Rent Bound by Flame for PS3
view large frontback

Bound by Flame

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS4, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.6

135 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

KILL IT WITH FIRE!!!!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Sep 9, 2014

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is sad as I doubt highly that it was ever play tested..
It seems they didn't know whether to make it into a RPG or an action game.. It is nether... Some say say it is strategic, but the strategy I have seen so far is run around the enemy while you regenerate or just die trying to do anything else... Seriously the people who made this game must love the game over screen because I have seen it enough times to want to quit playing altogether... They don't give you any resources like a normal strategy game, so i really don't have any Idea what they are talking about... Strategy is supposed to be based on info, but the only info it really gives you is that, "Hey, get swamped by monsters!" , "Hey, watch out for that bruiser, so just run around him in circles while you magic gauge renews, then run around him some more..." Should they have made, " Spanish Flea" the boss theme? Then the next area I get to I get hammered by unending spiders and get wiped out before I can do anything, and again there is the game over screen... The game's difficulty was set to normal and it is too high? Did the people who made this game ever play test it? No, I don't think they ever did...
The Idea of swamping players with mass hordes of monsters just to show the player the game over screen is already boring me...
The game TWO WOLDS was better than this game... I don't know what else to do but to send it back and say I don't think gamers need to be subjected to this lousy untested game... If you are going to make a strategy game then give us a strategy game, but if you want to make an RPG then make an RPG, but as it stands this game qualifies as a BAD GAME!!!
Try before you buy! You have been warned...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Eh.........

posted by leostar (DELMAR, MD) May 28, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is fine, and has a fine concept, but I just didn't care about the story being told. It was like playing a DLC of Skyrim.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

mostly great

posted by nightcrawler12 (NEWARK, OH) May 27, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i loved the story but combat is unbalanced it seems and the final boss is ridiculous but overall the game was fun i think people should at least try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

STAY AWAY

posted by angryarmytony (FAIR OAKS, CA) Oct 15, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

Bound By Flame has proven that even in this dark time of disappointing triple A titles that companies not very well known can still make terrible games a.k.a. Bound By Flame.

What's good: there are reasons why this game is not a 1/10 and it has some good qualities. If you plan on being evil then with the bad decisions you make you will start to turn into the demonic being inside of you which has its buffs and debuffs. Armor and weapons were fun to find and customize with a solid crafting system. Creatures are not all generic, some have interesting features and require different techniques to be defeated.

What's bad: combat is awful, to do a quick attack with your main weapon it will take about 6 seconds to charge up for any weapon except daggers. enemies will never be a one hit kill which loses the game's sense of progression when facing a grunt you fought at the beginning still takes at least 5 hits even when you are level 20. Every area is a corridor even when you are in an open area you are confined by ridges, rocks, hills, and invisible walls. Good weapons and armor are impossible to find even gold is hard to find which sucks when that one smith you find is selling armor you want for 1000 gold and all you have is 300. Crafting system was a good idea but generic, you can only craft 5 items. The enemy AI is pathetically stupid, basically run around in circles or find an invisible wall and any enemies can be easily defeated. Never Fear! The companion AI is just about as stupid as the enemies, basically they are good at one thing, death which they will go down in just about every battle and can't be revived until the end of it. The story is insanely boring, all characters have nothing interesting to say or good back story, the dialogue is awful, even graphics look like they were made in 2010. There is no reason for anyone to play this game, avoid this train wreck of a game like the plague.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I've played much worse.

posted by cthulhusdream (LOUISVILLE, KY) Sep 29, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

For what it was (not a big name triple A game) this game was pretty good. Definitely worth the rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Is there any good rpgs???

posted by sonic_kessler (RICE, TX) Sep 1, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

This game is strategic it has pretty good combat an decent graphics also it can be really hard at times I have died constantly but is some what fun to keep retrying and come up with a different attack plan and also your companion you choose to help you does not help and will die most of the time you battle the same enemies over and over no real variety I read that the level cap is 25 and im level 20 at the moment 5 levels away an yet I die just as fast if I was level 1 there are three combat styles you can use a swords, hammers, or axes they are all slow and have no dodge move another style is ranger where you use daggers this is the style I chose because they are fast and have dodge and last is pyromancer where you are basically a fire mage if you wanna give this game a try great and if not also great overall it can be pretty fun and really frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

First Review

posted by Gamer20 (CHATHAM, LA) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

Hey everyone, I want to start off saying this is a great game. I like the freshness it brings to RPGs. It feels like Dragon Age and looks like The Witcher. The game looks beautiful for what it is I mean when you look afar it get pixelate. But looking at your character it shows up like any PS3 game does. The custom in the game was great and cool but I didn't understand how the whole thing works so theres that. As for loot You loot the heck out of everything you get stuff to craft new stuff and upgrades but you don't loot weapons and stuff to often.

Now as for my problem with the game is that I ran into 2 game breaking glitches the first is a side quest you have to do to get a mine quest, That if done to late your stuck. The second is that when moving between arena if you try to keep moving the game frazzes and sense the game uses auto save that just kills your save game you could start all over if you wasn't that far like me. But I got mad at it afraid spent 14 hours in game and both these happen to me....

Hope this helps I gave it a 8 out of 10 for the freshness it brings, If you can get around those glitches or a patch comes out for them then this is a recommend game for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

really 8/10 cause its $40

posted by Michaelalfy3 (MANHATTAN BEACH, CA) Jun 15, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

6/10on easy 4-5/10 on any other difficulty but still liked it and finished it, could've been great BUT I'M COMPARING IT TO $60 GAMES AND ITS NOT. GOOD COMPLETE STORY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »