Rent Brave: A Warrior's Tale for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Brave: A Warrior's Tale

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii
GF Rating
2.9

536 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Brave: A Failure's Tale

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Apr 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Brave is supposed to be a kids game. Honestly, I don't see what makes it a suitable game for kids. For someone like me who is 20 years old, I couldn't figure out what to do half the time in Brave. The game doesn't explain things to you, it just expects you to already know what to do having that you have done this stuff a million times. Having said that, let's break the elements down.

-The graphics look like a game that was ported from the N64, but did no such upgrades to move into the current generation. The graphics are on par with that of the N64, which is pi$$ poor by today's standards and downright unacceptable.

-The controls are clunky and the camera gets out of control 98% of the time. The controls aren't really very responsive.

-The sound is rather annoying. The voice work makes you wanna play with the TV muted and the outside sounds are very...blah.

-The gameplay is what you would expect from a typical platformer, except this particular one is still stuck 2 gaming generations ago.

-The story is something that most people will not really care for. I don't know what it is, but nobody will care either, it's not important or worth while.

FAULTS:
-Graphics are N64 esque
-Glitches are around every corner and mess up the initial game play
-Camera is very frustrating
-Controls are very frustrating to use as well
-Sound and voice work is at the bottom of the totem pole
-Non innovative gameplay
-Story is forgettable right away
-Environments are disgustingly bland
-Not a very good game in terms of telling you what to do next, they just expect you to know what to do like you've done it hundreds of times.

This game has an easy 1000G, but I couldn't muscle through more than the first 45 minutes because of everything that I have experienced in the game. Not worth it. I can play a bad game every once in a while to get some gamerscore, but I have better taste than this piece of junk of a game. Not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Game That Never Ends

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Aug 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is unbelievable. Just when you think you are about to wrap it up, you still have more to do. Then when that's done, you still have to do the same thing again and again. Very tedious at the end. One of the worst games I've ever played. Don't get fooled into thinking this is an easy 1000 gamer score. The camera is horrible and you will have to replay many sections over and over to get past them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW

posted by slip420 (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

started off ok .. my son got through the easy levels and i helped with the ones later on and as soon as you get to the ice level the game fails. horroble controls glicthy and agrivating...bad game even for kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

If you love glitches you'll love this game

posted by Soulkiss (EUREKA, CA) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

When I jumped up onto a cliff and fell through it I knew I was playing a very special game. This game has so many glitches and technical problems I wonder how it ever got produced abd feel terribly sorry for anybody who payed actual money to buy it. If you like terrible platform games with a horrible camera and this is so long I won't bore myself any further. This is a rental service so the only harm is thinking about a better way to waste your time, but if you like bad platform games I say go for it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Extremely Poor Programing

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Aug 31, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is a Perfect example of a Game that should never have been released. The Controls are Bad the Camera is Really bad, the Lighting or absence of it makes the Game Impossible to see when you need to There is Nothing about this Game that could even start to make it one anyone would want to play.
Makes me wonder who Programmed it and if they ever tried to play it before they released it actually they couldnt have or it never would have been released. Prime example of why some Programmers are Very Highly Overpaid. If I had the Money I would Buy every copy of this game I could find and Destroy them all so No one else would be Subjected to this awful game. and since i dont have that kind of money best I can do is Warn other people to avoid this game like the Plague. Never Heard of the Game company before and after Trying this game I will bet they are No Longer in Business because if this is an example of thieer work Then well they can't have made much money. Some ideas for games should never be tried and this is One of them. It Gets a 1 only because thats as Low a Score as I can Give it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Spirit of the Red Tree Tribe

posted by Range13 (BOZEMAN, MT) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A basic platformer remade from its ps2 roots to HD glory on the 360, has a really cool art design and some great moments but overall can be a glitchy and frustrating affair. If you are in it for the achievements this a good renter, just don't get too upset when the game freezes on you as it did MULTIPLE time for me. Quietly reload and go after that 500 pt finish game achievement as it is the only reason I gave this game a full spin. The graphics aren't bad and the story has one too many find the 3 parts of the amulet sections but for a renter you could do worse. 6.5 stars down to 4.5 for the 3 or four frozen screen glitches I experienced. Might be a little dark(visually) and difficult in sections for younger gamers, who it appears geared towards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Easy Game

posted by Holmes1 (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just got brave and beat it and got all the achievements on it in 6 hours i found it a fairly easy game i read a lot of reviews about it freezing up and glitching, i had no problem only thing that happened was i glitched one time that was it game wasn't fun nor boring and was very simple good if you want to get quick 1000 gamer score

My rating: 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy 1000gs Achievement

posted by 360GmScore (BEAVERTON, OR) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Great game for boosting your Gamer Score and for the younger ones.
OVERVIEW
- Estimated achievement difficulty: 2/10
- Offline: 14 (1000 )
- Online: 0 (0 )
- Approximate amount of time to 1000 : 6-10 hours
- Minimum number of playthroughs needed: 1
- Number of missable achievements: 0 (level select)
- Glitched achievements: None!
- Cheats disable achievements: No Cheats
- Does difficulty affect achievements: No

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not too shabby...

posted by OnlyAName (HARBOR CITY, CA) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

As was the case with me, I'm sure most people renting this game are doing it for the easy achievements for the 1000 gamerscore. Also, I'm sure you're expecting a bad game. Well, this is definitely not a masterpiece, but it's not a bad way to go to get achievements.

First off, the graphics are very dated, as this is a port of a PS2 game. The art style is funky but not horrible. The story is simple, and there's nothing "inspired" in the game, but it has it's moments of enjoyability.

You have a choice at the start of the game as playing either a male or female character, but you only play as this character for the very start of the game and the very end of it. The rest of the game you play as "Brave" the main character of the game. And when you do actually play as the character you chose at the start, if you pick a female, the voice acting is only appropriate during the cutscenes, but during gameplay it still uses the "male" voice.

The controls and gameplay are good and responsive, although they have to be considering some areas of the platforming in this game are EXCRUCIATING to deal with and get through. For the most parts the checkpoints and levels are well placed, but every now and then there are sections of platforming where you have to be exact in your jumping and movements, otherwise you fall to your death and have to do it all again.

There are "secret totems" to be found, an excellent video guide can be found here: xbox360achievements[DOT]org/forum/showthread.php?t=168867 (the volcano level video is a bit out of order, so watch it all so you don't skip anything as you go along).

So overall, expect a decent game meant for kids, be prepared to spend around 10 hours getting through this if you're also going for the secret items (if not, expect around 6 hours). Also be ready for some frustrating parts that will test your patience. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

the graphics

posted by graphicbad (BRYAN, TX) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the graphics of the bear choud of been edited to make it more realistic the rocks don't breaks when the bear hits them. the stick on fire is the only way to kill him it needs more object to hit him with then the beetles are hard to kill cause you have to jump on them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game is bad

posted by Jman187 (ONEIDA, NY) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Bad collision detection. Bad Controls. No lighting or brightness options in the game make it near impossible for me to see where I am going, which in turn renders the game unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Brave: a bad game

posted by feralucce (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Simply put this is racially insensitive with only the barest hint of a plot. They tried to make up for the plot deficiency by showing it alot. Combine this with abysmal control, a horrible combat system and every cliche in teh book and you have brave

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game! No kidding!

posted by Gonzy2013 (ORLANDO, FL) May 4, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I judged everything about this game based on PS2 expectations since this game was originally a PS2 game and was then ported onto the Xbox360 with a different subheading.

So what can I say...oh yeah, this:

The controls were not that bad to get used to, I mean I have experienced worse control schemes than this.

The game-play itself is alright, not sure if it is just me or something but I didn't actually encounter that many glitches or any at all!

The story itself is very good once you understand it. I just can't help but giggle a bit when I look at the description for the sleeve this game came in where it talks about controlling a character named "Courage" but in the actual game, you only control them for the beginning and end game segments, in which the majority of the game, you control "Brave"

It isn't that difficult to play either, its just the fact that this game never gives up when it comes to length and when it comes to platforming segments which is probably why most of the people who played this completely hate it (that and the glitches)

Overall, this was a fantastic game to play! I understand that people hate it because of all the glitches and annoyingly long parts to it, but still, its a PS2 game originally released in 2005, re-released on later generation consoles in 2009.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

near end get hard.

posted by gamebreak24 (NUNNELLY, TN) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

the hardest achivement is the 500 POINTS ACHIVEMENT. the game is simple at 1st but near the end it gets hard i mean very hard. the near end was build to try to make u give up. the game can be un beat able if u dont have the skills it takes to beat the near end of the game. and for the others achivements they are simple to get but the 500 points achivement is very hard to get, and i rate this game a perfect 10 because it a challenge at the near end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Brave : A Warrior's Tale, the greatest fail ev

posted by KingpinKain (MURRIETA, CA) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game is one of the worst in the history of gaming. The only possible reason to play this game is to achieve the insanely easy achievements. But if you're playing this for "fun", be warned, you will have to purchase the game because it will be shattered in less than 1 hour of game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Even a Game

posted by thespiderking (REDMOND, WA) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Stay far away from this "game". So awful it's beyond describing. Concept very good, but the actual product is ugly and unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Easy game made harder

posted by themerc (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

I played this simply because it was listed as an easy 1000G game, I don't regret playing for the pretty quick 1000G, but it was a horrible experience doing so. All the mistakes you can make on a platformer, it's in this game, annoying horrible camera, bad jumping physics, hard to tell where you land, jumps that will make you rage quit, and absolutely horrible level design from falling platforms to moving platforms. Story is ok, but it gets really frustrating towards the end, don't want to spoil it, but one of the ending parts is completely unnecessary and annoying.

If you're playing for the easy 1000G, try it, it's not that hard, it's just the horrible design that makes it harder than it should be, but the game is like a band-aide, rip it off really quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Brave Epic Fail

posted by SgtScullsWife (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

If I could describe this game in one word it would be bold and hyphonated EPI-FAIL. I can usually find something positive to say about a game and here is what I have come up with this. I loved the game when my power went out and it magically stopped. The graphics are horrible, it glitches like mad. I would rather my XBox die than ever look at this game again. If you get this game just remember... those are seconds, minutes, hours, days, weeks of your life you will never get back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME I'VE EVER PLAYED!!

posted by Mickey75 (MUSCODA, WI) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Let me start by saying that I'm an achievement hunter. The only reason I even rented this game was for the gamerscore bump.

Now thats out of the way, I whole heartedly agree with the other reviews posted with this game.

It was glitchy to the point of nearly impossible.

All the way through the game I was almost angered with the way they portrayed Native Americans. The mannerisms of the character when standing still. When you were running, the dirt on the bottoms of the feet. And the sounds during the final Boss fights were racist at best.

I'm only pointing these out because my best friend is Native American and he thought it was overboard with the stereotyping in this game.

I wouldn't recommend this to even the most diehard of achievement hunters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't bother

posted by EnoYls (BOZRAH, CT) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Know that I rented this game thinking that it would be an easy game to boost my gamerscore. I understand the target audience is not me. However, I need to share my opinion so others might avoid this game at all costs as this might be the worst game I have played in as long as I can remember.

There are camera control problems that lead to jumps into what should be instant death pits, but sometimes your character just lands at the bottom and doesn't die, leaving you stuck in an unplayable state.

Normally I wouldn't knock graphics in a game, but these are bad - like worse than some first year original xbox games.

Controls feel horribly sluggish.

When zoomed in to first person view, for some reason I can only chock up to the designers/programmers hating gamers, they switched the camera control to the left thumb-stick - never mind the fact that pretty much every game made since the creation of the dual analog control scheme has the camera controlled with the right thumb-stick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth it

posted by fffffg (GARLAND, UT) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

the rafting sucks bigtime and it needs more lighting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth it.

posted by TGRJester (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

I figured since this game has a 500 point achievement I'd suffer through it. In retrospect, it wasn't worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awful

posted by AlfredPMcL (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

This game is awful. At no point is it fun to play. If you're playing for the achievements know that it has some serious glitches including some that prevent progression and will force you to restart from the beginning with no collectibles saved. Awful awful game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »