Rent Blur for PS3
view large frontback

Blur

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.5

2313 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bizarre Creations impresses again!

posted by Elbow119 (NEWFOLDEN, MN) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

19 out of 21 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

When I first heard Bizarre Creations was making a racing game with a crazy power up system, I knew that they would pull it off with unmatched polish. Needles to say, my trust was well placed!

Blur's power up system is very versatile. A Barge blast can disrupt cars very close to you, or can also be used as a temporary shield. The variety of power ups and ways you can use them makes each race a memorable one.

The single player career mode is very well structured. You keep trying to win Fans, which allow you to progress, level up, and unlock new cars. Aside from winning every race you can, you're constantly givin In-Race challanges to boost the amount of Fans you have. One such example is blasting an enemy with a Bolt missle will drifting. When you pull these off you'll not only get the Fans, you'll grin from ear to ear.

The only real flaws I found were at times you were given specific challenges that occasionaly were a grind. Things like Reverse Shunting 5 guys occasionaly interupted the consistant pacing. However, these events are seldom.

The online multiplayer is outstanding. Up to 20 players in a race gets crazy super fast, and the thrill of blasting your friends with power up and narrowly avoiding thiers is the best part of this game. This is, without a doubt, the best online racing game to date.

All in all, Blur is a game that no arcade racing fan should miss, and even gamers who usually don't get into racing games should give this one a try. Now if you don't mind, I'm gonna go play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BLUR is an awesome and under rated game.

posted by CrazECrazE (KINGWOOD, TX) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This is the racing game I have been waiting for. The single player game is good. It teaches you the basics, but the real fun is in on-line play. With a ranking system that taken directly from C.O.D., you never want to stop playing this game. I play mainly driving games and this is by far the most exciting one in a long time. With alot of awesome cars that you can upgrade, the depth of this game is huge. Just like C.O.D. does with weapons, BLUR will give your cars upgrades as you use them. Get 50 races with one car and you get an engine upgrade for that car. You will also be happy to know that there isn't one car in the game that dominates over other cars. You can win with your favorite car, if you drive it correctly. The game is very balanced. The on-line play (on PSN anyway) is near perfect. Jumpy cars and people skipping all over is very rare. This game happens very fast and the on-line play keeps up nicely. With the ability to "legend up" everytime you reach level 50, you'll be busy for awhile. Legending up gives you a "legend" car each time. There are 10 legend cars to collect. The only complaint I have at all is the lack of people playing online. with 500-1000 people online every night, races aren't hard to find, but I would like to see more people on. So get this game and come straight online! I'm not sure how it got such a low rating on GF, but I believe it deserves higher. Try if for yourself. You'll be hooked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A lot of Fun

posted by dirtyj (FRESNO, CA) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I really did enjoy the gameplay. I mostly played online, where I think the true excitement of the game lies. Online play was flawless little lag if any and the choice of different tracks and cars is always a plus. Now for the things of the game I did not like. Online play the random choice of T & C get kinds of annoying after some time, however you can learn to get over the choices that you are given. Overall great soundtrack, great gameplay a concept that took way to long to be transformed into something more current. 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally a good demolition derby game

posted by Psa21run (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) May 31, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Played the demo on xbox 360 and I was hooked. After a month I decided to pick up a copy for the PS3 (I like the controllers). Last time I played a car brawler this fun was twisted metal on playstation 1. It's been too long but a good company finally came through and put some time into doing it right.

Races and motor mashes are fast and intense but once you get the hang of it it's worth the time. Crashes are satisfying and sometimes you can pull off just the right move at the last second to win. Only complaint is it's little short on players. Give me a big community and I'll be set.

For anyone expecting a racing game this is NOT a racer. It's about weapons, good instincts, and careful planning. Blink and you can go from 1st to last but make the right moves and you can go from last to taking the lead in just 10 seconds..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Need for Speed meets Mario Kart

posted by SRambo (PAHRUMP, NV) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I really loved this game! I liked the layout, everytime you turn it on it has "Previously on Blur" to tell you what you completed the last time you played. The power-ups are unique and fun to race with. Every level of races has new 'demands' or achievments you need to complete to get to the boss race(this was very cool but at the same time a pain in the butt - had to re-race a bunch of times to get the demands I needed). I liked the cars, it had a nice range of different classes(only thing that sucked about this was you had to use certain classes for certain races) There are different types of races, race/checkpoint/destruction, I LOVED the destruction races.
Overall I think this is a great game, and I really enjoyed playing it. I give it a 9, because I really wasnt disappointed at all, me my husband and my brother all liked it, and when the three of us are playing a game together it gets finished very fast, but this one still took us awhile to beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best racing game in a long time

posted by Starcaster (VALENCIA, CA) May 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

I don't normally play racing games, but Blur is really fun. It is like Mario Kart on c-r-a-c-k. Large groups in multiplayer are really fun, but smaller groups are less fun because there are less people to shoot your shunts at :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Rambotatho (SUFFOLK, VA) Jun 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It just makes me feel like im playing mario chart all over again just with different,faster cars and nice items to use to trash other players cars. The game looks great on looks and when playing with 20 people i havent lagged any. so i give this game a 10 and hope a new one comes out next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blur is a Blast

posted by rEmEtAJeRk (HORSEHEADS, NY) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Blur is great fun. For the die-hard racing gamer, this isn't the game for you. However, for those of you who enjoy speed and action wrapped up in fictitious weaponry then this is perfect. Blur blends (as many other critics here stated) a Mario Kart experience but with realistic dynamics used in the cars and the track settings. The upgraded weaponry is fun in multi-player and enhances the experience to boot. The single-player game is great to get used to the cars and the game in general, but the online multiplayer is where the fun is: chaotic and exciting.

If you want Grand Turismo-type car tuning and detail to suspensions, tires, breaks, etc., etc., then avoid Blur. You'll be dissapointed. If you're looking for a BurnOut or Need for Speed-type-game, well you're getting a bit closer to what Blur has to offer (but not quite). Try it out and see for yourself; you can always send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointed

posted by DixieMan58 (FORT MYERS, FL) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I have waited a long time for the release of Blur. I thought the concept of the game was brilliant. However, I was disappointed in a couple key flaws in the gameplay, one of which is the handling. Imagine seeing those blinking arrows quickly coming into view, and the next thing you know, you are head-on with the wall, because the handling is too stiff to make any of the sharp turns without losing 5 positions in the process, and drifting causes you to drastically lose speed allowing your competitors to whip pass you. One exception to this is the nitrous power-up. If shot backwards, instead of being boosted towards the head of the pack, it can be shot backwards for a super-brake to make those hard turns, but with the sling-shot AI in combination to the variety of power-ups meant to wreak havoc on your car, using nitruous to brake is hardly on your mind. Blur has stunning visuals and a wide variety of tracks and vehicles, but the single-player experience is hindered by those small flaws. Overall, playing with friends is much more enjoyable when playing Blur.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mario Cart on Steroids...

posted by KentuckyGF (STANTON, KY) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It's like Mario Cart on steroids.
After about an hour, like Mario Cart, it gets repetitive and becomes a bore to play, even in multi player it really get boring after a short time.

Cool game to rent for a weekend of goofing, just not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't waste your time

posted by bkramer23 (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst games I have played in a while. Single player is the worst gaming experience i have ever had! It is like a wanna be real version of mario kart for nintendo. The only thing making me give this game a 3 on the rating is that the multiplayer split-screen is pretty fun. Dont waste your time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ive played better

posted by Someone423 (SUTTON, VT) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is defanitly worth the rent but not worth to buy, its just like any other raceing game out there, it just gets really repetitive but its a challenge to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

blur is...

posted by iSNiiPe (COMPTON, CA) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

a very great game. a very short and sweet description of the game is a adult Mario Kart!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Modern Warfare of Racing

posted by 3nigma (FOREST HILLS, NY) May 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy racing games and first person shooters this game is the best of both worlds. Not only do you have to do well at handling the tracks but also at up to 19 other people trying to get you off the road. The online play is continuous fun with either 20 or 10 person racing and a few other types however so far only these 2 people are using. So far only flaw I found was that if people are using mics and your not it comes over on the sound of the game. So if you don't want to hear everybody talking smack as your playing just mute them ahead of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Had potential if it wasn't for the driving

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The basic point of a racing game is driving your car. All the cars look awesome but their handeling is very stiff. You'll find yourself in the wall a lot unless you can master the drifting which is a lot harder than the instructions say. I found myself spining out most of the time when attempting a drift then after it resets me I went from 3rd to 12th. In single player you need to complete specific challenges to compete with the main driver for that chapter. But some of the tasks are a little extreme. Also I didn't like that in order to get the extra lighs for the fans you had to be 3rd or better out of 20. If your below 3rd then you fail the race and have to do it again. You think with five (or six) lights up for grabs you'd be able to place 5th-6th or better to keep your extra lights.

The multiplayer is the funnest part but all the cars you unlock in single player you cant seem to use in multiplayer. At least I haven't seen them. All the power ups are good but they just filp or spin you out or wreck you if your power is low. It is typically maro kart.

All in all if the driving wasn't so stiff and drifting was easier then this game would of been a whole lot better in my mind. And for all you trophy hunters, this is a real challenge and very time consuming to get them all. Most of them you have to complete 4 tasks in order to get 1 trophy. A few of them is using each power up 250 times on opponents. I love racing games but this one wasn't for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Bad...

posted by UGAdawg04 (ACWORTH, GA) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is definitely a fun game to play/rent.. I probably would not own it however. It's good for multiplayer also if you have a lot of friends that have it. Other than that, overall fun game, decent graphics, and a must to play if you enjoyed MarioKart!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just not very fun... sorry

posted by steppin (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The cars handle horribly. Drifting is not smooth but rather abrupt. Car customization is nonexistent, aside from drab paint colors. And acquiring new vehicles is not a challenge, but just a sequence of trite unlocks. Rival characters lack any real personality or aggression so there's no real emotional reward when you defeat them.

Some people will say, "well, it's all about the online." And my reply is that the online is kinda lame as well. Some of the pickups are virtually useless by their lack of power. The tracks are uninspired. And lobby screens are horrible. Too much information rendered way too tiny for comfort.

Ultimately, there's no real goal to achieve. So the player suffers. I don't recommend this game. Split/Second is superior in all ways, especially the feeling of speed and real crash physics.

I can understand this being compared to Mario Cart because it's equally childish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

REVIEW ON BLUR

posted by G4M3F4C3 (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

THE blur game is good with the licenced cars, but gameplay is not all that licenced.being that it has a mario kart race feel it lacks the quality.I give this a 3 out of 10...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fail!!!!

posted by THEGAMER90 (WEST HILLS, CA) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 31 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

it sucked no free rome no car upgrading. 2 unrealistic
one word can descibe it

!!!!!FAIL!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage!!!! Dont rent! dont rent!

posted by jetsfan (MIAMI, FL) May 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 32 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This is garbage!!! one race and i put it back in the envelope! no car upgrades, no car tuning, and you race around tracks and get blown up right before the finish line? trash game trash game, and i love racing games still if u want a racing game thats fun rent grid or dirt 2 still the best racing games out there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth Renting

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) May 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2004

This is one of those games that might sound good but when made it isn't a bit as fun as it sounded like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible, no wheel support

posted by agrublev (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Apr 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I rented it just to enjoy my wheel.. Turns out no wheel support at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Crashes

posted by Thcman (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Game is good but keeps crashing my ps3 during loading. I blame the ps3 updates for the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BY DRAGON-5000v3

posted by DRAGON5000v3 (DACULA, GA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

blur is a great game with nice cars and more but the only thing i dont like about it is the cars cant relly trun at all i give it a 9 it 1 of only 20 ps3's good games i love it bring on dark siders 2 baby lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Plan and Simply

posted by Knight_Smoke Feb 6, 2012

The easiest way to make this short and sweet but still everyone will know exactly what type of game this is, Blur is Mario Kart on steroids. The graphics are decent, the play game is average, its fun for awhile and that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse