Rent Blue Dragon for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Blue Dragon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

5198 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hopefully First of many great Japanese RPG's

posted by Sorbid (Junction City, KS) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of Japanese RPG's or Japanese animation, Blue Dragon is a great first RPG from the creators of Final Fantasy. The characters and storyline are very unique and interesting. The game was so popular in Japan that they created an anime series which is actually quite good. Some compare the anime to being as good as Dragon Ball Z. There's also some great musical scores. It's obvious that Mistwalker Studios wanted to create an impact with their first RPG foray on the 360.

I especially liked the easy menu system, and the ability to save anywhere on the outside overhead map area. Also, being able to warp anywhere to another warp device is awesome. No tedious running for hours. However, there tends to be some slow down in frames-per-second (FPS) in some battles and areas where there are multiple enemies on the screen at once. It can be quite frustrating at times when you're trying to use your charge meter correctly. One moment it's very slow which makes it easy to hit the "sweet spot". Then the next time you go to use it the FPS is back to normal and the charge meter will zoom right to the end.

Overall this game is well worth getting into for any RPG or Japanimation fan. It will provide hours and hours of fun, and it's few shortcomings are easily overlooked.

Pros:
- Great graphics
- Extremely deep game (easily over 100 hours if you tried to do everything and max all levels)
- Non-Linear
- Tons of side-quests
- Lovable characters
- English voice acting is surprisingly good

Cons:
- Annoyingly low FPS in some areas
- Not very challenging (however there is a free download called "New Game +" that gives a better challenge)
- Same monster, different name syndrome. Lots of similar looking monsters that just get a new name and progressively harder as you go along.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YES

posted by havochaos (BOONE, NC) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, turn-based battling, anime styled graphics, lots of searching but its easy not to miss stuff, EPIC BOSS BATTLE MUSIC!, i could not stop laughing at the boss battle music, great game, play it for at least 30 minutes to see what the game is all about before you mail it back because if you play it for about 30 minutes it will turn into hours, that's what happened to me when i played it, time flies with this one, WARNING, VERY ADDICTIVE, rent it, buy it, you can't go wrong

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An Entertaining Story, but Gameplay is boring

posted by Malkex (EAST PEORIA, IL) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to finish this game because the story was interesting to me. I liked the shadow powers idea, but the classes were boring and uninventive. Ultimately I never found anything to challenge me and engage my interest other than finding out what happened next in the story, and that wasn't enough in the end. I dropped this game in the mail without finishing the second disc after I fought severaly bosses in a row that didn't last more than a round against my party. I miss the ff7 type of gameplay where it didn't seem to matter how much you buffed up your party, the bosses were almost always a challenge and you felt like you had accomplished something.

That, in the end, is what this game lacked. A sense of accomplishment. I was just going through the paces. If you like boredom, get this game. 5 points

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's pretty at least

posted by P05TF03TU5 (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

43 out of 51 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, I like this game. I even bought it off gamefly for rather cheap, but the gameplay is rather unsatisfying for next gen. With all the hype surrounding this title I was really expecting something with more substance. I will admit I love all the cute pixar-like graphics and well paced cutscenes, which occur practically around every corner. The enviroments can be great, but at most times are large and empty, which resembles the combat for the most part. The only saving grace about the combat is the job system. The job system definetly kept me encouraged to keep playing to unlock new abilities.

Pros:
Very nice graphics, great use of depth of field
Some interesting and unique character and enviroment designs
Features a new job system and intuitive customization
Multiple language tracks (play this in japanese)
Plenty of cutscenes (really the best part about this game)
A good 40-50 hour point A to point B RPG without too much level grinding required (took me 48 hours to complete)
Practically everything gives you gold, items, or experience (kinda good, kinda bad)

Cons:
The story isn't new or well structured nor do the characters have any depth
Very traditional turn based fighting, in other words, yawn
Occasional tearing during combat moves
Most special attacks are way too long and deliver nothing special
Most areas are large, empty and uninteresting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Blue Dragon

posted by soonerjoe (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Blue Dragon's idea is great and graphics are awesome. However the game play is somewhat repetitive. It is nothing like a final fantasy in terms of actual battles. You cycle through 3 people hit a button and then watch this repetitive screen shot of you character winning, time and time again. There is not much to your battles and creativity for the battles leaves alot to be desired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TOP NOTCH TRADITIONAL RPG

posted by Shadowhog (Leslie, AR) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

31 out of 41 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I have played ALOT of rpgs starting from ultima and final fantasy one on up to blue dragon and what i found is this is EXACTLY where i hoped the modern turn based role playing game would be like now. There are plenty enough games trying to "reinvent the wheel" so I found this tribute to the traditionl style refreshing. I found the camera a little odd at times but that's my only complaint. I really like the art style and the combat is engaging. I am not terribly deep in the storyline but it is fine at this point. If you hate turn-based rpgs, you'll hate this but if you love them, you owe it to yourself and this dying genre to check it out. Excellent music too, by the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

High pontenial; potenial not reached!

posted by Bleach28 (BRONX, NY) Dec 1, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Blue Dragon has a great premise for a RPG. The ability to use a shadow as a means to control magic. Also, the magic that you use also control machines (lost technology. As always, their is a villian in the story who is trying to cause disaster with his ability to control magic and machines for his betterment only. The story and dialogue are quite childish and could use more adult content to make the game more intriguing. i was also quite surprised by the lack of summons in the game and detailed cut scenes associated with the creators of Final Fantasy VII. Would recommended for fans of the creator of Final Fantasy VII and people wanting to play a quality RPG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent RPG, stingy on the achievement points

posted by Silimike (CASSELBERRY, FL) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I really liked playing through this game. The story wasn't as good as say FF7, however, I feel they did a really good job on keeping the game from getting repeatative. The thing that Japanese style RPG's annoyed me was taking two steps and a random encounter would stop you.. Running around you actually see the random encounters and could run or fight. The spell and class system worked well and the CGI was good. If you are a fan of Final Fantasy type games this one will keep you occupied for a good 40-50 hours.

After beating the game, I had 20 achievement points, which annoyed me... And beating the final boss netted 0 points!!!!! A little crazy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Solid Title

posted by MasterBC (ROSEVILLE, CA) Dec 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game was solid however the age demographic was a bit low for any serious player. I bashed through this title solely out of morbid curiosity thinking that it may get better than mediocre, it didn't.
The general plot of the story was good, you could definitely tell the two major creative influences at work here. DragonballZ and Final Fantasy. Despite the path of the story i never felt connected to the characters though, or felt a real need to be driving forward with the story.
The combat system was extremely familiar which was a benefit to this particular title which didn't seem to bring anything original to the genre. A conventional element system brought familiar tactical situations to the game, which sorry to say was never a challenge.
Sound was acceptable, with the exception of the boss music, which is by far the worst music i've ever heard but into a video game. With the kind of budget they are working with there was no excuse for boss music like that, they could have picked a free midi off the net and had more luck.
Overall graphics were pleasant, a bit underdone for the system i thought. Smoothing out a simple model doesn't make it a great HD-character necessarily, but its cheap. Can't wait for their next title.
Now having finished the title i would not recommend spending the time necessary to complete it, nor wasting time with the ridiculous achievements.
Final Thought-
If i could do it over again, I wouldn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Blue Dragon

posted by purdyluv79 (VINELAND, NJ) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Best rpg game I have played since the old Final Fantasy's for ps2. One thing even better the FF is that you can avoid fighting the enemies simply by running away from them instead of just constantly getting into battles. I also like that fact that you can combine skills to make your players more efficient and you get to learn how the different classes work. although the battles seem to be a little simple at times, the graphics are beautiful and gameplay is long. An excellent game to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Classical yet New vibe......

posted by calinomad1 (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game is very basic to structure, but not to complex. I enjoyed this game very much and enjoyed the story it reminded me of the original dragon ball series as goku grows in power and size. Very well done hope you all feel the same as i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Why so angry?

posted by Logikbomb (STOCKTON, CA) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Why is everyone here bashing this game when it deserves at least a 9? I found the rpg elemental refreshing as you don't find good rpgs like this anymore except for the dragon quest series. This is a turn based rpg for the next generation console what more can you ask for? If you liked Final Fantasy 4 and chrono trigger you will love this game. On a side note, I loved the drawing style they used for the characters. I will give a more indeph review when i've played it more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it!

posted by sxyzo76 (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Dec 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I am a huge ff fan. This game was designed by the original creator of ff. So this was a natural fit for me. This game is a perfect spin on the trad/japan/rpg format. The graphics were awsome, and the production values were huge. I ended up playing it for 65 hours. Just like ff, the first 20 hours are kinda like work. Then it just starts to open up more and more. I recomend this game to any rpg or ff fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good.

posted by Spyder925 (CONCORD, CA) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Well I first played the demo and I thought it was pretty good. So I decide to rent it, it was okay.

The gameplay is VERY repetitive, go fight monsters over and over, having to listen to the annoying character dialouge.

One of the main characters is Shu. Some cocky snot nosed, annoying kid.

The story was pretty good though.

Overall it was a decent game, which will last you 40-50 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kind Of Disappointed!

posted by gcthedon (VENETIA, PA) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Let me start out by saying this really isn't a bad game it just isn't that good. When Blue Dragon was announced awhile back I thought finally a rpg for the 360 worth playing. So far all we had was Eternal Arms (Need I say more). When it finally hit store shelves this past summer i was skeptical from reading the mixed reviews it got. So luckily I rented it and I am glad I did. It just seemed like every other rpg I played. And the maro character makes you want him to die and not come back. Can I say annoying. The battle system was kind of cool and had a few things that made it stand out from the rest. I guess using your shadow to fight was also a neat idea. I must say the thing that stood out the most were the cut scenes. The visuals were stunning and very clear especially when playing it HD. All in all it took me sixty hours to beat the game not completing all the side quests. Well at least there is Mass Effect to now look forward to. I have a feeling this one is gonna live up to the hype.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Throwback ~10 years, but works!

posted by NikeHeir (SCARSDALE, NY) Sep 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Simply, if you like older style, story-driven turn based JRPGs, then you will enjoy the 50+ hours put into BD.

Satisfaction from storyline/plot, memorable characters, and welcoming "world" minus any real innovations in the genre(which are usually gimmicky anyway).

Reminds me of when I was twelve playing FF3(6) on my SNES, but falling short of that masterpiece.

Only proving that the real ride in 50+ hour JRPGs is character development and story.

9.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I was surprised, good for a turn based RPG

posted by mkscho63 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Okay so I'm not normally into the whole turn based RPG fanaticism that is sweeping the gaming world now. Traditionally, all the games around this setup are the same story and so far no one has yet to beat Chronotrigger as innovations go :) However, a friend recommended Blue Dragon as a great way to spend time when you have nothing to do. I was bed ridden with a broken leg for a few weeks so I figured "What the heck?"

I was very surprised to find that this game offers a good amount of customizing as far as your parties abilities go, a humorous but not slapstick character set, well done graphics, and a lot of gameplay for a single game (granted it's all contained on 3 discs).

You end up with several members of your party that each begin with their own specialization such as healer, tank, magic user, support, etc., but you are able to change those relatively easily to suit your own wants and desires.

It also mixes in semi interesting side quests and the achievement factor of the 360 in a way that proved interesting to me, who normally pokes fun at the gamerscore titans for taking a video game out of the fun zone and into the land of obsession.

All in all, it is a well made game and a fresh breeze in a land of stale games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Freeze Frame

posted by ShawnC (CLIFTON, CO) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like the game. The graphics are nice, and the music is nice, for a while. I am a fan of turn-based combat so that was not a problem. I realize the target audience is younger tha I am so I cut it a break there. So much for the good parts.

The interface is clumsy. There is way too much search by hitting the "A" button, you found something hit the "A' button game play. Combat is unchallenging -- at least as far as I got in the game.

You see, the game repeatedly froze my system in the same spot 8 hours into the game. No matter what I did the game froze so my review is not for the entire game. Had the game not frozen I would have given it a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nothing here

posted by catinabox (SOSO, MS) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I didn't like this game at all, they could have done much better with the graphics and sound, plus the voice actors are not all that great. The gameplay is slow at best and I didn't like the fighting system at all. I felt like I was playing a upgraded version of a old Final Fantasy game from the 90's (not saying the graphics are low end or anything but they could have done much better.) The game was constantly freezing on me every time I went away from my 360 for 15 mins or so! I recommend you rent this game and try it for yourself if you don't like what I'm saying about it, but considered yourself warned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not too shabby.

posted by endlessjon (ENGLEWOOD, FL) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well this was an interesting RPG, ok so it was just another rip off the Squaresoft bandwagon, but it did have some individuality, graphics we're very smooth, story line was fun, and the character we're unique, I really enjoyed the battle system, but i was hoping for some weapons but I guess it makes sense why there not in the game..coulda been a little more individual..but overall a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lukewarm

posted by Mistajinx (LAWRENCE, KS) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I gave this a weak rating mainly because of the story. The gameplay was fun. I liked the class changes, but the voice acting turned me off. It just seemed to me like a waste of great animating and game developement.

When I first saw the game advertised I was looking forward to it. It literally was a let down.

Now on a positive note. Kids will like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same thing over, and over.

posted by GSwindle (MELBOURNE, FL) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was a very disappointing game. It was so repetitive and lacked any imagination, as well as being WAY to easy. Think I might have died once.

I will caveat this by saying i did only make it halfway through the game. I was saved when my gamertag was messed up and had to recreate it... THANK YOU MICROSOFT screwing up my gamertag and coming to the rescue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

frusterating but fun

posted by Tsunade (RENO, NV) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Feb 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game can be easy and fun at the first disc but once you get to the second disc in you'll fight a boss and you will want to beat your 360 with controller and burn it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average at best

posted by slogue (SWAINSBORO, GA) Oct 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

It was said better by a previous poster so I will put what he/she wrote:

After playing this I got bored at around the 12 hour mark. I am a big JRPG fan and was very disappointed at how I got bored with this title.

POSITIVE:

-Stunning Visuals: The game is simply fun to look at and watch.

-Shadows: The combat system is a fun and immersive twist on the classic "Job-system" format from many past RPG's. With a total of five characters in your party and 9 various shadow classes, you can customize very well.

-Interface: This game has a beautiful menu and interaction interface. Talking to NPC's and selecting items or a new Shadow class are very easy tasks. The look is crisp.

-Character Art: I love Akira Toriyama as much as the next guy, and he has shown his talent for colorful and "alive" characters. I do not like it personally in this setting, but my thoughts aside, it does lend a very bright feel to the game world and pulls away from an overly realistic realm. This fantasy feel works well for an RPG.

NEGATIVE:

-Characters: The cast of characters is ridiculous. And not in an ironic, or classic sense; they are weak 2-D personalities attempting to drive forward a very stale plot. Character interaction is bland and predictable. Mediocre voice acting only digs a deeper grave. Actors are trying to add emotion and scene specific emotion to extremely trite dialogue and stale "development" scenes.

-Plot: Some people enjoy a story about a strong willed little boy gaining magical powers and saving the world. I think it has been done before far too many times for Hironobu to be allowed to get away with it. The interaction between characters is juvenile at best, the emotional depths characters reach range from Happy to Not-as-Happy. No matter how severe or doomsday the characters try to act like the situation is, the game never really conveys that depth or seriousness. The stark Black-and-White presentation, weak development, no feeling of drama or climax, make this game ..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Very Weak Cast of Clich├ęs

posted by GrandRPGM (BOONE, NC) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

POSITIVE:

-Stunning Visuals: The game is simply fun to look at and watch.

-Shadows: The combat system is a fun and immersive twist on the classic "Job-system" format from many past RPG's. With a total of five characters in your party and 9 various shadow classes, you can customize very well.

-Interface: This game has a beautiful menu and interaction interface. Talking to NPC's and selecting items or a new Shadow class are very easy tasks. The look is crisp.

-Character Art: I love Akira Toriyama as much as the next guy, and he has shown his talent for colorful and "alive" characters. I do not like it personally in this settig, but my thoughts aside, it does lend a very bright feel to the game world and pulls away from an overly realistic realm. This fantasy feel works well for an RPG.

NEGATIVE:

-Characters: The cast of characters is ridiculous. And not in an ironic, or classic sense; they are weak 2-D personalities attempting to drive forward a very stale plot. Character interaction is bland and predictable. Mediocre voice acting only digs a deeper grave. Actors are trying to add emotion and scene specific emotion to extremely trite dialogue and stale "development" scenes.

-Plot: Some people enjoy a story about a strong willed little boy gaining magical powers and saving the world. I think it has been done before far too many times for Hironobu to be allowed to get away with it. The interaction between characters is juvenille at best, the emotional depths characters reach range from Happy to Not-as-Happy. No matter how severe or doomsday the characters try to act like the situation is, the game never really conveys that depth or seriousness. The stark Black-and-White presentation, weak development, no feeling of drama or climax, make this game a stale and yawning experience.

I cannot stress enough; this game is boring. No real side quests, no character interaction worth the time, few mini-games, boring plot, and slow progression of the plot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse