Rent Bomberman: Act Zero for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Bomberman: Act Zero

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
2.6

1444 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A fine example of how to ruin a franchise

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Sep 8, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

98 out of 105 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

What happened? It's hard to imagine a game as simplistic as Bomberman being that easy to completely screw up, but they managed to do it somehow. My biggest question: where's all the fun? They took the main idea of Bomberman and just removed everything that made it great, and we got this stinking pile instead. I remember sitting around with my friends playing Super Bomberman on the SNES with the multitap - 4 player action at its finest. Now, with Act Zero, they've changed the viewpoint to some crazy third-person. They changed the look of Bomberman to some big stupid-looking robot instead of the huge-headed, ball-fisted oddity that I know and love. They changed the very mechanic of the game - the one-shot kill. The adrenaline doesn't start pumping if I'm not always scared to die, which takes multiple bombs in this game to do. Imagine Frogger if one hit didn't kill him. It completely changes the game!!! What they should've done is released Super Bomberman on Live Arcade and saved themselves the time, effort, and money they wasted making this garbage. They'd sell more copies that way. At least this game is appropriately named: Act Zero. This game earns a 1 only because Gamefly won't let me go any lower.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WARNING: Read this before even renting this game!!

posted by playtack (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

47 out of 54 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

First off, I've never written a game review before. But this game was SO BAD, I had to offer a warning!! Don't even waste a week of your Gamefly subscription by renting this-- you'll just box it up and send it back in ten minutes (if that).

I like the Bomberman series. I was really looking forward to a game that traded huge playing levels and long storylines for ultimate multiplayer gameplay in a tight bundle, which is what I expected from "Act Zero". Boy, was I disappointed.

Online play (once I found a game.. nobody plays this online) is terrible-- long loading/waiting times for a solid 45 seconds of confusing, choppy/laggy gameplay.

Singleplayer didn't help-- I can't think of a less interesting game with less things to explore.

This should have been an Arcade release w/ single player being the free "trial" version (it's really nothing more than that), with the "full" version being Live enabled. Even then I would have regretted downloading the free version, because this game is just that bad.

Bottom line, not only is this --BY FAR-- the worst game for the 360, it may just be the worst game released for any system in the last ten years. STAY AWAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Sucks

posted by kanealec (ASH, NC) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game you could ever get. I would rather play pong than this C R A P!!!. Once you die its gameover..worst game to date

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bomberman Bombs Out

posted by SeanieJosh (BRADDOCK, PA) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is incredibly butt. I hate the whole setup and gameplay entirely. The servers are constantly dead and it is no where near as fun as the original title. Everytime you die there is no respawn nor is there a continue, thats right, you start all the way back at the begginning. So why play? For the highest score?...nonsence.. I highly reccommend not renting this, for it is a waste of time and Q space. Where are the kangaroos?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT THE!?

posted by alientrash (ANAHEIM, CA) Sep 1, 2006

Member since May 2006

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

the very first bomber-man game ever made is like 1,000,000,000,000 better! this game is lame. there is only one level to play in...no two player mode w/o x-box live!? and there's only like five power ups!!! this game has good graphics sure..but this game is just horrible...do not waist money or time on this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bomberman: Act Zero

posted by 112797 (HENDERSON, NV) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the game sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!! don't waste your time getting it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Why waste your time

posted by disneyland (VISTA, CA) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dude this put some pretty colors on a screen I guess they thought it would sell. If you bought this game I am so sorry for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

well...

posted by DjOracle (LAWRENCE, KS) Sep 7, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I hope someone got fired over this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sux dont bother

posted by ChainsawMF (COMMERCE CITY, CO) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy waiting for games to load this game is perfect for you! Every time you die in normal mode it kicks you out to the title screen....Load.....Ready to play.....load.....yes....- load....SUX....SUX...SUX.- ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Arcade Game at Best/Warning for those w/o Live

posted by monlienNH3 (AUGUSTA, GA) Sep 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2003

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

First, I like almost all the prior Bomberman games (the platform based ones on N64 and classic style on Saturn in particular). But this game is just the classic multiplayer Bomberman game with a horrible graphic upgrade.

The single player mode is 100 levels that you must attempt to clear in one sitting with no retries. In essence it's not really as bad as people say, but it has very limited gameplay for a $50 title. This would've been much better as $5 arcade release - in which they should've included an option to use "classic" graphics. The worst part of the single player game is the ridiculous amount of loading and "cut-scenes" that you must watch before playing each level. I spent about 1 minute waiting for the next level and then 30-40 seconds playing the level.

But this game didn't really need another review telling people how bad it is. I only wrote this review to warn anyone who wants to play this game that doesn't have Live. The game saves to the Bomberman server only and has no splitscreen or system link play! For a game that can only be made decent by multiplayer, lack of local multiplayer is a complete bust for non-live players. And although I guess there really is no purpose to save a game that you must play through in one play, you cannot even save your character setup if you aren't connected to the Bomberman server which is pretty dumb if you ask me.

Basically if you love Bomberman and want to play against other players on XBOX Live, give the game a shot if you can find other players. I personally cannot play online unless I'm at a friend's house, so I can't say how many people play. Based on the other reviews, I'd say not too many.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

XBLA?

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not really a game, it is more of an Xbox Live Arcade one more than a real one. The cheaper selling price doesn't make this game any more appealing. It could have went somewhere if there was some more time spend developing it, like another 2 years. It looks like they just through something together and called it a game. Stay away from this game unless you have nothing but time to kill, about 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

None of the Bomberman charm

posted by totaro (PORTOLA VALLEY, CA) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While not the worst game ever made, it disappoints many because of the Bomberman name and only vaguely shares the great gameplay mechanics that made the original so great. This doesn't feel like a full featured game. Maybe something that should have been available on Live Arcade for 800 points or less..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bomberman: Act Zero

posted by TragShaun (ROBERT LEE, TX) Sep 14, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I put in the game and turn it on. Easy to play it seems...what the #!$%?? 99 levels of the same boring thing ( 90 of them I won't see ). Lame bombs, stupid upgrades, and for a real kick you get 1 life. If you get all the way to level 99 and eat a bomb it's game over. Throw on top that almost all the achievements are secret and the ones that aren't secret are ridiculous. 5 points for blowing up 100 blocks? Bomberman would be fit for Xbox Live Arcade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by MechaIam (MONROE, NC) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Horrible, Just horrible. It's extremely simplistic. That's the only way I can describe it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

good name for a game that really does bomb

posted by Big0Baller (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Accidentally left this in my Q, and gamefly sent this poor excuse for a game to me. What a waste of postage. I sent it right back. BOMBERMAN BOMBS BIG TIME!! Don't leave it in your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So bad, it compells me to write about it

posted by dereks16 (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I never write reviews, but I had to make an exception in this csase. I played this game 5 minutes and then sealed the envelope to return it to gamefly. From what I saw no single player campaign or anythign similar to old bomberman games. The old ones were way better and I think they even looked better. Who cares if the graphics are sweet when I can even tell where I am.
The online play was even worse. It takes about 5 minutes to find a game and get everyone to hit ready. Then once the game starts you might die in 30 seconds, or if your lucky you'll win and last about 3 minutes, waitign another 5 to start a new game.
Just terrible. Maybe if old bombermans come out on Xbox live I'd play them, but this game is definetely NOT the bomb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The true Bomberman Act Zero review

posted by 321GOGOGO (EDINBURG, IL) Sep 18, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 20 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I just don't understand the other reviews...almost like they all tried the game for ten minutes then gave up.

This game is outrageously fun! Yes, it has a new look, but...the same old Bomberman gameplay that we've all played and loved is here!

You can play it with the new camera perspective or the classic overhead view...the new takes some getting used to...doesn't take long to figure out how you need to rotate the camera.

Those other reviewers are nuts...this game is FUN! And, that's all that matters!

Now if you all will excuse me, I've got some intense 8 player Xbox 360 LIVE Bomberman Act Zero gaming to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A REAL BOMBERMAN FAN'S REVIEW.

posted by TheRobster (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 26, 2007

Member since May 2007

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I honestly don't understand why everyone underrates this game. I guess it's because it's the "cool" thing 2 do. Overall this game is really fun. The single player modes sticks to the initial "Bomberman Formula," where you go through mazes, collect power-ups, defeat enemies,and of course blow stuff up. There is FBS mode where you and your enemies have lifebars and you see from First Person View. There's also Standard mode which is practically a 3-D version of the 1st Bomberman where it's one hit=knockout and you see from above the maze in Third Person View. The power ups are essential in your fight for survival(I like combining Remote Control, Line Bomb, and Unlimited Bombs), and the enemies increase in number, intelligence, and power, so be careful. But unfortunately now I have to list the low points of this game. First of all play two or more people cannot play the game on one 360.The only way to play other people is on Xbox Live. Second, NO ONE PLAYS ON XBOX LIVE. It's very depressing to start a room and not a single person besides you is online. Hopefully you have a friend or friends that like Bomberman enough to play you online[which they should.] Last but not least I think the worst problem of the game is the fact that if you die in singleplayer you have to start all over again at round one. So even if you make it to Round 98 or so and die you have to restart all over again. The final problem is the look they gave Bomberman. So many people have said they "ruined Bomberman's look," even though they have not given the look a chance. I actually like the look, although the original Bomberman looks better only because I'm used to it. If they went the opposite route and made Bomberman into his cute animated form now people would still say they ruined his look. Anyways it's time to end this review because I'm running out of characters. I give Bomberman:Act Zero 8/10 because the single player and online play leave much to be desired for a Next Generation Bomberman Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BOMBERMAN ONLINE......?

posted by BLKSUPER1 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 24 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME , BOMBERMAN ONLINE FINALLY AND YOU GUYS CAN'T APPRECIATE IT ? THE MULTIPLAYER IS ONLINE AND IT IS WAY MORE INTENSE THAN EVER BEFORE, SURE IT WAS FUN TO PLAY WITH YOUR FRIENDS IN ONE ROOM TO BE ABLE TO TALK BAD TO YOUR FRIENDS, BUT TO PLAY ONLINE AGAINST PEOPLE WITH BETTER STRATEGIES THAT YOU HAVE TO ADJUST TOO ?? COME ON NOW THIS GAME IS SUPER DUPER GREAT !! THIS IS THE ONLINE REVOLUTION GET ON BOARD OR GET RUN OVER BY IT.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rent Bomberman Act Zero!

posted by ArcadeGuy (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 24, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Everyone is quick to pretentiously judge Bomberman Act Zero as a marketing flop without actually looking at the game. Many of the past Bomberman games were really poor but nobody gave a hoot, but now there is a new look (which is if nothing else a really amusing design) and everyone freaks.

If you would care to notice, you may find out that Bomberman Act Zero is a very good and polished little game.

It's intended to played online. The single player is negligible and repetitive. There is no offline multiplayer, which really bites, but it doesn't change the fact that this is a really fun game to play online. There ARE enough people online to find at least one opponent any time of day, and the amount is always growing. Log on in the evening or the morning and you can consistently play 4-8 player games.

The new third-person "FPB" mode is actually very good. (I'm not kidding. Even I was surprised.) It's -not- a camera option, it's an entirely seperate mode of play, and is selectable when making a game online, meaning everyone would have to use it. In this mode, you have a life bar instead of dying in one hit, and there are other differences as well.

There aren't kick or throw powerups, but it has line bomb, bomb thru, and block thru, which would make the kick and throw redundant if they were in there.

The game also has real-time explosions which is a first for Bomberman as far as I know. It changes the way the game is played and adds more depth/strategy/skill as well as making it way more entertaining to watch.

The game looks just fine on my 30 inch standard TV.

Bomberman Act Zero is one of the most underrated games of the year. Everyone should at least rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

looks kuell

posted by sykorabbit (OSHKOSH, WI) Sep 2, 2006

Member since May 2005

2 out of 45 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

i have yet to play it but it lo0ks awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

????????

posted by penguingamer (ANDERSON, SC) May 13, 2013

Member since May 2013

what did they do to bomberman?????? if you were A fan from the gbc and gba times you will be diapointed from the start

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by dlataya4124 (BALTIMORE, MD) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

Very bad graphics. Not like the original in anyway

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Skip and Move On

posted by Nyghtshade (SPOKANE, WA) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This title at first glance seems like it might be a good choice for Bomberman fans but in truth it is not. There are three game modes on the title screen: a multiplayer which has nobody playing anymore since this is a 2006 title, a classic style mode where you run around and blow up blocks and computer opponents just like in the good old days, and an fps mode which can't stand for first person shooter since it is still third person but just zoomed in closer with really limited visibility which while interesting just makes it that much easier to blow yourself up. What really makes this game a title to skip is that if you die in either of the single player modes it just boots you back to the main menu. No continues....just bam, sucks to be you, start over. So if you are a real diehard fan of the series and are also a glutton for punishment, go ahead and play but maybe rig a strap to your controler (wii style) so you don't end up doing any serious damage to your belongings. Just remember though...if you snap this pos of a game in half...you're out the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could've been awesome

posted by CaptainZeb (BALTIMORE, MD) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

They took another famous party game and ruined it by making it online multiplayer only. Why do I own 4 controllers if I can't play the best party games with people in the same room as me. This has happened too many times on this system. Burnout, Dirt, and many others have lost their appeal because I can't get a quick game in against my roommates. I wish they would catch on that party of the fun of video games is beating the people you know. And seeing their faces when I corner them with 2 bombs. So come on get a clue. Bring back offline arcade style multiplayers. Thanks.

A concerned gamer,
Zeb

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse