Rent Brink for PS3
view large frontback

Brink

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.0

5006 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Multiplayer Game with No Other Players

posted by Wirednerd1 (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game has a lot of potential, but at least in PS3, it's nearly impossible to find an online game with more than 1 other player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An upset on a hugely hyped game.

posted by matt29addai (FRISCO, TX) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

32 out of 37 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I was expecting this to be a good game. I gave it a chance despite all of the bad reviews from major review sites such as 1UP and IGN. I opened it up and gave it a shot, and was disappointed. The ideas are great, but are executed poorly. The game has it's moments but is not generally worth it. The multiplayer was different, the gun fights were different. Everything felt it was delayed just a bit (even the responsiveness of the controls) This heavily reminded me of Team Fortress, After a couple of matches I was done. I couldn't go with the overall gameplay of the game. The presentation was nice but that doesn't cut it. I pre-ordered this game because of the hype it got (big mistake) This game had high expectations and really could of been a fantastic gaming experience, but overall didn't give any reasons to keep playing. The max level is 20 and can be reached in a matter of days. I think that alone shows the replay value of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not my kind of game.

posted by killmaster67 (SEWICKLEY, PA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Not my style of game. Maybe I didn't give it enough of a chance, but I tried playing for a couple of days and it just never got to a stage in the game where I thought it was entertaining. I'm certain there are people that enoy the style, but I thought it was a waste and was glad that I ordered it on Gamefly instead of buying it and finding out it wasn't for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Among The Worst Shooters of Its Generation

posted by pointofinfo (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

So you know how there's been a backlash against Modern Warfare-type shooters? If you haven't heard, people are tired of the same old sprint-melee-assault rifle-two hits and you're dead business. Well if you're among those who feel like I do and like to think that pacing makes up a large part of a shooter's playability, this game is the plague.

I got Brink because from what I could tell, it had interesting movement and graphics while being a somewhat fantastical change of scenario from the Modern Warfare types. All those were at least partly the case.

On the other hand, the "story" mode is basically the worst of any game I have played since...I don't know, but it was probably for TI-83. There is no sense of being briefed on your mission, the dialogue is choppy, and the actors fail to contribute anything but loud barks and shouts in exaggerated accents. Worst of all is that there is no improvement once you begin playing the game.

The gameplay is just garbage. Think about everything that perturbs people about Black Ops and quadruple it. There is a constant stream of useless information bandying about the screen as you constantly run out of ammo. I suppose the idea was to approximate the frantic nature of an ammo-management thriller game, but what happens is that you just resent Soldier-class characters who don't restock you. The mission objectives change nearly constantly without much reason or provocation other than giving you reasons to run across the tiny levels. There is no cover system other than ducking behind sheen-less bulletproof glass.

Do yourself a favor and stay away from this game unless what I've described (a dearth of any sense of strategy or order) seems like an appealing shooter concept.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

awesome team based FPS

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

31 out of 41 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Overview
====================
Honestly this will be a love it or hate it based off of professional and user reviews I've seen. It is an objective team based FPS. There really isn't a true campaign. There is a pseudo campaign, challenges, and freeplay. Most game modes allow you to play solo, cooperatively, or competitively.

I love it and bought it the first day it came out. My only complaint at this point is the online play has some lag issues that Splash Damage is working on fixing (see home page for game).

Pros
================
1) awesome objective/team based gameplay
2) parkour system is a neat feature (and ability to slide)
3) lot of customization options
4) graphics have a team fortress type feel (they are good, not great)

Cons
================
1) lag for team based play
2) stupid AI for your team (opponent AI is much better)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"I returned this game after 15 minutes"

posted by _B_ (MIAMI, FL) May 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

49 out of 66 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I am tired of hearing people say i returned this game after playing it 15 minutes. Well of course you dont like the game! You only played it for 15 minutes!! Brink is a game where its system revolves around leveling up, unlocking a large amount of skills, and deciding which skills to take into a match. it is impossible for anyone to get a real feel of what brink is truly about in 15 minutes. The gameplay is amazing and it only gets better the more skills you unlock. At level 20 (cap), you have so many options it actually makes you think 'what skills are a must have and which can i live without".

Furthermore, this is a game where you have to play as a team, and are rewarded for doing so. Once you have found a good group of players and you are helping each other out, you will realize how fun and effective it is to trade buffs like better gun damage with other players.

Of course, I want to state that this game is not perfect. It has its little problems here and there but honestly nothing major. Even many people criticized this game, the gameplay is nothing less than a perfect 10/10. Maybe not so much for other categories, but definitely for gameplay. One thing that is for certain is that the people who ANY game a 1/10 are the people who purposely want to ruin the reputation of games. Brink in general might be an 8, maybe even a 7, but by no means whatsoever is this game a 1!!

Dont be influenced by the bad reviews. Give yourself a shot at something new and exciting. Give brink a fair chance.

Btw, we are even getting the first DLC (maps and more) for free along with a bunch of patches addressing the small issues i mention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Brink

posted by dabomber (LAKEWOOD, CO) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Clunky an not fun for a shooter. Right idea but not ready for play. Guns are week and enemies kill quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Less than a "run of the mill" shooter

posted by footer (WESTMINSTER, CO) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I was hoping that this was going to be an entertaining game, but it was a disappointment. Just another attempted carbon copy of Call of Duty. Oh and sometimes you die for no reason, sometimes in one shot you die, and it continuously tries to connect to the internet, which interrupts gameplay. Skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is a step backwards

posted by bwill223 (RUSSELLTON, PA) May 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

from all the games out right now mw2, call of duty black ops and much more this is at the bottum of the list for good shooting games. I think the shooting is fake takes to much to kill the enemy and if you dont have online and atleast three to four friends with this game it is not fun at all. the controls are confusing and the gameplay is like a cartoon. I dont realy know what they were trying to accomplish with this game but don't let any one tell you that this game is comparible to black ops or mw2 because it's not verry disapointing. dont recamend this game at all and its not even multi player unless your online weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Say "Command Post" one more freaking time and I'll

posted by ScottyOne0 (HONOLULU, HI) Aug 31, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was a MAJOR disappointment. I literally played it for 30 min and spent at least 90% of the time laying down "waiting on a medic." the game play is super hard (get killed very easily) but it takes 55 rounds to even wound the enemy. The graphics are very cartoonish and on top of that it is sooo slow. After I figured out how to sprint I literally couldn't tell the difference between run/walk. Every time I died I had to talk myself into trying it just one more time.....well after about 90 deaths in a half hour I did not accomplish anything but a lethal dose of pure American hatred for the "brink" of insanity that stupid game inflicted. It didn't make it an hour and I actually almost bought it just so I could smash it. Don't be fooled. Super sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

a real let down of a game

posted by Falcon3268 (PENDLETON, OR) Jun 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Okay a lot of people recommended the game so I tried the game out for once. Thats two dollars wasted as the first part of the game was like playing a multi-player game on line as there was no storyline at all to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

online saves the day

posted by titans10vy (BROWNSVILLE, TX) May 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

all I got to say is thank god for the PSN with the save. Single player campaign is not worth the purchase its ok not bad not good. Online is where the game shines. The only thing keeping it from the perfect score would be the clipping and chopiness of playing online (hopefully gets a patch to fix this problem). But overall great game with lots of customization and tons of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The next evolution in FPS. NOT!

posted by xXDr_RockzoXx (LEXINGTON, NE) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This has to be the worst first person shooter I've ever played. First off they made the guns really, really weak so it takes forever to kill someone (Battlefield Bad Company made the same mistake and corrected it in the second), and were made even weaker with addition of silencers. Second the single player is short, and the ending is a bit vague. Not to mention the AI on hard is laughably ridiculous, I guess it has to be to be considered hard, still its a little unrealistic which the point of AI is to give the feeling of playing real people. however in this case I felt like i was play against an overly skilled, omniscient AI that can always tell i was sneaking up behind it, pull an instant 180, and shoot me in the face when I should have clearly had the upper hand.
I wasn't too overly thrilled with the Melee/Knockdown aspect of the game as I'm used to meleeing for an instantanious kill. The graphics rendering was a little off as I would catch surfaces under rendered unless i was looking directly at them even then some would take a few seconds to properly render. Im not entirely sure if this is the game or my system but I havent noticed it on any other game i play. The whole SMART thing was interesting I thought it was a good addition, a kind of gem in the mud if you will. The character customization was above average i thought. Well thats about it for this game I hope if you decide to rent this game you enjoy it more than I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Online Game

posted by The_Fat_Critic (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) May 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

19 out of 31 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

This game is 95% online and 5% offline.
you can play the game offline but they relay on npc's to do the missions and it is much more complex then playing online.

good experience system. guns are stable,gun sounds sound ok,not realistic though.

GRAPHICS ARE AMAZING though the tiny head and big body makes it difficult for those who like to do head shots.

the body type i recommend is the thing body type because it is most difficult to shoot at. so you will be able to dodge more bullets.

i give it a 10/10 though this game is not AT&T friendly :D
i had cheep internet at the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful

posted by macintosh264 (ALDIE, VA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was something I was looking forward to, until I started playing. When I began playing I realized that the only real feature of this game is the smart or whatever they call it movement system. Otherwise, this game is a load of (they made me take out what I wanted to say). The main problem is all of the controls are counter-intuitive, making it impossible to play in the first place, and after you do figure out how to move and shoot, the AI characters will brutally kill you, over and over. The AI is relentless, and so impossible to beat for a veteran first person shooter player, it is so stupid. Overall this game should never had been developed, and I am so glad I did not purchase this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's the Brink of freshness, just not anything new

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) May 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

20 out of 33 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Brink is finally here. And, its not that different than any other shooter out there. I could end this review there, Brink was hyped as new mixture of shooter. And while the S.M.A.R.T. system is cool, it isn't as smooth-running as it seems in trailers. It works great though, when you time it perfectly, just as you are doing something. It's Mirror's Edge meets Call of Duty. But, this game is fun. And that's what games are made to be. The combat is fast-paced, frenetic, and normally INSANE!!! People everywhere, explosions gunfire, and the game keeps its frame-rate very well. The guns sound great, but aren't that different. But they're different enough that you will experiment with them until you find your favorite 2-weapon arsenal. The art styles are great, they're a breath of fresh air for sure, but, the graphics aren't that good. In cutscenes they're well-done, but not as much in gameplay, that's it there.
The character models are nice, a bit exaggerated and cartoony, but it works. Character creation is fun, but you have near to nothing when you start, so it isn't endless. You have to earn everything else, which is frustrating at first, but is fine.
The campaign is decent, the story is paper-thin, and objectives are hard to understand at first, but its fun, I'm sure a blast with online players. Obviously I can't talk about multiplayer, because of the PSN being down.

Pros: Great art design, frenetic combat is very fun, good variety of levels, guns sound great, S.M.A.R.T. is a a nice touch, character creation is fun once you have enough items. The team-based combat works very well, and is very, very fun.

Cons: Graphics aren't great, occasional pop-ins, long load time in the beginning. Computer AI is kinda sucky, guns are a bit similar. Just doesn't stand out that much.

Brink is a very fun game, but it isn't a piece of art like we were all hoping for, but it'll be a great way to wait for inFAMOUS 2, especially once the PSN is back online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just alright shooter

posted by McPhaddie (OMAHA, NE) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's really nothing special compared to other shooters out there. The game is alright. But gets tiresome quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad combat system

posted by Rawberries (MANASSAS, VA) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The close combat is not all that great, it takes way to many bullets, and trying to kill someone or even respawn takes waaaaaaaay to long, You have to wait like 20 seconds or to be revived, or to kill someone you have to shoot them 100 times, and then 50 more when they are in "last stance"(cod reference). I give it a 6 because i like the story and parkour, but the combat kills it and I'm not a huge fan of the graphics... actually it deserves less, let me change it to a 4, thats still being nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Money

posted by Silky1 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

To keep it short and sweet I did not enjoy this game in the least. The players weren't clear as team members and the game didn't seem to have a good outlay. I would not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

sucks

posted by travale07 (LAWTON, OK) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

More Like BRICK when you miss a 3 pointer

posted by Nanoboy_24 (Morrow, GA) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game sucked so bad well not that bad the graphics were good but you keep dying every 5 seconds and it gets annoying one shot kills you basically and you have to wait for medics to arrive and sometimes they get killed too and you have to restart from checkpoint. the game sucks so bad gamestop even recommended that i didnt buy it but i gave it a shot payed 60 and had to re sell it for 30 trade in value :( if you love to be annoyed then this is for you but if you don't i seriously dont recommend this. plus it glitches like crazy. it freezes at times and the only thing good about the game was the cover it came in.......enough said brink was a waste of time i managed to grab some trophies for my troubles beat the game and sell it back after 3 to 4 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by tacokid123 (UPTON, MA) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

weird controls horrible graphics and really boring. the charactor custimization is ok but is not what they say and overall just a bad game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth renting and DO NOT BUY IT!

posted by dfields727 (TINTON FALLS, NJ) May 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

PLEASE READ! I warn you now to not buy this game! It is NOT a play and keep for a long time first-person shooter such a COD or Battlefield. You will get bored of it and not even want it the more you play it. First off, the damage in this game is horrible! You get shot 3 times and you're dead, and that only on normal. That should be on the hardest difficulty, which I didn't try, but I guarantee I would have broken my PS3. Then, if you are more of a campaign person, there are two things you will hate about the campaign. 1. It is BORING! Nothing epic or special was added to this game. It is literally as if kids were to go outside and to make up objectives to do. The storyline doesn't pull you in at all and when you beat it, you feel completely unsatisfied. 2. It's too short if you are actually into it! There are 5 or 6 missions for the resistance and the security each. These missions are long...but long to the point where they are boring. You would rather have more missions that are shorter.
The customization is ok. It is cool to make yourself look badass, but it takes awhile to get the good stuff. The gun customizations and the abilities are too complicated for no reason. Unfortunately, I did not play the multiplayer. It's probably just like the campaign, but online. So again I say, don't bother renting this game. This is just a waste of a few business days of waiting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible Game...

posted by Cnoggl01 (GRAND BLANC, MI) May 30, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not a good game at all, in my opinion. I lean more towards shooters like Halo than Call of Duty for one reason. Games in COD boil down to who sees who first, and it's basically a one-shot kill from there. I hate that. Brink is very similar. Expect to die, a LOT, in the first level, on EASY mode. A lot of time is spent lying on the ground, waiting for a medic to toss you a syringe, which may or may not happen. Very frustrating game. And all of the "parkour-style-gameplay" that they advertise is ridiculous. You can jump over a low wall. WOW. You can do that in Halo as well. Or in Super Mario Brothers. This is nothing new, and I am a little angry at Gamefly that I had to settle for this garbage because they will not send the copy of L.A. Noire that has been in my Q for three months. Figured I needed to rent something to get my month's worth of rental fees. Big mistake on my part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Underwhelming

posted by DeadMonkey (BYRAM TOWNSHIP, NJ) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is only half of a game, an online portion missing the single player. Let me explain that there is a "single player" but it's basically a series of repetitive bot matches that have a loose narrative (and when I mean loose I mean practically non-existent). The only reason you would play this game is to go online and even then the game plays like almost every other old school bot match oriented shooter. You might be asking, is there any innovation evident in this game? Sadly, there isn't any innovation or depth and the main pull point of this game being the parkour isn't executed all that well because it doesn't gain the player any extra advantage or strategy in the proceedings. Customization is pretty bare bones, the classes aren't explored that well, and the AI is wonky...need I say more?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse