Rent Borderlands 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Borderlands 2

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $19.99

Also on:PS Vita, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.5

3517 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

23 out of 29 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

If you are a returning fan... You don't really need any explanation of to what this game is. Newcomers, this is a game that has more guns in ANY other game out there. It is a RPG shooter, but instead of having a bunch of magical... elf... staffs... An all that lameness. You get Guns and lots of guns -- Guns that shoot bullets that, bounce off things, explode into more bullets(That even can set things on fire). This is by far one of the best shooter's out there. Utilized for 4player co-op or you can run it alone... If you haven't gotten to the vehicles -- You haven't seen a fraction of this games potential.

You have the ability to play as four characters.
Axton - Commando, Weapon expert; Can deploy auto-turret
Zero - The assassin, who utilizes in sniper rifles.
Maya- The Siren, able to do special attacks
Salvador - Gunzerker, utilizing in heavy weapons
Each character has their own perk, but are not limited to any weapon.

The Vault, a vast wealth of imaginable riches, is hidden on the planet of Pandora... A maniac of the name Handsome Jack is attempting to tear the planet apart in search for it. The Vault hunters are out to stop him and take the vault for themselves.

2k Games has surely wrote a masterpeice... Hilarious voice-acting... Non-repetive play and really aimed to give what their fan base wanted -- Without over doing it.

Gearbox -- Did a magnificent visualization of the title. Brilliant vehicle mechanics; creative rich detail in the alien planet of pandora; Fear-some bosses; Fun gun mechanics... And a gameplay that you and three of your buddies can get down on and have fun.

There is now more than one vehicle type. Maps are larger. There is still loading screens, but it isn't problematic... The title was well refined for the fans.

Check out this game, it is a instant classic, and endless fun.

You will want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Border-YEEEAAAH!

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Oct 3, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

This game is AWESOME.

Ever play the first one? YOU SHOULD. That game was awesome too.

This takes everything from the first one and makes it feel like a legit sequel with all the proper upgrades, tweaks, fixes, bells and whistles.

It's incredibly fun. COOP is a must, and the best around.

The new characters stand all on their own, just as the original four did. They feel different and unique and not in the shadows of the original.

CL4P TR4P, Marcus, Moxxi, Scooter and all the other recurring characters are as awesome and welcome as ever.

This story is good, and well implemented into the crazy world of sandbox side-questing.

Honestly, this game, this series is quite possibly the best of this generation, especially in terms of multiplayer, coop and shooters. And lets' face it, at this point it's probably the best RPG around (I'm looking at you Japan!)

It does everything necessary to compete with the likes of Fallout, or any other games compared to it because of genre or play style. RAGE? Pssshhh...

PLAY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the first in every way!

posted by Minion010 (TUCSON, AZ) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

20 out of 33 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

I played the 1st borderlands and loved the concept of it. A first person shooter mixed with RPG elements. The original had me hooked from start to finish. So when I heard that gearbox made a sequel I thought that it would be impossible to top the first, boy was I wrong! Gearbox improved on borderlands 1 in every way. The skills of each character are all unique and different from each other. There are more guns, new characters, smarter AI, beautiful environments, more in depth story etc. I got the game a few days early and I must say I haven't been able to put the game down. Borderlands 2 is a must have for those who really enjoy shooters. Don't take my word for it, pick this up and see for yourself. If you enjoyed the first you will fall in love with this one. I definitely highly recommend this game. 9-10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

get it play it

posted by durango95 (DECATUR, AL) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

fun fun fun ..just like #1...better graphs..get it play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Borderlands2

posted by MIOlover (KENNESAW, GA) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing so many guns good co op mode just fantastic is amazing way better than the first one the charcters are amazing.Zero, Axton,Mya and Salvador.Best game of 2012 yet to come this is outstanding unbelivable.The guns are so colorful and the grenades are not like a COD type of grenade like some spin fire another is like a vortex and thier are over 80 million guns can u belive that!The story line is perfect Hansome jack is a good guy villian like he is one of those business people that get you mad hope you guys enjoy this Review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty great.

posted by tgainey14 (NEW BERN, NC) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been playing for about 20 minutes, and I am so into this game it's ridiculous. I didn't really like Borderlands, but this one is way better. Guns are better, enemies are better, and so far the story makes more sense. Get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Joy Pucked my Face Off

posted by HatedxLegion (ROUND ROCK, TX) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A sequal to the first game, Borderlands 2 is a step up , with a actual functioning story, and more guns than you can count. There is no such thing as dull moment in borderlands 2, with new enemies, loot, and classes this game is what vault hunters have been waiting for.Graphics wise this game is satisfing while the art style that is used is not as pretty as other games, it adds the personality this game portrayes, the guns sound satisfingly powerful from a the sound of a bazooka to the sound of a magnum these guns sound, look, and feel powerful. This is a must have for those that loved the first game, and a must for fps lovers, and an added rpgish leveling system adds to this fantastic product.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Amazing!!!

posted by skaterkid9 (ROANOKE, AL) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For those of you who are returning fans of the first game, you know what this is, and you know that you love it! This game improves upon the first in anyway possible. Even MORE guns, even MORE side missions, even MORE NPC's, and (most importantly) an even MORE compelling story with addicting gameplay along with its amazing mechanics. Gearbox has done a great job with this game, and I hope that they go on and improve upon their already amazing skills in game making and listening to their fans for support and opinions. If you have not played the first game, then do so NOW. After you have finished the story on the first one, pull up a chair to this beauty and stay for a while, because you will LOVE it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sequel a step above its predecessor

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Sep 26, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The first "Borderlands" had a lot going for it, but what it lacked was a good narrative story to propel the player through the various missions. "Borderlands 2" rectifies this, making the characters and story line more compelling, with a few twists and even an emotional moment or two. The controls have been tightened, even the driving (though that could be better). Just focusing on the story missions will take you a good amount of time, though if you only do story missions you're going to be in for a difficult time. Leveling up is necessary to proceed. It's nowhere near "Dark Souls" hard, but it has its challenges, especially for a solo player. Co-op makes things a bit easier, as long as the players are fair about sharing loot. There are plenty of missions in this game to challenge you- 20 story missions and over 70 side quests, which vary from killing nasty wildlife to solving a murder to learning some history to helping Claptrap have a birthday party. There are a few fetch quests, but not so much that they get tedious. The variety keeps things fun, and that variety spreads to the environment of Pandora, which goes from cities to canyons and deserts to snow covered areas. Enemy AI is fairly smart, and will flank you and call for help. You choose a character from four classes (Commando, Siren, Assassin, and Gunzerker), all of which play a bit differently, giving some incentive for replay. The ending doesn't change, but how you get there does. Voice acting is also improved from the first game, and areas feel more populated and lived in. The dialogue is often funny as well, making this one of the more entertaining games to come out this year. It's not perfect- I hit a glitch towards the end of the game that forced me to quit and go back in proceed, collision detection is off at times, and the camera can go a bit crazy in places. Despite these flaws, this is well worth the time, as you can easily dump 40-60 hours into this. A buy for fans and a must play. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This Game is Awesome!

posted by WhyMan (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Sep 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is just like the 1st one, but better! It will take you at least 30-50 hours to complete everything! And even some of the sidequests are over a hour long! Plus, they overhauls the UI and made all the enemies smarter and added new types of enemies, too. And it's not all desert anymore, there's the Tundra, some blighted areas, and more! This game easily deserves a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Borderlands 2 Review

posted by RandomGamer9090 (CHELMSFORD, MA) Sep 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played both Borderlands, and Borderlands 2 is superior to the first and all other RPG's and FPS's I have ever played. The cartoon-like graphics are great. The boss battles and humor in this game are also great. The character customization is another cool feature, but unlike the first Borderlands, you can't pick individual colors, but the amount of skins and different head types you can choose from makes up for this. Although I am only about 10 hours in, the story is already fantastic. Another great feature is the amount of guns, class mods, shields and character upgrades there are.This FPS/RPG is by far my favorite game. Its almost like a Call of Duty (not Battlefield, because it has no simulation) meets Skyrim. If you have played Call of duty and/or Skyrim and liked either, then I highly Suggest this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING AND BETTER THAN THE 1st ONE!

posted by qRzproductions (NICHOLSON, PA) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is so amazing, as soon as i got it i was hooked on the game for many hours. In many moments while playing i felt like i was in the game. If someone who likes shooting and being a BA , then definately buy this game. This game is worth renting it is awesome!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gets tedious after a while

posted by lakedog (FRIENDSVILLE, TN) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Did appreciate going back to the old fyrestone, but this games gets tedious after a while. It is the same thing over and over for all of the optional quests.
The story quests could be played straight through, but all you will do is end up getting killed over and over, even by the simplest foes. If you spend enough time to level up, you have a greater chance of not dying 20 or 30 times. The final boss has an area on it that you can stand on and fire away without getting injured or killed as well.
This is one of those games you play through one time, then set it aside for 7 or 8 months and then play another character through.
If you go into true vault hunter mode after the end, everything you fight is a boss level, and that gets old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent RPG!

posted by MichaelBryant24 (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Great game! The combat has remained basically the same as the last Borderlands which is not a bad thing. The level progression is a little different and there are in game challenges you achieve to earn points which can be distributed to basically every statistic. There are even more weapons and I found them even more enjoyable to play with than the last Borderlands. The narrative is where I noticed a little more effort was made this time around. While in first game I felt like I was simply going from random character to the next and completing missions until I reached the credits, Borderlands 2 has much better story telling and is very funny!

Borderlands 2 is a great RPG and a great shooter, it's a great game to play co-op online, it's a great solo experience, and it's also a handy game to have when your friends are over. Honestly this game is a great purchase and I recommend buying this game over renting it. There is tons of content, replay ability, plus the eventual DLC packs. Borderlands 2 is an example that games do not have to be depressingly serious to provide a great experience for hardcore gamers. It's fun and goofy on the exterior but at it's core it's a superb and totally unique game that shouldn't be missed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth it!

posted by Besarius (SAGINAW, MI) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the best sequels I've ever played. If you loved the first borderlands then you definitely should rent/buy this one. Besides a a few problems (quests,guns will sometimes go underground) The game has one of the best co-op I've seen in a long time.
9/10
Pros:
-Great art design
-Large world
-Enough stuff to keep you busy
-Co-op (both online and split screen)
-Zillions of gun variety(color,stats,effects ect.)

Cons:
-People can take your drops and leave (kinda sucks but ohwell)
-Some quest related guns will drop underground (Dr.mercy for example)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by jamesdagamer (PEORIA, IL) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

just an amazing game from start to finish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but only if playing with friends

posted by turtlereview (RESTON, VA) Sep 27, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you don't have friends to play this with online it's not worth playing. Alone the game is tough and a bit boring. With random people it's infuriating since the game structure isn't designed for such play even though it's offered. Between loot hogs who take everything, not being able to travel between areas unless everyone is ready and out of a menu, to the abundance of quests where everyone wants to do a different one at the same time, the game is a mess unless there are civil people. And with random people that doesn't exist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game offers alot of value

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Sep 24, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

For 60 bucks you sure do get alot of value. CO-OP 4 Players Side Missions alll over Great Gun Battles Great Guns and upgrades. How can you get anymore worth for 60 bucks? Great Rent Game. Sure at times the Game is to Hard and you need a break from it. Some of the side Missions are Dumb. But welll Worth playing i love it period!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Borderlands 2

posted by WordyMuffin (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Sep 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Game is absolutly amazing. Gearbox did everything right when they made the sequel. I hope it continues to be in the top 9.5-10 range!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Borderlands 2 Beats Out All The Rest

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Sep 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Borderlands 2 has blown my mind. I waited three years for the first one and now I'm playing the second one. It's wonderful. The characters are really amazing. They've improved the characters tenfold. The new action skills are straight up awesome too. The surroundings is one were beautiful. In two, they are mind blowing. I love the customization of your character and your car. I love how they switched the shooting and aiming controls to R1 and L1. They nailed this game. Gearbox, you have never cease to amaze me. There is nothing wrong with this game. I'd be surprised if this didnt win Game of the Year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

96.5% more WUB

posted by dylan_burris95 (CISCO, TX) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is great. very fun for coop get it NOW!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too annoying

posted by Ericknopf (FAIR LAWN, NJ) Oct 3, 2012

Member since May 2010

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

When I first started playing this game I was interested in the story, by the time I got to the end I simply didn't care anymore, the difficulty with playing the game was simply too annoying. They would have DEFINITELY saved the game by putting in a difficulty setting in the options menu.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I dont know what all the hype is about!!!!!!

posted by xxrock_fordxx (LEBANON, TN) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I didnt play Borderlands 1 but after all the hype I kept hearing about its follow up in the series I had to give it a shot. Im new to game fly and this was second on my list to recieve in the mail behind Need For Speed Most Wanted and Im sad to say I got this game first and it suxks graphics remind me of playstation 2 material and I found it difficult to understand how to manage my character. I dont think the large variety guns made this game better. All and all I guess if u were a fan od the first title then u will probably like this game but if your new to the series I suggest u rect this before buying. Im glad I did. Thanks and hopefully gamefly will get it right this time and send the game I was really looking forward to playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun at first, then it gets buggy

posted by an0nym0us123 (PALM BAY, FL) Sep 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I was having a lot of fun with this game up until I ran into numerous mission ending bugs. Mainly, items you need to pick up would glitch through a wall and will prevent you from finishing a mission. I'm so disappointed that Gearbox didn't make sure the collision detection was spot-on so things like this wouldn't happen. I'm sadly returning this game today so if you're reading this you might be getting my copy soon but watch out for the glitches. I'm not saying it's a bad game but I'm not taking the chance of getting to an important mission that's a fetch quest and the item I need to get glitches through a wall and I can't finish the game. Sorry Gearbox but hopefully you can fix this and maybe I'll re-rent this at a later time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible

posted by gamerguys150 (GRAND ISLAND, NE) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Impossible,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse