Rent Bond 007: Quantum of Solace for Wii
view large frontback

Bond 007: Quantum of Solace

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS, PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.4

1177 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

"Quantum of" Skidishness

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 6, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Quantum of Solace isn't just about the latest James Bond film; this game covers Casino Royal, too.
But when it comes to light gun games, not many players are interested in the story - and indeed, the game play and cut scenes don't relate much to each other.
What players are looking for is the joy of shooting the bad guys over several levels.
Here, Quantum of Solace works well - the lock on system finds many enemies with the push of a button, the shooting from behind a barrier is done well (considering this is the first time I've seen this feature for the Wii console).
But, there are glitches - sometimes the lock on locks on to an object when I wanted to lock onto a person. Sometimes it locks onto nothing at all.
Another problem is the controls get very jerky at the worst times - when I'm taking on several enemies at once. The makers of this game haven't quiet calibrated the Wiimote.
And the path from point A to point B can get very tricky and tiresome - prompts can be missed and ledges that Bond can shimmy across can be overlooked.
Still, Quantum of Solace gives a lot of gunning action, and to repeat myself, that's what a lot of players of this genre are looking for.
Rent Quantum of Solace and give it a try for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good while it lasted

posted by bananarama (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It was a fun game. easier then it looks! i had it for 3 days and beat it already!! It was really fun and you can play it on different levels after u beat it. Bad part is when u play multiplayer u cant add any computer players and when you play online u cant play 2 players!! That really dissapointed me because i wanted to play on my boyfriends team not against him cuz he always beats me!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good game but annoying controls

posted by oathar (COLUMBIA, SC) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game could of been on my top 10 list of games to play, but the controls were just to annoying. Most of the time I was fighting with the camera to not turn to the right. If I aim at a guy poking out of the corner, my hear and whole screen turns to look at this person, and I loose my aim. They need to use the easy system ps2 and ps3 uses for 3d shooters that the left hand controls the head and the right hand controls the gun, not the right hand controls both.

Also the jump and duck button is the same button. This is annoying when jumping roof tops. It made me not want to play the game.

The game story line and action was good, and I really wanted to play threw this game, but the terrible controls make it hard to enjoy the good parts of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bond 007quantum of solace

posted by taylorlunc (THOMPSONS STATION, TN) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was great. It was one of the best james bond games i have ever played.i recamened that you rent or buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best game since resident evil 4

posted by louie77 (WETMORE, CO) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think this game is the best game on the wii since resident evil 4. Controls work well and the graphics are good. Lots of good weapons and lots of people to shoot. My only complaint... I wish it was bloodier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I still don't know what Quantum of Solace means

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Nov 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When it comes to James Bond games, there are the really good (Goldeneye) and the barely passable (Goldeneye: Rogue Agent). Quantum of Solace falls somewhere in the middle.
First, let's talk about the good parts. The game moves along at a brisk pace with plenty of shootouts to enjoy. The cover system in this game deserves the most credit. You can easily hug a wall, shoot down a hallway, move to the other side of the doorway and dash down the hallway to another cover area. And you'll need to cover in this game or you'll likely get an unwanted increase of lead in your diet.
You also get pretty good voice acting. The score overall is distinctively Bond but never feels overpowering.
Now the bad news. Technically, you will experience lagging frame rate, sometimes stopping all together for a few seconds, which is a big problem in any shooter. And there are some cheap sections in the game, where you'll end up walking in on a bunch of enemies you'd never be able to see or get tagged from behind after thinking you cleared everyone out.
While graphics are serviceable, some of the backdrops don't even look last generation. And the cut scenes are a big disappointment. They primarily take place on some kind of computer screen with images of the people speaking. Instead of watching a cut scene of Bond parachuting into enemy territory, you get a blip on a radar screen with someone saying "That's Bond!" Well, why not just show me, Activision? And the story feels a bit disjointed. You seem to alternate between this movie and pieces of Casino Royale. Moreover, I found that it simply skipped from one action scene to another with little explanation.
While not a great game, it is serviceable. Considering it's based on a movie, that's pretty good. It can't reach the lofty heights of Goldeneye, but it's worth a run-through for fans of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game is getting a bad rap

posted by mrgroovy69 (SHALLOTTE, NC) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I don't know why people are being so harsh on this game. Okay, it's no Goldeneye (which I think is a nearly perfect game), but it's certainly a good enough second. If you're a Bond fan or a FPS fan, I think you'll enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad Quality

posted by gameperson911 (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The game is VERY laggy. The multplayer is quite boring. My sister looked up this game and it said that on one player mode ( Story mode ) a second player could join in, but we found out while playing the game that this was a lie. I really don't like it at all. I also dislike that when you choose your character, you are already paired with a gun, you can't choose a character and then the gun you want. The one good thing about the game that I like is the 'motion' of the pointer. It is more controlled than the game that I own, Goldeneye.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Stay away

posted by Gendisarray (WINFIELD, MO) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This is a very boring game. If you havent seen the movies then I doubt you will fully realize what is actully going on. The pacing and story telling is horrible. If you ask me, skip over this and pick up goldeneye.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Quantum of Solace, a great game but not perfect.

posted by CopperShot (KENAI, AK) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

First off, I think this is a wonderful game. The pros of it are many, including: First Person Shooting mixed with Third Person while behind cover or doing tasks. This makes for awesome gaming. The lock on system makes the game easy even for unsteady shooters. A wide variety of guns including shotguns, assault rifles, sniper rifles, and handguns mean anyone can have the gun they want. Multiplayer is great allowing 2 (offline) - 4 (online/offline) players to fight it out. My only real negative feedback with the games are the glitches in multiplayer and in story mode where things you would think Bond can do, it does not allow you to. The last of these two is usual in this type of game although diffidently bugged me. Story mode is fun and never exactly the same as the last level, but sometimes you get lost in flashbacks and their conversations. Although I'm still not completely sure I understand the story, Bond works his way in the first few levels setting up the story. He then meets this girl and you play his memories of a past love. But then at the end you discover it was actually all these guys watching this screen they have with MI6 info and Bond is actually outside watching them. So basically;

PROS: 1st and 3rd Person Shooting. Awesome lock on system. A great variety of guns. Multiplayer is great. I think this game is perfect for a teen of 13-16 who cannot play any more serious shooters.

CONS: Glitches. Confusing story. Bond can't do all you think he should be able to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by carlos720 (ANAHEIM, CA) Sep 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

i was glad i never bought this game or else i wouldve thrown a fit within 30 minutes of playing i got the feeling of de ja vu how the game recieved a 6.0 i will never understand

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good multiplayer lame single player

posted by ike1015 (COTTAGE GROVE, WI) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I found this game to be very fun for online and multiplayer, howerver one player mode was very lame. for example some rooms were impossible to enter without being sniped in the head 40 times. and some parts were obsesively easy like you would walk around and then not get to do anything throughout the whole level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME except...

posted by PM12345 (BAYONNE, NJ) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

The ending was soooooooooooo LAME but everything else was great so its a good game if theres no other good games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by gamecriti5 (GONZALES, LA) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

this is a great game, Iwould highly recomend it. The game gets hard at some points, but that's what makes it fun. it has great guns and beautiful grafics.
I like to be as silent as posible but that's how I like to play. What is great about the game is it takes you to Casino Royal, and not just Quantum of Solace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

James Bond 007 Quantium of Solace

posted by esnake2010 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is amazing .This game has every thing. It has a lot of levels and it's long.In this game you don't have to go undercover. You can just came out of no where and shoot people. Also this game takes yiu back to Casino Royale and doesn't just make you play the Quantium of Solace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game

posted by MrOhnoes (ALLEN, TX) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

A lot of people have of problems with the controls and the length of the campaign. 1. You CAN customize the controls to your liking, so if you didn't like the controls, you could always adjust them. 2. Yeah the campaign is short, but very fun. Please understand my opinion and respect and PLEASE don't hate me for liking this more than Goldeneye (the one on N64, YES THAT Goldeneye)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

There are better games out there

posted by torribug (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Didn't like the pointing system. Minimal customization options.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Quite Possibly the worst controlled game ever...

posted by apollo2575 (SALINE, MI) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I have never had a game so impossible and un-user friendly. You use every button on the remote yet you are suppose to be able to use the gun... There is a need for a lot of foul language to even get a handle on using the controls on this game to do the basics. (AKA Aim and Fire any weapon) I have yet to get through the first stage mostly due to the great frustration of the controls. (Boy do I miss Goldeneye 007)

Summary: I would not recommend this to anyone, buyer beware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game but not long enough

posted by Shaner (CARROLLTON, TX) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Fun game..but it wasnt long enough. I beat the game in 2 days like nothin. I would have liked more of a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game

posted by ericwade (HOPKINSVILLE, KY) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

If you don't have the "Zapper" for the Wii then don't bother renting. This game was lame lame lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

077

posted by kodymolly (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

this game is ok, but it is way better online than the story mode, so i give it a 8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game on wii

posted by rahatmaini (WINDERMERE, FL) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

me and my friends love it its cool addicting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Controlling Needs Work

posted by Matthew31 (DES MOINES, IA) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

The controller was hard when you put it in the Wii Zapper and pressing the A button and the nutchuks at the same time.They need to re do it a little bit.But I admit it was fun to play.Great effects.Background looked
real.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by chewy24 (BEGGS, OK) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game really captures the action of Casino Royale and Quantum of Solace. The switching between 1st and 3rd person mode is cool, and the graphics aren't bad. I think the game could've been longer,
but overall I'd give it a 7.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

007: Quantum of Solace(Many things of Grief)

posted by edzoologis (ALEXANDRIA, KY) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Best Bond since Goldeneye. The controls were excellent. The Graphics looked awesome. The story was awesome. The music was good. The only complaint about this game I had was that the enemies were kind of stupid. They would miss 45% of the time when they were shooting at you, and they would not stop shooting unless they couldn't see you. Nobody actually acts like that. But this game is worth the rent, and if you like it enough you should buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse