Rent Brave Story: New Traveler for PSP Games
view large frontback

Brave Story: New Traveler

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

644 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greatest PSP RPG to-date!

posted by DolfanDon (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. The graphics are top of the game for the PSP. The game play works well, and keeps you pulled in. The story is somewhat unique for a RPG. You don't start off investigating what is destroying a fantastic world. Instead you are a child trying to save the life of your best friend who has fallen ill due to some mysterious medical condition. In doing so you venture into a fantastic world to get your wish granted. I am compelled by the simplistic nature of your quest. The characters work great as well. (although I must admit that I am a fan of anime, and they are somewhat stereotypical characters of the genre) The battle system is good and gets deeper as the game progressess. Also there are slew of mini-games that accomplish many things.

The only thing that this RPG does WRONG, is that it borrows from every past good-RPG ever made. Is that bad? I don't think so, but it does lend a familiarity to the game. The closest game I can compare it to would probably be FF VII. Althouhg it borrows liberally from other RPG gems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the best RPGs on the psp!

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Oct 5, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is the second PSP RPG game that i played and enjoy as much as one of those big title games:)
Despite the old tradition turn-based battle system, this game feel as much enjoyable as any other good games :) The game looks pretty good as well. The adventure is enjoyable and the characters are all unique (battle and personality wise). The battle system is what i like most about this game. You have individual skill attacks and combine attacks (kind of like wild arms 5 but better..)There are one of the point that seem to be a problem with xseed published games, the lack of money. It's hard to earn a lot of money despite after going through a lot of battles (i guess the equipments are kind of expensive to afford). Despite some minor problems (not worth mentioned) and the money issue.. this game really help bring the enjoyment of playing video games again, especially after playing a lot of lame games recent. This game is definately worth the rental, i'll buy it too but when it's $20 :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good over all

posted by Pronexs (GREENVILLE, SC) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked this game. I put about 39 hours into it and beat every mission and side quests that could be beat. It was fun and kept me interested. I like the graphics and the fact that there are so many towns to visit. I say this is worth playing if you are a fan of this kind of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Traditional RPG

posted by slogue (SWAINSBORO, GA) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics are top notch for a psp game at this time.

Story is pretty good as well. There are unity attacks that are different depending on the characters currently in the party, Chrono Trigger anyone? The game was a breath of fresh air and great rent. Best traditional RPG I have played in a while.

The voice acting is not bad in my opinion, although the dialog can be very childish at times. Music is better than most psp games out right now as well. If your a fan of Chrono Trigger I recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun romp through a nice world

posted by Vignirsson (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Aug 5, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2005

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game sprouted off from an Anime (Brave Traveler) and the subsequent Manga, though not watching or reading these items will not hinder your enjoyment of this game.

The story is basic, you are a boy that has to travel to an alternate universe to try and save your friend. While you play through the game, you have a chance to unveil more revealing parts of the story as well as visiting your ailing friend in the real world. The story is a bit simplistic but engaging and has the character support to really be enjoyable.

Battle in the game is basic; attacking, using items, using magic abilities and unity attacks. The attacks grow with each formation that you have, so if you want to have more unity attacks, you need to constantly rotate your characters in and out.

Puzzles are nice to work with; nothing over the top but nothing so simplistic that makes you feel idiotic. Sidequests come late in the game so you have to stay with it if you are into your sidequest action.

The real side game is the goalfinch collecting. You catch and raise these critters to fight other people inside of each dungeon, allowing you to get items when you trade in your unwanted birds, etc. It is fun to start off with but feels a little stitched on. More opportunity to explore this later in the game so that is another thing to look for.

All in all, this is a great game for this little machine. Not so long that you have to constantly keep your PSP plugged in but addictive enough to try and get this done ASAP so you can enjoy it all over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Game

posted by KirkPwnage (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Aug 9, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Brave Story was a awesome game. Its a great RPG game for the PSP and the Graphics are very nice on a portable system, this game is defiantly worth renting from Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i enjoyed this game overall

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Sep 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

brave story new traveler is about a boy who has a friend whose sick and he wants to save her by going on a journey. cuz if u go on this certain journey and collect gemstones u get a wish.

the combat was nice cuz I loved the unity attacks which is where ur teammates work together in combat and do a combo attack

the story and plot was nice cuz our hero wasn't the only person who wanted a wish.

who was this person u may ask?

rent it to find out! cuz I certainly loved it and would recommend this game to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Duzzel (APEX, NC) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I loved the game, but the ending sorta sucked. The fighting style is old-school RPG but real easy to level up. I recomend it to any fan of the old Tales Games and Old FF games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

beautiful graphics but not the game for me!

posted by raveaboutit (NEPTUNE, NJ) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I have to say i felt like i was playing on the ps2 game console the animation was so amazing. but for some reason i couldnt get into the storyline. but i think it is definatly worth trying out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Brave Story: New Traveler

posted by AngelzRoc (FRESNO, CA) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

The game is pretty fun... But it is kinda slow when it comes time to fight... The mazes and puzzles are fun. But like I said... things are slow on this game

So... Overall i'll give it a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Had potental...

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

It had great graphics and a nice plot, but the way it was all done out stunk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game on the PSP!

posted by RPGPimp (SAN JOSE, CA) May 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

This is the #1 RPG in my opinion. There is no better game. If you want turn-based old school Japanese RPG, then this is it. From beginning to end, it is an awesome journey that enraptures you. I wish there were more games like this. This is Xseed's best game. I just emailed them right now asking them to make a sequel for this game and to see if they are developing for Xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Maybe for the kiddies

posted by brettsp (SACRAMENTO, CA) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

Not bad, but I think I would like it more if I were 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good times for 40 hours!

posted by JimLiu (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

Fun 40 hours.

This game rewards slow loitering, and as long as one fight one hour before each new town, it isn't too hard. Also, going back to visit every character may trigger side quests and extra boosts to the characters.

One thing so simple and so good that it should be in every rpg, is about half way through the game when the skill "Stealth" is given to the main character, which allows the party to walk without being harassed by random encounters every 5 seconds, in an area where the monsters are too weak.

Even when the game is beaten, save it and continue to fight the same monsters, which will be more powerful and have better drops when "crazed" while riding a dragon's back (Call the dragon while in battle, which makes all special moves free for 3 turns)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best RPG on the PSP

posted by SageLink (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game amazed me. Great story telling topped off with graphics I've never seen in a PSP game. The environments weren't as interactive as in most RPGs but still had fun with the repetitive battle system. The only thing that bothered me was the fact that you regain your BP(or MP in other RPGs)every time you attack and there was no need for potions. With the right tactics you regain all of it every battle and watching the same special moves over and over again became a tad boring. But overall this game is a must buy for Brave Story fans and PG fans alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

unexpected

posted by greenman30 (CONYERS, GA) Sep 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

So the game started off real slow at first i was like garbage and then i gave it some time. after the stupid begining i found the game to have a really good battle system and leveling up was actually fun and not a chore. the story line is ok so far im half way through the game a lil bit different than the standard save the world stuff. but i have lil to none complaints on this game. a must play if your an rpg fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Refreshing in it's simplicity

posted by Jaw595 (SHELBY, OH) Sep 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

I'm going to start off by saying that i am an rpg fan. I like to explain it as I like to see numbers get bigger. It seems these days that rpgs are trying to become more action oriented in their battle systems and requiring a small stack of spreadsheets to keep track of your party members equipment and abilities. Brave Story: New Traveler is refreshing in it's simplicity and old school feel.

First off, BS looks really good on the psp's screen, i'd go as far as to say it's one of the best looking games i've played on the handheld with great effects and detailed character models and environments. Load times are thankfully short in every aspect from going into and out of the random battles and entering and exiting buildings/areas.

The battle system is as simplistic as you can get, it's basicaly a three member party turn-based battle system. You have the standard attack and special ability options and you also have something called Unity attacks which, depending on your active party members, allows you to do combination attacks with the other members of your party, which brings back fond memories of Chrono Trigger. Your characters will actually level up mid-battle as well which is a welcome addition.

The world is based on an anime series in japan but you play another character outside of the anime's story. The story is your standard "boy goes on adventure to save friend" sort of affair but the characters are actually likeable and even the half-cat girl doesn't get too annoying. The writing has it's moments and the music does the job but it is nothing spectacular.

I would suggest this game for any rpg fans or anyone interested in the genre. It doesn't really do anything new or groundbreaking but it is a charming little game with a fair difficulty curve that doesn't require a whole lot of grinding. It's an A in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by tisokan (BLUFFTON, SC) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

I got the game, cause I loved the movie, and manga, and I would have to say it is almost as good as the movie, which is my favorite movie. The graphics, are great, the storyline is great, and the battle system is perfect. Finlay a rpg game goes back its roots, the turn based system works wonderfully. I would say get this game now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Some of the best graphics on PSP since Tekken

posted by italian1 (ARCHBOLD, OH) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

First of all, i wasn't real excited about this game at first, because it was turned based, but it actually wasnt that bad.If there was a 8.5, i would have given this game that, but i think a 8 will do. I'm sure you know the story, so i won't waste time on that, but the story over all deserves a 9. The graphics surprised me. Some of the best graphics on a PSP since Tekken. If you aren't a turned based type of person, it's not the worst one out there, but it would have been an amazing game with just regular fighting, but it's all good. Over all i would give this game a 8.7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's a Final Fantasy without the fun...

posted by SterITuP (CYPRESS, CA) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This is all right if ur on edge of really needing a turn based RPG, yet u might get bored from the drooling begin...

This game i remember came out the same day as "Tales of the World Radiant Mythology" And i had a dilima of which two to pick and i'm glad I bought Tales of the world...cuz Brave Story is very dry in story-line and very linear...

The graphics are awesome on Brave story, yet the world maps and dungeons get really annoying after a while... And one bummer is that there's not a lot of voice acting thats no fun....Voice acting at least keep u awake...like 4 tales of the world and final fantasy...

This game i think tries too hard to be different from final fantasy, yet this made the game worse.

I don't like comparing games from others yet this game was too much like other games with the same plot which gets boring after the first hour..

And i have nothing positive about it, except that the graphics look good. anything else it's a disappointment..:(

Which means I pronounce this game an "EPIC FAIL" !!!!!!!

P.s. Sony please stop b.s.ing and make better games that r at least FUN. ok??? Please cuz i'm one stop from buying a DS, which is whooping u guys bad in sales.. So, make the games more fun!!!!
PLEASE!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Awesome game but nothing groundbreaking

posted by Kazama (PORT ANGELES, WA) Apr 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

The first thing I noticed when I started this game up was the graphics. Superb in every possible way, and probably the best in any rpg for the psp next to FF Crisis Core. The battles are your typical command menu style, so it was familar but nothing exciting. The story was pretty unique as it doesn't start out at all like most RPGs, which was another plus. However I did find that the story can be kinda rediculous if you really think about it, but anyway it was ok. Overall the game was definatley one I would wanna add to my collection, but it isn't a game that has owned the titles of the PSP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

didn't like it that much

posted by jay7928 (LAWRENCEVILLE, IL) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I didn't like this game very much it looked good the story on the game was nice I didn't think the game was fun to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Brave Story: new traveler

posted by gotankz (COUNCIL BLUFFS, IA) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

Boring, to predictable, nothing new!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is great!!!

posted by Raestep (Lehigh Acres, FL) Dec 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

I like to keep these things sort and sweet. This game is great, very Final Fantasy VII. The story is ok and the graphics are pretty awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »