Rent Boom Blox for Wii
view large frontback

Boom Blox

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
7.4

5836 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simple to pick up - Sometimes tricky to master

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) May 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

36 out of 38 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Boom Blox is an interesting combination of elements culled from Jenga, Tetris, sideshow "knock down the cans" and an old old table game called KerPlunk. At first sight it easy to blow this one off as a simplistic cartoon block game but it does have some depth.

Many people can breeze through with enough to pass the first run through the diffent types of game.... but if you aspire to scoring Gold on every level then you may be scratching your head a little and stamping your foot when your theory doesn't quite work out the way you thought it should.

Basic premise - chuck a ball at an arrangement of blocks and make them fall down. Control delivery is very similar to throwing a fastball in the baseball games. Targeting is simple point and click to lock but the ball will drop with gravity if you throw at a further away point and this has to be adjusted for. The real fun starts as the blocks behave very differently depending on where you hit them and you can rotate around the puzzle to decide from which viewpoint to launch the ball.

Some games also have you removing blocks with the Wiimote a la Jenga and this can be waaay trickier than you might think.

Hit in the middle most blocks whizz out without disturbing much else but hit at either end or on a corner and you can begin to deliver the chain reactions that are essential to high score the game.

Figuring out the best point to start is often crucial and the most frustrating part but it is more entertaining than you might think.

Problems? - throwing soft shots is pretty difficult with any reliability and sometimes despite aiming the target at one block you will find yourself clipping one in front and to the side of it - this is probably the games biggest drawback.

Overall if you like puzzle games or anything a little off the wall you will probably like it a lot and keep it. If you will try anything once rent it and have some fun for a bit. Action addict? - don't bother even trying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Something different something fun!

posted by dominoscr (ORLANDO, FL) May 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Boom Blox is a very interesting amalgamation of mini games that utilize the unique Wii control scheme. This game is perfect for rentals as it is very entertaining for a short period of time. The games are varied and fun especially when playing with friends. Try it out if for nothing else than to see some of the possibilities of the Wii control scheme.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Highly entertaining, great for Wii, Party Game

posted by ajwall (BRONXVILLE, NY) May 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great use of the Wii controller - You actually feel as though you are knocking down blocks with baseballs, pulling blocks out of Jenga stacks, shooting boxes, and really satisfying explosions and generally distruction.
Party Game - The 2 player mode is excellent, and allows cooperation, competition of a combination of the two two. This game will entertain 2 people together for a long time.
Appeals to Men and Women - A lot of girls are turned off or bored by shooter games, or games with sci-fi themes, but they love the cute theme of Boom Blox, and find it highly entertaining.
Well-Programmed - There are very few glitches in the game.
Many Levels - There are many ways of playing this game, such that you feel as though you have both a "winnable" game, and a sandbox with infinite replayability.

This game is second only to Mario Kart Wii in terms of replayable fun and entertaining groups of people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

surprisingly good

posted by kingdom8 (OAKLEY, CA) May 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

25 out of 30 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

When i saw this game on the coming soon list i just looked past it because it looked like a kiddy game, but i was greatly mistaken. i guess anything that Spielberg touches turns to gold because this game is incredible. it is so addicting and so much fun that you won't to put it down. The whole point of the game is to knock down blocks with the most points or the least throws. the physics are amazing and are fun to mess around with. But the real enjoyment of this game is playing with others and having a good time. it may seem like it has little replay value or content but it has tons of replay and content; the first time i played the game i thought i beat it but i only played 7 percent of the game. Overall this game is the new best party game. go and pick this game up and most likely you'll be able to pick it up because it is a hidden gem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SUPER GREAT !!!

posted by REBELDE (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I REALLY LIKED THIS GAME , ITS A GOOD GAME THAT EVERYONE CAN PLAY. I PLAY THE GAME AND ALL MY CHILDREN PLAY THE GAME AND EVEN MY PARENTS PLAYED THE GAME WE ALL LOVED THIS GAME ITS SOMETHING ANYONE CAN ENJOY NO MATTER WHAT AGE YOU ARE..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pure, unadulterated JOY!

posted by slimboy (MACON, GA) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game, down to the wobbly menus, exudes happiness from every pore! If you do not have a freakin' great time playing this game (alone or with friends), you have no soul.
The Good:
-Where to start? Absolute enjoyment from beginning to end! Easy enough to get into, but challenging enough towards the end to make you want it.
-Fun to play with a group, even on the single-player "campaign." Just pass the wiimote.
-Level-Editor! Very YES!
-Unlocking "bits" for said level-editor.
-Spielberg-directed story parts. Wholesome fun, with a bit of dark humor, if you're paying attention.
-Multiplayer is very imaginative.
The Bad:
-Nothing at all. Unqualified success!
The Ugly:
-Those blasted monkey-blox! I hate them! Bomb-throwing jerks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Challenging but gets very booring after a while

posted by TheIceman (HANOVER, PA) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I picked up this game because everyone at Gamestop said it was so great. Every person I had talked to said how great of a game it was. So against all my will I went out on a lim and purchased it. Got it home, opened the package, tossed it in the wii. Low and behold one of the main reasons I picked it up was the create your own level. I was excited to hear this. But once I actually found out that I could do this, but really no one but my friends could try it. I was very disappointed. How in the world can you make a create a level and not let the masses share levels? What a let down. Then I dove into the main game. At first I was kinda underwhelmed. But after 15 mins or so of seeing how challenging it is, I started enjoying the game. I did not like the fact that there are only a set few of one player levels. So after I got gold in them all I was forced to play the story mode. This is very silly. When you win levels instead of giving you more puzzles in the main game, they give you more pieces to use in the lame create mode. Also the music is just annoying. If you dont have someone else with you to play the music may put you to sleep. So over all I would honestly say this is a rent only. I just don't get the hype about it. Yes it's a cool puzzle game. But I would rather invest my cash in something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Are these "Blox" more fun than Legos? Maybe.

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 15, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

BOOM BLOX is about blocks that go boom - sort of.
This is a puzzle game with several different puzzles.
One type of puzzle is where players manipulate blocks that are in one or more large stacks using a grabbing device, a baseball, or a laser.
Depending on the puzzle, you have to either demolish all of the blocks, or some of the blocks.
Another puzzle has you hitting bad guys with a gun, baseball or other projectiles.
The best part of BOOM BLOX is taking out that one block of a structure, and watching the remaining blocks go all over the place. Destroying stuff never felt so good. It feels even better with multiple players.
You can even create your own structures for you and your friends to demolish as well. There's a wide variation of blocks at your disposal.
But the shooting parts of the game aren't as much fun, and constantly throwing baseballs to stop a hoard of bad guys will give you a bad elbow.
Also, manipulating the camera with the B button felt clunky.
But despite that, BOOM BLOX is a lot of fun and shouldn't be passed up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bloom blox not to good

posted by york78 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i thought it was creative and the story was good with the baas and ooxies but it was dum tearing down blocks I'm still young I'm only 13 maybe you should not take my word for it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best wii game

posted by gameerdad (NESQUEHONING, PA) May 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I'll start with this. Up until this game I didn't like the Wii very much. Wii sports was fun but everything else seemed like a gimmick. This game justifies the wii purchase. Like dance dance, guitar hero and rock band this game uses a peripheral (wii-mote) to reinvent what a game can be. My family (two children 7 and 10 ) and I have been having a ball playing co-operatively to finnish the game and VS against one another. Great fun and what games should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not for the little ones

posted by dad1980 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is great. I had a good time figuring out the puzzles. It's like Tetris for a new generation. However, my 6-year-old daughter had a really hard time getting into this game. She couldn't pass many of the puzzles. The controls were a little complicated for her to understand. My 9-year-old had an easier time and enjoyed the game much more.

The variety of blocks and puzzles allows this game to keep throwing great new challenges at you as you move forward. I highly recommend this for anyone 12 and older.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Overrated.

posted by CheezPants (OAKLAND, CA) May 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm not sure why this has been garnering so much love; maybe the inexplicable Speilberg pedigree has something to do with it.

I found it mildly diverting, but the controls were frustrating. Why do I have to change views with the remote while holding B, when I could more easily use the control stick on the nunchuk? At least give the player an option - I hate games that don't let you alter the control setup (a common problem with Wii titles).

Load times are an issue - if you solve a puzzle quickly, you'll spend more time watching the intro, the outro, and the load screens than actually playing. Many of the puzzles are extremely quick - they depend on timing one or two moves precisely. If you fail, again with the load screens...

For a game that depends so much on physics, there are times the blocks fail to move in an expected way.

With the low-res graphics and the "point-and-click" design, this might have been more engaging on the DS, a platform that suits quick puzzles more than a console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boom Blox Bombs

posted by tnlovebug (EMLENTON, PA) Sep 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I popped in this game and played it for a few hours and it just did not appeal to me because it was to much of the same thing. The game is ok if you want to have some fun with your friends but it gets boring very quick. I would say Steven Spielberg should stick to doing cartoons or movies something that he is very good at.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Slooooooooooow...

posted by mathteach (OSCEOLA, WI) Jun 4, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

With such rave reviews, I expected a lot more.

This game reminded me too much of Mario Party. Most of my play time was spent looking at the intro and reward screens for each puzzle. It would be much better if you could just go from puzzle to puzzle without all that extra stuff. How many times can you watch a gold medal (or silver or bronze) flash on the screen?

Even the aim and throw technique is SLOW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great Concept Ruined By Horrible Wii Remote Issues

posted by Wozman23 (LAKELAND, FL) May 20, 2008

Member since May 2006

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

If your looking for a fun game unlike all the rest, then this is the game for you. If your looking for a game that works well with the Wii remote, look elsewhere.

The gameplay was fun and original but every few minutes the wii remote began to freak out. An upward motion on the Wii remote took me diagonally across the screen and all other movements took me in every direction except the direction I was trying to go. This made it impossible to contol the cursor and made the game near impossible. My friend (who owns the Wii) and I would have kept playing co-op but we got so mad at the glitch we just gave up.

I don't normally write reviews (i never have) but this game was so bad i had to. Maybe we just got some rare glitch because everyone else seems to love the thing. I'm a PS3 fan and have never liked the Wii remote. This game only made me hate the Wii more. If i could give the game a zero i would. How can you put out a game that relies soley on the movement of the Wii remote, and not make sure that the movement will work? I really hope i am the only one to experience this, because i wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My kids love this game

posted by emilysara2001 (BOISE, ID) Jul 6, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

My kids & I love this game! When we have friends come over for game night, this game is always a big hit! Its a favorite among my family too.

It's a great work out while playing with others! Very fun for all ages!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Soooooo Much Fun!

posted by SPSakry (SAINT CLOUD, MN) Sep 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

When I first played Boom Blocks I didn't think it would be that impressive and my friends held the same opinion. We all thought this was just another shovel-ware title. After trying it out, however, we all found Boom Blocks to be remarkably entertaining. It may be a silly little puzzle game, but it is a great gaming experience nonetheless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great family game

posted by eggman4397 (RENSSELAER, NY) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game is fun, funny, challenging and can truly be played by all ages. A six-year-old has the same chance to beat an adult as the adult has to beat the child. Picture dozens of different Jenga configurations, some with glass blocks mixed in and some with exploding blocks. You take turns throwing baseballs, softballs and even bowling balls at the towers to try to break them apart and eventually bring them down. There is as much strategy as skill and every game is different. In one player mode, you try to bring the towers down with the fewest throws. I highly recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good entertainment, but too short

posted by mmjnl (SAN ANGELO, TX) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I have a 7 year old son and we enjoyed playing this game, just really wished there were more levels. It's easy enough that he can play it pretty well but challenging enough to keep the adults in the house interested! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by charlotte9 (BAYTOWN, TX) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

if you dont want a challange if you want a game 2 year old can do this is itu flik the remote atblocks and watchthem fall sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game, Sore arm!!

posted by Chakotay (AMARILLO, TX) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

A cute an addictive game. Lots of levels where you have to figure out where to throw your ball to get the structures to topple faster, or with the least amount of throws. Get a great workout on your arm!

This is a good one for people who like the games that make you think and plan. Also for people who like to throw things and make messes.

Also has games for up to 4 people. Shooting games, Jenga type games, or just throwing bowling balls at complex towers of blox to get points.

There is also a section where you can create your own puzzels to play. Pretty complex if you wanna get all that into it. Or you can make something simple just to blow stuff up.
Definatly something to try out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun and addictive

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I played for about 5 minutes and knew I was hooked. It's a fun challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Reliving Kindergarden

posted by chayes23 (AURORA, CO) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

If you are looking for a simple unchallenging fun game, get boomblocks. I would place the ideal age for this game between 7 and 12. It is great for introducing a child to puzzles, reading, and hand eye cordination. Above this, Boom Blocks is just a simple idea of a game which did not reach it's full potential.

If you are a builder at heart, the editor for the game is remarkable. You unlock upgrades for the builder in beating levels. If you are a builder you can have all unlocks done in under 6 hours. Build away.

For the rest of you gamers, it's a fun novelty game but not a recomended play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for a while

posted by gstarbob (RESCUE, CA) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Its kinda like a big version of an online arcade game. I had this game for 2 weeks until I got bored with it. It'll take you about that long to play through the campain (depending on if you want "gold" medals for each level).

DONT buy
MAYBE rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tricky Controls - Boring Play

posted by uberthomas (LEHI, UT) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game has some great reviews and premise behind it. The problem for me is that the controls were sporadic and after a while it all feels the same. In other words, it gets boring and unfortunately it gets boring rather quickly.

Multi-playing mode only seems to make the controls even more sporadic. Throwing objects always seems to be a random event for the amount of power applied. Throws intended to be hard we extremely soft and throws intended to be soft were the opposite.

After playing it a couple of hours a day for two or three days, the thought of popping the game into the Wii and playing again felt more like a chore than fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse