Rent Blur for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Blur

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.2

4619 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Basically Mario Kart for adults.

posted by Noobtastic (PALM HARBOR, FL) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Blur is a racing/combat game where you can pick up power ups to help you win. These range from weapons to shoot other drivers with to defensive shields or speed boosts. There's a very minor RPG aspect where you can level up to unlock new cars as well as bonuses to fill your CoD style upgrade slots. Aside from giving you more cars and upgrades to choose from level doesn't really do anything. I don't really play racing games so I don't have much experience to compare it to, but for what it's worth both me and my cousin liked Blur despite usually not liking racing games. The combat part of the races makes things more interesting than just driving in circles. It provides a fun challenge trying to drive, aim and dodge all at the same time and the action can be pretty intense sometimes. I don't think it had enough replay value for a purchase, but I highly recommend it as a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for Casual racers

posted by PenguinGradord (SARATOGA SPRINGS, NY) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being someone who isn't the best at racing games or doesn't often play them due to frustration I have with them at times, I found Blur to still be a really fun game. Even if I end up in last place, I still have the chance to get back up in the race with a clever use of power-ups. It makes me feel like I'm 6 years old playing Mario Kart again almost, except with real cars which look stunning. I didn't get far through the solo play, which reminded me of the Need For Speed: Most Wanted campaign where you would have to meet certain requirements until you were able to race the main person for the section and get their cars. before I felt like diving into multi-player, I found that much more enjoyable, playing with other people. I would definitely recommend this game to anyone considering buying or even renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!

posted by MrTattoo (ROCKFORD, IL) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This is a great/awsome game i would def say one of a kind this game doesn't get old like most games do the career mode is fun not to hard but kool as for the online play it was really good as well not really lag like most car games. Blur is like a Need for speed meets old school mario kart if that makes anysense def check it out u wont be disapointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blur

posted by Wolfdogx75 (WOBURN, MA) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

The game is pretty cool. It really is like a big boy version of Mario Kart (although it still pales as a party game. Mario and the gang still hold that title.) There are a lot of nice cars in the game, but if you know anything about cars, you'll soon find that the stats aren't realistic. No matter, the game is full of action and there is a lot to do. The graphics are great, as well. It's not glitchy or anything. I wouldn't buy this game, but it's definitely worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Oh yea

posted by MikeW74 (BELTON, MO) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Wow, I was so impressed by this game. Its like Super Mario Kart on steroids. The different cars and mods allow you to tune your driving experience to give you an edge. You will be racing against the same car as you so that pushes you to drive your best. This game is must buy or rental.Tthe online play is just sick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Extreme fun, if given a chance

posted by tronsta (ROSELLE, NJ) May 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you played the demo and loved it, then stop reading and buy the game.

If you played the demo and hated it, then don't waste your time.

If you didn't play the demo, or you thought it was meh, then continue...

In a long line of vehicular battle games, Blur is one of the best. To put it simply, the control, multiplayer, level up progression, in-race power ups, and game modes all combine into a fantastically fun experience. While different modes bring a slightly different taste to things, for the most part the game revolves around driving around tracks and blasting everyone in your way, trying to get to the finish line first.

Here's the good first:

1) Deep tactical gameplay due mainly by a) Excellent car balancing, b) Fantastic power-ups, c) Additional pre-race power ups (known as mods) that further add to your abilities.
2) Seamless online experience.
3) Level-up system adds lots of reasons to keep on playing, as well as trying different game modes and cars.
4) Team racing is great!
5) Game is just all in all fun, especially with friends.

Here's the not so good:

1) Single player, while fun at first, is a bit annoying after a while and doesn't have much bearing on your multiplayer experience, other than giving you a little practice. Online is where it is at.
2) GFX are just ok, not the greatest.
3) A decent learning curve in the beginning, which is worse if you aren't really into driving games. Stay away from larger races until you are comfy with the power ups!
4) Do NOT play if you are prone to game rage. You will get pwnd often, but then again, it's no different from any other online enabled competitive game.

I don't give 10's out often, but I had to for this one. Aside from what I've already said, there's quite a bit that simply can't translate into words. It is DEFINITELY worth your time to rent, and you might find it worth it to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hmmm

posted by GameRaterX (ROTONDA WEST, FL) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Overall it was a fun game. The game did get boring though after a couple weeks. It is worth renting but personally i would not recommed buying just doesnt stay very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definitely worth the time

posted by FlyingRock (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I really loved this game, the career mode, online multi-player, and split screen. The power ups bring a whole new feel to the game, and of course its a great racing game altogether. I haven't tried Split Second, but I think that this would be a better rent and even better buy, because of all the power ups, tracks and cars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really fun game.

posted by Boherus (BINGHAMTON, NY) May 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

16 out of 24 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Blur is a cross between super Mario kart and midnight club.
Which were both amazing games so combining the 2 made for an amazing game.

I played the blur beta which i couldn't get enough of.
There are perks like making your car more powerful. Turn shielded abilities into usable moves.
Graphics are amazing.
Sound is top notch
But most importantly is it fun when you play it over and over?
You bet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by Southb (KILLEN, AL) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Imagine Mario Kart with real cars, thats what you have......tons of cars. I really liked this game, the only draw back is that with so many racing games out now you can purchase upgrades for your vehicles. This game didn't have that option. Otherwise it's very fun and a great game to play with children since there is no language issues I found.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blurr (XBox 360)

posted by BigSkyRide (THOMASVILLE, GA) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not a bad racing game. Kinda reminds me of Twisted Metal & Need For Speed wrapped into 1 game. Would have liked to seen your own garage to customize the cars the way you wanted, not just a quick paint - n - go. But over all, I gave it an 8, still had a blast playing it. Oh by the way, Im 55 yrs. old & can beat the best gamers on this planet and I have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautiful!Addictive! A must play!

posted by Loveabul (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Sep 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Blur is fast paced and chock full of fun!the assortment of vehicles
and their unique engine sounds is very nice,and adds originality
and a uniqueness no other game has.No way like Mario Kart.The
lively weaponry can take Mario's spiny shell and BBQ it!Easily!
The music is upbeat and cool.as for sound,you can hear the
vehicular carnage as cars fight for first.the colors and graphics are stunning.on track dirt clings to your camera..and vehicle.paint
transfer would of added in depth rubbernecking.but all and all,Blur
is a learnable and cool game to love.If killing a Venomous Viper with
a Blue Devil Corvette ZR1 is your thing..you can do it here!without
damaging your dad's wallet.Blur's little reminders are neat too.they
help,when you forget.Fan Runs are a bit painstaking.you make a bad
move,your followers dimininish,and too quickly..Oh..and that warning
boomerang behind you..so helpful also.no racing game adds touch
and damage like Bizzare can.The only thing missing is the loss of
the vehicular parts.Mario Kart PALES in comparison to Blur.simply put.
all to those who say Blur is a shadow copy of that childish Mario Kart,you're bonkers!Play it,and see for yourself.I'll bet you'd say
otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A very good attempt but needs work

posted by Mugen2D (GARDEN GROVE, CA) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to this title very much, but as soon as i played it i simply knew that it was only going to be a rental. The game has some very good ideas behind it, combining realistic visuals with car combat and adding some arcade elements.

The game provides a good amount of cars with different attributes, however the cars are not customizable. The only option you have is the color of the car (certain cars not even providing this). It was repeatedly advertised that you can equip 3 mods at once (i have even seen screen shots of it), yet this must only be available in online play because i was forced to use 1 at a time. I expected the mods to influence the game play more, only several mods really giving you a noticeable edge. The power ups on the other hand were very fun, most having the option to be thrown back or forward. Although fun to use, the power ups were also very few in number, just like the mods.

The tracks are most likely not among the best you have ever played. Visually they are wonderful to look at, but because the steering on the cars is so insensitive, tight turns are impossible. I practiced drifting over and over and over, and i have reached the same conclusion that many others have: you cannot drift in this game, you can only skid. The front of the car faces in the right direction but continues moving in the same direction as before and you hit the wall. In rare cases you will drift just right, but people hitting the wall will pass you by. Expect to see this a lot as you play the game, unless you pick the car with the absolute best steering and grip, which is what i was forced to do on harder tracks.

Aside from these issues, the game is very fun to play. It is worth renting and playing for a week or so, even if you are playing by yourself. I hope they will come out with a sequel which fixes the steering, drifting, and adds more variety to the races. Until then, the game will be just a rental to me, even after the price drop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love the game!

posted by MJ1981 (WATERVILLE, ME) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I absolutely love this game. The achievements are time consuming, but you can do things in many different ways that it never gets boring. One downfall to getting this game through gamefly, however, is that you will not be able to get all of the achievements. There is one that you have to go onto a website and enter a code. Each copy of the game only gives out one code, therefore if it was already redeemed, you will not get it. Only way to get this achievement is to purchase the game new. Other than that, I have absolutely no complaints! Thank you gamefly for another great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best game that nobody is playing

posted by gamblorea (COPPELL, TX) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game really deserves its title as Mario Kart like, but in a lot of ways I think it's better than Mario Kart racing. The use of real cars gives the game a TON of variety. There are a lot of different courses to race on, and they all look really good. There is a lot of strategy in using power-ups, since some are offensive, some are defensive, and lot can be used as both. There are also modifications that you can earn that allow you to craft a racing style. It also allows up to 20 people in one race! There is team racing and also a destruction derby mode.

Also, if you are into playing split-screen with friends, this is the best split-screen game I've played in a long time. It allows you to customize all the modes quite a bit, and there are endless combinations to try and have a lot of fun with. We discovered one the other day where you play the Motor Mash mode (destruction derby) and put damage up to high, take power-ups off, play on a rooftop map where you can fall off, and just ram eachother into oblivion. It makes it even more fun if you use extremely fast drifty cars that can build up a ton of speed quickly, but are harder to control.

As soon as the price of this game comes down I will definitely be hitting the KEEP button. It's a must own for split-screen play and a ton of fun on xbox live as well. More people should try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Racing Is Fun Again

posted by Diog3nes (LA VERNE, CA) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I rate games on how fun they are and Blur is perhaps one of the most enjoyable online racing games I have ever played. If you do not believe me download the demo get a group of friends to play it with you and watch time fly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cars of Duty

posted by tank95634 (JUNCTION CITY, OR) Jun 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Despite the bugs present in the multiplayer mode of this game (namely, the game can sometimes freeze in the loading screen between the lobby and the races) its a fun romp through the battle cars genre. The leveling up and challenges will remind you of Modern Warfare 2, and thats not a bad thing. Unlock things as you go, races and cars among other things. pretty fun, but gets repetitive quickly. So if your looking to kill an hour or so, this is a great game. However it gets boring after a little bit and youll find yourself wanting to play something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Very Nice Surprise

posted by flyboy8498 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) May 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I rented Blur w/o any expectations. Usually, unrealistic racing games are disappointing for me as a gamer. Blur is anything but disappointing.

Blur can be (and will be) genuinely difficult, even on medium difficultly. You will earn your 1st place finish (along with the lights & fans earned; all of which will be well earned). Blur does not make it easy to win. In my opinion, that's a good thing. There's nothing more unsatisfying than winning without any difficulty. Blur has difficulty.

Blur has something like 8 different races to keep you busy. The races have something for everyone from straight up racing (of course, with power-ups involved) to destruction & everything in between. I didn't have a difficult time finding a type of race that I liked; I found several.

The presentation was nice. The menus were a blast from the past; but the HUD left something to be desired. The HUD was almost tacky in several ways (thankfully not annoying though). 7 out of 10

The graphics were beyond excellent with the cars; but the landscape didn't standout compared to the cars. 8 out of 10

The music is annoyingly repetitive & the sound effects were anything but desirable. I turned the music off & used my own music to listen to. 5 out of 10

The game play was great. The career mode was good, & the online play was great to go along with it. There are some parts of the career mode that were a miss, but overall it is a good time! 8 out of 10

This game has lasting appeal, especially if you're a gamer who likes to unlock everything (I say good luck to you!). The online community will keep the game going too. And, if you have friends for XBox time, the split screen is a bonus. 7 out of 10.

I wouldn't recommend running out to spend $50 on this game, but I would recommend you renting it. I will keep it for a while and send it back. A very solid 7. This is a very solid rentable game. I know I will keep my copy for a while longer than normal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More different than i expected...

posted by coco2739 (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is different than other racing games it has sort of a combination of some other racing games. Blur has nine different sections you can race in career mode, each with its own one-on-one race at the end against the leader. It also has a few different race types one of which is called destruction which is basically all about destroying cars, which I think is so much fun. You can earn "lights" in each race that help you unlock other races; you can earn lights by gaining fans with the way you race using your "power-ups" and where you place in the race itself. These "power-ups are what I love about the game there are eight different "power-ups" you can use that can help you best your opponents in the game that range from healing yourself to blowing a car sky high! Blur also has a fairly decent array of cars to choose from; some are off-road SUVs others are tuner and muscle for examples. This game has fast, high-paced racing that makes it exciting to play all the way through the race. However, there is not much you can do outside of the career mode other than online multiplayer racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Somehow not as fun as it should be

posted by Shidara (CAROL STREAM, IL) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Feb 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Perhaps it's because I was so enamored with Split/Second that I find Blur's racing a bit stale.

The powerups are nice, but there seem to be too few of them, and the different race types are interesting, but (again) there seem to be too few of them.

I haven't played too deeply, but one of the annoying things is that the events (and possibly the tracks) are keyed to a particular class of car - you cannot bring a better-rated car into a lower-rated event, (at least not in any way that I can find) and that kind of diminishes the point of getting the fancier cars. The end result is that I've unlocked a few B-class cars, yet I have been unable to use them yet. Not fun.

Play Split/Second instead, it's a better "race game with a twist."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cheap AI makes this a rental...

posted by Beweeg (ROCHESTER, NY) Aug 25, 2010

Member since May 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I rented Blur expecting I'd ultimately buy it but the rediculous AI made it almost impossible to enjoy.

Multiplayer is fun but the only way we stood a chance at placing beyond 9th and 10th place was to put in Easy AI. Anything higher and we just got killed.

Single player is better except there's so much explanation thrown at you when all you really want to do is race. And the difficulty issues stand out here as well. I had to set it to easy just to get 2nd places.

I love racers, am pretty darn good at most of them. But this game just didn't want to cooperate with me despite how much I wanted to love it.

If the AI difficulty gets fixed via patch, count me in! For now though it's going back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blur

posted by Guitar496 (COLLEGEVILLE, PA) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Get this came its basically like mario kart with modern day cars and its fun and suprsingly addicting just rent it or buy it doesn't mateer but you have to play this game its freakin amazing!!! The online is great different modes and such and the cuztomiation is great as well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fantastic

posted by Themugg (KNOXVILLE, TN) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is like mario cart meets need for speed. It does get to where you wish you had more tracks but for sheer racing no thinking fun its awsome. Get this if you love mario cart racing with real cars its alot of fun and still tons of people playonline to race against.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than Split Second

posted by Kenholio (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought Split Second would fulfill a void I've missed since Burnout Revenge (NOT Paradise!).... it did for a moment and I then I got seriously frustrated and bored w/ Split Second.
Then I rented Blur and kicked myself in the butt... Blur was the game I should have bought and Split Second the game I should have rented. Stupid me.
Not much else to say than what everyone else has said... Mario Kart with real cars. The great thing about Blur is that if there is an event you can't win, the more and more you replay it, the more you feel youself getting better and improving at the gameplay. This is not something I experienced w/ Split Second and why I quickly grew to hate SS. If there was an even in SS I couldn't beat, I wanted to give up. Not Blur... I keep hitting Replay over and over... I swear there was one night I just played the same event all night long until I could beat it.
Would I spend $50 - $60 on this? No. Will I wait for it to get down to, say, $30? OR maybe trade in SS and some other games to get Blur cheaper? Definitely!
Also... being able to take photos from a paused game and up to your facebook is kinda fun too... no one seems to mention it. You can do twitter too if that's your thing. Not a big deal, but pretty neat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

blur online play

posted by jkelley26 (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the career mode but the online play is stupid you go from beginner to expert in 10 levels. what i mean is you are taking on level 50 people with level 10 cars that cant even come close to competing so plan on losing alot of races and finishing in the back for a while. I would recommend the nfs games if you want to race.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse