Rent Blood Drive for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Blood Drive

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
3.8

541 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Xbox Twisted Metal: Zombie Edition

posted by Hixikon (KENOSHA, WI) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its pretty much Twisted Metal for Xbox 360, only a little better because you get to squish zombies too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Blood Drive

posted by CDAWWGG (MEDINA, OH) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Blood Drive, a game of crazy balls to the wall ACTION MAYHEM!!!

insert over played explosion here

The game basically has sever characters with their vehicles of choice. You drive around big areas competing in several different events such as Demo Derby, Rally, Hold the Skull (similar to HALO's Oddball game), and various "kill everything" game types. While in the beginning using all the different powerups and weapons is fun, it starts to become boring monotonous "ill kill everything......again" rinse and repeat gameplay.

The graphics are simplistic and the play style will feel familiar to burnout lovers but nonetheless the control scheme is easy to grasp and once you figure out your vehicle's specific strengths and weaknesses the game will be almost second nature.

One thing I found really annoying was the save system. Each event has 5-10 events/rounds in it. If you need to leave and do something, you can't save in-between rounds, you have to start all over with that entire event.

The Multiplayer is a huge weakness. This game would be AWESOME if it had SPLITSCREEN but it doesn't. If you had a room full of people and wanted to split screen this at a party, you would happen to be SOL because apparently the designers thought it best left out.

All in all this game is silly bloody bumper cars burnout L4D fun but not worth actually buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cool concept but lacking

posted by Lasombra51 (KLAMATH FALLS, OR) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game had a cool concept, but is seriously lacking in game play. with no difficulty settings to adjust the experience it got boring vary fast. It reminded me a lot of Vigilante 8, but even that game had more to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Really Disappionting

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Nov 27, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I guess I expected too much from this game considering it's 2010 and this is Xbox 360 we are talking about. I really didn't think I would be playing another Mario Karts clone with an added twist of zombies running around damaging your vehicle. Instead of being cool, the zombies got more annoying as the game went on. Very much like the bees in 80's arcade classics 720 and Paperboy. Not much new in this game and the achievements are rubbish. Why would I want to play through the cup levels with every character?

Overall it's a rental and good for a couple of hours of gameplay before advanced boredom sets in. I'm glad I'm not a game completionist any longer or I would be really annoyed at the repetition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I wanted so much to like this game...

posted by Ineedsleep (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

On paper this game was so promising, run over zombies with madmax type cars with upgrades, ect.. I ready the bad reviews but didn't want to believe them. I rented this to try and give it a honest go. Well let's just say the reviews were true. The game isn't horrible but it's just not that fun to play. I think this should should have been available as a downoad on XBL for like 800 points rather then make it a full retail release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Is this the new Carmageddon?

posted by zombiemike (UNIVERSAL CITY, TX) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

No. Not really. It could have been but there is too many design flaws to make this game fun. Carmageddon wasn't perfect by any stretch, but if you were to take a game like that and compare it to this there is a level of charm that game still maintains to this day.

Blood Drive is a series of mini modes packed together to make a much larger game. The modes are: Checkpoint race, kill the opponents, kill the most zombies, kill the most zombies and opponents, and capture the flag. Before each match starts you pick a basic load out of power ups which can either benefit you or completely screw you over. Characters are vastly unbalanced. There is only about 8 characters (vehicles) to choose from anyway and none are particularly appealing, instead the player will resort to picking a character based upon stats, in which two of the character have virtually the same stats.

When the player finally gets into the game at first its enticing and exciting. The game is presented very straight forward ("Smash all the zombies!") Unfortunetly the more zombies you kill the more blood splatters on your screen so you can't see where your going. Ontop of that layers of pop ups burst across the screen so as your driving a massive arrow will fill up the center of the the top middle screen, Your combo of zombie kills the left half of the screen, your weapon fills the top left with your health. The HUD is absolutely horrendous, it completely blocks out your view of the game and the player has no option to change this. Being unable to see where your going in a driving game is completely unacceptable.

The game isn't difficult at all either. The game is made difficult because between the amount of things displayed on the screen and the amount of blood on the screen makes it impossible.

This game is worth a rent if your into Twisted Metal, Roadkill, or vigilante 8 style car combat video games. Unfortunately this game hasn't evolved past a 5th generation console design style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worth a rent......

posted by HTownBalla (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

........But not much more. I played it for about 20 minutes before putting Split/Second back on and racing online.

If you like the old Vigilante 8 games....you won't necessarily like this game. I loved the old V8 games, but the car handling and overall game on this one is just not that great. The zombies have no part in the game other than just being there for you to run over.

It's like some developer was just like hey, what about re-making V8, but with zombies.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad, Bad, & more BAD

posted by DenisenIke (UNION CITY, CA) Dec 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Left 4 Dead meets Twisted Metal, Unfortunatly it also meets bad controls & uninspired gameplay. I rented this knowing it was bad & some how surpassed my expectations & was even more woeful than i had prepared for. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow, it's that bad!

posted by tank95634 (JUNCTION CITY, OR) Jan 19, 2011

Member since May 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game made me weep for those who had to test it! This is the worst game of the last 5 years! The poorly executed idea mixed with the crazy taxi controls, ps2 graphics and ps1 sound makes this game a horrible experience all the way around.

This game couldnt be worse if it sent electrical charges through the paddle to shock you everytime you took damage. I would rather play with rabid weasels naked than play this game for 5 minutes! Playing this game is as painfull as a lobotomy with a handcrank drill!

Bottom Line: Don't play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hard Game

posted by joker199214 (QUINCY, IL) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is like twisted metal but with zombies on the field
I have yet to beat any matches got 2nd place was my highest
would not recommend this game i got it an 3 days later i was ready to send it back wasted my time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SORRY GAME!!!

posted by reddog595 (GAINESVILLE, FL) Dec 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Don't even bother with this game, it SUCKS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

blood duurrr!!!!!

posted by randylwelch1 (COLUMBUS, OH) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

twisted metal for 360 .....ha!! this game is whacked!!!! graphics, story mode, theme, etc., what a shi#@y game, big black eye for xbox 360, man up and get the twisted metal rights.....losers!! this game belongs @family dollar for $0.50

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by stanglard (STANWOOD, WA) Jun 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

DON"T WASTE YOUR TIME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One of the Worst Racing Game ever.

posted by desolate23 (LAWTON, OK) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game is aweful. There's no story to speak of and so many glitches that it's not even worth even a 10$ value. The only thing that compliments this game is that it involves zombies which is the only unique thing to this god forsaken game. Activision stay with Call of Duty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not what I expected

posted by criceball (LONG BEACH, CA) Mar 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

I love a great zombie game and this looked promising, but all you do is compete against other drivers in the game. It is not as much fun and the controls are a bit weak. It is a sad version of Death Race 2000, but with zombies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Is it a vehicular combat game or a zombie game?

posted by IronMan84 (VOLCANO, HI) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game tries to invent a new genre of combining vehicular combat with zombies. It sounds like a good idea in a dream maybe. Unfortunately it doesn't work out in reality. The two concepts clash and you're left with a weak version of a zombie game, and a weak version of a vehicular combat game. The cars handle very poorly, sometimes flinging you into the air from hitting a zombie or a tiny bump, and the terrain is very uneven like a bomb just went off. When you have other cars on your tail firing missiles at you this can be a pain because you're always off balance. For veh combat the controls need to be tight so that you feel in control, but in this game they're not.

The game feels really small and lacking in content. It only has three options: 1)single event; 2)compete in cups, where the number of events in each cup increases as you reach the next cup; 3)compete in challenges (about 6 of them) that are actually pretty difficult. For example killing a certain amount of zombies in a certain time, or getting kills to beat the clock so you don't get eliminated.

Overall, I would say it's at least worth a rent since there are basically zero veh combat games for the 360. The game isn't as bad as people have said it just isn't that great either. It has a good setup as a veh combat game pitting you up against rivals for each cup by using a roulette wheel. Also the apocalyptic feel to the game is pretty cool. It's just too many concepts being thrown around. If it's a zombie game the other cars are an annoyance, and if it's a veh combat game the zombies are an annoyance. It would be great if they worked together but they don't. I would like to see a game from the developers that focuses on one or the other not both.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever !

posted by Roger41051 (INDEPENDENCE, KY) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

Take the worst driving game you have ever played, mix it with left for dead and twisted metal and you get this hunk of junk that is only cool in name. The achievements are so tiring you begin to hate the game for much more than its content ! BOO !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

twisted carmazobies?

posted by crimson_smurff (NEWBERG, OR) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this game is fun for a little bit it feels like a twisted metal meets Carmageddon meets driving in dead rising sounds cool but it lack some to the story and it forces you to play through 3 or 4 cup classes before you can unlock paint jobs and character movies to a character that you don't really know anything about they do add so features like bonus point systems and unlike twisted metal where the key is to stay alive this has other mini games you play on a few tracks over and over race kill the most zombies kill the cars kill everything then it seams to repeat but if you like the old-school twisted metal then this will tie you over for a few minutes controls are clunky and it supports multi player that no one plays

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blood Drive

posted by beachguy30 (CARY, NC) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

Not a fun game to play. The cars handle badly and it just isn't that fun. The cars didn't really race or anything it's more of crash up derby with zombies. The weapons on the cars are limited and inaccurate. Don't waste your time on this game unless you are an 8 year old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

zombie car bash

posted by EugenesGir (SEAFORD, DE) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

i compared this game to twisted metal meets dead rising 2 :) i liked the three stages for each level and the zombie killing bonuses. you basically drive around smashing and blowing up other players while trying to run of and shoot as many zombies as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't rent

posted by deathskull (LOXAHATCHEE, FL) Dec 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

oh my lord, does this game stink. instead of renting this game stick a sandwich in your xbox, it'll be better for ya.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

blood drive

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

this game awesome its like the old arcade style games but for the console i hope Sidhe games makes another one next year and that is bigger better and more carnage. and make more like death race and
other things like customize your own car build from ground up
anyways.this is a good light night game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible

posted by jacoblabam (ISSAQUAH, WA) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game was terrible the game plot sucked overall this game sucked. I really expected more from the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nice Try,better luck next time!

posted by 96ultra (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I expected better,played the game for about 3 hours,then got bored and mailed it back!NICE TRY,GOOD CONCEPTS,NO CIGAR!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok game

posted by toofast311 (SPRINGDALE, PA) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

this game is kinda like death race the movie but add zombies that you run over constantly to be honest i was expecting way less but i play all racing games at least once but it was pretty good had a few problems like once i got respawned and the car was stuck in place so i had to let zombies kill my car so i could respawn again and i wish there was a restart race button but instead you start the whole championship over again which got annoying later in the game when you have upwards of 15 races in a championship but was a good game to tide me over till hot pursuit come out in a few days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »