Rent Breakdown for Xbox
view large frontback

Breakdown

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

578 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatness

posted by Zekegedd (Marble Falls, TX) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game, I would almost say is one of the best games for the original xbox, or at least in the top ten. Its also one of the most critically underrated games as well. It has a great story to begin with, that will make you want to keep playing just to see whats going to happen next. Graphically when you look at it compared to games nowadays it wouldn't meet the standard, but for its time wasn't bad. I also think the sound and soundtrack in this game was great as well. The game play is in first person and very immersing. I defiantly think this game is worth a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a game that deserves more than 10!!

posted by mrdude311 (DEADWOOD, SD) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you liked mirror's edge as much as i did then you LOVE this game.its got the same elements and the controls are easy to just pick up and play.The graphics are good for an xbox title and it also has a amazing storyline thats not too hard to get.So if your not too sure about this game,give it a rent.if you are then i think its worth the 6/15 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Rental

posted by amnefarius (PALM BAY, FL) Feb 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game was fun, good pacing and storytelling coupled with innovative and fun gameplay. This is a true "first person" game, since you never leave that perspective.
My only complaint was that some parts of the game were ridiculously hard (think trying to deal with invincible enemies while navigating a maze-like building).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BREAKDOWN

posted by beruzeruku (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A good game that starts off slow and starts to pick up later in the game great for people with skill and horrible for people without...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Story Average Game play

posted by MikDaMan58 (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Jun 5, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

If you like first person action games then this is the game for you. The story is a great science fiction ride that will keep your interest till the very end. The game places you in control of Derrick Cole, a man with amnesia in a mysterious complex. After the tutorial the story takes off after your assaulted by several military soldiers and saved by a mysterious woman. I won't say anymore than you soon are thrown into battle with a military power and a superhuman race called the T'lan.
While the story is the strong point the game play has some issues. First off the look sensitivity needs some time to get used to, because if you change it the game play is made a bit tougher. After the first two hours though you should have the hang of it and be killin a plenty. The neat thing about this game is that the focus is just as much on hand to hand as it is on gun play. As you progress and the enemies get tougher you gain new abilities that make you so powerful you'll rarely if at all use a gun.
The one major issue with this game is the lack of variety in level and enemy design. There is probably about twenty or so enemy designs. The levels fair no better as once your in a area most of it looks the same. This doesn't take away from the title that much but still it would have been nice to see more variety. That being said there are no loading screens in the game. When you enter a new area the game stops you get a loading message in the bottom of the screen and in 5-10 seconds your right back in the action.
Overall Breakdown is a great experience, the story is great, game play is good and it evan has multiple endings(follow her at the end, you'll see what I mean).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you want that challenge......

posted by Gemini27 (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 20, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly, I think that Breakdown isn't for everyone. If you want that extra challenge and expect about 12 hours worth of gameplay, this is your game. The game is a first person action game. You take control of Derrick Cole. He is the only one that can stop Nexus from destroying the world. He is saved by a woman name Alex. During the course of the game he gains extraordinary powers that can fight off the T'Lan. I thought that it was a great game, but the targeting kind of sucked and very few checkpoints isn't my kind of game. But it's worth renting at the least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game i ever played.>.<

posted by KH2fan (ANTELOPE, CA) Jul 20, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome.You start as Derik cole in a research lab.A women named Alex saves you and knows you somehow.You fight untill your split up and you meet the T'lan a type of super humans and you cant fight them.You get your own powers and can fight them later.Then you meet up with alex and hide from solus Nexuses avatar.He almost kills you but stops after that your powers return and get a shield to stop bullets.You fall off the roof with alex and land at the center of science lab your heading for you work your way down to terminace 4 where glen is underneath the building.You then get a injection of T'langen giving you more health T'langen and powers.You go to a elevator with alex and it falls your separated your alone again but you meet up later.You have to run from solus after proceeding alone and go threw a sewer full of Stealth T'lan.You then destroy a chopper alone and meet up with alex.You fight to the gate of Site 0.You grab a jeep and head torward nexus.Alex gets kidnapped by solus.You go on alone and the soldiers take the data and kill stafania.You continue untill you fight through the missile silos and when you get to the top giani is almost dead and saying"Cole yo buddy we screwed up.im the olny one left.The datas bin destroyed we have to nuke nexus but i think its too late" then he dies.You go up the hill and into a dome alex is caught in a barrier holding her you release her and have to fight solus the first round is easy but the second round id too much you dont wi alex gets up when you lose all your health and are slammed against the wall and tries to fight solus hes to powerful and shes knocked in front of you dieing she saisSo this is my fate dieing like this.Dont look at me like that.Derick you have to save us.Save us.Then she dies and the missle hits in front of you.Nexuses power and the missle cause a time warp pushing you to the future.You wake up the scientists tell you that you saw all those memories.Thats not the end.Youll see the ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Breakdown: The Title Says it All

posted by 00ian00 (HAZEL GREEN, AL) Dec 31, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

It sounds good in concept, an exclusively first person game. The cut scenes, the opening of doors, even eating and drinking. Ubisoft had another great concept ruined by their game designers. The plot keeps you riveted, but never really manifests into a storyline—just fragments of what could have been a great sci-fi adventure. It could have been, if there were more enemies, and the character Derrick Cole could fight them. He spends most of his time getting knocked down or wounded (which is poorly represented). Even opening a door is a three step process (1. Grab door knob, 2. Open door, 3. Release door knob) leaving enemies inside these rooms plenty of time to kill you before you can complete this lengthy process. Before you develop some super powers (that are never really explained other than you are in a genetics lab) you also cannot damage enemies, so you spend a lot of time running away. Then you spend some levels jumping on moving platforms inside bunkers, then outside bunkers, then jumping on more platforms to get back. Eventually you get teleported to a place that also never gets explained, fight a boss of sorts (who is EASY) then the game ends. This game is a total Breakdown between the conceptual world and the world as programmed by Ubisoft developers. I give it a dreadful 1 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

the worst game ever made

posted by iceman27 (GRANBURY, TX) Jul 31, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 19 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

this game is the worst

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Breakdown = First Person Awesomeness

posted by insomnimaniak1 (GILMANTON, NH) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I played this game at first from a demo disc when I had my old xbox with me. When I played the demo I knew I had to get it when it came out. But then I got the xbox 360 and forgot about it for awhile. When I found that gamefly had it I rented it and played it on my 360 and was blown away!
This game has everything a first person shooter / action game should have. From punching AND kicking with your martial arts skills to shooting down enemy military this game was way ahead of its time. Also, for a xbox game, its a little tougher than most games making it challenging and the graphics are pretty good. Plus this game has a pretty good storyline and its actually a longer game so you won't run out of fun to fast. This game is probably one of the only xbox games where you can actually punch and kick, do backflips (spoiler), and actually get knocked over from enemies.
If you haven't tryed out this game and love action / shooter games, this game is a MUST to try out. I personally think this game should be remaid for the xbox 360 or it should have a sequal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst xbox title

posted by dieeeeeeee (BASKING RIDGE, NJ) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

horrible horrible game i just about hated everything about it. controls were terrible and the shootings mechanics is bassicaly what destroyed the experience for me you'll see when you play it. the special effects were preety cool but there was nothing going for this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome story, horrible gameplay

posted by reaper819 (LINEVILLE, AL) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

If you are looking for a game with amazing gameplay and good controls, THEN STAY AWAY FROM THIS GAME! But if you want a game that has an amazing story that tottally immerses you into the world of Breakdown, a story that is so amazing it rivals that of Mass Effect or Red Dead Redemption stories, then YOU MUST PLAY THIS GAME. Word of advice though put it on Easy mode unless you like dying alot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Breakdown or

posted by fill86 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 21, 2009

Member since May 2006

Breakdown has been one of the most frustrating games I have played in years. I call the game "Do Over" because most of the game time is spent replaying the same scenes over again. This game is based more in chance then in skill. If you like spending yours days at the roulette wheel waiting for your number to come up then this is the game for you. I will say that game premise and story are compelling, but the game play is so frustrating that it may push you to look for the next selection in your game queue before you finish the story. This game may also be detrimental to your controller due to the many times you will be throwing it. If your thinking about trying this game out good "Luck." Hopefully your masochistic side will enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Breakdown: kinda broke down

posted by shadowfire (GRAND JUNCTION, CO) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

Breakdown is an entirely first person sci-fi action game. Absolutely everything is scene through the eyes of Derrick Cole, the main character. While the style of the game is interesting, unfortunately it fails in a few ways.

The story, when it actually starts, is a huge mind bender. The unfortunate part is that the story takes a long time to actually start. In the whole body of the game not much happens other than you beat on some enemies and shoot some of them.

The shooting in the game is very frustrating. Having a 4 weapon selection, only 3 of which can be used on regular enemies, there's not much variety. Your character becomes frighteningly innacurate at medium-long range and you are forced to close the distance and take large amounts of damage to get close enough to hit them. Then there's the hand-to-hand combat, oh boy. While keeping things inventive by giving you a large selection of moves, most of the moves are sluggish and don't deal considerably different amounts of damage. To add to the frustration it's also very hard. Your character moves slowly and when taking even a little bit of damage, will fall over, which takes forever and lets your enemy beat on you to take a huge chunk of your health. You can expect to get killed quite a few times before you get the hang of it.

Overall, the game was not made extremely well. with the extremely sluggish hand-to-hand combat, innacurate targeting and shooting system, and insane difficulty, it's understandable why many gamers would run in pure fear of this game. I myself however, was able to play through the entire game and enjoy it, while still being able to see the flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Breakdown... it's all in the name

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Dec 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

So Derrick Cole has been having a terrible day. He has amnesia, he's groggy and now armed soldiers want to kill him. And the only way you can escape is with the help of a girl. What's worse, the soldiers are getting slaughtered by T'Lan warriors and you can't hurt them with the guns you just picked up. Yeah, it's gonna be one of those days...
Basically, this is Breakdown. It's big on concept, but lacking in many other areas. The concept: an adventure game experienced entirely through the eyes of the main character, enemies you have to fight with your fists and a mind-bending world that will make you question your sanity. To it's credit, these concepts are implemented in full force. How well they're used is another subject.
First, through-the-eyes gameplay has been explored in other games, but most have third-person perspective sections (Metroid Prime, Chronicles of Riddick). While this might take away from the immersion, it makes the gameplay more cohesive. With all the acrobatics in Breakdown, some players will likely get nauseous after the fifth evasive roll. And fighting can become disorienting, which you don't want when fighting.
Which brings us to fighting. The gun play works well enough, but the fighting sequences leave you dealing with big, bulky science experiments with mean left hooks. After you die a few times from overly-complicated punching mechanics, you'll likely be weighing how much you want to continue playing. This threshold is reached far too soon.
In the end, the gameplay is too counter-intuitive to keep you playing and the storyline isn't engaging enough to lead you through the slog.
You have to give Namco credit for having tried something different and for that it gets points. But a good idea does not automatically make a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Break This Game

posted by OKRecords (ASHBURN, VA) Dec 30, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

I couldn't stand this game. It was hard to the point of making you want cry. It's great for the first stage when your bullets actually kill people, but once you get to the enemies that require a fist-t-cuff battle, forget it. You won't be going any further.

If you're looking for a kick you in the face hard game, then this is certainly it. I found it too hard to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Beatdown!

posted by FLOWDANGO (MORRISTOWN, NJ) Jun 30, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

Breakdown was a very anticipated title because none other has focused more on first person fighting like this title. But it was brought down very hard by horrible controls, horrible story, and a horrible graphical design that leads you to say "wow am I in the same place for 8 hours?". This title suffered from many aspects, the gun play was also very dull and boring. Also there is no multiplayer support! This game is a complete avoid at all costs, instead of renting this game please rent Chronicles of Riddick because that game brings the first person fighting to the level it truly should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »