Rent Brain Age: Train Your Brain in Minutes a Day! for DS
view large frontback

Brain Age: Train Your Brain in Minutes a Day!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

1386 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Brain Age: Food for Your Thoughts

posted by HuzeReview (ASHBURN, VA) Jun 30, 2006

Member since May 2005

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This title is frequently compared to Big Brain Academy and rightfully so. Both games advertise themselves as being "healthy brain games" and focus on strengthening your mental muscles through simple mental acuity games.

Having played both games, I can reassure anyone reading this review that they are notably different titles.

Brain Age has a distinct focus on the science of "training your brain". You are led through a series of daily exercises by the bouncing head of renown Japanese neuro-scientist, Dr. Ryuta Kawashima. When you begin your mental training, you are given 3-4 exercises to play through. At the conclusion of the exercises, Dr. Kawashima reveals your "brain age".

The initial results can come as a shock: my brain age was 51, yet I'm a healthy 31-year-old. With the news that I was a lot closer to death than I originally thought, I was determined to play immediately the next day. I'm happy to report that my brain age is a now spry 28.

What may prove frustrating to some people is that the game requires you to play daily to open up more games. Initially, you only have 4 "brain games" (and a reasonable number of Sudoku puzzles), but this number grows with each passing day. Personally, I enjoy this aspect since its like opening up a new present each morning. Some days I get socks and some days I get a Red Rider BB gun.

Overall, the experience has been enjoyable thus far and will certainly tide over this reviewer until Brain Age 2 hits the streets later this Summer.

As mentioned previously, this game has some similarities to Big Brain Academy (BBA). While I gave Brain Age a "7", I'd give BBA an "8". The game is simply more fun to play. The 15 included puzzles (with 3 difficulty levels) are challenging and addicting. You are tested in a similar fashion and receive a "brain weight" and a job title at the conclusion of the test.

Overall, both games are fun, inexpensive ($20 apiece), and should be part of any DS-owner's library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brain Age

posted by Shentok (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Brain Age is a fun and addictive game. The handwriting recognition is very well done except for that it sometimes recognizes 9's as 4's. The voice recognition does not work very well with my lower voice. Only 1 out of 10 commands does it recognize. Other than that, it is very good. It really trains your brain. The sudoku puzzles are very well done and provides challenge. Recommended game for those, like me, are on an extended vacation until college starts sometime in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Recognize my writing!!!

posted by reviewer (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Every aspect of this game is great, except that hand writing recognition is bad. If this game wasn't time critical it would not be so bad, but given that you are always timed, you will try and rush an answer to it as quickly as possible. It is really frustrating writing the correct answer and getting marked because it thought your 9 was a 4, for example.

On the other hand this is a great way to play Sudoku!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game actually trains your brain

posted by Nysguy (DETROIT, MI) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Or does it? It seems to. This games claims to help you think better and make your brain more alert by throwing problems at you that you must solve in a flash. Sure 7x3 is easy, but how fast can you solve 200 of these problems? That's Brain Age. It throws things at you and you really have to use your brain to get these. This game makes clever use of the DS. You hold the DS sideways like a book. You Read on the left screen, and write on the right. The game would display the word "Yellow" but the color of the word would be written in red. The game asks you to blurt out the color of the word and not the actual word itself. You think yellow, but you're supposed to say red. That's Brain age. You have to really use your brain. Sounds simple, but this game is tricky.

This game really shines when more than one person plays it on a regular basis. This game keeps track of everything you do on a daily basis. It even gives you a stamp on a calendar for each day you play. Your scores are displayed next to other players scores. Think you did well, the game will tell you that "Jennifer" did better than you today and display her score, mocking you! The game may ask you to draw a hippo, and a few days later when you turn the game on, it would show you your drawing side by side with Jennifer's hippo that she drew. Who's is better? The game even decides if your drawing skills are good!

Fun game to have and very addicting! And for you people that drag butt in the morning and have a hard time waking up, this game actually helps get your brain working and thinking in the morning.

Fun game and worth a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could be better, thats why more are coming

posted by GoldFibre (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 16, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first "Brain" game is a good introduction to a somewhat new style of game. I would suggest renting this game if you've played Big Brain Academy and want more exercises, but the later "Brain" games are much better if you are looking to buy one or try one out for the first time.

The exercises are kind of fun and can be challenging, but the whole experience doesn't get my brain feeling exercised. I suppose I have much more stimulation in my life than someone living in a retirement home, so maybe I wasn't the target audience.

The presentation is just weak. I'm not sure how to put it, but the way the menus are laid out the talking head's repetitive dialog make the game feel kind of cheap.

Maybe you feel that a rating of 6 is terrible, but "Above Average" is really the feeling I got from this game. I played it. It was interesting. I don't regret playing it, and I'm looking forward to more "Brain" games that improve upon the current ones. A "5 = Fair" game wouldn't leave me looking forward to a sequel, and a "7 = Good" game I would have enjoyed more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great learning game

posted by Wenevin (ROCKFORD, IL) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I think this is a great I bought it and have been playing it for 3 days now and I've actually gotten better with my math skills already!
I am a homeschooler so this is a great game to warm up with before the harder stuff (except for head count that's just good learning) so you should give it a try especially if your a homeschooler

Wenevin
World of Warcraft
server Whisperwind

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BRAIN AGE IS AMAZING!!!

posted by MYSTERY (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Jun 12, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has transformed a family of DS skeptics into people who love the DS! The games are fast and fun, but it stinks that there are too few of them at first. Within 15 minutes of playing the game and a DS system, my brother (a PSP only user) was dying to buy his own DS system. This game truly lives up to its promise of helping your brain become sharper. And, above all it is FUN!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brain age is a good game!

posted by gabesma (JAMESTOWN, NC) May 3, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was worried about trying this game but I found out it is very good!It is not for everybody though because you may not care ,but I did.The pros about brain age are:good use of stylus
it has mutiplayer with single card(have not tryed it yet)
Unlockables!
Has 100 sudoku puzzles!(I tried it on here and it is fun!)
Does not get boring fast
Has a main goal to achieve(something to lok forward to)
writing detection is pretty good(sometimes)

has a high score list!

Every game has flaws so here are the cons:
some times makes mistakes when your writing letter or numbers but there will be an erase button
the penilty are a little unfair
one of the programs is a real attention grabber!
only letsyou check and saves your brain age once a day

Final saying:

This a very good game/software.I would recommend this if you are homeschooled(like me)or if you need a review on some math and languge.And with with some practice sudoku can become very fun,and it's all educational!!!!!!!!.It is very cheap too( only $20).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

How to get Parents and Grandparents into games

posted by AlexZver (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 30, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This title is fantastic. In the short time I have owned it I have become hooked. My Mother has become hooked on the Brian Age, just about everyone else that gives it a go. Do not skip out on this game - it is one of the best on the DS so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Enough Sudoku Puzzles

posted by volcomjerk (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to buy this game but there are just not enough Sudoku puzzles for an experienced Sudoku player. I really wish it auto generated puzzles. I definitely would purchase this game with unlimited amounts of puzzles to solve. I'm already 30% done with all the Sudoku puzzles and I've had it for one night.

This is a great way to play Sudoku but it needs more puzzles. I'd only rent this game since I just wanted it really for Sudoku.

The other brain games are pretty fun though and make your head spin sometimes. Great for sharing with friends and playing together. I'll keep it for a week longer and see if I would still want to purchase. After all, it is only 17 bucks. However, my initial reaction stands... do not buy if you are an experienced Sudoku player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't get it

posted by GameDudeAR (LAKE MARY, FL) Jun 6, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This game is very bad. Since it's too hard and it doesn't work right. Like in one test where you need to say colors it doesn't work since you can't say blue. Also may times it thinks my 4s are 9s in math problems making me seem like an idiot. The Suduko is ok but same problem it think all my numbers are something different. And in Sudoku it's a 5 mistakes and you lose so it's very difficult to finish a puzzle when it can bearly read my numbers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BRAIN AGE GAME NOT WORTH IT

posted by LadyWrestler (GREENSBORO, NC) Dec 9, 2012

Member since May 2012

BRAIN AGE GAME NOT WORTH IT Boring game not alot of challenges & you only get a few things & when do its basically the same thing over & over on a 4th grade level non the less when in reality should been set as any grade from 1st all the way to college & frankly that would have been alot of challenges if you think about it cause think the name BRAIN AGE & what does DRAWING PICTURES got to do with training you're brain in the first places ? i thought it was math science & Social studies as well that needed right not just alone art who here can draw a picture of KING TUT if so let me know & thats 1 thing BRAIN AGE ask's who can draw KING TUT a picture of him ?! HAVE FUN wasting time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do not get this game

posted by Gameingspade (NORTH BRANCH, MN) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Once you get this game you can only play very few games. The games are boring and make no sence what so ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not so good

posted by thegroom (FOUNTAIN, CO) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

did not care for this game at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Really makes you think

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

It does get your gears going. I think there should be more though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good

posted by SBMARIOSB (OGDEN, UT) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

I've had this game for almost a week now and I really enjoy it; I already feel my brain functioning better. It has a few glitches—like when you write a certain number/letter it doesn't always read it correctly—but it's still fun and educational. The more you play it the more puzzles you can unlock. As soon as I beat this one I will be buying the second one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

i got it because it looked like big brain academy.

posted by gamer99 (HILLSBORO, OR) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

most of the things on there are boring and there are only a few cool things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its boring

posted by dodoebird (OAK RIDGE, TN) Jun 7, 2008

Member since May 2008

once you have played it once it gets boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its a fun way to brush up on arithmetic and other

posted by Sheri1982 (HESPERIA, CA) Jan 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

There is only one problem when you write in the number four (4) because you have to write the number nine (9) instead.
Also in the memory section where you have to remember all of these words and write them down. The pad doesn't recognize all the letters you write down which makes it harder to get a better score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good fun, with minor glitches

posted by AngelSword (STRATFORD, CT) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

This is one of the more hyped games released, and rightly so. The tests are fast and intuitive, as well as providing a moderate challenge.

Unfortunately, the voice and handwriting recognition can be very finicky at times, causing you to repeat words or making you miss a mathematical problem you would otherwise get.

Overall, however, it is definitely worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by jack11 (SOUTHLAKE, TX) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

This game is o.k. ,i mean all you do is train your brain everyday, pretty boring. i think this game is for seniors not for anything under. Don't rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

My review!

posted by puccaluv (Union City, NJ) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

I'd found this game a little boring and too easy to play, besides you can only play minutes a day and that's what makes it boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but repetitive

posted by textra (DURHAM, NC) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This DS game stimulates your brain using various, but somewhat limited, number and reading games. The game is good but it's main attraction, the daily brain "training", is easily repititive, as the game can only hold your score for each minitest once a day. The game also has some issues recognizing handwriting and voice, but it is pretty good recognition on the whole. The best part of the game is probably the plethora of sudoku puzzles you can complete (but they don't contribute anything to your "brain age" or daily training).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brain Age

posted by ril2lon (BETHLEHEM, PA) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Brain Age was alot of fun. As previously mentioned the voice recognition is not great. Overall, I found the handwriting recognition very good considering the fact that I have lousy handwriting. The game was original and charted progress well. I was especially pleased with the Sudoku. I had never played Sudoku other than pencil and paper and the software and stylus enabled speedy completion and easy use of "cheat numbers" in the boxes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sudoku time

posted by 365postal (Ottawa, WV) Jun 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Train your brain in minutes a day but you can only play the game minutes a day. Its amusing for the first week or so. So when all else fails its time to play sudoku which is included on the game to keep the wrinkles in your brain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse