Rent Blood Drive for PS3
view large frontback

Blood Drive

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.8

378 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Twisted Metal with ZOMBIES!!!

posted by Viciouslig (OLYMPIA, WA) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I heard of blood drive a combination of twisted metal meets zombies, I was like, "SIGN ME UP!!." Of course I knew it was just going to be nameless explosion and that it was.

Story - 4
Quite simply there is no story. I give it a 4 because each character at least has some kind of ending (like twisted metal). Your go around and kill zombies and drivers thats the pretty much the depth of story.

Gameplay - 7
The gameplay is a bit sloppy depending on which car you use. I think if the would have had better controlling to turning then the gameplay would have been better. Other then that simple and easy to pick up.

Graphics - 7
Nothing special to look at really. Although the zombies move great, especially when they are stuck on your car.

Sound - 6
Hard rock music and voice-overs that you will not really care much about. Although all the weapons and destruction sound great.

Overall - 6
The game is just mindless killing and really a subs until Twisted Metal arrives. The different modes are fun but there is only so much you can do here. If you want a story you wont find it here, but if you want pointless zombie crushing, car smashing, gun trouting destruction then this is the game for you my friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mindless Entertainment

posted by Tarquin (DANVILLE, VA) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Car combat and zombie apocalypse. Sounds like a can't miss combination, right? Blood Drive just cannot pull it all together. The game is presented in a classic arcade style. There is no story mode and little explanation for the zombie hordes. You are a contestant on a reality show called Blood Drive. Your job is to mow down as many zombies as possible, race through the most check points or destroy the most opponents. The game is divided into various cups. The cast of characters is colorful and deranged.
The game play is where Blood Drive literally dies. Floaty car physics is reason alone to pass on this game. Hit a wall or a bump will cause your car to fly spinning in a random direction. None of the cars are responsive. Nothing is more frustrating than having a small bump cause you to sink to last place. The graphics are nothing special. Levels are boring. Even the twisted sense of humor feels uninspired.
Basically, Blood drive fails on almost all levels. Running over zombies feels good, but cannot redeem the rest of the game.
Don't waste your time. Play something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Surprisingly interesting...

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Nov 1, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I have to say, i wasn't expecting an award-winner game when this arrived in the mail. Not only is Blood Drive packed with driving and zombies (only two of my favorite videogame components), but the controls are oddly slick and precise. I haven't gotten that far into it yet, but i assure you, so far, it's a great game. Not much details to give out, but the graphics, sound, controls, and the storyline are all pretty cool. Definitely worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not to bad

posted by RudeDog (NASHVILLE, MI) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

When i first got this it was because no games were coming but wen i did actualy play it it wasnt as bad as i thot i mean its like twisted metal with better graphics and of course ZOMBIES!!! wich is always fun. thou the sight is hard it is an ok game if u like racing and killing zombies... try it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

let down

posted by rednex99 (MOUNT VERNON, IN) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It has a good twisted metal vibe but comes up short by a long shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ummm, i can't control my car and i keep floating

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

i really wanted to like this game, if only the cars would turn like a car does and they would stay on the ground instead of floating around for almost no reason what so ever, it's really shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Twisted metal and left for dead had a baby!!

posted by Furrypatch (FOND DU LAC, WI) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Yes those two games had a baby and boy is it ugly!! The game creators had a really good idea but then under performed in every aspect.
Gameplay you are stuck playing 1 tournement until you beat it you cannot even do a singe race until you get tokens from the tournement. So if your not a natural born player you can get stuck as i did and the game dies for you very fast. handling is another bad spot its like twisted metal but with your eyes closed since the view is so close you cant see anything around you. Which is bad when players are tryin to kill you. ofcourse you can hit the look back button but that will only take you so far.
I have both twisted and left for dead so i like a lil mindless game time but even that requires content which this game doesnt have. They could have done something great with this game but they didnt sorry it only lasted thirty mins before i had to stop and send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was ok

posted by drave55 (SHERMAN, TX) May 6, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

it was okay if you like driving cars and killing zombies.and destroying stuff.. you have a few different cars and trucks to chose from.its a time killer if you like to kill time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

blood drive

posted by maydaaguera (MIAMI, FL) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

is game bed too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blood Drive

posted by larrymills100 (FLINT, MI) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This is what im looking for now a day zombies and souped up cars :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Take Twisted Metal and then add pointless zombies?

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

The elements of this game all add up to fun except when they are done like this. If it was a free roam adventure game that involved running over zombies this would work, and recycling the cliche "reality show massacre" again. I mean we've already had Madworld and a list of others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow..

posted by RLTWATW (FREDERICK, MD) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

This game is awful..I thought for a second it might be an amusing play, but I was wrong. The controls are terrible. It's like you are driving a brick. You can't slide your car..I mean, I could go on for quite a bit on this one, but as it is, I've already wasted enough time on it. Pass this one by. Terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow!

posted by mindlessswag (LYNN, MA) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

When i first rented this game i thoght that it would be bad because of the rating. but when i got it it was wonderful. it was one of the best video games i have ever played. i recomend this to everyone who likes zombie killing games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not all its cracked up to be

posted by Silohara (ELMIRA, NY) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

this game is nothing its cracked up to be all it seems to be to me is a rip off of Twisted Metal just a 100X worse and with zombies this game in my opinion is not worth renting nor worth owning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Does zombie mayhem always work?

posted by IbexThrone (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

The answer is no. I thought this game would be dead on, but the driving mechanics are terrible. And its altogether not that fun. Blood, Gore,and mayhem are usually sure-fire tactics for success for me, but I didnt just dislike it I hated it. I only kept it for 5 days and only played it twice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Whaaat?

posted by drewkcab (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I was very excited when I first learned of this game but found out after playing it why it was so hard to find as a new release. I feel baited into buying what could have been a very fun game by a unique premise. The gameplay is not only overly awkward but anger-inducing; getting stuck in corners or against walls is way too simple. The weapon-detailing is also kind of weak, difficult to control at times and somewhat unoriginal. As for the arenas, I really wish they would have just made more destructible courseways and streamlined the obstacles. It seems silly to have a vehicle so hard to control and so easily way-laid. Try renting this for yourself, it'll be a challenge for you to want to play this more than a few times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fail

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Jan 15, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

This is a great concept, I just hope someone else comes along and makes a better game based on cars with weapons. The game is really hard to take. Your car will hit a small bump and flip into the air, almost land on its wheel and flip again and again then someone will hit you before you can regain control. It sucks. Add to that the stupid comments the player keeps making and you have a terrible game. It had potential but quickly fails.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Twisted Metal??

posted by specter (BROADWAY, VA) Dec 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

Wow its Twisted Metal with zombies. So this game appeals to 14 year old boys. If you are not 14 then skip this game, or if you are having some drunk friends over. Graphics just like Twisted Metal and so are the vehicles. They tried real hard on this game, boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This Game Needs a Blood Donor

posted by Defferdenu (STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, CO) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Minus the Zombies, your basically playing Twisted Metal. Graphics were good, but certainly not great. When I first started the game I was having a pretty good time. The different events kept it from getting stale. (My fav was Kill Everything! in the Arctic Big Rig). The weapons & all the different boosters allowed for a variety of kill strategies, and there's lots to kill. The levels could have contained more depth, but the longer I played the more routes I found. For me, I would have ranked the game an 8, if it wasn't for the floating car effect. When u hit big, or get hit big the vehicles often launch 50ft into the air and take forever to crash land. As if gravity was 1/2 of what it should be. If this happens during one of the race events, good luck catching back up. I tried so hard to like this game because I love Twisted Metal, But the floating car thingy made me tear it from my PS3 one evening, seal it away in the return envelope, and say "Good Riddance!"

Worth a rent if you don't mind returning it 3 days later

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Complete let down

posted by Bosaru (NAPLES, FL) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

I was expecting something along the lines of the classic game: Carmegeddon. This wasn't even close. The maps are too small and confined. I was expecting a more open playing environment.
I'm glad I didn't buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Blood drive

posted by Soundwave2 (HYANNIS, MA) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

What a terd this game is. horrible controls, car bounces all over the place among other oddities. boring. Good game for a 4yr old. Not even worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW!!!

posted by BLSADDORIS (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Loveing the game but the story line needs to be bigger and longer. So much chaos and rage and killing everything. I LOVE IT!!!! I LIKE games like this!!! lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by dkhage1 (CORONA, CA) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I really loved this game. You get to drive crazy cars that have weapons attached to them and run over zombies, what more could you want. I would recommend this game to anyone who likes to kill zombies.

Overall a 9/10 for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »