Rent Bond 007: Quantum of Solace for PS3
view large frontback

Bond 007: Quantum of Solace

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
6.6

3608 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Step towards a new future in bond games

posted by DirtaSouth (ELLENSBURG, WA) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

If you like to just play through a game and give it back, this is an excellent game. It is a bit short and doesn't lead that far into Quantum of Solace the movie. Although it does have most of Casino Royal's story and sets up the movie beautifully. The Game play very similar to rainbow six Vegas. Didn't get a chance to play multiplayer but i enjoyed the campaign thoroughly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful! Absolutely Beautiful

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Nov 8, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

29 out of 35 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I wasn't expecting much of this game, but I was totally mislead. Pay no attention the the other noobs who say this game isn't worth your time. Take my word for it, you will have lot's of fun. It is off the movie, but the game play is still excellent.
Pros: Great gameplay! Switching from first person to third person is cool and really easy. Other people say it sucks but I think it is pretty good. Voice acting is good, and there are tons of weapons you can use and at one point I had I sniper rifle with laser sight and a silencer on it. And you can destroy your environment, like blowing up fire extinguishers and gas tanks.
Cons: Graphics are nice but could be better. And sometimes you die too easily.
I totally recommend this game to anyone who likes good tactical espionage spy games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A game for kids who aren't allowed to play MW2

posted by DJgamer101 (MILFORD, CT) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Personally I'm a big fan of the 007 movies and after playing this game I was very amazed to see a good story mode based on the last two bond movies. Third person cover was an excellent idea in tight situations and I also enjoyed some of the quick time event boss battles like Bliss and Obannon. One major problem of the game was the graphics, I mean come on Treyarch you could of used those call of duty world at war graphics. Futhermore the multiplayer has some cod4 elements like the ability to create your own weapon classes (and campers). but since it's two years since this game was released and nobody barely plays it anymore its so hard to find players in a lobby. I'd say this is worth a weekend rental instead of buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not worth buying

posted by Nocheala (GULFPORT, MS) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game offline game play is not that bad, but it gets old quick. The online play should be way better than what it is now. With all the advances in gaming tech I can't belive that this is the best that they can do with the online graphs and setup. This is a good rent, but not worth the money to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

played this game 2 years later after its released

posted by Dojima (SUNNYVALE, CA) May 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Huh not bad for 2 years ago technology =)
I was hooked by its storyline and gameplay even the graphic is not par enough with any current release game.

Its an interesting game with very fun gameplay and make me hook. I would recommend this game for anyone who loves 1st person shooter/3rd person shooter.

A bit outdated in graphic, but hey i had fun playing it =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good but Short

posted by tonofphun (MASON, OH) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Very nice game just like the movie. I like you get to play the casino royal part! All in all good graphics all around good game. I just wish it was longer. i had all the trophies in 3 hours. I would recremmed this game to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

new bond

posted by jason1979 (BEDFORD, OH) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

so it is based on the old movie " not the new one" so i was kind of confused. how ever the last two or three scenes are new . The weapon selection is not the greatest in the world there are like 10 guns.

game play is kinda slow and clumsy with short predictable fire fights which are really all the same.

i beat it in about 6 hours but took a couple breaks.

WHY ALL ARE THE NEW GAMES SO MUCH MONEY FOR NOTHING . I AM GETTING VERY TURNED OFF GAMING BECAUSE OF IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but hella short

posted by doodog (SEVERN, MD) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was cool ,kinda like rainbow 6 Vegas without a team to do all your dirty work.good work on the graphics Daniel Craig looked well.. like himself in a video-game. I have only 2 gripes with this game #1 the gore wasn't there and #2 it was hella short. from my mailbox to my PlayStation with a couple beer breaks in between I was done with this game in 4 hrs credits rolling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very Average

posted by Flogger (SOMERVILLE, MA) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Typical multi-platform FPS with bad textures and average gameplay. Single player is very linear but decent. Online play is terrible. Good enough to play for a few days and send back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Whats nex?

posted by trick1801 (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well, agent under fire and night fire was good, but only for their time. now we have quantum of solace for PS3. This game is a good exception to those two. Explaining the story would be just saying spoilers, so I'll start with saying that this game actually has parts where you play bond in flash backs of scenes from casino royal like the chase in Africa.
The best part of the game is that you can take cover, and shoot while your in cover, making the game easier. I give it 6 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mmmmeh

posted by nerdkilla (SAN JOSE, CA) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I'll be honest. I played this game for about fifteen minutes and sent it back. There's nothing I can say that's absolutely terrible about this game, but there isn't much I can say that was good about this game either. It's just your typical fps. Nothing special about the game. Rent Bioshock or the new Call of Duty if you want a good fps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

too easy,no upgrades & no replayability.

posted by madeline (SUTTON, WV) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i sort of liked the background graphics but, me, i need more player stimulation. beat it in less than 8 hrs. no bosses, not even the ability to carry your weapons to the next level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

movie game

posted by xenonative (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Apr 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the title says it all ladies and gentlemen. it has everything u would expect from a game based on a movie. horrible graphics, rushed production, poor narrative and plot formation, not to mention terrible graphics(trust me its that bad). I'm a trophy fiend so that's the only reason i rented this game; no wait i lied i rented the movie as well so i figure James bond game what heck i'll try it. so if Ur into trophies by all means get it easiest trophies out there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Really not good, but at least short

posted by thejimmeh (BOULDER CREEK, CA) Nov 7, 2008

Member since May 2004

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Although this game was built on the COD4 engine, it is burdened by clunky gameplay, mediocre graphics and bland one-dimensional story. The game suffers more than it's share of bugs, including an odd aiming problem which occurs when Bond takes cover. If you move the crosshairs around while in cover and then press L1 to zoom in, you will miraculously be aiming significantly to the left of where you were before you zoom in. This problem seemed to happen more with some weapons (the higher powered rifles such as the M14) than others. When the entire game is based on the "take cover" system this is a problem that really should have been fixed.
This is also a very short game. Clearly this may be a blessing in disguise, but I played through in about 3 hours. Online multiplayer is also terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

hi

posted by jamessieve (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

the game was ok but when i got to the middle of the game it started skipping

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

james bond sucks

posted by boris3 (SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Ok come on they have to make the game more realistic so you see a phone on the game and you just pick it up. There is this one part were the house is burning down and a phone is ringing and you must pick it up. And there timing you. so when you drop the phone there is only 10 sec left come on thats just not fair and your arent even half way to the exit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

UGHHHH

posted by fightermav (ORINDA, CA) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Totally ruined it for me. Love the movie but the game is horrible!! Horrible graphics and scenes that werent even in the movie!! do not waste ur time with this horrible imitation of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GO TREYARCH!!!!(sike)

posted by seansobes (ERIE, PA) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Well. Treyarch has done it again. They have tainted another is. First Call of Duty and now James Bond. I thought the franchise would make a good comeback when From Russia with Love was released, but I was wrong. It could have been a better game. The only thing good about this game was the shooting mechanic, but if you have ever played Rainbow Six Vegas then you have been there done that. It is definitly worth a rent, but it is not worth 60 dollars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

007

posted by passwatersc (MURFREESBORO, TN) May 14, 2013

Member since May 2013

Great game, has plenty of adventure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best james bond game made

posted by jdel1972 (KENNER, LA) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

if you are a fan of the james bond franchise, then as of 2012, this is the best bond game that you can play.
plain and simple. Bond games have come out since, but this is as good as it gets with 007..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

here is my review

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

this game is great i love it but the sucky thing about is the multiplayer it keep download game setting dont even try the multiplayer plus i heard its dead just play single player but its fun worth rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bond..James Bond

posted by Darkfang114 (JONESBORO, AR) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Not a James Bond fan but I like this game a lot. Cool story to it and the gameplay in it is pretty good. Graphics are not so great but I can overlook it. Kind of hard for me to understand the concept though, the cutscenes were really boring so I just skipped them all. Multiplayer was fun at times. Most of the time it is just a chore for the achievements but I pressed on and on because I wanted a platinum. Easy platinum but it will take awhile because you need 100k points for a trophy. Each game lands you about 500 or so on average. It took me probably a week because I took a lot of breaks from it because I got bored. But overall decent game. Worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok

posted by monster40454 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Jun 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I dont think its that great. I loved blood stone and was expecting this one to be third person also. But i was very dissapointed to find out it was a fps, which ruined the game greatly. The controls are also very different and take a while to adapt to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average nothing more.

posted by hunterc4 (MIAMI, FL) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

The game offers a bond experience similar to that of the movies which is one of its pros. Unfortunately the gameplay is stale a bit and quite easy. The game lacks replay ability and does not offer a good online mode. Voice acting is very good and the graphics are pretty well done as well. If your a bond fan you may like it but the next bond game has room for improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

so much potential

posted by fishoof38 (NORTH PORT, FL) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

just shoot....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse