Rent Bodycount for PS3
view large frontback

Bodycount

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.9

784 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This Game Deserves Accomodation

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its rare that so much fail is rolled into one neatly wrapped package. You've read the criticisms if you've read any of the professional reviews or any of the reviews on here. I won't waste my time reinstating the same thing. Don't even bother renting this one. I can't believe this one made it out of the development stage. Someone had to give this the okay to hit store shelves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Okay with a few bad points

posted by jeryst (FALLS CREEK, PA) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a fun shooter, but it does have a few things that sometimes make it just plaint frustrating.
First of all, you get special enhancements, like exploding bullets, adrenaline boost, etc, but then those abilities get disabled on missions where you need them the most. If you are going to give a player tools, then let them use the tools to their advantage, whenever they choose. Some of the levels are just plain hard, even on the easy setting because you are overwhelmed with enemies that have superior firepower and you cant use your special tools. I finally just gave up at one point, after trying to get through a specific area for several hours, and sent the game back. That's when a game no longer is fun, and turns to being just frustrating. The graphics are more suited to a PS2, not a PS3, and the auto aim feature does not always work very well, especially on moving targets. None of the weapons have scopes, so you are constantly trying to kill targets that are sometimes too small to even see, and some of the weapons are so slow to reload that they are effectively useless in a firefight. Oh, another thing about weapons, you have a selection to choose from, but you can only carry two, and you cant pick up weapons in the field, so if you choose weapons that may not be suited for that particular mission (which you dont know what you will encounter), your goose is pretty much cooked. It was fun at first, but quickly just became a lesson in futility. Too bad, because it could have been much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

While very fun, nothing special

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Aug 30, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

26 out of 33 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This generation of gaming is just loaded with shooters. Specifically first person shooters. Well yet another FPS has arrived, codemasters destruction filled title, Bodycount. The story of bodycount is simple your an agent for the network and your trying to find and destroy the Target, yes it's called the target.

Bodycount is loads of fun. The gunplay is great and the incredible desturction in the environments adds to the experience. What really makes Bodycount shine is the audio. The audio is top ntch as explosions, guns, and building getting blow to bits sound great. Now while gameplay and sound are great there's nothing that truly stands out in Bodycount.

When it comes to multiplayer bodycount succeeds but doe nothing different from past shooters. You've got Co-Op which is fun and the online multiplayer you have team deathmatch and a horde mode. Now while both of these are fun they don't jump ahead of other games.

Overall Bodycount is a solid game. The gunplay is great, graphics are pretty descent, destruction is amazing, sound is fantastic, multiplayer is fun but nothing special. Still a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bodycount

posted by phillyfan078 (CHESTER, VA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Body count was misleading to say the least. Yes you can’t hide behind any items on the game, but the first person view is the worst of any shooting game I’ve ever played. I mean the old Nintendo duck hut was better to me, yes the graphic are better than duck hunt, but little else. I played the game for one day then had it back in the mail the next day. Don’t waste your time playing this game….unless you enjoy disappointments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow... did that ever suck!

posted by parkpunk (KETCHUM, ID) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Played this for about ten minutes and that was nine minutes too long. Horrible, jerky controls. When you aim you can't move. Can't modify button layout. Repetitive enemies. And dumbest of all was the "coin" collecting! Reminded me of something from PlayStation 1 era with graphics to match. This game is feces.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

IT SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by simster (COLUMBIA, SC) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

the basic concept of the game is stupid. not worth it. it made me want to die when i first put in the game it sucked so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not for me

posted by ericcheek (GAINESVILLE, FL) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was not for me. Let me be honest i didn't give it a far shake. I only stuck with the game for about ten minutes but that was enough for me. Body-count with it's inferior graphics poor game play and stupid story line, lost me from the get-go. I would say as an experience gamer....DONT WASTE YOUR TIME /MONEY . This game is not worth it unless you come across it in a trash can then it might be worth retrieving and playing but then again if you have something better to do like breathe I would say do that instead. -EDC Psn ID-eric_cheek

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

EH...

posted by ToneDeath333 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I think we should start a Organization like the FDA for Video Games {but not as sinister} so we can stop games like this from coming to the market and making us all sick. Only played the first few stages, the concept was ideal, no story line at all really, Graphics would have been great.... for Sega Genesis. My tv sucks, so you can imagine how distasteful it was for me if you actually played it. Id say not to bother with it.

Graphics: 3

Concept: 5

Gameplay: 4

Probably makes a good coaster for broken bear bottles and smashes cans for a junk house decor style

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

BODYCOUNT

posted by 4EVABOY (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

All I'm going to say is if they wanted this game to be on the level of say Battlefield, Call of duty or even Deus Ex they need to creat a stealth kill & hand to hand combat system with unlimited explosive ammo when needed. Also they would be smart to add a better enemy detection HUD for the campaign mode of the game. U should be able to obtain all enemy info (!) wether relevent or not & exchange enemy weapons if u want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth the rent

posted by Deadpoet (CORONA, CA) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

like other reviewers i soon found little to no story in this B class shooter. All the people you kill are cookie cutter models. After a while you start to realize you have killed the same looking guy a hundred times. The whole intel concept takes away from the game, seeing lil circles on the ground is super realistic of what Mario brothers for the Nintendo. So many better shooters out there. Hello the 007 games had more story then this lame game. It was fun for a whole 2 hours. with no determinable health bar, do upgrades on guns, no real story, and mario coins to collect. I give this game a 4 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this shooter keeps you on your toes

posted by jimmy21979 (RAEFORD, NC) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 23 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

you gotta try it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bodycount Review

posted by Ianc420 (ANTES FORT, PA) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Bodycount it your typical first person shooter. The game has decent graphics and a acceptable frame rate. Occasionally you may experience a delay in some cut scenes between your "missions" due to a problem in the frame rate. The gameplay is lacking generally due to a lack of Aim down sight (ADS). Your enemies are the common thugs you see in most shooters. One element in the game that is quite impressive though is that the missions seem to never quite be the same exact thing. It's nice not to have to play the same copied and pasted missions over and over like other shooters. Anyone interested in multiplayer may be disappointed. The multiplayer is dated and barely supported. Modes like deathmatch and team deathmatch are your choices and don't provide a fun multiplayer experience. You will most likely not be able to play regardless due to the player count. There is another mode for coop but that isn't very exciting either. If you want a game that will keep you satisfied for 8-10 hours that you don't really want to take serious. Then go ahead and rent this game. If you want a shooter that you can play online and aim down sight look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Five minutes... that's all I could take

posted by Freyjador (CENTRAL SQUARE, NY) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

When I play a FPS, there a scheme I prefer. I like being able to aim down sites, I like being able to start with decent weapons and I like having some sort of story.

None of this existed in the game. Sure, there may have been "a story" (and I'm using that term lightly) but in the opening I felt nothing. Controls were all messed up (Who knifes with the Circle? Circle should be either crouch, weapon swap or action) and I aiming was just zooming in slightly with smaller cross hairs. Glad I didn't pay money for this, but I did waste a gamefly slot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

BodyCount

posted by MrStarChat (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

From what I have played of Body Count it has been entertaining and engaging so it's a must try it's a great escape from your daily life

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bodycount

posted by jamesram25 (MARTINSBURG, WV) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

i didnt like it at all graphics no good rifles only zoom n a lil n cant shoot long distance probably 1 of the wost top 5 games ive ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game makes me sick, literally!

posted by JAtwood (LILBURN, GA) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

As if the clunky controls and poor AI weren't enough reasons to avoid Bodycount. The camera bounce was so bad that I couldn't keep playing, past the point where you turn on the power to your hub in the first stage, due to severe nausea.

Don't waste a space on your GameQ with this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lotta hype, no delivery

posted by texas99 (HUMBLE, TX) Mar 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

For a while I had been hearing that bodycount was supposed to be very good shooter so I had it on the top of my list until i got it. When i did finally get it, it just fell short.

For those who enjoy some kind of back story in a game, this game had none. Matter of fact, i didnt know who or what i was fighting. Just following blips in the screen and shooting stuff.

For those who enjoy just shooting up stuff, well it still fell short. Only two weapons are allowed to be carried so youre stuck with those to weapons for the level. After awhile it just gets boring.

I beat the game on easy just to say that i beat it, but i have no interest in trying to beat it on harder difficulties. It just wasnt fun enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Flopped like a fish out of water!

posted by biffle0764 (LANCASTER, CA) Dec 1, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

How did this game make it past the concept phase, much less actual distribution!?! With so many FPS games out there, I would be ashamed to release this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Shoot Em Up

posted by BigTRocks (ARLINGTON, TX) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This was an ok game. Anymore I can trust all of the ratings and reviews for all the games here. Sometimes though you might find a lower rated game to your liking. I thought I would try this one out and see. It reminded me somewhat of Black on the PS2. Lots of guns, straight forward shoot em up. What I didn't like was going from Africa to futuristic to Africa. It was like going from Black to Tron and then back to Black! Best way I can describe it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

great game

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

thisis a great game it sounds like an arcade game when you play it. and the guns are great in this game graphecks or good and its very esy to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BodyCount... A disapointment!

posted by bofuswitdamofus (WATSONVILLE, CA) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

The graphics in this game are nice! But that's the only thing this game has going for it. The controls seem difficult to get used to compared to other shooters, and the stab button lags. Don't run out and buy this game! Save your money for a real shooter!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

intresting

posted by jaybig22 (LINDENHURST, NY) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

bodycount was aight ... scale it at an average 7.5..simply because even on easy i took me some time to shoot them elite congo, and space soliders. concept was nice...also game could have been slightly longer...overall 7.0....7.5...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what were they thinkin

posted by venom96 (LEANDER, TX) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

this game is just plan wiered. the gun controls are moronic, graphics are terrible, i mean theres not one good aspect of this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Had Promise

posted by snapfishes (ANCHORAGE, AK) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Bodycount had the allure of a well crafted game.

To some lengths it was pretty solid, but the short comings left me in a limbo. Can I finish this or not.

I ended up not finishing the campaign. The unbalance of weapons and almost complete arcade styling just did not sit well with me.

Also somehow through the mining area I blasted right through with the overly accurate silenced pistol compared to the sluggish smg and assault rifle from before.

But that is besides the point of what really killed it for me.
The fact that aiming down the sights meant I would stop dead on the spot and haphazardly squirm. It was if I was poorly reenacting a bullet time scene from the matrix. I usually found myself face up. How this game mechanic was skipped out on and replaced with this has truly puzzled me.

I could only imagine the multiplayer being quiet boring and frustrating. Half the players standing stationary to try to pull of clean shots with these inaccurate weapons and those overly skilled with this aiming mechanic.

On a positive note this game finally stepped up on the look, feel and sound of your weapons. To that degree I feel that really increased the depth of realism to them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A "4" RATING IS APPROPIATE AS ITS A "WEAK" GAME

posted by SHAMAN (SOUTH MIAMI, FL) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2004

THIS SHOOTER COMES IN VERY SHORT IN MANY WAYS FROM WHAT IS AVAILABLE TODAY IN JUST ABOUT EVERY ASPECT, FROM THE VIDEO QUALITY TO THE SHOOTING MECHANICS, ITS JUST VERY "2 DECADES AGO"!!

IF YOU PLAY "SHOOTER" GAMES, DONT WASTE YOUR TIME...I GUARANTEE YOU WILL BE DISAPOINTED.

THAT IS UNLESS YOU "WANT TO PLAY" A BAD GAME IN WHICH CASE, PROBABLY "DUKE NUKEM" WOULD STILL BE A BETTER CHOICE NOW THAT I THINK ABOUT IT, SO NEVER MIND...DONT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse