Rent Bomberman Land for Wii
view large frontback

Bomberman Land

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games
GF Rating
4.9

733 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't think single player

posted by Mthree5150 (BELLEVUE, NE) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Unlike most of the people that have reviewed this game, I rented it knowing what was in store. I have been a fan of the bomberman series since I was a kid, and while the single player mode has the worst story ever the mini-games aren't as bad as you've been lead to believe. Although, there is nothing in single player remotely close to the bomberman we've come to love all is made up in the multi player mode. Multi player is just as you remember it and even has a few new features which will make the games last. If you're looking for a party game and loved the old bomberman series rent this game. If your wanting a single player game, then this title may not be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

disappointing

posted by Cuddles (HAMLIN, NY) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love Bomberman games. I knew this game was in a minigame format. But little did I know that the mini games have absolutely NOTHING to do with the bomberman games of old. example: Bomberman holding a gun, trying to avoid bunch of balls bouncing around the screen and then trying to take a shot at them with that gun. If you hit them, they split in half. Continue and continue until they disappear. If you miss...game over. You have to restart the whole group of minigames all over again. Very tedious and so not fun at all.

IF you have a group of people, then multiplayer might be fun. But you are better off SKIPPING this game and using nintendo points to download a real bomberman game.

Avoid this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Super Paper Mario Meets Carnival Games...

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Feb 5, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First off Skip this and buy
Bomberman 93 on the VC!! (Or Mario Party 8)

The story takes an hour before you can start playing (TONS OF TEXT); and the gameplay is like Carnival games because you need "tokens" and the rankings is similar. There is only one game in each arena; and there is nothing in training. You move the charachter with the "B" button which makes it strange. Also how the game is put together (the arena) connecting the "games" is strange.

The only good this is the graphics but that does not warrant a rental. Even Die Hard Bomberman fans will be dissapointed in this re-make.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!!!!`

posted by huktongamz (ENTERPRISE, AL) Feb 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is HORRIBLE. I can't believe Hudson went so low as to destroy bomberman. The begining is a really bad story that you cant skip through nor say continue once you have read a paragraph. It takes forever. The controls and extremely uncomfortable. The mini games are extremely boring and dull. They even managed to mess us the classic battle bomberman!! Play bomberman on XBOX 360 or bomberman 93 on virtual console! THIS IS NOT WORTH YOUR TIME ITS ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not the "Bomberman" I was looking for

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The original Bomberman was about characters running about a game area trying to blow up the other Bomberman/woman/whatever.
But this game breaks away from the norm in the franchise by making me play ... really bad mini games. (one game has me adding and subtracting numbers, another has me matching symbols and another has me slapping a fellow Bomberperson with a fan. Not fun.)
Another problem with the game is sitting through the long and dull cut scenes, reading all that text on the screen, and not getting excited about a story about some evil Champion I have to dethrone by playing ... really bad mini games.
What keeps this game from an abysmal score is some of the characters are interesting and there's some fun in outfitting my Bomberman.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The problem with the game

posted by Smashbro (JUPITER, FL) Jun 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was a huge let down and I have no clue what the creators were thinking to make the fun bomber man stuff crash down with lame minigames like jumping rope!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

bad

posted by lancelot (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Jun 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I put it in, selected story mode and watched possibly the most boring intro to any game ever. I promptly turned it off and never even played a single minute. Do not rent this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not as fun as I hoped

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

I loved early bomberman games, but since Bomberman 64, I have not found one I liked. I have tried them all (though bomberman for ds was fun, but it was classic bomberman). While the multiplayer is fun, the story mode just starts out like playing mini games... to the point where I decided not to play it and just sent it back same day I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GAME SUCKS PERIOD!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

THE GAME SUCKS EVEN THOUGH I DIDN'T PLAY THE GAME! COULD YOU SEND ME ANOTHER GAME PLEASE GAMEFLY TEAM PLEASE... I DIDN'T GET THAT GAME YET SO THAT MEANS YOU GUYS COULD SEND ME ANOTHER GAME TO ME FROM MY GAMEQ LIST ALRIGHT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bomberman Land ............

posted by darkestkor (LUDLOW, MA) Dec 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Ok, this game is a discraice to all bomberman games out there, there is very little fighting in it, and mainly just mini-games, and i couldn't even find where to save the dam thing. But all in all, i would give this game a 2, tops. There is nothing good about this game, i don't recommend renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bomberman Land

posted by lmmorenoz (MCALLEN, TX) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I rented the game knowing what to expect since I am a huge bomberman fan since I was a kid. I love the multiplayer part of the game. It is competitive and addicting. Once you start you can not stop. I really like the mini games trainings that it has; on the other hand that single story line is not too hot. Its alright for us grownups but the kids will love it. I suggest you play multiplayer with friends and its fun and addicting game to love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Two Thumbs Up!

posted by aglooagaga (CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA) Feb 10, 2009

Member since May 2008

If you are planning on getting this game, you have made the right choice! This game is the best game i have played in a long time, trust me! Its packed with fun and adventure for everyone so get ready to play 4 players! If you are a gamefly Member i would suggest puting this great one on your game-q. TRUST ME, GET THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

bumerman

posted by OldsklGamr (IOWA CITY, IA) Jan 11, 2009

Member since May 2006

The multiplayer was good, it was simply bomberman if you have ever played any other bomberman games. Simple yet fun (requiring multiple people (friends) to be real fun). But this seems like it should be wiiware for $5-10 in my opinion.

The single player I thought was weak. The training (minigames) was not exciting to me and the story was annoying to be forced to watch unfold. The slow text coming on screen when characters were talking tortured me at the beginning of the game (I can read faster than 5 words per minute).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lame

posted by Majickmanm (SHEPPARD AFB, TX) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

I played this game for an hour and I didn't get to do anything even close to bomberman like. You can speed up or skip the talking. Definetly not interested in playing this game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bomberman Land Rocks

posted by Katelynne (Maspeth, NY) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Bomberman Land is one of the best games you will ever play. There is story mode that will keep you playing or if you want a short quick game you can do battle mode. It is tons of fun to see that it says Your the winner. That usually happens to me and you will get a great feeling. After you played most of the story mode you will get attractions that are really fun quick games. There is for one player then 2 players then 4 players. So rent this game cause it is the Best!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is meant for multiplayer!

posted by Spikedup06 (DOWNERS GROVE, IL) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

I loved this game! My friend bought it and we tried it out and in the first night, we played it for five hours straight! Definitely love this game. Wish it was WiFi though... But that still doesn't change the fact that if you play multiplayer with a few good people who can play wii very well, then you will feel the tension when you get down to the final two players at the end of the match! If you liked the oldschool bomberman, this will make you feel like they updated it very well, and added some good graphics!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

slow game!!

posted by Upn535 (TYNGSBORO, MA) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Very slow game. Way too many videos to watch. Alot of dialogue to go through. Way too slow of a game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible

posted by galdon (ORANGE, TX) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

There is a new game console.

You want money.

You only have enough programing skill to make mini games.

What do you do?

Make mini games and slap some already established character on the cover.

Thats pretty much what these guys did. The fashion system was right near null. Only having 1 or 2 items which were the 'best' for the body part, so you rather than designing your own bomber man instead had to pick what the programed thought looked cool.. which meant running around with a samurai pants, a sword and a teddy bear hat for most of the game's beginning.

What annoyed me is the ratio of mini games that are just mini games, and mini games that were related to bombs. For every mini game that actually had bombs there were usually 4-5 that had nothing to do with bombs. This is BOMBER MAN They can at least keep with the theme.

You are far better off just playing free online flash games, they waste about as much time, and you don't need to spend any money to do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Battle Mode = Great / Story Mode = Bad

posted by Sodapop (DENTON, TX) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The Battle Mode (multiplayer, classic bomberman game) is fantastic. It's probably the most versatile, most customizable and my favorite of the whole bomberman franchise. Unfortunately, the story mode is pretty bad. It's basically a series of pretty weak mini-games and it takes a long time to make it through the bad dialogue. That being said, I'll probably buy the game for the battle mode alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bomberman land

posted by hyfujo (PALO ALTO, CA) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

this game is not what you expect, unless you read the description. I think it's pretty boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not good

posted by PARMAN (WOODLAND, CA) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I usually don't write reviews, but I felt I had to for this one. This game is bad. I admit I have not played any of the bomber man games in quite some time, but his is nothing like its predecessors. It starts off with a painful 15 min intro that you cant skip and its mini games are not only borderline impossible they are not even fun. As a whole this game is is just ... see subject for details.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

bomberman land

posted by ninjamist (FREMONT, CA) Jun 2, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

it was fun at first then got boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bomberman Land

posted by georgestar (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jun 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game is not all that bad it reminds me of the mario party series and what makes it better is that you get to create your own character that"s my super cool review of bomberman Land.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

very... different?

posted by beanpinto (VISTA, CA) May 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

The story mode on this game is COMPLETELY different from the bomberman I was expecting. Don't get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with straying a bit to make it a different experience. What I did not expect was really lame mini games and horribly long, boring story lines and but scenes that have to be read. I read yes, however that much literature in a game is a bit unnecessary. There is a way to play good old bomberman, however that is still not the same... Change is good, lame mini games in place of a good game... is bad. Glad I didn't purchase this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just as addicting as the original (multi-player)

posted by hexmedia (BELLINGHAM, WA) May 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

As per the advice of other reviewers, I stayed away from the single player mode of this game. However, the multi-player battle mode is a addictive and fun as I remember it back in the day of the O.G. versions. The Wii edition has 6 different types of battles, all equally fun, one of them using the Wii remote to point at the screen.

The drawback of not playing single player is you cannot access any mini-games or characters because they are locked.

If you have a house of roommates or friends that love group games, this is a good game to have around, but maybe not to use one of your rental slots for. Buy it new or used.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse