church you are supposed to highlight Bible verses one of them being Psalms: XXXII XXI but there is only Psalms: XXI on the casket and it will not accept that so you are dead and cannot go any further

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game would be awesome... if it was 1988.

posted by monstergrl (OLYMPIA, WA) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This game is just your old fashion "choose your adventure" book, but worse. It makes you think there are choices, but there really aren't. You move your remote around the screen until the pointer changes, and then you get an object, and then you wander around again until you "do something" with that object. You are pretty much trapped in that part of the game until you figure it out.

The characters are vacant and stereotypical. The conversations you have with other characters in the game are long and extremely boring.

Overall, I couldn't wait to get to the end. I LOVE games like the Myst/Riven series, and thought this might be similar. I was very wrong about that. I'm starting to think that these types of games are best for the computer, not the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not Medievil Times, But good.

posted by Greg824 (LIBBY, MT) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

It reminded me Maniac Mansion (old skool) in a good way. Problem solving and clever puzzles. Something other than a freaking workout. Sit down, think and solve. Good Game.

I don't know who writes the descriptions, but it does not take place in Medieval Times, it's actually very modern.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Comodore 64 had better games than this

posted by jcormie1 (WORCESTER, MA) Jul 20, 2009

Member since May 2009

Extreemly basic and BORING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This thing Blows!!!!

posted by palmtree2c (AURORA, CO) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

Game sux dont waste your time. Lame, even the 11 year old hated it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »