Rent Boom Blox: Bash Party for Wii
view large frontback

Boom Blox: Bash Party

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

1445 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Boom Blox: Great at Parties

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The blocky characters from the original have returned in Boom Blox: Bash Party. For those of you who haven't played the original, here's what's going on:
You are shown a structure and are asked to either blow it up, pull off certain blocks while leaving others alone or get as many gems off of the structure as possible. Your weapons vary from a slingshot to a grabbing hand to a cannon.
There are special blocks on some levels that will help you out. Explosive and Chemical blocks blow up when they hit (chemical blocks need to touch each other to do that.)
You get the same fun in this game as the original, but more of it, and a wider variety of new blocks
The new blocks include a virial block that spreads a virus throughout the structure, decimating it. But it takes a few tries to understand how they work.
The Solo Player Mode is tougher here than in the original; the makers of this game put in a monitary system that helps you if you get stuck. You get past a solo or multiplayer level, and you get a bunch of phoney cash. You spend a certain amount of that cash to open up a level or a series of levels. This may turn off the purists.
One problem I had was some of the levels, namely keeping the aliens from taking the gems through a tractor beam. I found them more frustrating than fun.
But the multiplayer makes up for the few trouble spots in this game. Up to four players off line can go against each other to team up to destroy structures. This is where the franchise is at its best.
With the option to play many new levels on line and the ability to create your own levels for single or multiplayer mode, this game has a long shelf life.
Boom Blox: Bash Party proves the addage "If it isn't broke, don't fix it." It's a party just waiting to happen. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TRY IT!!!!!

posted by SkelaTron (VACAVILLE, CA) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I have never heard of this game and didn't really know what to expect. But when I played it I was like wow this is so much fun!! Best way to describe it is... it's like Jenga kind of but instead of always pulling block you get to shoot them or blow them up etc. Definitly a fun game to just pick up and play a little if you want but you will probably get stuck there for a few hours like me trying to figure out how to beat each level. Easy controls but takes some thought on how to make things fall the right way to collapse the structure in the least amount of turns. Hope this helped?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Good Puzzle Game

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) May 29, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is an excellent sequel and deserves praise.

Pros
-fun to play
-smooth controls
-good background graphics
-variety of tools and/or levels

Cons
-didn't addict and/or obsess me like a puzzle game should

My score? About a 9.95.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best boom blox game ever!

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jul 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i tried this and wow! i'm so getting this and boom blox for my dad for christmas this year i give boom blox bash party 5 different levels to go to out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Boom Blox Bash Party has only one thing. Awesome!

posted by MatthewX (JUSTIN, TX) May 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to say I love this game for it's controls, graphics, puzzling, challenge factor, downloadable content, create mode and even the story but the only thing that keep me from buying it's $40 price tag. BUY IT NOW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not as good as the first

posted by roach113 (FAIRFIELD, CA) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My kids say multiplayer is only 2 player so all 4 of my kids can't play together like the first booo bloxbt oterwise it was a ok game. my 8 year old iked it th most the 11 & 12 YEAROLD DIDN'T CARE FOR IT MUCH

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mom liked this one

posted by rkw777 (KELLER, TX) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

My kids (age 12 and 14) were not into this quite as much as I was. I am totally hooked. Of course I haven't played any video games in quite awhile. I did however think there are some levels that aren't too kid friendly. My daughters and I enjoy playing the versus mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yeah...

posted by MrObvious (FAIRDALE, KY) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Id like to review the game.. But it never arrived in the mail...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Improved and Refined

posted by rms923 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Aug 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I loved the original game and had high hopes for the sequel. It does not dissapoint. From the graphics to gameplay mode, it takes everything wonderful about the 1st game and cranks it up. The multiplayer is also a lot more fun. The first game felt more like it was always playing jenga. Now its about boomin them blox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WE NEED MORE!!!

posted by gamerobot (COMMERCE CITY, CO) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

Better than the first, love it. Only one thing...WE NEED MORE!!! Love the new block types, characters, and places. So as a gamer, WE NEED MORE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a awesome game

posted by darkman101 (GREENWOOD, SC) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

this game is fun and really addicting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE, ATROCIOUS AND IDMORONIC!!!!

posted by desean323 (REDFORD, MI) May 16, 2010

Member since May 2010

This game is horrible!!!!! The minigames are stupid and it doesn't even have a point. There's is just absolutely nothing good to say about this monstrocity!!!! I hate it. Plain and simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE it!

posted by califnativ (SAN JOSE, CA) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

This is my favorite wii game, and one that I return to frequently. Each challenge is different and increases in difficulty as you progress. There is something for everyone in this game. The only drawback is that you cannot advance unless you successfully complete each level and some levels are very difficult. (This was fixed in the next game disc - Bash Party).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ton of fun

posted by wiigamerev (BOAZ, AL) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

My arm hurt for two days. Completely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

All sheep are lost!

posted by futrstyl (LOMBARD, IL) Apr 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

There is not much too this game. There are a handful of activities that you just repeat over the various levels, so it gets boring fast. The best part of this game is the user created levels you can download online. I had fun seeing what crazy stuff people came up with. This is a one-nighter. Good for people not that into games. Bad for people with unsteady hands. :p

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun physics

posted by charlie4 (SUNRISE BEACH, TX) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I loved it and my grandsons, age 6 and 7 loved it. We all bought the game after enjoying the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by Drezaric (WAUKESHA, WI) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I'm a new user and haven't had the chance to check out any games from here yet, though I'd bought this game about 4 months ago and it's probably the ONLY game I still play consistently. It's really worth the money!

If you enjoy puzzles, have any interest in the physics of how things fall and the desire to get gold in all levels, you have your work cut out for you! Every puzzle gives you the ability to get gold, you just have to figure out how!!

After spending 40-50 dollars on games that just suck, I was amazed at this game and very happy I bought this one!

Playing with a friend is great too, you get another head to help you on some of the harder puzzles, sometimes what you think wouldn't work does!

Great game, I gave it a 10! I'm hoping they bring out more versions of this game soon!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best alternative to wii sports ever.

posted by Shnazzyone (MANLIUS, NY) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Boom Blox: Bash Party Is really a fantastic title if you are looking for an alternative to wiisports when you bring your wii to someones house. After you get board of bowling prepare to play this title until the wee hours. What makes boom blox so great is that it has literally infinite replay. When you have exhausted ever game mode in the game you can now go ONLINE!!! online hosts more levels then you can imagine. If that isn't enough you can also make your own levels with any rule set you like and a near endless supply of parts, weapons and doodads and upload that online for others to play.0

Single player is also robust and entertaining if you can't find any buddies but it is best enjoyed with friends and good drinks. If your as bored with wii sports as I am... snag this. EA has really overdone them selves making this suprassing the original in every imaginable way and my hats off goes to them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I dont know

posted by AdamCa (TROY, MO) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

it's kind of fun at first but then you feel like its a little bit to kittie but the best part is hitting the animals!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

same ol same ol

posted by fillerB (CLEVELAND, OH) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

pretty much the same as the last boom blox... my some would give it a 7 or 8 but even he got bored with this because he played the heck out of the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

boom blocks 2

posted by MsAssassin (HANFORD, CA) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I played the original and this game didnt really stand to the challenge for me. It became much more complicated in selecting levels, and the games were too easy and hard to find exactly what I was looking to play. The game did have good points to it, it had alot of new characters and alot of new games to play, they were just difficult to to find at first. Menu was sort of annoying, but game still fun... Overall 5 out of 10 in my opinion...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great game.

posted by nintastic (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game is a very fun and addicting game. It has over 400 levels that will keep you going and going. The ability to create and share your own levels is very fun and the things you can create are amazing. This game is for anyone who likes puzzle games or just having a good time blowing things up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More boom for your blox

posted by dominoscr (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

Boom Blox Bash Party makes the best use of the Wii motion controls of any game to date. That is not saying a lot though when you consider just how limited those controls are. The game makes players painfully aware of the motion controls many frustrating limitations, such as drop out, sensitivity issues, and biggest of all, just plain lack of precision. While the game can't be blamed for the hardware's limitations, it is frustrating at times when trying to teach a newcomer how to play.

There is fun to be had playing a variety of mini games that include throwing, pulling and shooting. These games are similar to those found in the first Boom Blox and improve slightly while adding a little variety. The biggest addition in this version is the ability to download and play user generated content, which adds some replay value to the game. This is a fun distraction for a while, but there is a whole lot of room left for improvement. Let's hope the motion plus controls allow this franchise to grow into the game it deserves to be.

If you already own a Wii and want a good game for a crowd, this is it. If you are looking for a precision, motion controlled mini game package, well, I'd wait a few years and see if one ever comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Loved it

posted by maskwii23 (MEADOW VISTA, CA) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

I love boom blox bash party but it doesnt have the same feeling as the original

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Boom Blox

posted by Shawnsgirl (LOUISVILLE, KY) May 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I loved the first Boom Blox. I hope the second is just as good and even better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »